Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Downtown Rose Covered Mountain View Home

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

3 bedroom, 2 bath landscaped home!

Beautiful 3 bedroom/2 bath Single Family Home in Downtown Mountain View

3 bedroom, 2 bath, 1,200 sq ft single family home that sleeps 6 in a beautiful neighborhood! The entire front of the house is surrounded by rose bushes!

Master bedroom has a queen size bed, it's own bathroom with stall shower, and sliding doors with a walk-in closet.

Second room has double bed. The third bedroom has a queen size bed. Second bathroom is full sized with a bathtub shower.

Kitchen is large with granite counter tops, island, beautiful cabinets, and a full kitchen setup for cooking. Kitchen leads outside to large grill and beautifully landscaped backyard that is fully enclosed with table for 8 for outdoor entertaining. There is also a swing set and a lemon tree!

Dining room has table that seats 6 people.

Living Room has a TV with DVD player and a wood burning fireplace.

There is wireless internet access, cable TV, and a printer.

We do not allow more than 6 people staying in the house!

Our home is a short 5 block walk to downtown Mountain View's Castro St with hundreds of restaurants of every nationality. We are very close to Stanford and many tech companies. There is a park and public swimming pool just 3 blocks away. The neighbors are very friendly and helpful. Several kids live on the block but it is a quiet neighborhood.

If you have any issues with check-in and check-out times or any special requests for your arrival, please just let us know. We want to make your stay as easy and painless as possible

We look forward to hearing from you.

Ken and Mary

More Details

Mary Nicknish
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Mary Nicknish

Ken and I are always on the go! We have another home in San Francisco in the Castro and spend time at both places. We are both in high tech, have 4 beautiful children and a granddaughter.

Mary Nicknish purchased this house in 2010

Why Mary Nicknish chose Shoreline West

We love Silicon Valley. We are close to restaurants, hiking, biking, San Francisco (45 minutes north), Stanford (15 minutes North), many high tech companies, and the beach (45 minutes south)

What makes this house unique

We love our home because of the beautiful landscaped back yard and because it is so quaint and comfortable!


Shoreline West House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , This is off the master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This is between the 2 bedrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Bathroom off the bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed is a double on the bottom and a single on the top.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • mountain biking
  • tennis


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Downtown Rose Covered Mountain View Home
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 19 reviews


  • 5 of 5

House was perfect and conveniently located within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Beautiful backyard! We enjoyed our stay and will use them again in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking such great care of our house! We are very glad you enjoyed it - you are welcome back anytime! Mary and Ken
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Outstanding location,, lovely inside and out.

  • 5 of 5

We appreciated the owners welcome package! Will book this one again.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect for our family!

  • 4 of 5

Close to everything! Mary had wine, cheese and meat waiting for our arrival. The house was decorated for Christmas with a real tree🌲?

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cute, comfy, convenient

  • 4 of 5

Greeted upon entry with a bottle of wine, salami, cheese and crackers on the dining table. Nice touch, especially as it was our daughter's Stanford graduation weekend. Owners were polite and we had no functional problems other than a clogged sink in one bathroom and fairly pervasive black mold on the ceiling and window frame of the master bath. When I brought these to the owner's attention, he expressed concern and apologized, but oddly blamed his teenagers and didn't fix the issues or even offer to do so while we were there. The a/c was a God-send during the incredible heat that easily broke 100 in the sun. Very nice yard but too hot to enjoy it. Master bed was awesome. One other bed also great, the third one "like a bowl" according to my step-mother.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dan and his family were great guests, but we're somewhat mystified by the comment about not offering to take care of the two issues he mentioned above. We had a very pleasant text conversion on Saturday morning (Dan was just staying the weekend). He mentioned the the drain, but said it was just draining slowly and it was "Not a huge problem, but thought you would want to know." We obviously mistakenly took that to mean he did not need nor want us to send a plumber over while he was there (we were only 15 minutes away from the house at the time), just a heads-up, so we scheduled a plumber for Monday mid-day after he and his family checked out and before our next guests arrived later in the week. We have ALWAYS gone out of our way to take care of any issue with the house with utmost urgency - we've even been willing to stop by to walk through how to use the TV remote when asked :-) And, with regard to the mildew / mold, that is the first time we've ever seen or heard anything about it - there were indeed some small spots on the master bath ceiling that we were able to easily wipe clean, and then had all the surfaces treated with bleach. The master bath does not have a proper exhaust fan, only a window, so we're having a contractor install a fan with instructions for future guests to make sure to use it. We have a lovely well maintained house that we are very proud of, and we strive to provide our guests with a near perfect experience. We apologize to Dan and his family if that was not the case during his stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy family home with great yard

  • 5 of 5

We rented the house to stay in while we celebrated my mother's 90th birthday in Nearby Cupertino. The house is very tastefully and comfortably furnished. The kitchen has every amenity, though we mainly enjoyed the top notch restaurants in downtown Mountain View just a few blocks away. The yard is lovely and redolent with the scent of the many rose bushes. Great as a base for adventures or a place to lay on the lawn on a sunny afternoon.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Saint Johns

Comfortable, clean, well equipped, lovely private yard in quiet neighborhood close to everything.

  • 5 of 5

We needed a quiet space for a reunion of 4 siblings in their late 70's and 80's who required minimal stairs, on a single level, fairly open with nice common areas. This property fit those needs and more. Our first impression when walking through the house was how clean it was, and although this is obviously someone's home we were not put off by the personal items. A lot of time was spent reminiscing around a generous dining table next to a kitchen that came equipped with anything a cook could need. The beds in each of the 3 bedrooms were not only very comfortable, but had linens of a quality on par with the finer hotels. Although we hit a rainy spell for our stay, we were able to spend a good part of the last day enjoying the spaciousness of the large backyard and patio. The neighborhood is quiet and friendly, within walking distance to restaurants, parks, library, etc. The owners, Mary & Ken, were extremely responsive and helpful. We would highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Cascals (many on Castro Street)
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
101 or 280
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Nearest Ski
200 Miles
Lake Tahoe
Nearest Beach
35 Miles
Santa Cruz
Car: necessary

Mountain View is in the heart of Silicon Valley. Our home is in a beautiful quiet neighborhood with great neighbors. We are walking distance to hundreds of restaurants! If you enjoy a good Pilates class, you can find one right next door!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties