Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front 4BR House, WiFi, Pet Friendly, HDTV, MB Balcony Overlooking Ocean

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Ocean Front 4 Bedroom House 1200 SQ Feet, Sunday/Sunday weekly rental

Ocean Front House, Modern floor plan and kitchen with brand new, Flat Screen TV's in Every Room, Free WiFi.

In September 2014 we took out all the carpet and installed hardwood floors in all rooms. Additionally, every bed has a new mattress, new blinds in the rooms and a new heat pump for more efficient and effective cooling and heating! Also, we brought in new couches in September! It is FRESH!!

This two-level beach cottage includes ... cable TV/DVD... high speed internet.. a variety of cards, & board games for your family to enjoy...all at no added cost. The screened-in porch is lovely no matter the weather! There is a picnic table for morning coffee or afternoon snacks, or sit back, relax and listen to the ocean in the wicker chairs.

The kitchen is well-equipped with all plates, pots, pans and gadgets so you can can easily whip up a meal from the abundance of fresh, local seafood and produce available on the island. Don't miss the Farmers Market every Monday located a half mile from the house.

The master bedroom has a queen size bed where you will wake up looking out over the ocean! The second upstairs bedroom has a 1 queen bed, downstairs the 3rd has 2 double beds and the 4th has a queen bed.

Walking distance to City Center with 5 Public Tennis Courts, skate board park, soccer/ball field, new playground, pizza place, ice cream shop, movie rentals, and T-shirt/souvenir beach shop.

A perfect get-away for families and couples any time of year! Need to de-stress and unwind, then its time for a beach vacation.

This is a Sunday to Sunday weekly rental during the Summer.

More Details

Owner
Sarah Davidson
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

About Sarah Davidson

We are an active traveling family with 6 vacation properties for rent. This ocean front house, and another 6 houses down the street, a Townhome in Cottonwood, Utah (8 miles from Alta, Snowbird, Solitude and Brighton) and 3 Slopeside Condos in Wintergreen, Virginia. Vacation Year Round in one of our wonderful homes! We offer 10% discounts for customers who stay in two our homes in the same year. We are pet friendly because ours are apart of the family. We love to ski and play tennis as a family, but travel frequently for Sarah (Mom) who is a frequent triathlon competitor.

Sarah Davidson purchased this house in 2013

Why Sarah Davidson chose Oak Island

The View is Amazing. The ocean runs East to West so you get an Ocean Sunrise and Ocean Sunset. Conveniently located a half hour off Interstate 40.

Tennis For Free..Just 3 blocks from Free Public Tennis Courts that are in Great Shape!

For Golfers...The Oak Island Golf Club welcomes you to a coastal Carolina golfing experience. But summer vacationers to Oak Island’s vacation community in Brunswick County enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and warm southern hospitality that are hallmarks of Oak Island GC. The 18-hole, 6,720 yard George Cobb design provides an exciting adventure, round after round.

What makes this house unique

Rest, Beach, Bike, Tennis, Golf, Walks and Plenty of Night Life. Great for Families. The Monday Farmers market is 3 blocks away--so fun! Also in this area is a skate board park and children's playground!

We have another ocean front home 7 houses down the street if you are bringing more family and friends along--togetherness, but not too close!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Sarah, Just a note to tell you how much we enjoyed our week at Smooth Sailing. The beds were super comfy, the kitchen extremely well stocked, and good vibes were present everywhere. We especially loved the top deck view, and the warmth of the sun...even in late November!! Thanks so much for creating such a warm and welcoming "home away from home" Anne and Family
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Long Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Ocean Front Master with One Queen Bed (upstairs). 2nd Bedroom 1 Queen Bed (upstairs) First Floor: 3rd Bedroom 2 Double Beds (1st floor) 4th Bedroom 1 Queen Bed (1st floor)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
1 outdoor showers

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
Ocean Front 4BR House, WiFi, Pet Friendly, HDTV, MB Balcony Overlooking Ocean
average rating of 4.5531917 based on 49 reviews
5

CLEAN, EVERYTHING you need and BEAUTIFUL beach access

  • 5 of 5

We have been staying at OKI for 20 years and have stayed at many Ocean front homes and Smooth Sailing has been by far the BEST! We are 13 hrs away and because of everything it provides, we are no longer stuffed in our car like sardines the entire ride! We have cut our packing in half! Beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, grill, new washer/dryer, bedding/ sheets, towels, all the cooking necessities for seafood dinners, ice maker for cold drinks, TVs in everyroom to help everyone fall asleep, screened porch, outdoor rocking chairs and picnic table for the perfect dinner setting, and most importantly a home that allows us to share our 4-legged fur child! You couldn't ask for more! A must-stay if you want all of the above plus CLEANLINESS as well!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kim, I am really thankful for you and your family! I get a lot of happiness out of happy renters and even better when they are people who return! We really strive to help you have a wonderful vacation so thank you for noticing and appreciating it! We don't get a lot of quality time with our families so we need to make it wonderful. Again, thank you for your really thoughtful review. Can't wait to have you and your family back again! Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Location sells this cottage

  • 4 of 5

Positioned overlooking the sea, this cottage is exactly where you'll want to be when you visit Oak Island. This resort area is very low key without being boring. Many times during our stay we had the whole beach practically to ourselves and when it was the busiest it still wasn't all that busy. The beach right in front was clean and just a few steps from our backdoor. Plus, the whole beach was visible from our deck because the dunes were very low, being reconstructed after a recent hurricane took the former dunes away. But just a few miles away, toward Southport, there were many restaurants of exceptional quality as well as some pretty nifty shopping spots. We ate at the Frying Pan and Provisions during our stay, both on the water in Southport, and were blown away with the food. The accommodations are comfortable but the cottage is not large. It can sleep 10 but having 10 people in the living areas might prove a challenge. The living room itself has room to seat 5 people comfortably. We found our bed to be comfortable but you might want to bring your own pillows from home. The stairs leading to the second floor bedrooms are very steep. Kids will be fine but old folks might have difficulty making the climb. The kitchen is well equipped. The big screen TV in the living room is brilliantly crisp and a pleasure to watch. The bathrooms are small but clean and serve their purpose well. Maybe some shelves added so the linens could be stored out of the way would be an improvement. The bottom line is if you want a place to relax and get a genuine ocean front vacation experience on a more modest budget then you will be quite happy right here.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bob, What a thorough and lovely review, thank you. If you can believe it when we bought the place they had it listed for up to 12, we quickly removed a bed. I agree with you I think 8 is a much more ideal number. Rebuilding the dunes has been so interesting. I think ours are coming along great. Work had to stop when a turtle laid her eggs early! Southport does have great restaurants and fun to just walk around the town too. Again, you hit the nail on the head with Oak Island being low key and that is one of the reasons we really love it. I appreciate you taking your time to write this review. Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

OK

  • 1 of 5

Although it was right on the ocean which we loved, the house needs work. Air vents were dripping and covered in black mold, counters were sticky, coffee pot was not washed (even old grinds left), cob webs and dust motes on ceiling. I sprayed a lot of Lysol in this house. Broken chairs on deck and old mattresses complete the picture. We had to ask for more towels and pillow cases. We made the best of it, but location and pet accommodation are the only things it had going for it.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, I wish we had talked while you were at the house. I'm here now and found the broken chair (I threw it out plus it was plastic which I do not like) on the screened in porch but the two rocking chairs, two wicker chairs and picnic table should have been enough seating. We also brought a new mattress for the one we hadn't replaced yet. I am deeply disturbed about the coffee grinds and I agree the cabinets had a tacky feel they've been throughly cleaned and I actually just hired a new cleaning group because that is not up to our standards. The filter to the AC had not been changed so that had created the dust on the ceiling. We also hired new maintenance people this trip to keep a closer eye one little things like that. We love our new maintenance people and feel confident they are on top of keeping our home ship-shape! Since we were here we also had the house pressure washed too. It's looking beautiful again! New modem, new cable boxes to keep techies happy too. I am writing this while sitting on the deck in a rocking chair, listening to the waves crash just beyond the dunes we had replaced after the last hurricane, and I'm feeling very blessed to be here.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

We didn't want to go home!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time to stay in Smooth Sailing and it was just as wonderful as we remembered! My favorite addition since our last visit in 2015 was the rockers on the deck. I spent many an hour out there every day

rocking away and listening to those glorious ocean waves while enjoying the cool Oak Island breeze. Can't wait to go.back!! ♡♡♡

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kim, "We didn't want to go home" was music to my ears. I couldn't be more pleased that you had another wonderful visit to our home. Glad you liked the rockers! The hurricane last fall wiped out a lot of stuff so those were one of the new additions (also new bikes, new washer/dryer, new beach chairs...), leave it to a hurricane to get everything spruced up. We can't wait to have you back!! Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great location/Disappointing house

  • 2 of 5

We recently stayed at “Smooth Sailing” and we were thoroughly disappointed. The house did not look anything like the pictures online. The sheets and shower curtain had stains, the upstairs sliding glass door did not lock properly, ceiling fan in one of the rooms was not working properly, outside shower was broken, ceiling and walls had missing/chipping paint, and broken blinds in one of the bedrooms. The mattresses were extremely uncomfortable, and made it difficult to get a good night’s sleep. There was dirt/mold caked around the exhaust fans in every room. We had 3 children with us, one of which is 10 months old. She was either in my arms, or in her pack n play the entire week, because the floors were covered in dog hair and were not clean.

The owner did send a repair man to fix the blinds, ceiling fan, sliding glass door, and outside shower. However, we had to take time out of our vacation, and go back to the house to be with him while he was there. He offered to just go in and fix it with us not there, as he had the passcode, but we did not feel comfortable with that. He spent 2 hours there and when he left, the ceiling fan and sliding glass door were still not fixed. These types of things should be handled while the house is not being rented.

The only reason I gave it 2 stars, instead of 0 is because the location was great and the beach access was perfect.

We will not be renting this house again in the future.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jon, I am always so unhappy when a renter isn't pleased. The minute after you called I first called the handyman to fix the shower and lock. I am so sorry you didn't feel comfortable letting our handyman of three years come into the home while you weren't there, but I'm glad he gave you that offer. We wouldn't hire anyone who wasn't trustworthy. Then I called the cleaning people who assured me she had gone over every floor 3 times. There are times the previous renters bring in so much sand it's hard to have time to throughly vacuum the furniture. Not everyone follows our request to keep pets off furniture. Next I refunded you the cleaning fee. Rest assured it is not mold around the AC vents when the AC works 24/7 this happens sometimes and those popcorn ceilings don't make a quick wipe easy. We were really angry to find out that the people who had recently fixed a ceiling/wall hadn't painted over the sparkle. It does not look good and thank you for bringing it to our attention it is now painted correctly. We are always deeply saddened when rented aren't happy. Thankfully you did enjoy the 20 feet proximity to the beach so the kids could play in the sand! Thank you for helping us to be better owners. Sincerely Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Was a very good experience.

  • 4 of 5

The house was very cozy. It reminded me of a cottage. You can't get any closer to beach front. We had everything we needed for a wonderful week with our pet.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Toni, I always laugh when people ask if it is really close to the beach...yes! It is an easy stroll to sit and relax, swim, fish and then do it all over again. We try and keep the place well stocked so you can completely enjoy your week. It is your vacation after all and that is supposed to be worry free! I'm very happy to her it was a "wonderful week." Thank you, Sarah Davidson
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Wilmington
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Many Bars and Restaurants
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Oak Island CC
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Wilmington
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
I-40
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many Restaurants
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Ocean Front
Car: recommended

Free Public Tennis Courts are 1 mile away. Also, there is a free skateboard park close to the tennis courts.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $160
Pet Fee $100

Weekly rental Sunday-Sunday Summer

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties