check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sarah Landis

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Family-Friendly Cottage Off Lake in Stockbridge

10 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Stockbridge Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 1 1/2 Bath Minutes from Tanglewood

2-day minimum stay in Spring, Fall; 1-week minimum stay in Summer, check in/out on Friday.3-day min. stay for Labor Day weekend.

Located a short walk to the town beach on the Stockbridge Bowl, and 1.5 miles from Tanglewood's Hawthorn entrance, this casual summer cottage is a great get away for the whole family.

The master bedroom is equipped with a queen bed; two twins are in the 2nd bedroom, and a full-size bed in the 3rd bedroom. A sofa in the den becomes a real twin bed and a Pack 'n Play is on site if you need a portable crib.

A new kitchen will suit the chef of the family, or barbecue on the propane grill. Enjoy the screened-in porch and dine al fresco. Foodies will enjoy the many seasonal and farm-to-table offerings in nearby Lenox and Great Barrington.

Cultural offerings abound nearby. Truly, there are too many to list. Museums, botanical gardens, theater, Tanglewood, Shakespeare & Co., Berkshire Theater Festival, Jacob's Pillow ...

Or enjoy the lake! You will find 2 stand up paddle boards and a kayak at the house that you are free to use. You'll also find some extras in the house - things we like, such as a little red wagon and some beach toys - feel free to use them.

For yogis, Kripalu is just at the North end of the lake. You also can book a holistic facial or spa treatment there or opt for the spa at Canyon Ranch or Cranwell with it's indoor and outdoor pools. Whatever you're looking for, you're sure to find it in the Berkshires!

We purchased the cottage in 2013 and have been working hard updating it. In 2015 we renovated the full bathroom plus new windows. We hope you enjoy it!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sarah Landis (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Sarah Landis

We're a family of 5 who love to play on the water, ride bikes and appreciate the arts. Our family is from the Berkshires and we love the area for skiing in the winter, yoga, and Tanglewood and the theater in the summer.

Sarah Landis purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Sarah Landis chose Berkshires

We got married at a nearby farm and have been visiting the area ever since. The Berkshires are a fabulous destination all year round. And summers are as eventful as you want. You can attend a concert, theater or dance performance nightly, enjoy a farm-to table meal, or just relax at the cottage. As for our kids, they love the lake and riding their bikes best!

What makes this cottage unique

With 3 bedrooms, plus a den with a sofa that converts to a true twin bed, this house is just the right size for a family, but small enough that everyone comes together for family time. The open plan living/dining room/kitchen invites people to spend time together. And the lake is just a short walk away!

Reviews

4.9
based on 10 traveler reviews

Family-Friendly Cottage Off Lake in Stockbridge
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
5

Cute cottage with great location and everything you need

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in the cottage. The size of the house was just perfect for our family of 5. Enough room for everyone to sleep and the kids thought the beds were "very comfortable." Once we figured out how to open to skylight window we were able to manage the heat on the hottest days (we were there during a "heat wave" where temps were up to 90) and found the screen porch to be a wonderful place to relax in the afternoon as it was cool and comfortable and we could take in the fresh air while reading or playing games. The house has a nice little collection of books and games. We particularly enjoyed Scrabble Gardening version.

The location of the house couldn't be better. Beautiful views of Stockbridge bowl driving to and from the house and very close to the Town Beach for those who are interested. A quick ride over to Lenox village and not too far from Stockbridge village or Great Barrington.

The house was clean with simple, comfortable decor and the kitchen had most tools/gadgets I needed for cooking our own meals.

Even though there are many cottages around, it is very quiet and peaceful at this house.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful area

  • 4 of 5

Had a pleasant stay in the area and attending a concert at Tanglewood. Really close to the place. . Home was a bit warm with no air conditioning just fans. Very, very clean and orderly. Wanted to use the canoe and paddle boards for the lake but there was no transportation provided to get them to the lake. Should have a roof rack available or bring one. Too heavy to walk them to the beach. So price wise I would have stayed somewhere else on the lake where I could use the equipment or would have liked that mentioned before paying for a lake house but can't use the equipment which was a bit disappointing. Went for a swim and the water was warm but not very deep and a bit weedy. The owners were very nice and promptly answers any of our questions.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments, Liza. This year all the slots on the kayak racks at the lake went immediately and we were shut out. The town is evaluating building more due to high demand and we hope to get a slot again next year. Meantime, my teens and I carry our SUP boards down to the lake, or we put them on top of a car if its convenient. The kids kayak is meant to be carried by a 10-year old and that's not too much of a problem. It's really the canoe that is a heavy beast and requires a roof rack. Good news is that the lifeguards are allowing people to launch boards and smaller boats (non-motorized) from the town beach just 2 blocks away, so it's not necessary to transport them to the boat launch, which is a good bit farther. I also have several SUP transportation straps, wheels, etc. tucked away in a big container under the house. The house and lake are both clearly marked on the map here and I try to be very clear about our exact location so there should have been no surprises there. As for the temperature, I make it clear in the listing that this house was built as a summer cottage without heat, airconditioning or insulation. There is a ceiling fan in the main family room 4 portable fans plus 3 space heaters which also have fan only mode. The screened-in porch is our favorite place to have meals when it is hot. As for value, I consider pricing very carefully and didn't raise prices at all in 2016. For the amount of space, bedrooms and location, this cottage is attractively priced to ensure it is fully rented. Renovated homes with airconditioning on the lake rent for double what I charge.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Florida
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough about this lovely cottage. Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Enough large space for the extended family to eat/play and talk together but enough small space to get away on your own if needed. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and the gas grill was used almost nightly. The home and grounds were immaculate. The owner was prompt and thorough in her communications with us. I would go back tomorrow if I could!!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Randolph
5

With We Had More Time

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 has been coming to the Berks for the last 15 years or so, and we've tried staying a bunch of places - locally owned and/or chain hotels, B&Bs, etc. - and this time we went the VRBO route, and our first time was a hit out of the park.

Sarah and Clark have made a very nice home for those who visit, and it was very comfortable and clean and well appointed. It's open floor plan in the living space was great. There are speakers in the kitchen where we plugged in our iDevices and filled the space with music.

The kids loved the yard in the back, throwing a frisbee around; our oldest enjoyed reading in the sun room. We liked cooking breakfast each of the mornings we were there and sitting together around the large kitchen table.

There was an old Atari system in a drawer for some late night retrogaming, and the Roku got some use as well.

A new gas grill was delivered during our stay, but we didn't get a chance to use it... maybe next time. :-)

Sarah's communication before and during our stay was timely and helpful.

I would recommend this property without reservation, and my wife is sad that it's booked for the rest of the summer (a fact which that did not surprise me; it's a great property in a great location).

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orefield, PA
5

Roomy, homey cottage

  • 5 of 5

My sisters and I loved the comfort of this wonderful cottage that was fully stocked with everything we needed. We enjoyed the space and personality as well as all the comforts of home.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Long Island, NY
5

Fall Perfection!

  • 5 of 5

The moment you step inside this crisp, clean and well appointed home you are instantly transformed into a state of pure relaxation. The location is ideal and the home looks straight out of a magazine. We had a wonderful ladies weekend at the lake, getting paddle boarding and kayaking in with the agreeable weather. Local wineries, apple picking, and terrific farm to table restaurants completed the fall perfection weekend. The owner is prompt, courteous and very hospitable making this a 5 star experience. I cannot wait to return again soon!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Stockbridge Town Beach
Car: recommended

Cultural offerings abound nearby. Truly, there are too many to list. Museums, botanical gardens, theater, Tanglewood, Shakespeare & Co., Berkshire Theater Festival, Jacob's Pillow.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Stockbridge Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Memorial Day Wknd 2017
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 23 2017 - Aug 31 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$2,050
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $250

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Stockbridge Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Clothes washer and dryer
  • The full bath was renovated Spring 2015.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , This is the den: sofa cushions remove to reveal a true twin.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • swimming
Notes:
This is a summer cottage in a lake community and was built without heating or insulation. Guests in the shoulder season (Spring and Fall) will enjoy the working fireplace, down duvets, and if needed, space heaters. You can expect the temperature inside to drop in response to the outside weather.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties