Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing Donner Lake & Mountain Views

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,310 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Lakeside Property

Gorgeous 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath custom built home with the most amazing views of Donner Lake and Donner Peak. This property is located across the road from Donner Lake & public pier. Donner Lake is 3-miles long, cradled by mountains and Tahoe National Forest, just outside of historic Truckee CA, with close proximity to Lake Tahoe, Reno and world class ski resorts.

Nearby ski resorts include Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows, Northstar, Homewood, Boreal, Sugar Bowl, and Kirkwood. Local activities include river rafting, hiking & biking trails, State Parks, Lake Tahoe, Reno, casinos, and so much more.

More Details

Property Manager
Rick Baeseman
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 18, 2017

Why Rick Baeseman chose Lake Tahoe North Shore

This gorgeous property was purchased in 2013 as an investment/rental property. We have enjoyed the Donner Lake area for many years, and look forward to making this property available to others. Donner Lake and the surrounding areas offers all the activities you could want in a vacation, no matter what season.


Truckee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2310 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 (Master Suite) - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Lake Views from the jetted tub are amazing!!
    Bathroom 3 (Top Floor) - toilet , 1/2 Bath located on top floor with living area/kitchen
    Bathroom 2 (Mid Level - toilet , combination tub/shower , Mid-Level Bath for use by Bedroom 2 & 3
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , Twin in small room off Master Bedroom
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Donner Lake Marina and Watersports offer a variety of rental equipment. No Events, No Receptions, No Parties! Property is for personal use by guests. Owner reserves the right to refuse reservations due to, but not limited to, availability and number of guests.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Amazing Donner Lake & Mountain Views
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 21 reviews

Most amazing place to stay

  • 5 of 5

The home was everything that was promised on the site. It had an amazing view and the home itself was fantastic. So much room for everyone. It was well maintained and beautifully furnished. The kitchen was well stocked with appliances, dishes, glasses, cutlery, etc. The rooms were very spacious. The town of Truckee has so many restaurants to chose from. And of course Donner Lake is right there. I would recommend this property, especially if one is looking for a relaxing place to stay with a spectacular view.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Karen ~ We are so happy you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent Ski House

  • 5 of 5

The pictures speak for themselves, the house is as beautiful as it looks, it is right on Donner Lake and the views are incredible.

The owner is incredibly friendly and helpful

The 2 car garage was huge and fit 2 SUVs and made unloading and getting out in the morning painless.

We enjoyed Sugar Bowl and Royal Gorge (XC) resorts right up Donner Pass Road. However, it is within Truckee city limits, so it is close to all North Lake Tahoe attractions

The fireplace was awesome. Everything was well appointed and top quality. We had zero complaints

We will definitely stay here again

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: David - Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Donner Lake vacation rental. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lives up to the pictures!

  • 5 of 5

The house is very spacious and comfortable and the views are AMAZING.

It was a perfect location and plenty of room for a Girls Getaway Weekend - 5 adults.

The description and pictures provided are very accurate. We spent time just relaxing on the deck, using the grill to cook dinner and it was great.

Also spent some time in Truckee which was easy to get to from the location.

I would recommend this property for a families or girls/guys weekend.

We definitely plan to come back.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Laura. We appreciate your review and we are very happy to hear you had a good experience. We look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful property with easy access to the lake and amazing views. Very clean and modern.

  • 5 of 5

The description of the property was accurate regarding the location, layout, amenities. The property was clean and well-maintained in "like new" condition. Customer service was very responsive and I would recommend this property to friends and relatives. The activities, attractions and restaurants were very close by as well as water sport rentals. Thanks for a great time.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Charles. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Horrible experience

  • 2 of 5

Unlike the great experiences I read prior to booking ours wasn't. When we first arrived we were greeted with a horrific smell coming from the kitchen bar. We opened all the windows but unfortunately that did not make it better. We decided to leave for the rest of the day for it was too bad to stay. After returning late we went to go to bed to sleep in the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept in! It was sloped in different directions with springs hitting my back all night. I have not slept in such an uncomfortable bed in my life. Unfortunately our 3 day stay turned into a 1 day stay. The best part of this place was the amazing view of the lake that's why I gave it 2 stars instead of one. Hopefully they resolve these issues and no one has the same experience we had.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As we have already expressed, we are sorry for the issues you experienced. Both our house cleaners and the homeowners visited the property within hours of your departure. Neither noticed any odors of any kind. House cleaners did deodorize the bar sink. As for the uncomfortable master bed, it has a feather top and perhaps you prefer a more firm mattress. We have had several reviews and compliments from other guests on how comfortable our beds are. Had we know you were unhappy with the bed, prior to your leaving early, we could have had the feather top removed, or your could have chosen either of the other 2 queen beds which are 'sleep number' beds, adjustable to your desired firmness. Unfortunately, you left so early in the morning that we were unable to please you. As we have done in the past with other guests who had to leave early, we have offered you a credit for the night you did not stay. But as you indicated in your email, 'that will not happen'. I also mentioned that you should contact the homeowner to discuss with him, but as yet, you have not. Again, we are sorry it did not work out for you. To our future guests, in all the years we have owned and shared this property with guests, we have never experienced the problems outlines in this unfortunate review. All our reviews have been 4 & 5 STAR. It appears we cannot please everyone. Unfortunately, Joe refused the opportunity to correct the problem, if one even existed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Great house, perfect location!

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful view. Lovely accomodations, clean.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Truckee River Rafting
Truckee Donner Lodge
Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Reno International Airport
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Downtown Truckee Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Interstate 80
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Sugar Bowl Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Donner Lake Public Beach
Car: recommended

Lake Tahoe is about 20 miles. Reno Nevada is approximately 30 miles.

Advise 4 Wheel-Drive vehicles during snow season.


Rates & Availability

Truckee House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
Christmas/New Years
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
Jan 3 2018 - Feb 8 2018
2 night minimum stay
President's Day/Ski Week
Feb 9 2018 - Feb 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Security Deposit $500
Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 12.0%

Early Check-in/Late Check-out available at an additional fee of $150 if property is available. Please ask!

Until confirmed rates are subject to change without notice. Property is NOT intended for EVENTS, RECEPTIONS or PARTIES. See Rental Agreement for all details.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager

You might like these similar properties