Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family Friendly; Pet friendly Settlement Home

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,010 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom; 2 bathroom; seasonal view of Lake Galena

2 bedrooms-each with a queen size bed; 2 full baths; gas grill on the back porch facing the woods with a seasonal view of Lake Galena Hiking trails immediately accessible. Minutes away from the marina - pontoon rentals available. Close to the owners club, featuring: indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center and game room -pool and ping pong tables, foosball, bumper pool. Fifteen minute drive into downtown historic Galena.


Owner
Richard
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2017

About Richard

Originally from Chicago and the western suburbs we fell in love with the Galena area years ago as we drove through the area en route to Dubuque, Iowa. Eventually we bought this cottage that we have so much enjoyed and now would like to offer you the chance to fall in love with Galena and the beauty of JoDavies County

Richard purchased this house in 2008

What makes this house unique

A special little cottage-somewhat quaint, nestled within the settlement...trees, a seasonal view of Lake Galena, beautiful starry nights and the lull of Galena falls...hiking trails just down the road. A quiet retreat, tho minutes away from tourist hustle and bustle of historic Galena if desired.

Amenities

The Galena Territory House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1010 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

59% Complete
35% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Family Friendly; Pet friendly Settlement Home
average rating of 4.4594593 based on 37 reviews
5

Everything You Need

  • 5 of 5

This vacation rental had everything we needed: scenic neighborhood, walking paths, just 10 minutes from downtown Galena, wi-fi, streaming tv, well-stocked kitchen, cozy deck, amenable to pet, and very quiet. We would return.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The area was wonderful. Our house was super cute.

  • 4 of 5

The house could use a little updating. There were lights you could not turn on. The bathroom sink sprayed water. But our house was quaint, clean and the beds were very comfortable. Just a short ride to Galena and Dubuque.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback. We will have our maintenance people look at these issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful accommodations in beautiful Galena, IL.

  • 5 of 5

Owner was great. Very responsive to emails.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful and Cozy Cottage

  • 4 of 5

Girls trip weekend. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Perfect location for both downtown Galena activities or nature activities. The cottage was clean and inviting. Loved the Netflix option.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Poor

  • 1 of 5

Our entire family was awakened at 7:15am on Wednesday, July 19th by a lawn mower and blower, then was awakened on Thursday, July 20th by a weedeater followed by a blower. I emailed the owner and told him that our family gets one vacation a year, we live by alarms and was looking forward to sleeping in (because that is what vacation is about..no alarms) and my husband is on call at all hours of the night. I also informed the owner we were only left with one trashbag. The owners response was very disappointing, " we have never had anyone complain about this (lawn maintenance being done so early in the morning) before." His response told our family he didn't care and he already had our hard earned money. We do not recommend anyone to stay at this property. I informed the home owner we would not be back.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our place has been available to guests for over 10 years and this was the first time that we had heard of this issue. We explained that we do not have control over the maintenance crew, since our place is part of an association which controls this but we have taken it up with them to try prevent this in the future. Below is the response from the operations manager: "Thank you for your email. The Galena Territory Architectural Review Guidelines state the following: a. Noisy construction activities will be limited to 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Saturday and 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Sunday. Including, but not limited to the use of power tools, radio equipment, landscaping or yard maintenance equipment, construction equipment such as dump trucks, fork lifts, end loaders, excavators, etc. Sounds from radios or other non-construction activities that can be heard from adjoining properties constitute a nuisance and are therefore prohibited. Customary construction sounds shall not be construed as a nuisance. With that being said, let me speak with the maintenance department to see if we can rearrange the schedule so as not to be at the Settlements quite that early. Operations Manager The Galena Territory Association, Inc."
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Cozy and well located

  • 4 of 5

Well equiped and owner easily accessable if problems arise. Near the center of the Resort core and convenient to Galena via Mount Hope Road. Quiet. Overall, a very nice place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
27 Miles
Dubuque Regional Airport
Nearest Golf
Galena Territorry
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US-20
Nearest Ski
13 Miles
Chestnut Mountain, Hanover, IL
Car: necessary

Nestled within 6800 acres of the Galena Territory our cottage provides the perfect backdrop from which to enjoy 19th century history and architecture, great local wineries and restaurants, arts and crafts and many eclectic shops found in Galena and the surrounding towns of Elizabeth, Hanover and Stockton.Within the territory you might enjoy Illinois' largest golf course, the Eagle Ridge Spa, the marina from which you could rent pontoons, the Shenandoah riding stables, outdoor and indoor swimming, a fitness center, and a game room featuring pool tables, ping pong, foosball, etc. Miles of trails for hikers and cyclists, and wonderful opportunities for birdwatching.

The town of Galena is home to art galleries, spas, wineries, irish music and the home of President Ulysses S Grant. More trails to bicycle or-perhaps canoeing or kayaking the Mississippi backwaters is more to your fancy. Come winter there are the skiing/snowboarding opportunities at Chestnut mountain or snowshoeing at the Galena Cellar Vineyard.

Downtown Dubuque is 40 minutes away--here one might enjoy various concerts and musical/cultural arts events, casinos, Mississippi riverboat rides, and the world's steepest trolley.

For lovers of nature-rolling hills close to the might Mississippi; for lovers of wine-the many award winning wineries; lovers of outdoor sports; lovers of history; or just lovers...you are welcome.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Charge (one time per stay) $70 + Tax
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $125
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.