check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

"Tuscany on the Beach" Now Booking for Fall and Winter Savings

7 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Encinitas House Rental Photos and Description

Charming Beach Duplex Only 5 Houses to the Beach

Can be reserved with a credit or debit card through Pay Pal for your convenience and assurance to lock in your dates.

For any questions you may have or if you would like to reserve "Tuscany on the Beach", please choose between the following easy steps, after first taking a look at all the rates and fees throughout the year by clicking on the rates at the top of the listing.

A. Email owner by clicking on the blue tab that says "Send Email" at the right and follow the prompts.

B. Text owner by first clicking on the "Show Phone Number" tab on the right and provide the following information.

1. First and Last Name.

2. Arrival and Departure Date.

3. Number of Adults and Children under 18.

4. Phone number to text or call .

5. Email.

6. A brief summary of where you are from and your vacation goals.

All rates and fees throughout the year are listed at the bottom of site under VACATION RENTAL RATES.' For your convenience, please click on the rates tab located at the top of the site just under the photos to review all seasons and week end rates.

*******If you need more room at the same location and would like to reserve a three bedroom instead,

or want the option to rent both exceptional vacation rentals for a super reunion sized experience, please email or text owner. Many return guests have rented both homes all together for additional family and friends they chose to invite. So please email owner and provide your email and phone number so that the owner can contact you with the other listing number for you to view all the photos and answer any questions you may have.


This charming beach duplex is located only 5 houses from Stone Steps Beach and is just a short walk to the ever popular, Moonlight Beach. After years in the making, Moonlight Beach just competed construction on new bathrooms, a restaurant, and a rental equipment and expanded life guard facility to main tower in addition to existing fire pits, volleyball, a play ground, and even a tennis court just a short walk away.

As you enter the gate, you will be delighted to see that your world has just transformed as you begin your vacation at the beautiful 'Tuscany on the Beach'. A true secret unknown to those passing by at the street.

Your vacation home has been recently remodeled with granite and travertine tiles throughout. It is beautifully furnished and decorated and boasts a Tuscan-like feel. The kitchen is well equipped complete with modern appliances, dishes, glassware, and utensils. All linens, bedding, and beach towels are also provided for your convenience. Your Tuscan vacation home has a beautiful patio area with plenty of seating, and an amazing outdoor kitchen. You can either eat in or dine 'Alfresco Style' in the outdoor dining area that overlooks a beautiful garden and play yard. For the young at heart, bring nothing as your stay includes most beach equipment needs and there are plenty of board games, lawn games, tennis racquets, and an out door ping-pong table.

Whether you're a family looking for the ultimate beach vacation or surfers looking for awesome waves, this is the place for you. Couples looking for a romantic honeymoon or anniversary, golfers looking to play world class courses, or Thoroughbred Racing regulars who disire an alternative to Del Mar... all will discover that 'Tuscany on the Beach' is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a well desrved vacation.

Note: Enjoy a day trip of watersking/wakeboarding and tubing.

You can book a family sized ski/deck boat with crew on beautiful Mission Bay for an additional fee. Inquire at time of reservation.

*****This is a No-Smoking Vacation Rental so no smoking, not even outsidel******

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Loretta Marie
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 29, 2016
Call Owner

About Loretta Marie

Welcome to 'Tuscany on the Beach.'

I'm Loretta Marie and so happy you found me on VRBO. Ever since I was a small child growing up in Southern California amongst a wonderful, large family, I always loved going to the beach. Unfortunately many of those beaches were the flat, heavily populated type like Santa Monica in L.A. and Huntington and Newport Beach in Orange County.

But at the age of 16, the crowded, flat beaches of LA and Orange County would become a thing of the past.

I luckily came across Encinitas with my older brothers during a small surfing trip. When we drove up the hill on Old Highway 101 near La Costa Ave., I immediately fell in love as we entered Encinitas and knew right then that I would some day live in this beautiful town.

It felt like 'Hometown USA on the Beach with towering eucaliptus trees, unique shops and reataurants, and with a laid back, Hawian, North Shore kind of feel. The beaches were amazingly beautiful with large bluffs, two large lagoons, and of course boasted incredible waves. I knew right then and there that someday soon, I would return to live here.

So a few years later, I came back to start my college years and have stayed here in the Encinitas area ever since; enjoying all the water activities, restaurants, and it's terrific, small town beach atmoshphere.

Loretta Marie purchased this house in 1985

Why Loretta Marie chose San Diego County

I chose to purchase this wonderful duplex property because it was located only 5 houses to Stone Steps Beach and near the ever popular, Moonlight Beach. It was the most charming beach home I had ever seen with each home having it's own unique style and amazing outdoor living spaces that make beach living so wonderful.

What makes this house unique

When I first entered the property, I was taken by the amazing yard that was virtually hidden from the street. The secured entrance gate and fenced in yard allowed tremendous privacy and a tranquil setting that made me immediately feel like I was on a relaxing vacation.

The large, beautiful coral tree, grass, and charming alcove patio area made me never want to leave.

I became even more surprised when I realized the property had another completely separate home with another private yard that was equally impressive and each with it's own unique style that felt like home in each their own way.

I immediately put in an offer and ultimately became a homeowner for the first time making my beach front living dream come true. To this day, it is my favorite place to be and is where I spent the rest of my years with my husband while raising our three beautiful children.

Recently, we made both homes of the duplex vacation rentals so that they could be enjoyed throughout the year by family and friends as we began to travel and do home exchanges with friends in Europe. Recently, I came to realize that this wonderful beach property should be shared with even more wonderful folks who could also use a well desrved vacation at the beach. I felt it was implortant to provide all our favorite games and beach equipment so that travelers and friends would only need to pack their clothes and a bathing suit.

Although my family has traveled to many far away places throughout the world including the real Tuscany area of Italy, our favorite place has always been right here at our very own, 'Tuscany on the Beach.'

I can not tell you how happy it makes me feel to share this wonderful home with you, my next guest, at the beautiful, 'Tuscany on the Beach.' Enjoy...


based on 7 traveler reviews

"Tuscany on the Beach" Now Booking for Fall and Winter Savings
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews

Quiet location

  • 5 of 5

Loretta the owner was awesome and accommodating. The location is great and the home is perfect for a beach centered vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing "Tuscany on the Beach" and for taking good care of my home. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and was able to treat your family to a great getaway, right next to Stone Steps Beach. You are most certainly invited back and I look forward to your return. Warm regards, Loretta
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Great location, Excellent outdoor space

  • 4 of 5

Our group rented the downstairs unit. I would give this place 5 stars except for one aspect. The beds were not great. I spoke with the owner following the rental and she is going to get them fixed up, just a couple bolts that need to be tightened and no more squeaking every time you move in bed. Adequate space for everyone (party of 4 adults) and you really don't want to be inside in Encinitas in April anyways. Play some ping pong (paddles are included but bring your own paddles/balls if you want to play with some good ones), walk to Stone Steps and surf the beach break, or take a quick cruise to the main strip in Encinitas for some food/shopping. Great location. Great piece of property.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Best Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family rented this house and we had a wonderful time. The house was clean and we loved the outside area. It is in a great location, close to the beach and walking distance to shopping. Cant wait to book again. The owner was the best, kind and very accommodating. Thanks for make our spring break wonderful!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Wonderful location and property

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay, such a beatuful property and ideal location for our family. I enjoy taking our son or morning walks to Stone steps and evening walk to beach with husband. Loretta is an amazing host she above and beyond to made us welcome.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Tuscany on the Beach

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time, and enjoyed our stay at "Tuscany". It was as advertised and was very comfortable. Loretta was very accommodating, in that she went out of the norm to make sure we were comfortable and felt secure that our pet would be safe. Encinitas is a very pet friendly town and has many shops a and restaurants that will accommodate.

We will be back

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

great location, owner difficult, could use a spruce up.

  • 2 of 5

Floors and some cooking utensils dirty when we arrived. Bathtub cracked and peeling from bad glaze job, cabinets damaged. Half bath is in an outside utility closet. The space is as pictured otherwise and outdoor space is the highlight. Owner unpredictable and difficult to work with, aggressive and demanding via text. Docked security deposit for rental of portable a/c that was in the unit and running when we arrived. No verbal or written notice that we were being charged until security deposit. Also charged us for missing outdoor equipment after owner's family members had used equipment and rearranged between two rentals. Our personal board was missing after they left.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guest, Thank you for your review. Upon arrival, for your one month stay, you were excited at how great "Tuscany on the Beach" was and also was aware that this rental did not come with A/C as listed. Because it was an unusually hot and humid summer for coastal San Diego, you were happy to know that a portable A/C was new and being offered as an option at an additional cost but could only be used sparingly as it is not designed for 24/7 use. You requested to have the portable A/C and went ahead and used it 24/7 even when not home. It was brought to your attention that the power company informed me that the use had gone up over four times the norm for this time of year for over 30 years. The bill went from less than $200.00 a month to over $700.00. You were informed that not only the daily use charge would apply, but also a possibility of an additional amount. No additional amount was charged and the owner ended up with a loss of over $500.00 for this unauthorized 24/7 use of the optional, portable A/C. It was also unfortunate that there was no dog paid for on your agreement and then a few weeks later, a dog arrived on the property. No payment was paid after numerous promises by you to do so. The dog barked non stop upon coming and going through the court yard and other times that became a problem. It was requested, yes by text messaging, for you to pay for your pet the $100.00 weekly fee before your departure and after numerous promises, you did not do so. Your pet stayed for several weeks with out any payment made prior to your departure. Unfortunately, there were complaints by the guests in other rental that you kept the rental a mess and all the beach equipment and personal belongings all over the common area and at times with the gate open. Upon visiting the property, it was true. It was requested that you tidy up in the common area for a pleasant stay for all guests and no attempts were ever made. The owners had to clean up common area almost daily and decided to cancel and give a "Rain Check" on another reservation that was a return guest of other unit because of the untidiness and the constant barking that was undesirable for this return guest who comes for peace and quiet. Additional long board surfboards were for the other units use only and your children kept asking if they could use them anyway. I allowed you to use them at no additional cost. No complaints of utensils or tub were ever received for your entire month stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2


San Diego Zoo
SeaWorld San Diego
Balboa Park
Seaport Village
Gaslamp Quarter
Petco Park
USS Midway Museum
Birch Aquarium at Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve
Old Town Trolley
Belmont Park
San Diego County Fair
Del Mar Racetrack & Fairgrounds
LEGOLAND California
The Flower Fields
Gaslamp Quarter
Moonlight Beach
Humphrey's Concerts By the Bay
San Diego Harbor Excursion
Hornblower Cruises & Events
Swami's State Beach
D Street Bar and Grill
Knott's Soak City U.S.A.
Knott's Berry Farm
Universal Studios
The Queen Mary
Encinitas Ranch Golf Course
The Beach House -- CLOSED
Juanita's Taco Shop - Vista -- CLOSED
Pannikin Encinitas Cafe
Honey Bistro & Bakery
San Diego Botanic Garden
San Elijo Lagoon Ecological Reserve
Seaside Bazaar
The Comedy Store
Solana Beach Coaster Station
Carlsbad Premium Outlets
The Forum Shopping Center
Giant Dipper Roller Coaster
McClellan-Palomar Airport
St Germains Cafe -- CLOSED
Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian
Downtown Encinitas MainStreet Association
A Little Moore Restaurant
El Callejon -- CLOSED
Tuscany Ristorante
Tomiko Japanese Cuisine -- CLOSED
Hansen Surfboards & Surf Shop
Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Palamar Airport and San Diego International Airpor
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
E Street Bar and Grill
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Encinitas Ranch
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
The Paniken Reataurant
Nearest Ski
85 Miles
Mountain High in Wrightwood Ca.
Nearest Beach
Stone Steps only 5 houses away
Car: not necessary

San Diego Botanical Garden is located right here in Encinitas and is one of the worlds best in addition to the beautiful San Elijo Lagoon with exceptional bird watching and hicking activities.

* Sea Side Bazar weekends on Mian St.

* La Paloma Theater Theater

* Farmers Market every Sunday just down the street

* World Class surf spots nearby;

Cardiff Reef, Swami's, Pipes,'D' Street,

Stone Steps, Beacons, and Grand View

* Embarcadero Waterfront

* Mission Bay Boating and Fishing Excursions

* Amusement and Attraction Parks

- Lego Land

- Sea World

- San Diego Zoo

- Safari Animal Park

- Belmont Park (roller coaster)

- Water Parks

* Other Attractions

- Disneyland

- Knotts Berry Farm

- Universal Studios

- Queen Mary

- Hollywood

- Temecula Wineries


Rates & Availability

Encinitas House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Fall Savings
Sep 23 2016 - Nov 17 2016
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Nov 18 2016 - Nov 30 2016
5 night minimum stay
Christmas/New Years
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
May 17 2017 - Sep 20 2017
5 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning Fee $95
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

September 1 - May 30 $3995.00/month (With Two Month Stays)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Encinitas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Travertine dream bathroom with large soaking tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , toilet and large sink in laundry/storage area
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Beautiful Tuscan queen sleigh bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , roll away twin bed, Pack and Play/Go bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties