Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front 4BR House, WiFi, Pet Friendly, HDTV, MB Balcony Overlooking Ocean

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Ocean Front 4 Bedroom House 1200 SQ Feet, Sunday/Sunday weekly rental

Ocean Front House, Modern floor plan and kitchen with brand new, Flat Screen TV's in Every Room, Free WiFi.

In September 2014 we took out all the carpet and installed hardwood floors in all rooms. Additionally, every bed has a new mattress, new blinds in the rooms and a new heat pump for more efficient and effective cooling and heating! Also, we brought in new couches in September! It is FRESH!!

This two-level beach cottage includes ... cable TV/DVD... high speed internet.. a variety of cards, & board games for your family to enjoy...all at no added cost. The screened-in porch is lovely no matter the weather! There is a picnic table for morning coffee or afternoon snacks, or sit back, relax and listen to the ocean in the wicker chairs.

The kitchen is well-equipped with all plates, pots, pans and gadgets so you can can easily whip up a meal from the abundance of fresh, local seafood and produce available on the island. Don't miss the Farmers Market every Monday located a half mile from the house.

The master bedroom has a queen size bed where you will wake up looking out over the ocean! The second upstairs bedroom has a 1 queen bed, downstairs the 3rd has 2 double beds and the 4th has a queen bed.

Walking distance to City Center with 5 Public Tennis Courts, skate board park, soccer/ball field, new playground, pizza place, ice cream shop, movie rentals, and T-shirt/souvenir beach shop.

A perfect get-away for families and couples any time of year! Need to de-stress and unwind, then its time for a beach vacation.

This is a Sunday to Sunday weekly rental during the Summer.

More Details

Owner
Sarah Davidson
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 25, 2017

About Sarah Davidson

We are an active traveling family with 6 vacation properties for rent. This ocean front house, and another 6 houses down the street, a Townhome in Cottonwood, Utah (8 miles from Alta, Snowbird, Solitude and Brighton) and 3 Slopeside Condos in Wintergreen, Virginia. Vacation Year Round in one of our wonderful homes! We offer 10% discounts for customers who stay in two our homes in the same year. We are pet friendly because ours are apart of the family. We love to ski and play tennis as a family, but travel frequently for Sarah (Mom) who is a frequent triathlon competitor.

Sarah Davidson purchased this house in 2013

Why Sarah Davidson chose Coastal North Carolina

The View is Amazing. The ocean runs East to West so you get an Ocean Sunrise and Ocean Sunset. Conveniently located a half hour off Interstate 40.

Tennis For Free..Just 3 blocks from Free Public Tennis Courts that are in Great Shape!

For Golfers...The Oak Island Golf Club welcomes you to a coastal Carolina golfing experience. But summer vacationers to Oak Island’s vacation community in Brunswick County enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and warm southern hospitality that are hallmarks of Oak Island GC. The 18-hole, 6,720 yard George Cobb design provides an exciting adventure, round after round.

What makes this house unique

Rest, Beach, Bike, Tennis, Golf, Walks and Plenty of Night Life. Great for Families. The Monday Farmers market is 3 blocks away--so fun! Also in this area is a skate board park and children's playground!

We have another ocean front home 7 houses down the street if you are bringing more family and friends along--togetherness, but not too close!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Sarah, Just a note to tell you how much we enjoyed our week at Smooth Sailing. The beds were super comfy, the kitchen extremely well stocked, and good vibes were present everywhere. We especially loved the top deck view, and the warmth of the sun...even in late November!! Thanks so much for creating such a warm and welcoming "home away from home" Anne and Family
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Oak Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Ocean Front Master with One Queen Bed (upstairs). 2nd Bedroom 1 Queen Bed (upstairs) First Floor: 3rd Bedroom 2 Double Beds (1st floor) 4th Bedroom 1 Queen Bed (1st floor)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
1 outdoor showers

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
Ocean Front 4BR House, WiFi, Pet Friendly, HDTV, MB Balcony Overlooking Ocean
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 47 reviews
1

OK

  • 1 of 5

Although it was right on the ocean which we loved, the house needs work. Air vents were dripping and covered in black mold, counters were sticky, coffee pot was not washed (even old grinds left), cob webs and dust motes on ceiling. I sprayed a lot of Lysol in this house. Broken chairs on deck and old mattresses complete the picture. We had to ask for more towels and pillow cases. We made the best of it, but location and pet accommodation are the only things it had going for it.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, I wish we had talked while you were at the house. I'm here now and found the broken chair (I threw it out plus it was plastic which I do not like) on the screened in porch but the two rocking chairs, two wicker chairs and picnic table should have been enough seating. We also brought a new mattress for the one we hadn't replaced yet. I am deeply disturbed about the coffee grinds and I agree the cabinets had a tacky feel they've been throughly cleaned and I actually just hired a new cleaning group because that is not up to our standards. The filter to the AC had not been changed so that had created the dust on the ceiling. We also hired new maintenance people this trip to keep a closer eye one little things like that. We love our new maintenance people and feel confident they are on top of keeping our home ship-shape! Since we were here we also had the house pressure washed too. It's looking beautiful again! New modem, new cable boxes to keep techies happy too. I am writing this while sitting on the deck in a rocking chair, listening to the waves crash just beyond the dunes we had replaced after the last hurricane, and I'm feeling very blessed to be here.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

We didn't want to go home!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time to stay in Smooth Sailing and it was just as wonderful as we remembered! My favorite addition since our last visit in 2015 was the rockers on the deck. I spent many an hour out there every day

rocking away and listening to those glorious ocean waves while enjoying the cool Oak Island breeze. Can't wait to go.back!! ♡♡♡

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kim, "We didn't want to go home" was music to my ears. I couldn't be more pleased that you had another wonderful visit to our home. Glad you liked the rockers! The hurricane last fall wiped out a lot of stuff so those were one of the new additions (also new bikes, new washer/dryer, new beach chairs...), leave it to a hurricane to get everything spruced up. We can't wait to have you back!! Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great location/Disappointing house

  • 2 of 5

We recently stayed at “Smooth Sailing” and we were thoroughly disappointed. The house did not look anything like the pictures online. The sheets and shower curtain had stains, the upstairs sliding glass door did not lock properly, ceiling fan in one of the rooms was not working properly, outside shower was broken, ceiling and walls had missing/chipping paint, and broken blinds in one of the bedrooms. The mattresses were extremely uncomfortable, and made it difficult to get a good night’s sleep. There was dirt/mold caked around the exhaust fans in every room. We had 3 children with us, one of which is 10 months old. She was either in my arms, or in her pack n play the entire week, because the floors were covered in dog hair and were not clean.

The owner did send a repair man to fix the blinds, ceiling fan, sliding glass door, and outside shower. However, we had to take time out of our vacation, and go back to the house to be with him while he was there. He offered to just go in and fix it with us not there, as he had the passcode, but we did not feel comfortable with that. He spent 2 hours there and when he left, the ceiling fan and sliding glass door were still not fixed. These types of things should be handled while the house is not being rented.

The only reason I gave it 2 stars, instead of 0 is because the location was great and the beach access was perfect.

We will not be renting this house again in the future.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jon, I am always so unhappy when a renter isn't pleased. The minute after you called I first called the handyman to fix the shower and lock. I am so sorry you didn't feel comfortable letting our handyman of three years come into the home while you weren't there, but I'm glad he gave you that offer. We wouldn't hire anyone who wasn't trustworthy. Then I called the cleaning people who assured me she had gone over every floor 3 times. There are times the previous renters bring in so much sand it's hard to have time to throughly vacuum the furniture. Not everyone follows our request to keep pets off furniture. Next I refunded you the cleaning fee. Rest assured it is not mold around the AC vents when the AC works 24/7 this happens sometimes and those popcorn ceilings don't make a quick wipe easy. We were really angry to find out that the people who had recently fixed a ceiling/wall hadn't painted over the sparkle. It does not look good and thank you for bringing it to our attention it is now painted correctly. We are always deeply saddened when rented aren't happy. Thankfully you did enjoy the 20 feet proximity to the beach so the kids could play in the sand! Thank you for helping us to be better owners. Sincerely Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Was a very good experience.

  • 4 of 5

The house was very cozy. It reminded me of a cottage. You can't get any closer to beach front. We had everything we needed for a wonderful week with our pet.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Toni, I always laugh when people ask if it is really close to the beach...yes! It is an easy stroll to sit and relax, swim, fish and then do it all over again. We try and keep the place well stocked so you can completely enjoy your week. It is your vacation after all and that is supposed to be worry free! I'm very happy to her it was a "wonderful week." Thank you, Sarah Davidson
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fabulous view

  • 4 of 5

Loved staying at this sweet, oceanfront home. We had to cut our week short because of a death in the family but all in all we had a great time.

Short walk to the beach was wonderful. Pleasant weather too!

Would stay here again and again!!!

Wanda

North Carolina

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wanda, Thank you so much for vacationing in our home. May is an amazing time to be at the beach! We love the super close proximity to the beach! So very sorry you had to cut your vacation short, that just means you have to come back soon! Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

A little disappointed. House in need of some repairs such as lights and fans. Location undedirable.

  • 3 of 5

We loved the screened in porch. The house was very clean. Difficult getting to beach even though house is beachfront. Rain caused a large pool of water between house and dunes that couldn't drain and remained all week. Interior of house in need of repairs. Several fans and lights not working properly. Pillows are horrible.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pam, Sorry you were a little disappointed. It is hard for us to clear water out of the land between our house and the beach. Please keep in mind we had a terrible hurricane in the Fall that we are still rebuilding from. We had to hire someone to create new dunes for us and plant new vegetation. It is all coming back very quickly and now even the city has stepped in and helped make the dunes bigger. April can be a wet month, so the rain did build up some, but this is very unusual and really there is nothing that can be done about it. I know there is a city walkway two to three houses down that should have provided a great walkway for you. I haven't had a single complaint about the pillows, so you are the first person to bring this to my attention, but now that I have heard rest assured I will be on this and most likely replacing pillows within the month. I also hadn't had any feedback about fans and lights not working. I had a maintenance man in there two weeks ago to get the place in shipshape to begin the summer season. We like our homes to be perfect for guests because we want every guest to leave happy. I will have my maintenance man back in there with a week to take a look at fans and lights and get them running perfectly. Feedback from renters is always very helpful to keep our home looking and running great. I am thankful for you help. Rest assured light bulbs will be replaced (we always keep extra for guests so they can replace if need be) and pillows will be purchased. Take Care, Sarah Davidson
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Wilmington
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Many Bars and Restaurants
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Oak Island CC
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Wilmington
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
I-40
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many Restaurants
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Ocean Front
Car: recommended

Free Public Tennis Courts are 1 mile away. Also, there is a free skateboard park close to the tennis courts.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Oak Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 18 2017 - Aug 12 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,610
 
 
Late Summer 2016
Aug 13 2017 - Sep 10 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
 
 
Fall
Sep 11 2017 - Oct 21 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
4 night minimum stay
$140
From
$240
Fri,Sat
$1,575
 
 
Late Fall
Oct 22 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$135
From
$235
Fri,Sat
$950
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$135
From
$205
Fri,Sat
$805
$1,600
 
 
Winter
Jan 1 2018 - Feb 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
$135
From
$195
Fri,Sat
$705
$1,295
 
 
March 2017
Mar 1 2018 - Apr 6 2018
5 night minimum stay
$150
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$895
 
 
April 2018
Apr 7 2018 - Apr 28 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
3 night minimum stay
$135
From
$235
Fri,Sat
$1,395
 
 
Summer 2018
Jun 17 2018 - Aug 11 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,795
 
 
4th of July 2018
Jul 1 2018 - Jul 7 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,095
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,495
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Cleaning $160 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Weekly rental Sunday-Sunday Summer

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties