Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront, 10' decks surrounding cottage, down the stairs and on the beach!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 14 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

The ocean views and sunrises from this house are breathtaking. Walk down the steps and you are on the beach. Great fishing, surfing and skim boarding not to mention the sea glass available, right in your front yard.

This house has a master suite with a bar and entertaining area that can also be closed off from the rest of the house, making it perfect for 2 or more families to share. The other 3 bedrooms open to the kitchen dining and living area at the opposite end of the house. There are 2 queen beds, a pyramid bunk with a double on the bottom and a single on the top and the master has a king bed. There is ample single row parking for 5 cars + making access easy for everyone. A pool pass may be purchased daily or weekly for the private salt water pool across from the cottage, if desired.

The kitchen is well equipped. A linen package is available for an additional $130.00 per week.

Cable, wifi, grill, washer/dryer and stair tamer for loading and unloading are available to enhance your stay.

We do not allow pets or smoking in the cottage. We offer an insurance package for $59.00 per week as an alternative to a deposit to cover accidental damages up to $1500.00. We are local and available during your stay.

More Details

Owner
Charlotte Walker
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2017

About Charlotte Walker

This house has been in our family for 42 years. Last year we did an extensive remodel. This is the first time we have ever offered our property for rent but look forward to sharing the beauty and tranquility we have enjoyed.

When my dad built this house he drew the plans on the top of a shoebox and he just kept drawing until he filled up the entire top of the box. Hence the name and the its shape.

Our family owns Charlie's Family RV park across the street and this is our 50th season there. Charlotte and Jerry

Charlotte Walker purchased this cottage in 1971

Guestbook comments from the owner

It was our pleasure to have you and your family visit "The Shoebox". You were wonderful guests and we look forward to your return in 2018! Those babies won't be babies any more and you will enjoy the beach on a new level then.

Thank you for taking such good care of our cottage.

Charlotte and Jerry
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Norfolk International Airport
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
SeaScape Golf
Nearest Train
80 Miles
Norfolk
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Henry's Restaurant, Black Pelican, Hurricane Mo's

Great steamed shrimp and wings at Hurricane Mo's 3-6 daily. Known for happy hour and dinner.

Black Pelican has a full bar and varied menu lunch and dinner.

Henry's Restaurant is known for breakfast and lunch specials

John's drive-in(walking distance) has killer milkshakes, dolphin and tuna boats.

Great restaurant for a special night out Colington Cafe.

Amenities

Kitty Hawk Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , outdoor shower , both baths are one piece molded fiberglass as if on a boat
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , with dresser and ceiling fan
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , night stand and ceiling fan
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , pyramid bunk double on bottom and twin on top
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , Master suite has a wet bar and game table. 2 c fans
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Our area has much to offer for the entire family within a short drive. Movie theater, Wright Brothers Museum, The Elizabethan Gardens, Outlet Mall, many sports oriented rentals such as hang gliding, parasailing, golf, wonderful restaurants, ect. We are happy to give specific recommendations.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront, 10' decks surrounding cottage, down the stairs and on the beach!
average rating of 4.9210525 based on 39 reviews
Cottage Grove, MN
5

The Shoebox is AWESOME

  • 5 of 5

This is our 5th year staying at The Shoebox. This house has everything you could ever imagine for your beach vacation and more! The location cannot be beat - you can "go to the beach" without even leaving the deck. The house is always clean and comfortable. The owners and their property manager are AMAZING people - friendly, warm, smart, and funny. They provide the perfect mix of attention and space. I cannot say enough great things about this location. The Shoebox is the standard to which we hold all other vacation rentals.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your visit is always a highlight for us! Thank you for you kind words. Stay warm and until we meet again...love and blessings to each of you. Charlotte and Jerry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We can't believe this was our 4th year at the Shoebox but it was spectacular again!

  • 5 of 5

Renting the Shoebox from Charlotte and Jerry has become a family tradition that my young boys are growing up with and making memories they will have the rest of their lives, as I did coming to OBX when I was young. I couldn't ask for a better experience year after year, Charlotte and Jerry are wonderful and we love the Shoebox. The beach restoration this year has been icing on the cake!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Would definitely stay here again!

  • 5 of 5

The house is beautiful- the pictures don't do it justice. It is way nicer than what the pictures show. It was perfect location to restaurants. Loved the proximity to the beach, you can't get any closer. Charlotte was wonderful, checking to make sure we were happy with everything. Steve was great too! Also loved having the pool across the street. We definitely will stay here again when we come back to OBX!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I enjoyed meeting your beautiful family and it will be our pleasure to have you join us again. You are always welcome at the Shoebox.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

We love the Shoebox!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd season of staying at the Shoebox-and it never disappoints!! The location is fantastic-and the beach-wow-what a change from last year with the beach restoration-it is now amazing! We love the house and everything about it, and I am so content to just sit on the deck and watch the ocean and all of its wonders-I could just stay there the whole vacation! Thank you again, Charlotte and Jerry, for sharing your wonderful place-we can't wait until next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much. We love the new beach and are excited about what it means to the future of The Shoebox. You are always wonderful guests and we look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Loved the Shoebox.......didn't love the RV people

  • 3 of 5

We LOVED the house, the proximity to the beach and restaurants. Sitting on the deck to watch the morning sunrise or the sunset was perfect. The house was clean and we had plenty of room for 4 adults, 2 teens and a toddler. Our week coincided with the beach rejuvenation project, which most of the work was done in the middle of the night which shook the house. The beach looks fantastic now. We also didn't realize that the RV park across the street was able to park to the left of the driveway. Despite the sign clearly stating loading/unloading 10 minutes only, people would leave their cars/trucks there for hours at a time. Or the bicycles parked near the entrance to the garage, leaning surprisingly close to our vehicles. One night a bike was almost run over due to where the person left it. We also confused when we found random RV people's items placed under the garage for overnight storage, or the random person chilling under the deck. We loved the Shoebox, the location and all it had to offer. For the price I wish we had been told that the house was a way-station for the RV park since the pictures displayed on VRBO do not show the Charlie's RV sign. Charlotte was super awesome helping us in to the house upon arrival, even taking the time to show us where everything was. We would've given the Shoebox a 5 star rating, if the RV park people would've been more respectful.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear you enjoyed the house and the beach. The renourishment project was completely beyond my control and influence and I do apologise for that being any inconvenience to you and your family. The inconvenience you experienced from the park guests, however was without a doubt within my control. I am sorry to find out in a poor review that these things were even an issue. I did tell you over and over that if you needed ANYTHING during your stay that I was here and if you couldn't get me that Steve was on site and happy to help. I made sure that you had all of our phone numbers as well. A phone call about any of the issues, other than the beach renourishment, could have been remedied immediately with a phone call. Again, thank you for choosing The Shoebox and I wish you well with all of the upcoming changes you mentioned. Charlotte
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed every moment!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 11.75%

We do NOT accept credit cards or check cards for payment. The e-check option is free and easy to make. Linens and cleaning fees are included in rent. Pets are NOT allowed.
For your protection against scam artists, we do not advertise any where except VRBO and Home Away. We will never ask you to wire money or to use paypal for payment. Our renters make their secure e-check payments through VRBO and Home Away avoid ease check the calendar for availability before sending any money to anyone! Cancelations will be reflected only on the calendar. I hope this information will help you avoid a scam.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties