Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

7BR/7BA South Austin Multi-Home Retreat, 8 Acres, Sleeps 16 to 20.

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms7
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning

Overview

About the property

7 Bedrooms, 7 Baths, Sleeps 20

Our Writing Barn, with the master bedroom features a comfortable queen-size bed and a lofted space acts as the second bedroom with a comfortable futon for an additional guests. The kitchen is equipped with a stove, microwave, two refrigerators, coffee maker, toaster, and plenty of dishes and glassware. The floor-to-ceiling bookshelves set the scene for tranquility and the modern bathroom is stocked with plenty of plush towels and linens. The Barn is equipped with AC and heating and there is a washing machine and dryer on the property. Inside there are hookups allowing guests to access the web, play music, watch instant movies, etc. A screened-in back porch allows guests to enjoy the beautiful property, which includes walking trails and outdoor seating - perfect for enjoying the great outdoors. Standing on the front porch will allow guests to watch the deer of the Texas Hill Country stroll by and the rain lilies pop through the ground after a refreshing Texas shower.

This modern cabin-style unit features one queen-sized bed in the loft and two day beds on the main floor. The coach house is equipped with AC and heating and there is a washing machine and dryer on the property. The kitchenette is equipped with a stove, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, and plenty of dishes and glassware. The full bathroom has lovely copper accents and plush linens. A screened-in back porch allows guests to enjoy the beautiful property, which includes walking trails and outdoor seating - perfect for enjoying the great outdoors.

The Book House is a grand five bedroom house, whose focus is on creating a comfortable place for large groups or families to sleep. A brilliant wrap-around deck with great seating, and allows you to take in all the great natural landscapes around the home. There is a combined living room and dining area with a couch for three people, a unique cedar bench, and an easy chair. There is comfortable dining for six. This area connects directly to the kitchen, which is fully equipped and features brand new appliances. The bottom floor features three bedrooms, each with two twin beds, and its own private bath. The Newbery and Caldecott have standing showers and the Printz has a tub. The bedrooms are decorated in a classic, comfortable style with pops of color and original artwork (for sale) by Austin artists to showcase their personality! Take the staircase upstairs and there you have the bedrooms the Booker and the Printz, complete with two full-sized beds, a small desk, and dresser. Again, these two bedrooms each have their own private bath, en-suite. The grounds have large shade trees and a private sitting area with hand chairs (made famous by the once-iconic Austin toy store, Toy Joy.) Swing in the hammocks, borrow a bicycle, and enjoy this Austin property which feels like it is in the middle of Hill Country, while still being city accessible.

The City of Austin limits occupancy to six unrelated adults.

OL # 2013-051690 OL

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos and amenities have been verified by TurnKey staff. Our calendar and rates are 100% accurate. We strive to make it as easy as possible to stay at our property - you just drive right up and enter via our secure electronic lock. No more keys and no more security concerns with a unique code that works for your reservation only. We will notify you proactively when early check-in / late check-outs are possible and you'll receive the comforts of a luxury home when you arrive like a starter supply of shampoo, soaps, paper products and hotel-quality towels and linens. In addition, when you book we will send you our mobile app with property directions, details, unlock code and instructions. And if you need us, we are available 24 hours each day with live help. TurnKey Vacation Rentals uses the industry's most trusted brand of software to securely store all guest data - HomeAway Software for Professionals. All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee and a

More Details

Property Manager
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
May 30, 2017

Amenities

South Austin Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • 2 Queen beds, 10 Twin beds, 1 Other bed, 4 Full beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

7BR/7BA South Austin Multi-Home Retreat, 8 Acres, Sleeps 16 to 20.
average rating of 4.1764708 based on 17 reviews
5

Beautiful, Country place in the City, perfect for us

  • 5 of 5

Our school took our UIL Academic team to the State Competition. This place was awesome, because we were able to separate the students, participate in outdoor activities and cook for ourselves. The location was perfect for travel and eating out. Beds were comfortable, and being able to "hang out" was great for the kids. They enjoyed being in the woods (playing cops & robbers). This was the first time we chose a property over hotels and it was a much better option for us. If possible we will chose this option and this property in the future for our competition travel.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good retreat with a great location

  • 4 of 5

The Writing Barn is a great little retreat for a bigger group or multi family gatherings. The grounds are beautiful and the location of the barn is close to downtown Austin. The beds are comfortable and the feel is warm and welcoming. If you are a writer, a team, or simply enjoy getting away and reading time this is a great place to stay.

The cabins are filled with all books, blankets, sitting areas, inside and out, and kitchen gadgets and party supplies,, they even have some kitchen staples at hand, that you may forget at home otherwise, however things are disordered. Unfortunately the cabins had a lot of opened and old food that we had to either ignore or throw away because it was going bad. I would recommend the barn, but it' does need a thorough cleaning and reorganization..

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Karina, thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will make sure to do a thorough cleaning of the fridge and follow up with our housekeeping team as well. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available for guests to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to having you stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Writing Barn

  • 5 of 5

This place is so awesome! It accommodates large groups very well with plenty of beds and bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable. The property is really close to shopping and restaurants but you feel like your in the country. I would definitely go back! The owner was very sweet and easy to contact as well.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Terrific! A perfect place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had 13 kids age 11-16 and 5 adults come and stay for 4 days. We found the cabins and the entire property exceeded our expectations. We ate our breakfasts and dinners in the Cabin and ate lunches and had game nights in the Writing Barn. There was plenty of room for everyone. We are very happy with our stay and plan on returning!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jeff! You were perfect guests and we're already looking forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful and rural property centrally located

  • 4 of 5

TurnKey was amazing to work with in renting the place. This place definitely has a woodsy and natural feel though it is nestled right in the midst of a residential area.

The buildings have been beautifully designed with gorgeous wood floors, convenient and clean full baths in each of the bedrooms, and interesting and lovely detail on the ceiling with exposed beams The layout in the houses are tough for those staying with a large group. The common areas are surprisingly tiny. The Book House sleeps 14 and yet there is only a loveseat and a long back-less bench to sit on in the living room. There was a dining table and chairs chairs but no where to linger. The Writing Barn is a much larger building though the sleeping quarters only accommodate four people. There is a larger living area there but only folding chairs are available for seating. That house is offered as a classroom type of space and it would work well as such, but it would be helpful to have some more comfortable lounge chairs and couches for those who want to gather for conversation.

The bedding was very pretty and well chosen and the property was quite clean. The owner seemed irritated that we knocked on his "private" Office though the sign on the door didn't indicate that it was a private space. We would have appreciated a bit more of a welcome and willingness to extend a tour of sorts but instead we were asked if we'd received a map from the rental company and sent on. He didn't thank us for our business or encourage us to come to find him should we require anything. It seemed evident that he wanted the property managers to handle everything. It's understandable to expect this in the initial reservation and payment process, but once onsite, it's entirely reasonable to assume that people who have rental property on their land right next to their home would be interested in welcoming guests who have paid to be there.

There were 20 of us altogether and it was a bit snug to share the smaller beds. I would think 18 is about max for grown women, but it worked out fine for us since we were there just three nights. The kitchen all had a nice sized fridge but it would have been nice to have a few more items for cooking such as hotpads, spatualas, mixing/prep bowls.

It would be helpful to have larger signage and clear markings on each of the buildings as it isn't clear from the driving path. The signs on the exterior are visible if you get out and walk but not from your car.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Melinda, thank you for the kind words and all the helpful tips! We are already putting many of your suggestions in place. We apologize that things weren't clearer. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Beautiful property

  • 3 of 5

This place definitely has a woodsy and natural feel though it is nestled right in the midst of a residential area.

The buildings have been beautifully designed with gorgeous wood floors, convenient and clean full baths in each of the bedrooms, and interesting and lovely detail on the ceiling with exposed beams The layout in the houses are tough for those staying with a large group. The common areas are surprisingly tiny. In the book house, for example, there is space for 14 to sleep and yet there is only a loveseat and a long back-less bench to sit on in the living room. There was a dining table and chairs chairs but no where to linger. The Writing Barn is a much larger building though the sleeping quarters only accommodate four people. There is a larger living area there but only folding chairs are available for seating. That house is offered as a classroom type of space and it would work well as such, but it would be helpful to have some more comfortable lounge chairs and couches for those who want to gather for conversation.

The bedding was very pretty and well chosen and the property was quite clean. The owner seemed irritated that we knocked on his "private" Office though the sign on the door didn't indicate that it was a private space. We would have appreciated a bit more of a welcome and willingness to extend a tour of sorts but instead we were asked if we'd received a map from the rental company and sent on. He didn't thank us for our business or encourage us to come to find him should we require anything. It seemed evident that he wanted the property managers to handle everything. It's understandable to expect this in the initial reservation and payment process, but once onsite, it's entirely reasonable to assume that people who have rental property on their land right next to their home would be interested in welcoming guests who have paid to be there.

There were 20 of us altogether and it was a bit snug to share the smaller beds. I would think 18 is about max for grown women, but it worked out fine for us since we were there just three nights. The kitchen all had a nice sized fridge but it would have been nice to have a few more items for cooking such as hotpads, spatualas, mixing/prep bowl

It would be helpful to have larger signage and clear markings on each of the buildings as it isn't clear from the driving path. The signs on the exterior are visible if you get out and walk on at least one of the buildings and

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Melinda, thank you so much for taking the time to write us. We love hearing from our guests--the good and the not-so-good. Your comments are crucial in helping us keep our homes up to the highest standards and giving our guests the perfect experience. We apologize that you didn't have that experience. Thanks to your comments, we're working on improvements to the home. You were great guests and we hope you'll consider us in the future. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties