check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Hope & Rennie Innis

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Island Getaway - Big Island unique pavillion-style accommodation w/ pool &hottub

27 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description

Tropical Gardens, Pool, & Hot Tub, Make This The Perfect Island Getaway!

Nestled within a stand of lush tropical plants, this unique cottage offers a delightful indoor/outdoor living experience – 3 of 4 walls are screened, opening the studio to the sensual tropical air that is such a wonderful part of Hawai'ian living.

Outside, a covered lana'i and outdoor shower (great after a trip to nearby beaches), are bordered by a bamboo grove and banana trees. A pool and hot tub are all steps away, as are mangoes, avocados and papayas.

Inside is furnished with rattan furniture, a dreamy queen-sized bed, and plenty of space for relaxing. The kitchen is compact and complete – featuring a dishwasher, microwave, 4-burner gas cook top, and convection/toaster oven (but no 'full-size' oven). Custom-built bamboo cabinetry ties everything together in unmistakable island style.

We loved designing, building and living in our little cottage. It gives us great pleasure to share this love with like-minded guests who are seeking something more authentic than your typical 'condo experience'.

For those concerned with last years Dengue Fever event, the Hawaii Health Department reported the last case in March 2016, and reports that they are confident that Dengue Fever is no longer an active concern for the Big Island of Hawaii.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Hope & Rennie Innis (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Hope & Rennie Innis

We are freshly retired and love the idea of having this wonderful island getaway to share with people.

Rennie was a software developer, and Hope was a property manager.

We love to travel, especially when warm water is involved! Although we have traveled many places, this is our favorite place to enjoy rest and relaxation.

Hope & Rennie Innis purchased this house in 2004

Why Hope & Rennie Innis chose Kona Coast

The first time we arrived here, we thought this was the perfect place to spend our island vacation. Being so close to great snorkeling, beaches and close enough to Kona for a night out, we loved this getaway cottage so much that we returned a year later to purchase it.

What makes this house unique

Being in a beautiful tropical garden, with the pool, hot tub and gorgeous view of the ocean and mountain volcano, this place is sublime.

Reviews

4.8
based on 27 traveler reviews

Island Getaway - Big Island unique pavillion-style accommodation w/ pool &hottub
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 27 reviews
2

Nice house and location, but host/staff were overbearing, inhospitable. Not much of a

  • 2 of 5

The good:

- The house itself is very beautiful and has all the necessary amenities.

- The location is great for accessing Kona-area beaches and other attractions.

- Lots of fresh fruit available on the property

The meh:

- Salt water pool was refreshing, but too small to do anything other than float around in.

- The housekeeper asked us when we wanted to checkout. We asked for a late check out since we had a late evening flight. The housekeeper told us we had to be out at the normal 11AM checkout time. On its own, a reasonable request, but as noted below, it was just one of many inhospitable moments we experienced from the host/staff.

The bad:

- The overbearingness of the hosts/staff. The day of check-in, before we even arrived, we had multiple text messages/calls from the housekeeper asking us when we would arrive so she could conduct an "orientation" to explain the house rules. It's vacation. We weren't planning to be on a schedule, so it was a bit off-putting.

- The mosquitos. The outdoor shower is nice in theory, but when you can't take a shower without getting multiple mosquito bites, it suddenly doesn't seem so nice. We stayed at three different places on the Big Island and the mosquito situation here was far worse than at the other two places. The hosts should seriously consider removing the pond in the back because, treated or not, it's probably attracting mosquitos.

- The "house manual" and the post-it style notes scattered around the house contain a multitude of rules that left my wife feeling anxious the whole trip.

- The hosts ask you to take your trash to the dump at check out. It's not required, but again, a bit off-putting.

- We had trouble connecting to the wireless internet when we arrived, which per the housekeeper had been a problem for past guests as well.

- The property has a large grassy section where four or five cars could easily fit (and where there were always extra spaces during our stay), but we were required to park all the way at the end of the narrow hilly driveway in a spot that required a tricky 7 or 8 point turn to get out of.

- We were told it was "unacceptable" to walk through the breezeway to get to the spot where the fresh fruit was stored. So, from that point on, we didn't get any fresh fruit since it was in a spot that was a bit out of the way relative to the house and where we were required to park.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

By far the most amazing accommodation EVER

  • 5 of 5

We are absolutely in love with Island Getaway. The property is truely a unique place, set in a lush tropical landscape, open and airy but private and very romantic. From the front gate to the back garden there is not one part of this place that lacks character and curiosity, It is STUNNING. There is also nothing lacking, it is incredibly well stocked with anything you could possibly need.

We were greeted by Erin who was very helpful with local information and had email contact from Hope and Rennie checking to see all wa well.

Of all the places around the world we have travelled and stayed Island Geaway has stolen a piece of our heart.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, CO
5

Unique, hidden gem

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time staying at Island Getaway! We loved the private feel of the setting and being able to use the saltwater swimming pool. The property was well manicured (grass, beautiful flowers, fruit trees, bamboo, water feature) and the cottage was very well stocked with everything we needed for our stay. The outdoor bathroom was a refreshing change of lifestyle and I wish we could have that here at home :) The outdoor lighting was spectacular in the evenings and the open air feel was top notch. Cleanliness and attention to details is certainly a priority for the owners. Thanks for an amazing stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Pleasant and comfortable. There are many items that add to the experience, such as bug spray, fans, a coffee mill, and sun hats. The list certainly goes on. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and highly recommend the Island Getaway.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Anchorage, Alaska
5

So Fun!

  • 5 of 5

We had the most memorable experience here for our 20th anniversary! The unit was so clean and private. The bed was comfortable, and it was a treat to shower outdoors every day. Swimming, snorkeling, and kayaking are super close, and the owners and managers are readily available to answer any questions. We had no difficulties with insects, as we carefully followed the owners' instructions. The nightly frog symphony was difficult to get used to. My husband found that ear plugs helped, and I just considered it white noise. Two of our favorite places were Volcanoes National Park and Hapuna Beach. We hope to visit this b n b again someday.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unique Peaceful and Private Getaway

  • 5 of 5

A lovely way to spend 8 days! The property is exactly as it is shown on the VRBO site. It's very clean, peaceful (except the frogs at night) and private. The area itself is a great place to explore with fantastic snorkeling at Two Steps just down the hill. There are so many personal touches in the cottage that you feel right at home as soon as you arrive. The cottage sits at just about 1, 000 ft. so it's always cool for sleeping at night. The only thing we would change if we stayed here again and that is to stay longer! Thank you Hope and Rennie for all the information that you sent us and for sharing your Island Getaway!

  • Submitted: May 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Kona International Airport (45 minutes)
Nearest Barpub
19 Miles
Huggo's On the Beach
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 11
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Kona Coffeehouse and Cafe
Nearest Beach
2.5 Miles
'Two Step' at Honaunau Bay
Car: necessary

This unique cottage is located on the south Kona coast, just minutes from the best snorkeling in the Hawai'ian islands.

You will also be in the famed Kona coffee region, where some of the best coffee in world is grown. You can sample this coffee, or take an informative tour, at nearby roasters.

Not to be missed is the Volcano's National Park, 1 1/2 hours drive from this location. Watch the earth being formed before your eyes when you visit the Kilauea crater.

One of the State of Hawai'i's two National Historic Parks is the 'City of Refuge', located 5 minutes, or 1.6 miles from the cottage. This historic and restored ruins will give you a sense of the island's fascinating history, and is adjacent to enticing 'Two Step' snorkeling. There is also a nice white sand beach about 15 minutes south of our cottage!

An amazing Fruit Stand is just a bit further south and has fruits that you will have never even heard of!

Painted Church is a well-known attraction. It is a 10 minute walk from the cottage, and is a simple wooden structure whose hand-painted interior decor was meant to replicate the glory of the cathedrals. Catholic services are held and are posted. You will be welcome.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Captain Cook House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
2016 Regular Season
Apr 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$125
$750
$3,120
 
 
2016 High Season
Dec 1 2016 - Mar 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$135
$810
$3,240
 
 
2017 Regular
Apr 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$135
$810
$3,240
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$130
$780
$3,120
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $75
Preparation Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%

Rates are subject to change until your reservation is confirmed.

Special Note Required by Insurance Policy:
"The pool is 14 feet by 14 feet by 10 feet deep, is un-fenced, and there is no lifeguard present. Swim at your own risk!”

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Captain Cook House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 625 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Lanai Bathroom - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Private toilet, outdoor shower, sink, and laundry facilities
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom in studio - 1 queen , As this is a studio, the queen bed is included here.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties