check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit


Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

About the property

4 Bedrooms 3 Bathroom


Fully remodelled late 2013, everything is brand new.

Spacious home in a quiet, woodsy residential neighborhood of South Lake Tahoe. Enjoy the massive open living area on the top floor and the many big bedrooms downstairs.

When you are searching for a home base for your perfect Tahoe vacation a lot of things should be standard. Beautiful clean décor and furniture, a kitchen that is a pleasure to gather and cook in, a grill, a hot tub, internet access and home entertainment options. We wanted to go a step further here are some other things we offer that the others might not:

Complimentary gift basket on arrival

Luxurious bath robes in the bedrooms

Shampoo, conditioner, body wash and hand soap provided

Over stocked kitchen: spices, olive oil, balsamic, coffee, waffle maker, baking supplies

Local (contractor)owners for good advice and quick attention to issues

Not over crowded, only two people to a room

Gas fireplace, cozy, still heats in a black out

No keys to lose with our digital lock

There is an open lounge room and dining area. The gas fireplace is cozy and inviting. On the other side of the kitchen is the living area with a big sectional couch and 55' HDTV with bluray home theater and playstation game console. Or take your relaxing outside on to the deck overlooking massive pine trees and mountains

Cooking is a dream here. The kitchen features concrete counters and a bay window looking out to the woods and mountains. All the appliances are new, a big fridge, gas range, dishwasher and microwave. We have included everything you could need to bake or cook up a storm. There is a waffle iron and blender for whipping up delicious treats. If you prefer to do your cooking outside we have a big natural gas grill just out the door.

All the bedrooms are downstairs and they are all BIG. There is a master with a california king bed, 40' TV and its own bathroom and deck. There is another room with a california king and two rooms with queen beds, plus a full bath. All your towels and linens are provided.

The hot tub is on a ground level deck with views into the trees. We have a foos ball table for added fun.

Location is key and this is a great one. Central in town, but tucked up a hill in the woods, you are close to everything. Heavenly 8min; Sierra at Tahoe 25min; Kirkwood 45min;Casinos 10min; Beaches 10min; Shopping 10min; Golf 5min. This is a quiet residential area so access is easy and the nights are quiet. The home is surrounded by forest service land. Take it all in from the two big decks.

City of South Lake Tahoe Permit: 005746

More Details

Duggan Smith
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2017

About Duggan Smith

I came to Tahoe on vacation from Australia in 1998 and was immediately smitten. In fact I moved here permanently ten years ago and have been loving it ever since. I am lucky enough to teach snowboarding at Heavenly each winter and work in construction during the summer. My wife Angela and I feel very lucky to be able to raise our two kids in this amazing outdoor playground.

Duggan Smith purchased this house in 2013

Why Duggan Smith chose South Lake Tahoe

We fell into the vacation rental business in 2010 after buying a house together with my mum, so Granny would have a place to stay when visiting our kids. Its been a great combination of my passions for real estate, construction and customer service. We loved this house for its amazing location with immediate access to endless forrest, great views, the huge living area and massive bedrooms

What makes this house unique

Complimentary gift basket on arrival

Luxurious bath robes in the bedrooms

Shampoo, conditioner, body wash and hand soap provided

Over stocked kitchen: spices, olive oil, balsamic, coffee, waffle maker, baking supplies

Local (contractor)owners for good advice and quick attention to issues

Not over crowded, only two people to a room

Gas fireplace, cozy, still heats in a black out

No keys to lose with our digital lock


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(75 traveler reviews)

average rating of 4.8533335 based on 75 reviews

very good

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed the stay.

Neat house.

Enough TVs and Sofas.

Only small concern, we could not keep the house warm.

Ground Floor is bit cold even after setting the room temperature.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Reliable Host

  • 5 of 5

This is our second visit to one of Duggan's property since 4 years ago. Duggan's new Tahoe house blew us away. It was exactly as advertised, and felt like it was nearly brand new. The house with the snow we got on Christmas Eve made for a wonderful place to have a white Christmas with our family. The house is very spacious, and very comfortably accommodates 12 people. Appliances and fixtures are all new and modern. The location of the house was also great. While some might consider it off the beaten path a bit, it was only a 10-15 minutes drive to casinos as well as Sierra-at-Tahoe & Heavenly.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone in the South Tahoe area!

Once again thank you Duggan for being a great host.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house for large group!

  • 4 of 5

This house was great for our large group. Plenty of space for everyone to enjoy! Awesome hot tub!! The beds were super comfortable and you had all that you needed. The only down fall was that if wasn't super clean when we got there. There were a few broken drawers in the kitchen, some lights didn't work in the downstairs hallway and there was a broken door knob to the patio. But we made the owner aware of it. Our group would stay there again! Very comfortable and cozy, especially in the living room where the fireplace was!

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely and great for groups.

  • 5 of 5

Upon entering the house, we were ecstatic. There is alway worry when booking online, because you don't know if the owners just hired a good photographer, but, this place just like the photos, if not nicer. There was also a little welcome basket with snacks and a few nice to have items, which was very sweet. The welcome packet next to it also had all the info we needed in regards to clean up, taking the trash out, noise, etc.

The owner, Duggan, responds quickly to questions. I was tired after a long week and could not for the life of me find the key code (for entry) that was supposed to be emailed to me. It turns out it was sent to me in a previous email before the anticipated one, and he was very helpful about that.

The hot tub was wonderful after a long day out at the lake. You have access to the hot tub from the common area and from the downstairs bedroom areas, in which there are bathrobes in every room. The bathrobes were a nice touch, because they kept us nice and warm to and from the hot tub.

The house is far enough away from the neighbors to watch a movie late night at loud volume without disturbing anyone. (We tested it by having someone stand outside and listen with the doors and windows closed to see if they could hear anything as we kept turning up the volume. He could barely hear it at almost max volume.) We had someone fall asleep on the couch; he said it comfortable enough for the night.

We spent a lot of time in the open kitchen / common areas because it was so spacious. Someone would cook, and we'd all be there to chat and help clean. It was a great kitchen to cook in - things were easy to find, people could come and go as they pleased and there was enough space to not bump into each other. We did leave some of our unopened condiments in the refrigerator since we figured the next group might need it. If your group is planning to cook, there is a Raley's that's not too far of a drive.


- keyless entry

- newly renovated kitchen

- cups, mugs, utensils, pots, pans, spices all provided

- large, comfy common areas

- hot tub actually gets hot

- bathrobes

- beautiful, CLEAN bathrooms

- far enough from neighbors to not have to constantly worry about noise


- the downstairs hallway carpet was a little dirty - it wasn't horrible, but it stood out from the rest of the immaculate house

Overall verdict: Would definitely recommend.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good, not luxurious

  • 3 of 5

The house was just fine. We enjoyed our stay, especially the hottub and proximity to Heavenly Village. Duggan was very responsive to my questions, and the neighborhood is very quiet which is nice. I rate it 3 starts because it wasn't as nice as advertised. It had many small broken or missing items that didn't feel like they suddenly broke before our visit. I get the impression they're just not urgent enough to fix (because they're not individually), but collectively they were annoying. i.e. kitchen faucet toggle was broken, outside door handle from deck was missing, knob on stove was missing, drawers had missing handles, coffee pot carafe lid was broken, beds were uncomfortable, bedspreads in 2 rooms have seen much better days, and the floors were dirty (carpets are very stained and the slate in the kitchen was black when we spilled water on it and cleaned it up with a paper towel. The slate is also uneven and I tripped a few times - I'd imagine it's not toddler or Senior friendly). The size of the home was great for a group of 12 - we had plenty of room to spread out and hang out in different areas, and played games around the table together. Be sure to bring you own toiled paper and paper towels - no extras are supplied. While we had an enjoyable weekend, I don't think we'd stay here again. Not Duggan's fault; we have just stayed in nicer rentals before.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and sorry that we didnt quite meet your expectations this time. I was only aware of a couple of those minor issues you mentioned, thanks for bringing the others to my attention. I will get them all taken care of right away. We do rely on our guests to let us know about some of the smaller less obvious things that come up. We have deep cleaned the house since your stay and are will be scheduling dedicated deep clean days in the middle of our busy seasons in future. With back to back guests all Summer it was difficult to steam clean the floors. The house should have been stocked with two rolls of paper towel and nine rolls of toilet paper. I am sorry if the cleaning crew shorted you on those items.We also provide shampoo, conditioner, bodywash, handwash, dish washer, dish and laundry detergent as well as some kitchen staples.. If ever there are maintenance items, cleaning issues or missing sundry items we are happy to take care of them for guests right away if given the chance.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful get-away

  • 4 of 5

The property met all our expectations. We really enjoyed the location and peacefulness. Having a full kitchen made things very easy and convenient. We also enjoyed the hot tub.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
57 Miles
Reno Tahoe RNO
Nearest Barpub
2.6 Miles
Cold Water Brewery
Nearest Ferry
3.3 Miles
Tahoe Queen Paddle Steamer Tours
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Nearest Motorway
2.5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2.6 Miles
Scusa Itailan
Nearest Ski
3.7 Miles
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Regan Beach
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Reset Fee $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change until a reservation is confirmed.
Holiday weekends have a three night minimum that must include Friday and Saturday.
Bookings generally may not contain a Friday or Saturday night with out the other also.
Saturday to Saturday bookings will have a $400 up charge.
Holiday bookings have a 60 day cancellation policy

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Montgomery Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2450 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • Plus: Queen sleeper sofa in living room 2 twin mattresses with linens
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties