Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Twist: Modern 1BR Balcony Mountain View #218

Bedrooms 1
Space 768 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

The Twist, 1BR Mountain Views

The Twist is designed for the self-catering traveler looking for a change from the hotels, featuring 17 vacation rentals appointed in true Palm Springs modernism under a spectacular Mountain setting and close to downtown yet secluded from the noise.

This apartment is bright and cozy, and provides views of the city from an oversized, private balcony overlooking Palm Canyon, steps from the central pool, Jacuzzi and grill.

The bedroom is tucked away on the East end of the building and equipped with a King bed, comfortable linens, and access to the balcony. The living room offers a comfortable setting with a pull out couch for two additional guests and cable TV. Views of the top floor courtyard are visible from the living room.

All bathrooms feature walk-in showers, a set of lush towels for each guest, body and hair care products, and a hair dryer. Each kitchen is fully equipped for light cooking.

Other amenities included in each unit are free WiFi, pool towels for each guest, generous closet space, hangers and one luggage rack.

This Property and its Management Team, (Elevation Property Management, Inc.), are fully licensed by the City of Palm Springs, with Vacation Rental TOT Permit #4939.

More Details

Mark Hodgin
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 7, 2017

About Mark Hodgin

The Twist is designed for the self-catering traveler looking for a change from the hotels, featuring 17 vacation rentals appointed in true Palm Springs modernism located in the Uptown Design District of the historic Old Las Palmas neighborhood. Surrounded by a spectacular Mountain setting within walking distance to shopping, dining and art galleries in central downtown, The Twist is perfect for individuals, groups and events. Everything from studios to a 2-bedroom with patios or balconies are fully furnished with colorful modern designs by local designers H3K. The Twist is managed full time by local representatives of Elevation Property Management. Elevation Property Management is based out of San Francisco, CA.

Why Mark Hodgin chose Palm Springs

Similar to all the homes in the neighborhood, this building has an illustrious past. Each home has a connection to a past or present celebrity; whether it be Johnny Weissmuller, Liz Taylor, Madonna…

Via Lola started as a whiskey stash for Al Capone in its cavernous basement during Prohibition. Later, Don the Beachcomber opened his famous restaurant and the Rat Pack became permanent fixtures at the bar, lounge and pool.


Old Las Palmas Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 768 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Modern fixtures and a spacious walk in shower with relaxing tiles and 'rain-like' shower head.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King bed with access to a private balcony.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

The Twist: Modern 1BR Balcony Mountain View #218
average rating of 4.1538463 based on 13 reviews

Great spot!

  • 4 of 5

Good location, great decor, nice pool, hospitable & accommodating staff, comfy beds, cruiser bikes available to use.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver B.C.

A fantastic spot for first time visitators to Palm Springs.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time staying at The Twist in February 2017. It was a perfect location to downtown Palm Springs, close enough to easily walk to shops and restaurants but far away that there weren't any noise issues at night. There were bikes to borrow and Rob the manager was friendly and helpful. The unit we stayed in was fine although we could have used a bit more utensils in the kitchen as we cooked at home. The outdoor patio was huge and in the sun most of the day.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cockroach and leaky ceiling.

  • 1 of 5

This apartment was not as pictured on website, a large spacious kitchen was shown, however, the kitchen is so tiny and ill equipped its barely usable. The building is run down in need of exterior paint. As well inside we noticed our ceiling has discolouration only to experience a water leak right into the main hallway, so we had to step around a bucket that management provided. To address the problem they had maintance people begin pounding on our roof at 8 am the following morning. But the worst experience came when a huge cockroach fell from the ceiling into the bed in the middle of the night. Please do not book this property for your vacation, it was a huge disappointment and waste of money. We attempted to contact management and was told they would get back to us but sadly they never responded.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Erin - I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Twist. We have many happy returning guests and we would like for you to have been one, too. The pictures on this property listing used to be a 'compilation' of all the one-bedroom units, so there were some pictures that belonged to other units; however, all the units have been split out into separate listings here on VRBO, so there should be no more problems with pictures not matching the actual unit where you are staying. We don't think the building is run down at all! We are constantly maintaining it. We are in the middle of replacing exterior wood trim, but while you were here, we experienced very heavy rain, and could not complete the wood trim work while you were visiting. It rained heavily, you had a water leak in the hallway of the unit, and we immediately dispatched maintenance to the roof to inspect and repair the leak. You reported the leak, and we did respond to this issue, and I'm sorry you were inconvenienced by the workers on the roof. You found a bug in the unit and you brought it to our attention. There are bugs outside, and on occasion, one of them will find its way inside. We have regular pest control service, and within one hour, we had a pest control serviceman at your door, spraying the unit and inspecting for pest issues and none were found. You had issues and you brought them to our attention, and we quickly addressed those issues. We spend many hours on the property each day and in the office answering phones and reading and returning our emails. I'm sorry you did not feel that we were responsive to you. Mark The Twist Palm Springs
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fun in the Sun

  • 5 of 5

We were in #203 an it was absolutely perfect ! Loved the decor and cleanliness of the whole property in general. Paul was our Property Manager and he was great. We wanted a bike at 7:30 am and he made sure one was available to us (free of charge from the Twist). Any questions or concerns we had was handled immediately.

Kitchen sink was backed up and he got it fixed on New Years Day while we were golfing. Pool and hot tub were awesome. Half a block from Palm Canyon Dr. was an easy walk to all restaurants and shops. Bootlegger Tiki is a bar and coffee shop (during the day) with excellent mixologists and drinks is on the corner (coffee is excellent also) We are definitely going to stay here again, we had an excellent stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice Twist

  • 4 of 5

Our first time at The Twist. We would definitely go back. We enjoyed the quiet pool area for relaxing but you are just an easy 10 minute walk to all the action and tons of restaurants. You will need a car if you want to get groceries and you can't check in to your unit until 4pm.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Redondo Beach, CA. USA

Great little stay with a "Twist"-we keep coming back there!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at this rental property twice and will be going back for a third in July. The place is beautiful, cute 70's niche decor with the view of the mountains. We prefer the ground units. Pool and hot tub is clean. Right next to Tiki bar and coffee place. The rooms are spacious and really cute kitchen area. Smart to buy food and just hang out. At night, just walk downtown. Dee Dee the on-site manager is wonderful and will make sure you understand how things work. It's far enough from the noise of the main street but short enough distance to walk. I highly recommend the place

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
0.5 Miles
Palm Springs International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Palm Canyon Drive
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
O'Donnell Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
4.5 Miles
Interstate 10 East/West
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Palm Canyon Drive
Nearest Beach
90 Miles
Newport Beach
Car: not necessary

Located in the heart of the Uptown Design District in Palm Springs, on the border of the beautiful and historical Old Las Palmas neighborhood.


Rates & Availability

Old Las Palmas Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
May-White Party
May 1 2017 - May 8 2017
2 night minimum stay
May 9 2017 - May 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
Memorial weekend
May 25 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $110 + Tax
Admin fee $45 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

We will send payment instructions separately.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Partner Offers