check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jim Peterson

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Main Stay - Near Mt Rushmore, Lakes, & Custer State Park

31 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hill City House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom,2 Bathroom, Sleeps 12

Located near Mt. Rushmore, Sheridan and Pactola Lakes, Custer State Park and on Hill City's Historic Main Street. Beautiful 1929 Craftsman Home in Hill City. This Home sleeps 12 with three bedrooms, two baths, a large living and cozy theater room. Private court yard, hot tub, fireplace, gas grill, WiFi, big screen TV, air conditioning, outdoor fire pit, and a laundry facility including 2 washer's and 2 dryer's,also off street parking. The home also features a completely furnished gourmet kitchen. Minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park, 1880 Train and other tourist attractions. Comfortable and relaxing lodging located in the Heart of the Hills. It is sure to welcome you Home after a full day of Black Hills Fun. NOTE : If the dates of this property are full for your vacation time - call ( 605-391-8373 ) to see if a cancellation has happened or if our other properties are available in Hill City. Thanks

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Jim Peterson (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. We had a wonderful time here in the Black Hills experiencing all of its beauty. Hill City is Beautiful ! The HOUSE is beautiful ! It was a fantastic way to stay with our four kids. they loved the backyard, roasting marshmallows and sitting in the hot tub. And we had all the room and comforts of home... Thank you so much !
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

4.8
based on 31 traveler reviews

Main Stay - Near Mt Rushmore, Lakes, & Custer State Park
average rating of 4.83871 based on 39 reviews
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

I was looking forward to the convenience of the location. I was very disappointed with the condition of the home.

It looked very nice on the website but did not prove to be upon arrival. Owner was very accommodating.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry it did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you telling us about the 4 bay toaster that one bay was not functioning correctly. A new one was purchased. The dishwasher soap dispenser was broke by a guest who tried to put a pod of detergent in it. Since the pod method of dispensing soap is what seems to be prevalent at the grocery store we found no need to fix the latch since it didn't effect the operation of the dishwasher as pods are put on the floor of the dishwasher. I have to say this is the first tough review we have every gotten in the 10 years of offering the Mainstay to people. Once again we apologize your experience didn't prove the same as the many others that have stayed here. Take care and we hope you enjoyed the Black Hills and the rest of your trip. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect in Every Way

  • 5 of 5

I wanted to rent a home with plenty of room with a great location. We were in town for an ultra marathon, so a large home that could accommodate 3 runners and a large kitchen that could feed everyone was essential. We had 7 adults and 3 kids and this home was perfect! I met Jim on the check in day and he did a very thorough walk through of the home, showing how to operate all the appliances. It was great to have a hot tub and the fire pit, firewood was supplied with the home and the kids loved being able to cook smores at night! The location of the home to downtown was perfect. The guest's that weren't running the race were able to walk three blocks and were in the heart of downtown. They were able to enjoy the restaurants, ice cream shops, shopping and they even went on a train ride to see the Black Hills. The other great thing about the house was there was NO traffic noise heard at night. The home was perfect, but Jim was an even better host, he had answers to every question I had and made this stay flawless. He was even enthusiastic to hear about the race and how all the runners did, not to mention he knew one of the former race directors! If you are looking to rent this property, RENT IT!!! You will not be disappointed. I can't wait to get back to Hill City again. It was a perfect weekend.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking such good care of the Mainstay and your kind words. Take care and have a great rest of the year....!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Home!!!

  • 5 of 5

We arrived at our rental location and we were thrilled. The house is beautiful. It is clean, spacious, and the location is perfect. Jim and June the owners, were amazing and so accommodating. We were a group of 6 and our week in South Dakota was perfect because we were close to all attractions. The one special part that we all thought was great was meeting and hanging with Cher. (Jim and June's dog). We can't thank you enough for sharing your home with us.

Sincerely,

The Jersey Boys

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic location and a great house with tons of character

  • 5 of 5

My extended family and I went to the Black Hills in late July 2016. We had a total of 10 people including four kids under age 6, one teenager, two seniors and three adults. The house was very accommodating for all of us with plenty of space for the kids to play. The openness of the house also allowed us to supervise the play without feeling cut off from the others. The house has great space and is in a fantastic location with most of our adventures located within 30-35 minute drive of the house and downtown Hill City, which is full of restaurants and shops is just a couple of blocks away.

Jim was a gracious host and was helpful with questions, insight into the weather and was quick to address questions or concerns.

Thanks for a great house Jim! We enjoyed our stay in the Black Hills and the Mainstay house!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Girls Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay! Jim and June were very helpful with everything. The location is great for walking around Hill City and it is a short drive to Deadwood or Custer. It was great to have a grill, fire pit, and hot tub. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wisconsin family of 8

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 8 traveled to the area for the first time. Hill City was the perfect place to see the many sites on our itinerary, Mt Rushmore, Custer State Park, Bear Country USA to name a few. This home accommodated our family with plenty of room. Relaxing out back with the hot tub and firepit was a bonus. We enjoyed being able to walk to town, and definately recommend the 1840 Train ride. Everything you need is there and if we had any questions Jim was available and helpful. We would recommend!!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
39 Miles
Rapid City Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.12 Miles
Several Locations - Bar / Restaurant
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Custer - Rocky Knolls
Nearest Train
0.12 Miles
1880 Train
Nearest Motorway
0.12 Miles
Hwy 16 / 385
Nearest Restaurant
0.12 Miles
Several Locations - Restaurant / Bar
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Terry Peak
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Sheridan Lake
Car: necessary

Located 10 minutes from Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial. Centrally located in the Heart of the Black Hills making it a great place to base out of for your Black Hills Vacation. ( Easy Day Trips from Here )

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hill City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$290
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Mar 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Early Spring 2017
Mar 25 2017 - Apr 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$245
 
 
Spring
Apr 15 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
2017 Rally
Aug 4 2017 - Aug 13 2017
5 night minimum stay
$495
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 8 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$290
 
 
Winter 2017 - 2018
Nov 1 2017 - Mar 22 2018
2 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$345
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $106 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Cancellation Policy

If canceled 90 days or greater to arrival - $50.00 fee will be assessed. Balance of nightly rental will be refunded.

If Canceled 90 days or less to arrival then - Deposit will be kept if we cant re-book. If we are able to re-book then a $50.00 cancel fee only.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hill City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Tub - Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Mainfloor Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Mainstay Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 double , Upper suite - beds private from each other
  • Tub - Shower
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties