check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Rob Holt

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

The Idaho Castle - A Great Place For A Family Vacation.

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type castle
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Trestle Creek Castle Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedroom, 4 Bathroom, Sleeps 16

The castle sits over looking the beautiful Lake Pend Oreille in Hope, Idaho. The castle has 6,300 SF of living space and beautiful views of both the lake and mountains in the area.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Rob Holt (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About Rob Holt

We live in Utah. My wife and I love to travel. We have 6 kids and 6 grandkids.

Rob Holt purchased this castle in 2010

Why Rob Holt chose Idaho

I have always loved castles, when I saw this property and all of the beauty that surrounded, we wanted to own it and share it with our family and friends. Our family has fallen in love with the region. Lake Pend Orielle is one of our favorite places to visit, to watch, to boat on, and enjoy.

What makes this castle unique

Staying at the castle is a unique experience. How many times have you stayed in a castle? The beauty that you can enjoy from the castle is outstanding. One of our favorite things is sitting on the patio for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or in the evening and just watching and enjoying this amazing lake. The sunsets are spectacular. The last two years we have started up a little fire on the fire pit and roasted marshmallows or cooked hot dogs. We have watched lighting storms and enjoyed seeing all of the stars. We love to visit the castle. All of our friends that have gone up with us, have just loved it. The Sandpoint area is great, Coeur d'Alene is about an hour drive away. Things that we have enjoyed in the area include: boating Lake Pend Oreielle, Main Beach at Sandpoint, The ski resort, traveling to Coeur d'Alene. Hiking, biking, golfing. Everything is relatively close by. Staying at the castle is just a special experience. The castle is constantly being upgraded and improved since we bought it as well.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)
The Idaho Castle - A Great Place For A Family Vacation.
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 18 reviews
5

Beautiful & Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5

The castle is better in person than the pictures! Breathtaking views from all the rooms, especially the full length deck! Great place for large gatherings and something for everyone to do. Property Manager Glen was great & available to answer questions.

Our time at the castle is a very memorable one that we will cherish!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

For Events Such As Weddings.

  • 3 of 5

I'm a bit obsessed with Castle's so the fact I found one close enough to me when I live in North Idaho to have a Wedding was a blessing in it's self. There are a few complaints through. There had been weddings the weekends before mine and the people who had the weddings had been absolutely horrible to the neighbors and very disrespectful to every one who lives on the hill, being loud, parking 100's of cars on a privet one lane rd and in people lawns. So When we pulled in we were warned the entire hill was super pissed off and we needed to be careful. I had already planned shuttles and had everything worked out to keep the traffic and noise down to a minimum level as possible. I feel bad for every person who lives on the hill and had to deal with people who are not courteous and don't plan things through.

That being sad the closest neighbor came out and freaked out on my groomsmen and husband because they were walking down the lane that's literally 30 feet from the castle. There were signs posted by neighbors up the entire road with balloons attached telling people it's was a privet road and to be careful. I completely understand why the neighbors were pissed but we had not done a thing, it was frustrating knowing it was because previous people had been rude.

So if you plan to have a large event at the Idaho Castle I encourage you to keep it below 100 and have plan for parking and avoid loud sound systems with a lot of base. Be prepared for beautiful scenery with angry neighbors.

The Castle it's self was definitely wonderful and I made a million memories running up and down there stairs and left a married woman.

The last warning I have is the paperwork you have to sign just before you get the keys is absolutely terrifying, they make you fill out your credit card information with just a blank for the amount, then have you sign saying you approve whatever the charges might be for damages. Having a father for lawyer and working at a Law Firm I know just how dangerous that can be. Luckily I had already paid for insurance, but if I had not and something had gotten damaged who knows what would have happened or how much they may have charged me. I can not stress enough that if you have a large event you 100% need to get the insurance beforehand or you could end up in a work of hurt because one of your many guests could easily break something.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: That castle is not set up for large events. This last experience you mention was a nightmare and we are doing everything to make sure something like that does not happen again. I apologize about the paperwork, we are trying to find the right balance here. Most of our guests are very respectful and enjoy their time there with their families or friends. We want to keep that going and provide great memories for those who stay. Thank you for staying at the castle, and I am glad you enjoyed it. Hard to beat those views, huh? Congrats.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Beautiful view

  • 1 of 5

Very nice home but was not clean when we arrived. We scrubbed, dusted, washed and had to fold laundry before our wedding guests came . We left the property super clean for the next guests. Not happy about the cleaning fees and being told we had to start the laundry before we left.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

NOT FOR EVENTS!

  • 1 of 5

Don't consider renting this property for events and large groups. There is no parking. The community the castle is located in is a residential community that is not zoned for events. The dirt roads are dusty and full of pot holes. The neighbors will have your cars towed and are not patient with cars on the dirt roads, speeding or noise. They will phone the police and tow your cars.

Don't let your event be ruined - find another place.

Great place for a family vacation; not a place for events. Your event will be ruined by the complaints from neighbors you will need to deal with.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is true: Ths castle is zoned in a residential area. Parking is limited and neighbors will complain if cars are parked on their property. The road is a dirt road to the castle. Small family gatherings are acceptable. You do need to keep your expectations realisitic for what this venue can do and handle. The castle does however, provide a unique setting with amazing views above the lake. It is awesome for a family vacation. We do not advertise the castle as a wedding venue, we never have.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5

The experience was extremely easy as a renter. Rob is very good at communicating and is easy going.

The castle was much more than I had expected. great interior, great big back deck and a good sized grass yard.

Glen, the property manager, bent over backwards to make sure everything was perfect. The BBQ stopped working while we were there and Glen left his home, went to the store and purchased a brand new one and assembled it for us (this all took place after 8:00 PM).

We had 16 grown men there for a bachelor party and there was more than enough space.

Overall I give the castle a 10/10 and hope to get back there soon.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quite and relaxing Castle with special features and fantastic views.

  • 5 of 5

Our annual Thanksgiving Trip away from home was just the two of us here in this spacious Castle. We cooked the Turkey the night we arrived and ate it every night in the formal dinning area large enough for a large family. Spent the nights in both Kings bedrooms swapping nights and the beds were very comfortable. Played Pool and watched movies and went for a walk in through and around the 3½ acres to the side of the Castle on the day it snowed. The driveway was far enough away that we never heard any car or any noises except a Train once in a while. Fantastic Views from every room. Had to do a little cleaning of the Stove when we arrived but other than that, the place was pretty much cleaned. Glen, the caretaker was fantastic and very helpful. Very close to town and plenty of things to do during the week. Took a trip to Kootenay Falls in Montana and then went to Canada for Thanksgiving just for a day trip. Came back to a warm comfortable castle with heated floors. Enjoyed the twin sinks in the kitchen which was very helpful. Found the huge 1500 pound rock made into a sink in the downstairs bathroom an interesting feature. Could of used a WiFi connection during that week but phone service was good enough. This place would be great for a large family or several couples that want to get out of town for a while. It was seventy-five steps from the kitchen to the entertainment room which we found enjoyable because of the views both inside and out. Highly recommended and we will come back.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Spokane International Airport
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Idaho Club
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Schweitzer Mountain Resort
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Trestle Creek
Car: necessary

The Idaho Castle is located in Hope, Idaho over looking beautiful Lake Pend Orielle. It is centrally located to many different areas of this region:

15 miles east of Sandpoint, Idaho

25 miles to Schweitzer Mountain Resort

60 miles to Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

90 miles to Spokane, Washington

75 miles to Creston, Alberta, Canada

30 minutes to Montana

45 miles to Silverwood Theme Park in Athol, Idaho

There are many activities to do in the area: boating, beach (park on the lake right below the castle) as well as main city beach in Sandpoint, fishing, golfing (Idaho Club is 10 minutes away), paddle boarding, hiking, biking, snowmobiling, skiing. Sandpoint has some great restaurants and concerts.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Trestle Creek Castle Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2017
Jan 1 2017 - Jan 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$350
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $400

$400.00 Cleaning Fee due at check in.

1. Check-In time is after 3:00 PM & Check-Out is 11:00 AM.
2. This is a Non Smoking Facility
3. No Pets are permitted at the Idaho Castle
4. Deposit of 50% is required to secure reservation.
a) No damage done to castle or it's contents, beyond normal wear and tear.
b) No charges are incurred due to contraband, pets, or collection of rents or services rendered during stay
c) All debris, rubbish, and discards are placed into dumpsters, and soilded dishes are placed in the dishwasher and cleaned.
d) All keys are left on the kitchen table and unit is left locked.
e) All charges accrued during the stay are paid prior to departure.
f) No linens are lost or damaged

5. PAYMENT: An advance payment of 50% of the rent is due upon making the reservation. The advanced payment will be applied to stay. The balace of rent is due 30 days prior to your arrival date.
6. CANCELLATIONS: Cancellations within 30 days of booked arrival date will be non-refundable.
7. Maximum Occupancy - the maximum number of guests are 15.
8. No daily maid service - linens and bath towels are included in the unti, daily maid services will not be included in the rental rate however it is available at an addition rate. We suggest that you bring your own beach towels. We do not permit towels or linens to be taken form the unit.
9. Falsified reservations will be subject to forfeiture of advance payment, deposit, and or rental money and the party will not be permitted to check in.
10. Any exception to these rules must be approved in writing in advance.
11. Storm and road conditions. No refunds will be given for storms. Mountain roads can be curvy and steep. Gravel drives are maintained, however, we highly recommend four-wheel drive or chains during months of snow. There will be no refunds due to road contions.
12. The owners are not responsible for any accidents, injuries, or illness that occurs while on the premises or it's facilities

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Trestle Creek Castle Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • castle
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Main Level Bath - toilet
    Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Green Bath - toilet , tub , shower
    Venetian Bath - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Green Room - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Kid's Den - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
    Tower room - 1 queen
    Venetian Room - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Partner Offers