check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Mary Dearborn

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Twain Harte 4 Seasons Resort - Lake Privileges

31 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Gold Country / High Sierra House Rental Photos and Description

3 full bathrooms, 2 bedrooms, 2 lofts, 2 sleeper sofas

This 3800 sq ft. three story home on an acre of land has a wonderful mountain cabin look and feel that has been updated with modern amenities to make your stay convenient and comfortable. A/C in both lofts.

In summer, have a barbecue, sunbathe, enjoy happy hour and dine on the rear deck, or read a book in the front deck all under the tall pines.

We have books to read, games to play, basketball, foosball, ping pong all to entertain you. Or if you prefer relax and take a snooze in the hammock out back.

For swimming, sunning, and socializing you will want to spend time at beautiful Twain Harte Lake. You have LAKE PRIVILEGES! Choose the sandy beach or 'the rock' and swim out to one of the many docks. For the young or young at 'HARTE' go down one of the two water slides. You will enjoy this serene, private oasis. We have beach towels and chairs for the 12 of you. Note the gatehouse charges $8.00 per person per day.

Twain Harte also has a public golf course and tennis courts. For family fun you will love the not-too-challenging miniature golf course downtown and grab a soft serve ice cream cone afterwards at “The Rock” or if you prefer enjoy one of their 15 beers on tap.

Saturday nights from 6 to 8 PM mid June through early September, walk downtown to Eproson Park for 'Concerts in the Pines', a free outdoor concert featuring a different band every week.

In the winter, Dodge Ridge is 20 miles up the highway where you can spend the days skiing and snowboarding, or go to Leland High Sierra Snowplay in Strawberry, for sledding and tubing.

Come back home and get cozy in the living room by the (gas) fireplace with a glass of wine then walk to one of the nearby restaurants for dinner or stay in and cook your own in one of our two well-equipped kitchens. Eat at the dining table, kitchen nook, or at the bar.

Make a day trip (just over two hours) to visit world-famous Half Dome, one of many splendors in Yosemite National Park. Also visit nearby wineries, bistros, art galleries, and boutiques. Sonora is 15 minutes away and Murphy’s is 45. Enjoy boating, fishing, and jet skiing at Lake Tulloch, a quick 25 minute drive.

After your travels you will look forward to returning to the pine forests of Twain Harte and the quiet comfort of Button Willow.

The master bedroom has a CAL King bed. There are two lofts one with a queen bed, the other with a full bed. The downstairs bedroom has a double bed. There are two sleeper sofas; one in the downstairs living room and one in the TV room. The beds will be made with clean sheets and pillow cases when you arrive. At the end of your stay just leave the beds unmade and the dirty towels on the floor. Our housekeeper will clean the cabin for you. Access to the private Twain Harte Lake is also included for a $8.00 per person charge payable at the lake.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Mary Dearborn (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About Mary Dearborn

The home was originally purchased as a retirement home for the Dearborn patriarch and matriarch which they enjoyed to the fullest. Now the time is come to share it with others. We are both originally from San Mateo and now live in San Ramon. We have two adult children both in college. We are looking forward to the time we can retire full time and spend more time traveling.

Mary Dearborn purchased this house in 1988

Why Mary Dearborn chose Gold Country / High Sierra

This beautiful house is only minutes from so many local attractions, and very comfortably fits the entire family or small group too. The house is kept very clean and very comfortable for our guests to enjoy. We've included books to borrow, games to play, and menus of local establishments. We know you will notice the difference from the moment you walk in the front door. Why this house? It is the best value anywhere in the Twain Harte Area! Send us a note and let us know the how we can serve you better.

What makes this house unique

Comfortably sleeps up to 12. - very clean throughout. Two driveways; upper and lower with private entrances. The house boasts two complete kitchens one upstairs and one downstairs and three full baths. The house is just minutes from downtown Twain Harte. We are one of the few remaining properties that have a Twain Harte Lake membership. Please note we are kid friendly, but not childproof for exploring toddlers.

Reviews

4.8
based on 31 traveler reviews

Twain Harte 4 Seasons Resort - Lake Privileges
average rating of 4.774194 based on 31 reviews
Palo Alto
5

Great House for Big Group with Beautiful Deck and Yard

  • 5 of 5

Wow, this house was fantastic for a large group with all ages. We all had plenty of room and the kids loved the games! The house is extremely well organized and well stocked. We had everything we needed and loved sitting on the deck enjoying the beautiful and quiet surroundings.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice stay, issues with deposit refund...

  • 3 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful stay at the cabin. It was a great fit for our large family to enjoy and relax over the long 4th of July weekend. The weather was perfect, and the location was central to Pinecrest Lake, the city of Twain Harte and lots of other fun activities. The downstairs apartment with a full kitchen and living room was an added bonus. Everyone enjoyed their stay enormously.

Now, to the deposit refund. Upon preheating the oven for the first time (2 days into our stay) something caught fire inside. Since we were able to remove the item and get the oven working again before leaving, and because we were enjoying our stay so much, I neglected to inform the owner right away. When she reached out to me because the oven was actually not working for the next guests, I apologized to her multiple times for not informing her immediately. With some delays according to the rental agreement, she eventually refunded our deposit saying that it was not worth it. Her correspondence, however, implied that the oven fire was negligence on our part (even after admitting she had problems with the electricity to that unit in the past) and that I was being dishonest or trying to hide the oven issues from her. I am disappointed that such a wonderful stay was soiled by a poor deposit refund process and the owner not giving us the benefit of the doubt.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Better than we imagined!!!

  • 5 of 5

Great house for multiple families. Felt like we were at home. Kids had so much fun with air hockey, ping pong and so much more. House was very clean and super organized. Owner is friendly and quick to respond. We are already trying to schedule another trip to this house!

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Gina & Family, First of all let me thank you for taking such good care of the home. We are thrilled that you made it feel like your own. It is first and foremost a family home for all to gather in a relaxed setting. I hope you will stay again and enjoy the beauty that make Twain Harte so special. Don't forget we are also only 30 minutes away from Dodge Ridge Ski Resort. The skiing this past year was FABULOUS! Please do come back. Warmest Regards, Mary & Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Large house in Twain Harte

  • 5 of 5

House was larger than expected. Very clean. Everything was well labeled. Lots of activities provided (basketball hoop, horseshoe pit, foosball, ping pong, air hockey). Owner was friendly and responsive. I highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jesse, First of all let me thank you for taking such good care of the property. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will consider us again for a summer time retreat. The weather is spectacular and the lake is the perfect spot for families of all ages. With warmest regards, Mary & MIke
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Rosa, CA
5

Perfect Mountain Retreat

  • 5 of 5

My friends and family stayed for three nights at this beautiful cabin. The grounds are large and the is set back from the street you feel like your secluded from the world. The house is exceptionally clean and well equipped. The owners have thought of everything. Unlike a lot of rentals this place felt like a home. No skimping with amenities here. Mary the owner was great to work with. She answered all my questions promptly. We have found our little slice of heaven!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nicky, First of all let me thank you for taking such good care of our home. We strive to make the house fun for all ages. We hope you will come again during the summer time. The weather is beautiful and the lake has so much to offer. We have plenty of beach towels, chairs, coolers and even sand toys for your entire group. I look forward in hearing from you again soon. With warmest regards, Mary & Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Francisco, CA
1

Great cabin- HORRENDOUS customer service and interaction

  • 1 of 5

Our stay at the cabin itself was actually pretty nice. Peaceful premises. Although don't plan on spending any time in the basement because it's not only a claustrophobic nightmare but it's possible to be trapped there as the door to the basement lodges.

The problem occurs after the stay. We had clearly spoken to the property owner about a late check out and were assured by her, over the phone with two of us, that we would have no problem with a later checkout. However, on our last day, a property manager approached us rather rudely, claiming that we had not informed the owner that we would be leaving late. We left as quickly as we could and restored the cabin to its previous condition, moving all furniture back, putting back all the linens as requested.

we were just informed that we left behind a mess and the owner sent an incredibly rude email claiming that my family are pigs. We have rented cabins in and around Twain Harte for the past decade, and have never had such an unpleasant experience or encounter with the owner. We always deal with Darlene and all the people associate are extremely pleasant and friendly.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS CABIN- take it from my family and I, who are familiar with the concept of renting a cabin, of returning a cabin in its previous condition, and dealing with owners who treat their guests like dirt.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Melina & Family. While you are certainly entitled to your opinion I would like to clearly point out the facts. 1st you contacted me a little over a week prior to the rental asking for an EARLY check in as you were having people up from southern California. You requested a 9:00 am check in of which I stated that was much too early but I could perhaps do 11;00 or 12:00. There was NO mention of a late check out. All contractual documents and emails substantiate this. My property manager arrived at the home promptly at 11:00 am for check out surprised that you were still eating. When I was contacted I called you immediately and challenged this. Your response was there must have been some miscommunication. Okay so you left around 2:00 pm. The condition of the house was assessed by my property manager and then by my housekeeping crew the next day. Both parties commented the house was below average and very dirty. The cleaning crew stayed an extra hour. The email you sent ONLY after I charged an extra $32.50 for cleaning was unbelievable. I cannot believe someone with any sense of pride would use the expletives you wrote and to the extent you did - Ghastly behavior!. I To call my property manager a spying dog is completely uncalled for. No one addressed your party as pigs. I have taken screen prints of your childishness response and would gladly send it to any potential guest if they are interested in reading such profanity. BTW I also have your comment written in our guest book if anyone would like to see it "Your cabin is beyond lovely. We enjoyed it so very much and can't wait to visit again" P.S. There must be some mistake as we do not have a basement -
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Pinecrest Lake Resort
"Pinecrest Lake Resort is located in beautiful Pinecrest, California just steps from the shor..."
Columbia State Park
"Located in the heart of the California Mother Lode, Columbia State Historic Park is a living..."
Downtown Murphys
"http://visitmurphys.com/ Wine tasting, great food, historic buildings"
Lake Tulloch RV Campground and Marina
"http://www.laketullochcampground.com/ Boating, Fishing, Water sports, Jet Skiing, Picnicking..."
Ironstone
"Beautiful Grounds, Great place to enjoy an outdoor concert. Wine tasting and picnicking avai..."
Moaning Cavern Park
"Fun for the whole family. I've never done the zip line and probably WONT."
Black Oak Casino
"This is a great place to bring the entire family. Not only is it host to seven eating estab..."
Hanna Muir Vineyard Tasting Rm
The Spice Tin
"Great place to browse and purchase completely organic and unique spices."
Jamestown
Railtown 1897 State Historic Park
Twain Harte Lake
"Private lake, family friendly with a controlled environment. Great snack bar with burgers, s..."
The Rock
"15 Beers on tap - most are craft beers but of course for the purest PBR is a staple. Great ..."
Twain Harte Golf Course
"Always pristine 9 hole course. Stop by afterward at the country club for a cocktail and a q..."
Twain Harte Miniature Golf
"After you've returned from the lake and had dinner its a great way to spend an hour with fam..."
The Steam Donkey Restaurant and Bar
"Great place to stop after a day at Pine Crest or Dodge Ridge. The food is great - especiall..."
Strawberry Inn
"The rating applies only to the onion rings - worth the 35 minute drive!"
Nearest Airport
114 Miles
Sacramento
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
The Rock
Nearest Golf
0.6 Miles
Twain Harte Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.6 Miles
Eproson House
Nearest Ski
22 Miles
Dodge Ridge

The perfect 4 seasons resort. The summers in the pines are pleasant during the day and nights are generally mild, making Twain Harte a pleasant escape from the long, hot summers of the California Central Valley and the chill of the Bay Area. Summer events start in full swing by Memorial Day. There are endless activities till the fall approaches and Oktoberfest is celebrated. During the winter months, Twain Harte is famous for winter sports and snow. Skiing and snowmobiling are the main attractions during this period. The snow laden pine trees present an excellent scene to thrill the soul. In the spring, when snow starts melting from the mountains and flowers start blooming, it is time for boating, golfing, hiking, camping, fishing, rock climbing, horseback riding, and biking through the forests & along the many rivers and streams.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Twain Harte House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter Rates | Ski Season
Dec 1 - Feb 28
2 night minimum stay
$240
From
$275
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,650
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$250
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Deposit $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change without notice. There is a manditory 10% occupancy tax established by the Tuolumne County.

A cleaning fee (non-refundable) of $125.00 is charged to ensure the home is sanitized before your stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Gold Country / High Sierra House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Main floor - toilet , combination tub/shower , Enough towels for guest staying in both lofts and TV room
    Downstairs bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Loft One - 1 queen , Open view to the great room with a privacy screen
    TV room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , TV room separates the master bedroom and great room.
    Downstairs Bedroom - 1 double , Private bedroom with locking door. Full bathroom downstairs
    Downstairs Livingroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Just for the kids or extra guest a sleeper sofa is available
    Master - 1 king , California King - two large closets, private bath and TV
    Loft 2 - 1 double , Open view of the great room with a privacy screen
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Two sets of men's and one set of women's golf clubs are are available for guest use. There are basketballs for the hoop and horseshoe equipment. All items including beach chairs, sand toys, coolers and extra seating are located in the outside storage room.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties