check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Main Stay - Near Mt Rushmore, Lakes, & Custer State Park

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

Description

Hill City House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom,2 Bathroom, Sleeps 12

Located near Mt. Rushmore, Sheridan and Pactola Lakes, Custer State Park and on Hill City's Historic Main Street. Beautiful 1929 Craftsman Home in Hill City. This Home sleeps 12 with three bedrooms, two baths, a large living and cozy theater room. Private court yard, hot tub, fireplace, gas grill, WiFi, big screen TV, air conditioning, outdoor fire pit, and a laundry facility including 2 washer's and 2 dryer's,also off street parking. The home also features a completely furnished gourmet kitchen. Minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park, 1880 Train and other tourist attractions. Comfortable and relaxing lodging located in the Heart of the Hills. It is sure to welcome you Home after a full day of Black Hills Fun. NOTE : If the dates of this property are full for your vacation time - call ( 605-391-8373 ) to see if a cancellation has happened or if our other properties are available in Hill City. Thanks

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
Jim Peterson
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 2, 2016
Call Owner

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. We had a wonderful time here in the Black Hills experiencing all of its beauty. Hill City is Beautiful ! The HOUSE is beautiful ! It was a fantastic way to stay with our four kids. they loved the backyard, roasting marshmallows and sitting in the hot tub. And we had all the room and comforts of home... Thank you so much !
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

Main Stay - Near Mt Rushmore, Lakes, & Custer State Park
average rating of 4.848485 based on 41 reviews
5

Our absolute favorite place to stay in the Hills!!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We LOVE this house SO much!!! This was our second time staying in this charming house (and it won't be our last). We truly enjoy it so much, I wish we could live there :) The house itself feels very homey and welcoming with tons of the 1929 character, but with all new upgrades to the bathrooms, kitchen, and living area. Everything that we needed was provided and I could just go on and on about Jim and June. They are such amazing people, we adore them both VERY much!!!!!!! I really feel like I can't say enough about the house or the owners :) We will never stay anywhere else when we come to the hills, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who was looking for a place to stay in a super cute little town in the Hills!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Shanna and we appreciate the nice words. You guys always take such good care of the home. Over the years its been really fun to share it with families like yours... Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Warsaw, IL
5

A charming home with lots of space indoor and out

  • 5 of 5

The house was very charming with lots of updates. Plenty of dishes, glasses, silverware and utensils. We enjoyed the beautiful backyard & firepit as well as the indoor space and fireplace. Very nice to have 2 washers & dryers. It was walking distance to restaurants, train station and shops. Very central to Black Hills attractions. Jim & June were very helpful. It felt very homey and we had a wonderful time! Would love to come back!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your care while staying tat the mainstay. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

I was looking forward to the convenience of the location. I was very disappointed with the condition of the home.

It looked very nice on the website but did not prove to be upon arrival. Owner was very accommodating.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry it did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you telling us about the 4 bay toaster that one bay was not functioning correctly. A new one was purchased. The dishwasher soap dispenser was broke by a guest who tried to put a pod of detergent in it. Since the pod method of dispensing soap is what seems to be prevalent at the grocery store we found no need to fix the latch since it didn't effect the operation of the dishwasher as pods are put on the floor of the dishwasher. I have to say this is the first tough review we have every gotten in the 10 years of offering the Mainstay to people. Once again we apologize your experience didn't prove the same as the many others that have stayed here. Take care and we hope you enjoyed the Black Hills and the rest of your trip. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect in Every Way

  • 5 of 5

I wanted to rent a home with plenty of room with a great location. We were in town for an ultra marathon, so a large home that could accommodate 3 runners and a large kitchen that could feed everyone was essential. We had 7 adults and 3 kids and this home was perfect! I met Jim on the check in day and he did a very thorough walk through of the home, showing how to operate all the appliances. It was great to have a hot tub and the fire pit, firewood was supplied with the home and the kids loved being able to cook smores at night! The location of the home to downtown was perfect. The guest's that weren't running the race were able to walk three blocks and were in the heart of downtown. They were able to enjoy the restaurants, ice cream shops, shopping and they even went on a train ride to see the Black Hills. The other great thing about the house was there was NO traffic noise heard at night. The home was perfect, but Jim was an even better host, he had answers to every question I had and made this stay flawless. He was even enthusiastic to hear about the race and how all the runners did, not to mention he knew one of the former race directors! If you are looking to rent this property, RENT IT!!! You will not be disappointed. I can't wait to get back to Hill City again. It was a perfect weekend.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking such good care of the Mainstay and your kind words. Take care and have a great rest of the year....!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Home!!!

  • 5 of 5

We arrived at our rental location and we were thrilled. The house is beautiful. It is clean, spacious, and the location is perfect. Jim and June the owners, were amazing and so accommodating. We were a group of 6 and our week in South Dakota was perfect because we were close to all attractions. The one special part that we all thought was great was meeting and hanging with Cher. (Jim and June's dog). We can't thank you enough for sharing your home with us.

Sincerely,

The Jersey Boys

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic location and a great house with tons of character

  • 5 of 5

My extended family and I went to the Black Hills in late July 2016. We had a total of 10 people including four kids under age 6, one teenager, two seniors and three adults. The house was very accommodating for all of us with plenty of space for the kids to play. The openness of the house also allowed us to supervise the play without feeling cut off from the others. The house has great space and is in a fantastic location with most of our adventures located within 30-35 minute drive of the house and downtown Hill City, which is full of restaurants and shops is just a couple of blocks away.

Jim was a gracious host and was helpful with questions, insight into the weather and was quick to address questions or concerns.

Thanks for a great house Jim! We enjoyed our stay in the Black Hills and the Mainstay house!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
39 Miles
Rapid City Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.12 Miles
Several Locations - Bar / Restaurant
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Custer - Rocky Knolls
Nearest Train
0.12 Miles
1880 Train
Nearest Motorway
0.12 Miles
Hwy 16 / 385
Nearest Restaurant
0.12 Miles
Several Locations - Restaurant / Bar
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Terry Peak
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Sheridan Lake
Car: necessary

Located 10 minutes from Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial. Centrally located in the Heart of the Black Hills making it a great place to base out of for your Black Hills Vacation. ( Easy Day Trips from Here )

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hill City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Mar 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Early Spring 2017
Mar 25 2017 - Apr 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$245
 
 
Spring
Apr 15 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
2017 Rally
Aug 4 2017 - Aug 13 2017
5 night minimum stay
$495
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 8 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$290
 
 
Winter 2017 - 2018
Nov 1 2017 - Mar 22 2018
2 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$345
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $106 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Cancellation Policy

If canceled 90 days or greater to arrival - $50.00 fee will be assessed. Balance of nightly rental will be refunded.

If Canceled 90 days or less to arrival then - Deposit will be kept if we cant re-book. If we are able to re-book then a $50.00 cancel fee only.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hill City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Tub - Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Mainfloor Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Mainstay Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 double , Upper suite - beds private from each other
  • Tub - Shower
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties