check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Quality Time Together! Log Cabin Sleeps 25+ Kids Love It! Pets too!

Sleeps35
Bedrooms 9
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
lodge
Sleeps
35
Bedrooms
9
Bathrooms
4
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Eight Bedroom, Four and a Half Bath Log Cabin With Large Ponds

Kids love it! This secluded mountain lodge lets your group enjoy fishing, hiking, swimming, kayaks, and relaxation - all without leaving the property! You'll be close to white water rafting, rock climbing and skiing in winter, but once you settle into this 80-acre estate, you won't want to leave.

Maple Fork Lodge has beds for up to twenty-six people, with floor space for the kids! A spacious kitchen and dining area, tastefully decorated great room, ample entertainment room with sixty-inch HD television, High-speed wireless internet throughout the home, a business center and library, and best of all, several ponds, the largest of which is just over an acre - all stocked with fish! The kids will love splashing into the pond from our 18-foot rope swing and paddling around in the provided flat-top kayaks.

With lots of cozy nooks for reading or face-to-face meetings, this property is perfect for corporate or church retreats, girl's getaway weekends, family reunions, scouting events or just a vacation spot for large families. Whatever your reason for visiting our little corner of 'Almost Heaven,' you'll definitely want to come back again next year!

BEWARE: DUE TO THE POPULARITY OF THIS PROPERTY, SCAMMERS HAVE TRIED TO SPOOF THIS LISTING AND TRICK PEOPLE INTO SENDING MONEY TO THEM VIA WIRE TRANSFER. MAPLE FORK LODGE WILL NEVER ASK YOU TO PAY USING WIRE TRANSFER. RESERVATIONS ARE NOT VALID UNLESS YOU HAVE PERSONALLY SPOKEN TO OUR RESERVATION MANAGER, AMANDA BY PHONE AT 304-575-1641.

More Details

Property Manager
Amanda Bowers
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Amanda Bowers

The home was purchased in 2005 by Chuck Holton and his wife, Connie. It soon became the Holton Hideaway...Chuck is a television War Correspondent, author, and Adventurer who travels to more than 20 countries each year. Photographs of Chuck's travels adorn the home. When he's not reporting from a far-flung war zone, Chuck hides out with his family at their home in Panama, but the family still loves spending time at the family farm in WV several times each year.

Amanda Bowers purchased this lodge in 2005

Why Amanda Bowers chose West Virginia

In 2005 we escaped the business of Washington, DC for a more serene existence in southern West Virginia. When we moved to Panama in 2012, we wanted to see the farm in WV being enjoyed by others.

What makes this lodge unique

Maple Fork Lodge is a wonderfully secluded property - well off the road. With eighty acres to explore and mountaintop views that will take your breath away - it's the perfect place for relaxing with family and friends. The decor isn't stuffy and formal - but designed to make large groups seem cozy and intimate.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

Quality Time Together! Log Cabin Sleeps 25+ Kids Love It! Pets too!
average rating of 4.8139534 based on 43 reviews
5

Beautiful, kid friendly, very clean

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful Piece of Heaven and the West Virginia Countryside. The property is very spacious, and very well-stocked. Everything we could possibly want was provided. Had a opportunity to speak with the property manager, and she was beyond helpful. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thoroughly enjoyed having you at the Lodge. Thank you for the kind review. We hope you will come back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Absolutely disappointed and dissatisfied !

  • 1 of 5

Our group stayed recently in maple Fork Lodge Property .

We encountered a number of issues 3

1) No water pressure in the upstairs bathrooms . It is impossible to take a shower !!!

We were 15 adults and 4 children . When bringing up the issue to the property manager , she advised not to open any faucet , not to wash dishes or do laundry. After all that 0 results . Can you imagine not being able to take a shower during your entire stay ?

Not being able to give able to give a bath to the little ones?

The property was not cleaned properly !

All our children caught a very specific bacteria from the house .

2 adults were severely affected by the cat smell and hair in the sofas ...

I would not want to anyone happen what happened to us ... stay Far away from this place !!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: After four years and over 100 rentals, we finally got "that family." From the moment they stepped foot in our home, they have been angling to get their money back. They refused to pay the stated pet deposit, they left the home an absolute wreck, smoked indoors in flagrant breach of their contract, ran the furnace on 79 degrees with the windows open (to air out the cigarette smoke), and then THREATENED us with bad review if we did not return their full rent and deposit. This amounts to extortion, and we refused. We personally cleaned the house (not the cleaning crew) in the days leading up to this rental. The home was spotless. I am starting to believe this has all been an elaborate scam to get someone a really cheap vacation. For anyone reading this review, please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the lodge. We will happily provide proof that every one of the claims this review makes is false. What you can take from this review is a secure knowledge that we will go to the mat to ensure that our home is treated with respect (and not smoked in!) by the family who stays there before you do. And we take the rental contract seriously. Lastly, if you are a rental owner...beware of this kind of scam.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 6
Fairfax, VA
5

Best Vacation Rental in WV

  • 5 of 5

Our family loves Maple Fork. We have been to the property several times. It is close to the New River great hiking trails and awesome outdoor activities. The log home is gorgeous and great for any family get together!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So nice of you to keep coming back! Love repeat visitors!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Very nice property. The dogs were awesome

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time there. We would recommend the property for family gatherings.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Beautiful home, beautiful area

  • 5 of 5

The home was beautiful and property was even more so. This home was a perfect place for our big group of friends, but would be great for a family too. We were able to all sit around the fire pit at night and fish in the ponds in the early morning. We loved this place!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Had a great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had 26 people meet up for a bachelor party rafting trip. The house and grounds were spacious and clean. It was the perfect place for a large group. Wild and wonderful!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

New River Gorge Bridge
"Breathtaking views in all directions - especially in fall, when thousands come from around t..."
Beckley Exhibition Coal Mine
New & Gauley River Adventures Campground
The Summit: Summit Bechtel National Scout Reserve
New River Gorge National River
Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Beckley, WV
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Prince, WV
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Interstate 64/77
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Bradley, WV
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Winterplace
Car: necessary

The Beckley Exhibition Coal Mine is an interesting several-hour excursion. The Tamarack cultural center is a wonderful collection of locally-made arts and crafts for sale. Downtown Mount Hope - 4 miles away - is a great place to step back in time and shop for unique treasures. And for the outdoors man, the New River Gorge is unsurpassable.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Cleaning $250
Property Damage Protection $99
Pet Fee $200

Rates are subject to change until reservations are confirmed.
$750 deposit required at time of booking.
Deposit will be forfeited if cancelled less than 90 days of the reservation.
Cancellations less than 30 days out forfeit one full day's rent plus deposit
Check in is 4:00pm and check out is 11:00am.
No Sunday check-ins.
If your booking creates a 5 hour turnover, an additional $200 cleaning fee will apply.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Mount Hope Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 30 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Guest Bath Main Floor - toilet
    Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower
    Downstairs Bath - toilet , shower
    Loft Bunkroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 35
  • Bedroom 1 Upstairs - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 Downstairs - 1 bunk bed , Twin top, full bottom.
    Bedroom 2 Downstairs - 1 bunk bed , Twin top, full bottom.
    Bedroom 3 Downstairs - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 Upstairs - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Loft Bunkroom - 1 twin/ single , 3 bunk bed , single over double bunks and carpeted floor space.
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , Has outside door for easy access.
    Bedroom 2 Upstairs - 1 queen
    Office downstairs - 1 sleep sofa /futon , NEW queen-sized sleeper sofa converts office into bedroom
  • All beds include bedding and pillows.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers