check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

John & Sandy Gilfillan

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Wailea Ekahi 17C Ocean View Condominium...Walk To Beach

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Wailea Condo Rental Photos and Description

One Bedroom, One Bathroom with Ocean Views

Totally remodeled in 2010, Ekahi 17C (with updates and enhancements added each year) offers an ocean view with great amenities. Kitchen countertops are all slab granite with stainless appliances. Other features include a drip coffeemaker, coffee grinder, blender, electric tea kettle and rice cooker. All dinnerware, glassware (including wine glasses), pots & pans, kitchen towels, dishwasher detergent are included.

In the living room you have a flat screen TV with cable, free wireless internet, DVD player and iPod docking station/player. A wall of sliding glass doors leads out to the lanai and yard.

There is a new ductless split vent air conditioning system in the living room/dining room areas and a separate one in the bedroom to keep you plenty cool if needed. These are quiet, unobtrusive and not like the 'motel-type' a/c units found in some condominiums. The dining room, living room & bedroom all have ceiling fans.

You can walk directly from either the kitchen or the living room to our large lanai that offers an ocean view as well as a small yard enclosed by a hedge of Hibiscus and Sea Grapes plantings. An overhead pergola with Lanai furniture and a stainless gas grill make the lanai a very inviting place to relax, have morning coffee and meals. A second lanai is secluded off the bedroom.

The floors in the kitchen, dining room, hallways and bath areas are all tile. There is carpet in the bedroom.

We provide a new Bosch stacked washer and dryer for your use along with detergent.

The bathroom & dressing areas have slab granite counter top, a separate shower and a large closet.

In the bedroom, you'll find a king bed, large dresser, desk and an adjoining secluded lanai.

We also provide a beach umbrella, towels, chairs and cooler. An iron & ironing board are also provided.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
John & Sandy Gilfillan (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About John & Sandy Gilfillan

We are semi-retired professionals who have developed several condominium & suites projects and a B&B in the mountains of Colorado. Originally from the midwest, we now live in Boulder, Colorado.

John & Sandy Gilfillan purchased this condo in 2010

Why John & Sandy Gilfillan chose Maui

We started coming to Hawaii in 1984 and after first staying on Kauai, Oahu and the Big Island...we fell in love with Maui. We first stayed at Ekahi Village in 1986 and have vacationed here continually since that time. After FINALLY raising 5 children we purchased Ekhai 17C and completely renovated the condo which included the total demolition of the old kitchen and creating one which includes everything that a cook could want to prepare meals to be shared in the dining room...or better yet on the lanai.

We love the location in Wailea. Wailea has been carefully developed to provide all the amenities visitors want in a more relaxed and uncrowded atmosphere than what you'll find in the other parts of Maui.

This sunny side of Maui offers quick access to beaches, snorkeling, golf, tennis and the finest shopping on Maui at The Shops at Wailea.

What makes this condo unique

We enjoy being able to wander the 35 acres of manicured grounds at Ekahi Village. The grounds keeping staff maintain the most beautiful landscaping of any condominium complex. You have four pools to choose from, but we usually go to the Beach Pavilion pool located adjacent to Keawakapu Beach. This lets us go to the beach whenever we like and it's only a one minute walk back through the Ekahi property gate to return to the pool! For snorkeling we go to Ulua beach also just a minute or two walk from the Beach Pavilion and its pool.

Hawaii Tax ID: W46770608-01

Guestbook comments from the owner

John and Sandy

Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us and all it has to offer. It was perfect! We came to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and are very much looking forward to coming back again.

Our stay on Maui was the best part of our trip!
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)
Wailea Ekahi 17C Ocean View Condominium...Walk To Beach
average rating of 4.8 based on 32 reviews
5

Your home away from home ...

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time staying at Wailea Ekahi 17C. Both times were great! Super clean, comfortable, quite and lovely accommodations. We will be back!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay- the property is everything could hope to find

  • 5 of 5

The listing was understated- it was even better than expected. The interior is tastefully furnished and well maintained. The living area is spacious and the kitchen had everything we needed. There was even a welcome basket waiting for us with some treats to start our stay. We were only a few minutes walk along a green space to get to a beach that stretched for miles. We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a holiday in Maui.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property, Awesome location

  • 5 of 5

John and Sandy have created a beautifully remodeled, comfortable place to enjoy Maui from. Their attention to detail is apparent in how it is taken care of. The location in Wailea is convenient to most of the island, and sunny when other areas are not. We appreciated a wonderful stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oregon
5

Perfect condo!

  • 5 of 5

We can't praise this lovely condo enough! It was everything one could desire -- ocean view, beautiful kitchen with top notch brand new appliances, well appointed and comfortable living room furniture, and a super terrific king bed. The trade winds were gently blowing during our stay and due to the way the condo is situated (amidst tropical foliage) we never had to run the AC, the ceiling fans and open windows at night were all we needed. The kitchen and tile shower were pristine clean and we will definitely rent this unit again! Thank you John and Sandy, for our stay and the handy little cooler with snacks!

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Clean and updated. Great location!

  • 3 of 5

Unfortunately, this is a bottom floor unit with little insulation in the ceiling. There were 4 adults and a two year old above us in a 1 bedroom unit. The two year old started crying at 5 a.m. everyday and then we heard clomping , running, crying, chairs moving and general noise whenever they were there, including continued sliding of the deck screen door and banging of the screen front door.

We were sorry we experienced this problem, because otherwise this was a great place! If the unit above had been empty this would have been a 5 star.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We’re sorry this happened during your stay Although in our 6 years of renting our condominium on VRBO we have had few problems with people staying in the condo above us, in a resort environment a crying child can be a problem. We had a child once in our condo whose crying caused a problem for the people staying in the unit above ours. The units are close together and with people having their doors and windows open noise can travel easily.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We didn't want to leave!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd time staying at Ekahi Village, and was definitely the nicest condo so far! Beautifully renovated, clean and organized with a lot of thoughtful touches and everything we needed. (except snorkel gear, which I'm guessing just gets wrecked, and is easy to rent) The lanai is nicely shaded for a lot of the day and private with a partial ocean view. The king bed is comfortable and the AC great when needed; fans keep a nice coolness most of the time though. The complex itself is among the nicest we've stayed at - it is not 'Wailea fancy', and has a really nice community feel with many guests who return every year. The grounds are beautiful, with tropical flowers everywhere. The beach is among the best of Maui and you can walk for miles between beaches connected by paths. The beach side pool and pavilion are fantastic and toasting the sunset from there seems to be a daily ritual welcomed by all. John and Sandy were great to deal with -you won't go wrong staying here and I hope we'll be back!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kahului International Airport (OGG) Kahului, HI
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Wailea Golf Club - Blue Course
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Keawakapu Beach
Car: necessary

Ekahi 17C in beautiful Wailea, is a wonderful place to vacation. Located on the sunny south side of Maui, it offers some of the finest beaches in the world, world- class shopping at The Shops at Wailea & a wide variety of restaurants...all within walking distance of our condominium.

We especially enjoy the great beaches in the Wailea area. You can walk to Keawakapu beach directly adjacent to Ekahi Village's Beach Pavilion pool. Ulua beach which is about a two minute walk from the Beach Pavilion offers some of the finest snorkeling and scuba diving in Hawaii. Big Beach, one of Hawaii's largest beaches is a 10-15 minute drive.

Wailea offers 5 major golf courses, all with great views of the ocean. For tennis fans, the Wailea Tennis Club's 'Wimbeldon of the West' courts are less than a 5 minute drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wailea Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Apr 15 2016 - Dec 15 2016
6 night minimum stay
$180
 
 
High Season
Dec 16 2016 - Apr 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Low Season
Apr 15 2017 - Jun 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$180
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 13.25%

DEPOSITS & CANCELLATION: We require a Deposit of $400 at time of booking. Balance due 60 Days prior to arrival with a refundable $300 Security Deposit. If you cancel more than 60 Days Prior to Arrival, we charge a $200 cancel fee. If you cancel within last 60 Days, we charge the cancel fee and we refund the Security Deposit. Remainder refunded if re-booked.

PLEASE NOTE: VRBO has now decided to list a cancellation insurance policy that VRBO offers when a Request for Payment is sent to persons inquiring about renting...this is in no way associated with us. In the past we elected to not allow them to do so, but they now require it to be shown when a request for payment is sent. It is strictly optional and up to each guest to determine if it is something they are interested in purchasing.

NO HOUSEKEEPING FEE CHARGE

VRBO FEE: AS OF FEBRUARY, 2016 VRBO HAS STARTED CHARGING GUESTS AN ADDITIONAL BOOKING/SERVICE FEE. WE DO NOT AGREE WITH THIS FEE AND WE DO NOT RECEIVE ANY MONEY FROM IT. ALL THESE MONIES GO TO VRBO.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Wailea Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 792 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom - 1 king
  • The Bedroom features a King bed with Pillow Top Mattress, desk & chair for your laptop, free wireless, large dresser, ceiling fan and quiet split duct air conditioner. Sliding doors lead to a private, enclosed lanai for relaxing & enjoying your favorite book.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Easy access to the beaches of South Maui and all the other visitor attractions of Maui.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties