check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Your own oceanfront getaway at the Kona Reef!

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom (Sleeps 4)

Spectacular oceanfront third floor unit with sunsets all year. This third floor unit has many nice upgrades and is fully equipped for a comfortable stay. Be sure to look at the video tour to see what a nice unit this is. The link to the video tour is below the map, and above the photos where 'Link to our other rentals' and 'Link to 360 video tour' appears.

This third floor unit has been recently remodeled with island flavors and has an unbeatable ocean view. It is one of our favorites since it is in the desirable A building and the entry is over the atrium.

To see exactly what we’re talking about, take a look at the photos of this unit. We have multiple units at the Kona Reef. We own or manage 19 different units consisting of three 2 bedroom ocean front units, six 1 bedroom ocean front units, and 10 ocean view units all on VRBO. So if one is not available for the days you want, one of our others probably is.

This condo is fully equipped with everything you could need for a comfortable stay, with a full kitchen (full-sized range, oven, and refrigerator) including a microwave and all the small appliances that you would expect. There is also a dishwasher, but we provide plenty of silverware, cookware, and dinnerware, so you won't have to do dishes after every meal.

There is also a washer and dryer inside the unit, free, high speed internet WiFi and free long distance calling throughout Hawaii, the US Mainland, and Canada.

If this unit is full for the dates you want, one of our others is probably available. You can use the link to 'see our other rentals' lower on this page, or visit our owners website. Our availability calendars are always up to date.

You can Email or call us for additional information. We welcome your questions and will be happy to assist you. You can call us at 888-269-3229 from 9AM to 7PM California time.

There is a reason why so many guests return to the Kona Reef again and again. It is a great place to stay, and affordable. There is nothing more convenient than being just a block and a half out of town, and our oceanfront pool, spa and BBQ area are just great.

Hawaii Reg TA-122-221-9776-01


See you soon

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Ken or Dia Peters
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 2, 2016
Call Owner

About Ken or Dia Peters

The Kona Reef is our favorite, and the reason we own multiple units here. We enjoy providing a comfortable unit and look forward to our guests returning often.

Ken or Dia Peters purchased this condo in 2002

Why Ken or Dia Peters chose Kona Coast

The best location in Kona

What makes this condo unique

On the edge of town, just a few minutes walk to restaurants and shops.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved our time here and hate to leave. We like the new bed and furniture fabric. We will be looking forward to next year. Thanks for a beautiful place.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 1


3.7/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Your own oceanfront getaway at the Kona Reef!
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 7 reviews

Marginal at best!

  • 1 of 5

I read the reviews before making the reservation and since the views were great went ahead to confirm our days in this unit. We wish we would have stayed in a hotel. The room was hot. The air conditioner was noisy inside and on the deck. The bedroom did not have any air conditioning just a fan that had to be on at all times. We departed after one overnight rather staying the 5 days as planned due to other travel circumstances. No cancellation protection was available and owner refused any refund. Not worth the price and we would not recommend this unit at all. Wish I would have considered the previous reviews more carefully.

  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: How very sad that your resort to a false review. The truth is that you were unable to rent a car and that is the reason you departed after arrival. Your threat of a negative review unless you received a refund (due to your inability to rent a car) is similar to blackmail. Evidently trip insurance will not reimburse you for a decision to return home due to not reserving a rental car in advance. One might think that is poor planning. Other reviews are far more honest, and given by those with the foresight to reserve a car in advance. No reasonable person would think that a rental held for you for seven months should be refunded and sit vacant because you did not reserve a car before arrival. Sad that you choose to post a false review because of your lack of planning. Aloha.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Aberdeen, WA

A Fantastic Vacation Spot!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in at the Kona Reef from Jan 5 through Jan 15, 2016. The Kona Reef is in the perfect location, just a short walk to downtown Kona. Our ocean front unit had the greatest view! There was plenty of activity. From our lanai, we watched surfers, dolphins, schools of yellow fish, and fishermen. The pool area was on the ocean side, was clean and comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We are always please when a guest appreciates the time and effort devoted to provide a comfortable and clean condo that is fully equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay. The views are great and the Kona Reef has what is considered to be the best location for a stay in Kona. We look forward to having you back as our guest in the near future. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Littleton, CO, USA

Need AC in bedroom

  • 3 of 5

It is a beautiful location and ocean view, but no air flow in bedroom, and a heat wave in Kona, Hawaii, resulted in a very hot bedroom and restless sleep. Had a few other issues, but the maintenance staff is exceptional and very quick to respond and fix all the issues.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alberta, Canada

Amazing location but only OK accomodation

  • 3 of 5

The view and location of this condo is amazing! We loved watching the surfers, boogie boarders and setting sun from the lanai. The condo complex and pool area is nice and although not "fancy" is in good condition. We have stayed at the Kona Reef before and loved the views and easy walking distance to Kona. However, we were disappointed in this unit. Although it looks fine from a distance and is generally OK, there are definitely better units available. The condo did not appear as clean as I would have liked and some areas were in need of repair. For example, the side of the fridge was quite rusty and the ceiling paint and painted shelves in the bathroom were peeling. The water in the bathroom smelled horrible- which tended to permeate the unit at times. Unlike many other units we have stayed at, there wasn't much for beach supplies or extra personal touches. Our experience with the rental company and front desk was positive even when a waterline to the fridge ruptured. The amazing view and location would draw me to this condo again- but only it nicer units were not available.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Warren, Oregon,

Fabulous ocean view!

  • 5 of 5

Very beautiful view of the ocean from the deck. Saw a sea turtle, dolphins, Mamma Whale and baby almost everyday. Also, enjoyed watching the surfers right out front of the room. The room was nicely decorated and the area around the condos was very clean and well kept. Easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Would rent this room again.

Thank you for such a relaxing place to stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to give you comments. We do everything we can to provide a unit that is fully equipped for a comfortable stay and always look forward to a guest returning in the future, and often. We will see you again, Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Private, yet right by the ocean!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this location, tucked away on the side of the condo complex with tropical plants all around a very private lanai. We liked being on ground floor as the ocean was steps away - just around the corner of the building was the ocean! Lovely spot, clean, comfortable condo with all the necessities. Walk to nice shopping and restaurants. We went with Jack's Diving Locker for intro scuba class and Big Island Divers for Manta Ray night dive. Highly recommend both! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We do our best to provide a clean fully equipped condo that can be enjoyed by our guests, and this is one of our favorites. It is cooler and more private than most others, yet still just a few steps from the water. We do look forward to having you return. Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2


Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Kona International
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
In Kona Town
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
In Kona Town
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Honl's Beach Park
Car: not necessary

On the edge of Kona Town, just 1 1/2 blocks to restaurants, shops, farmers market and more.


Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
2016/17 Peak Season
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $95 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Reserved dates are held for you while others are turned away. There is no refund for unused days unless unit is re-booked, then any amount recovered would be eligible for refund.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 640 sq. ft.
  • 4 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Sleeper Sofa - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties