check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Dixie Fechtel

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Stilt home with stunning view and dock! Midway between Gulf and Three Sisters!

35 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 28 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Crystal River House Rental Photos and Description

2BR/1.5B - Modern Private Home with Balcony and View

Enjoy that tropical atmosphere? This is it! Admire Crystal River from elevated porch area in this private stilt home. Feel like you are on the water even from inside...windows offer lovely vistas from the great room and kitchen! Enjoy new flooring and nautical decor with all the amenities, including ice-maker, internet and entertainment center. Downstairs is a screened area for grilling which overlooks the dock and cleaning station. Sleeps 5, and best suited for a couple or family. The second bedroom is small as seen in photo.

Bedroom 1 Queen bed

Bedroom 2 Bunk beds plus single bed

Bath 1 in master suite, has shower, toilet and Jacuzzi tub.

Bath 2 toilet and sink,... washer and dryer

Living room has cable tv and dvd player. Master bedroom as small tv with tape player. Downstairs features grilling area and also outside shower.

Quiet and peaceful, away from the in town highways. Plenty of room to park cars and boat trailer. Dock accommodates motor or sailboat....wide deep canal. Boat ramp is about a mile past our entrance and takes only 5 minutes to drive your boat around to the dock. Home is about five houses from mouth of river on the west side. I am told that the latitude is 28.90281 and longitude is -82.62089800000001; however I don't have any idea if that is correct! But I do know that you will love the location!

"E-mail owner" through this website first to confirm dates. We require a signed Rental Agreement (which is sent to you by e-mail), and then a separate $500 damage deposit check is due prior to check in.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Dixie Fechtel (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Dixie Fechtel

Owners are lifetime Florida residents, University of Florida Gators with two U of FL student daughters. Since 2003 this has been a weekend home.

Dixie Fechtel purchased this house in 2003

Why Dixie Fechtel chose Florida Central Gulf Coast

You can book this private home for the price of a condo! Memories are made here! This is a fun and peaceful place for a couple or a family. Canal on one side with river view, and wildlife preserve on the other side.

Perfect location for scalloping,... + fishing, kayaking, swimming near manatees, and water activities.

What makes this house unique

Drink your coffee viewing morning sunrise from the porch. Sun is behind the house in late afternoon. Large covered grilling area downstairs is great for hanging out near the waterfront! Owner loves to help guests enjoy their stay!

Reviews

4.8
based on 35 traveler reviews

Stilt home with stunning view and dock! Midway between Gulf and Three Sisters!
average rating of 4.8285713 based on 35 reviews
Belton, SC
5

Amazing house, spectacular location

  • 5 of 5

This was our first visit to Crystal River, and we were not disappointed. The house was plenty spacious for our family of 4 and the owners were very accommodating with any and all questions we had about the area and the house. The house was is very clean with plenty of seating space in the main living area. We enjoyed the deck overlooking the canal and river each day, taking in the sights and other boaters. Our main reason for vacationing at Crystal River was to kayak, and we did plenty of that each day. We kayaked right from the canal at the house out to Crystal River and paddle out to the Gulfone day, and another day we paddled up to Three Sisters Springs area. There is so much to see and explore in these beautiful salt marshes- we saw alligator tracks, plenty of waterfowl, birds, dolphins, manatees, and so much more. We enjoyed a day and sunset trip to Fort Island Gulf Beach, and enjoyed a walk on the Great Florida Birding Trail. We also took our kayaks out to the boat ramp at Fort Island boat ramp and paddled to Shell Island- had an amazing dolphin display and gorgeous gulf views that day! One day we took our kayaks to Weeki Wachee for a trip down that river and were able to enjoy the spring fed river and enjoy seeing some manatees. What an unforgettable, memorable vacation in Crystal River, and so thankful for the Fechtel's for their hospitality and advice through it all. We were made to feel at home in their home and that made the trip that much better. Thank you for everything. We hope to be back one day!

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Teresa, Florida USA
5

Great house in a fantastic location!

  • 5 of 5

We have rented a house in Crystal River for a week every summer since 2009 to conduct marine biology research in the area. This is our favorite of the houses we have rented and we will be back. The house is very nice and well-appointed with a very nice kitchen and living space as well as a nice deck overlooking the canal and river. It has plenty of room for four or five people and plenty of storage space as well. The house is very conveniently located for getting to the Gulf. It is just off the main river less than 5 minutes by boat to the marina and only about 15 minutes to the Gulf. In addition, the public boat ramp is just down the street and the dock at the house was solid and had plenty of room for our 26' research boat. We will be back next summer.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wildwood, FL
5

Awesome Location, Great House

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I loved our stay here. We brought our boat and were able to drop in close by. The canal access is wide, easy to find and navigate. The home was clean and comfortable, and the view is fabulous. We had a great time, the owners were exceeding friendly and our transaction was effortless. We look forward to staying again!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
palm coast florida
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

This was my second time staying here. The location is perfect. Close to the gulf and the springs. I brought my boat and it was so nice to be able to just jump on it and go right from the dock. The house was very clean and the owners are great people to deal with. Thanks again i cant wait to come back next year and maybe stay a whole week.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great vacation. The place was very clean, wonderfully decorated and had all of the amenities. The location is a short boat ride to Kings Bay and the scallop grounds. The owners even help us locate a mechanic when we had a boat malfunction. Thanks again for the hospitality and sharing your home with us! We do plan to come back next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice well kept

  • 4 of 5

Location is perfect. Your not too far off the river that it takes forever getting out of canals ,but not so close that your boat takes a beating either . Very good hosts they have thought of everything right down to extra beach towels and crab traps that my grandkids and I had a blast with. After a week of scalloping , seeing dolphin everywhere and swimming in the springs with manatees we did not want to leave.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Fort Island Trail Gulf Beach

Manatees. Swim and view manatees in world famous Crystal River and Springs. Rent kayaks or boats. Lots of dive gear places and fishing/manatee guides are available. Three Sisters Spring is featured in April 2013 of National Geographic.

A State Archeological Park is directly across the river.

Very quiet and peaceful. We also recommend Hommossasa State wildlife park just north of Crystal River. Great fun for anyone!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Crystal River House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
January 2017
Jan 3 2017 - Jan 31 2017
28 night minimum stay
$2,650
 
 
February 2017
Feb 1 2017 - Feb 28 2017
27 night minimum stay
$2,650
 
 
March 2017
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$179
From
$199
Fri,Sat,Sun
$995
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$169
From
$189
Fri,Sat,Sun
$895
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $135
Tax Rate 9.0%

Pricing is for up to 5 guests. There is a $21.80 charge per night if more than 5 guests are approved. "E-mail owner" through this website. I will e-mail you the Rental Agreement. Prior to occupancy, when you submit the balance of the rental fee, we require a separate damage deposit check in the amount of $500 be mailed to us. This allows us to destroy the deposit without it ever coming out of your account/charged to you.
Rental Rules are attached to the Rental Agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Crystal River House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower , Downstairs on porch, outdoor shower with hot & cold water
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , This bath has a shower plus a jacuzi tub.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Washer and Dryer are located in the half bath
  • Unless you are a longer term guest, there should be plenty of toilet paper, a hair dryer and some emergency personal supplies.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed , This small BR sleeps 3, with bunk beds and a single bed.
  • BR #1 Queen BR #2 Bunk beds and a single bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
The canal to our home is located between Markers 22 and 23. From the Fort Island Trail ramp exit, go east toward town… it is just after Marker 22 to the South. Small tan stilt home with porch up top on West. (About five houses on the right. It is after blue stilt home.) Park your trailer in the driveway or on the grass across the street directly across from our house. Salt water fishing, diving, and viewing the manatees are popular past times. Scallop season is a popular time to visit in the summer. We accept a personal check for one-half the total amount due to book the reservation along with the signed Rental Agreement (which is sent to you by e-mail), and then the balance with a separate $500 damage deposit check is due prior to check in. On-line booking is available with an additional service fee charged by the company.

Partner Offers