check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Rod Caris

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Brand New Private Suite! Senior discounts!

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Seafair House Rental Photos and Description

Beautiful. Brand New! Steveston Village! Airport! Transit! Airport pickup

Newly constructed one bedroom suite. Full kitchen with top of the line appliances. Luxury tiled bathroom. All amenities. Minutes from whale watching, shops, restaurants, coffee shops and historic Steveston Village where the filming of many tv series & movies take place (currently filming Once Upon a Time). Miles of walking and biking trails along the Georgia Straight and mighty Fraser river. A bird watcher's paradise. World class shopping in central Richmond. Vancouver Airport and sky train transit minutes from suite. Perfect location for your visit to Vancouver.

CHECK OUT OUR HAWAII RENTAL VRBO# 409754!!!

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Rod Caris (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Rod Caris

We have called Richmond home for over 20 years. Everything you could need is here!

Rod Caris purchased this house in 2000

Why Rod Caris chose Richmond

Richmond is very central to all that Beautiful British Columbia has to offer! From Whale watching to world class skiing. Vancouver airport and ferries just mins away.

What makes this house unique

10 min drive to YVR International Airport!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)
Brand New Private Suite! Senior discounts!
average rating of 4.5 based on 10 reviews
1

Very disappointing

  • 1 of 5

We love Steveston and agreed to rent this suite primarily because the description stated that we would not need a car because it was only 5 minutes from Steveston village and we saw ourselves strolling in for coffeee or shooping or looking at the fishing boats etc. The reality is that it is three miles from the village and so a car is a necessity. This was a real disappointment. The suite itself has excellent kitchen appliances, a very good shower and a comfortable mattress on the double bed. However, it had not been properly cleaned before we arrived - hair on the baathroom floor e.g. - the grass on the walkway to the suite had not been cut all summer whilst the two garden chairs were dirty and cobwebby. The suite itself is a typical dark basement suite, the furniture is a bit tired and the owner and his night-time barking dog live upstairs.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is so unfortunate that guests do not do their due diligents before arriving. This guest was booked months in advance, and we were told that they had lived in Richmond before and knew the town well. The site comes with a map that clearly shows where the suite is located. Our ad suggests that no car is needed because plenty of buses are close by. 5 min to Steveston by car. The furniture is not nearly as old and tired as these guests were! We are VERY DISAPOINTED in the way we were treated by these guests. RUDE to say the least! However, since then we have nothing but polite and thankful guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
Regina, Saskatchewan Canada
5

Great Richmond location!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at the suite for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although a little tricky to get to, the location was terrific, just a short walk from the Richmond Dike and minutes by car from anywhere in Richmond. The suite has an absolutely stunning shower and was very comfortable. The blackberries growing outside the door were delicious and an added bonus. The owners were very accommodating and terrific to deal with. We would not hesitate to stay at this rental our next trip to Vancouver!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We would love to have you back! Wishing you and yours a wonderful rest of the summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 2 months in this suite following our move to Canada from Scotland, beautiful area and suite is perfect. Short walk to Steveston Village and close to public transport. The owners Rod and Rhonda are so friendly and helpful and go out there way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. It was a pleasure to stay there and we were sad to leave. Would recommend this to anyone coming to visit the area.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your stay! It was a pleasure getting to know you both as well! Hope to see you soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

quiet neighbourhood

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 6 nights and appreciated the full kitchen and laundry facilities. We found it a convenient location for visiting family in the area. The unit is clean and new and the bed was comfy. Big new TV, too. The rain shower is really nice.

We spent some time in Steveston which is close by with many restaurants and shops. Walking on the docks and seeing the fishing boats with their catches for sale is always interesting. Sea urchins and skate were some if the unusual fish for sale.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Richmond, BC
5

Location and amenities (perfect for seniors)

  • 5 of 5

Mom stayed for two months and was extremely comfortable and happy, with privacy and living space in a place that met her budget. The suite is as depicted in these photos, and that shower is the bomb: brand-new and easy to get into. No stairs anywhere, and roomy enough that Mom didn't feel cramped all that time. Kitchen has all-new appliances and is easy to cook in. Good mattress. Huge flatscreen TV. The best thing, though, is the location. If you love the small-town vibe of Steveston, you are extremely close by, for half the price of staying in the village itself. It's a 5-minute walk to the 410 bus which will get you to Steveston: 15 minutes on the bus in the other direction and you are at the Canada Line (light rail) which zips you to the airport or straight downtown. Also a 5-minute walk to the lovely and peaceful oceanside path of the Dyke Wall, the most scenic feature of Richmond. 10-minute walk to a plaza with supermarket, bank, and all the daily necessities. Rod and Rhonda really worked to deal with the odd issue that came up during that long a stay. (For example, I was concerned about Mom having to walk over the lawn in winter weather to get to the side entrance: they quickly put in several rubber mats, which helped a lot.) We didn't need parking, but it's available and with a car you could get anywhere in Vancouver PDQ. There's also a futon you can request if you have kids or guests!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing us for your Moms long stay! Hope to see you back next year! All the best to you and yours! Aloha.... Rod and Rhonda
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Vancouver, BC, Canada
4

Very spacious, quiet and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

We required a 2 night rental in the lower mainland over the August long weekend on short notice (less than a week) and were very pleased to find this VRBO one bedroom basement suite in Richmond could accommodate us due to a cancellation by another guest. The owners were very informative and friendly both on the phone and in person. The suite has a private entrance in a small private garden area with small table and 2 chairs, perfect for a glass of wine in the evening. The kitchen is modern and complete with full sized appliances, and a small dining table with chairs. The living room and bedroom were adequately furnished and comfortable; wifi and TV are provided. The bathroom was large with a great walk-in shower and stacking washer and dryer. The suite was VERY spacious, quiet and comfortable. There is a large dog on the premises but kept well under control by the owners so wasn't an issue. It's only a short walk from this property to the dyke where you can walk and/or cycle with lovely views out to the ocean. I would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Vancouver
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
The Buck and Ear www.thesteveston.com/Buck/
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Tsawwassen
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Green Acres
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Sky Train
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
99
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Many; Steveston Village
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Grouse, Seymour, Cypress
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Garry Point Park
Car: not necessary

5 min from historic Steveston Village.

Whale watching, fishing, boating all within minutes.

Miles of bike trails along the mighty Fraser River.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Seafair House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High
Jul 29 2016 - Sep 10 2016
3 night minimum stay
$93
$618
$2,317
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$76
$541
$2,163
 

Additional information about rental rates

Contact owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Seafair House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing

Partner Offers