check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Randy

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

4 Bedroom+2 bunk rooms, 4 Bath Home On The San Juan River 15 miles to Wolf Creek

6 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

San Juan River Village House Rental Photos and Description

6 sleeping areas, 4 Bathrooms (Sleeps 14)

Hunker Down Hideaway is a spacious vacation destination on the San Juan River. Decks overlooking the river on 2 levels, living room, family room and loft all have amazing mountain and river views. It's only 17 miles to Wolf Creek Ski Area and 6 miles to downtown with easy year-round access. You can fly fish or kayak right out the back door or relax in the hot tub while enjoying spectacular views of the river, mountains and national forest. Convenient to hot springs, hiking and hunting with private access to the San Juan National Forest, snowmobiling, sledding, horseback riding and much more. This comfortable new 3 story home has 5 bedrooms and 4 baths. Sleeps 14 with 3 kings, 1 queen, and 3 sets of twin bunk beds. Hot tub, gas fireplace, 2 satellite TVs with DVD players, CD player, high speed internet, WiFi, gas barbecue, washer, dryer, phone with unlimited long distance. You will be cozy with in-floor heat, gas fireplace, and lots of ceiling fans.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Randy (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.7
based on 6 traveler reviews

4 Bedroom+2 bunk rooms, 4 Bath Home On The San Juan River 15 miles to Wolf Creek
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
San Diego
5

Perfect family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Hunker Down Hideaway was ideal for our multi-generational family gathering. Plenty of room for cooking, game-playing, dining, and relaxing together, but also for time alone. There were a number of multitude activities for all ages very nearby, but our favorite was sitting on the beautiful deck having coffee (or cereal!) in the morning and watching the deer, and again in the afternoons the shadows rolled across the river. Perfect family vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Edmond, OK, US
5

Family Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful extended family vacation at Hunkerdown Hideaway. The house is wonderful. All of the aminities we could possibly ask for. Slept 4 couples in comfortable rooms with each couple having their own bath. Beds were fantastic. Pagosa Springs is a nice little town with cute shops downtown and a modern golf course on the west end of town. We enjoyed the deck for watching deer ducks, etc. during the day and stas at night. I would recommend this property for any family group.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Father son adventure!!

  • 4 of 5

This was a amazing house in an amazing location for what we were wanting. This year we expanded our father son trip to 3 dads 7 boys. The house had plenty of space and plenty of beds to accommodate everyone. The house was very clean furniture was good. The only thing I would say is add a few more towels for the hot tub. Also with some spending that much money to stay at house have some complimentary soap in the bathroom. It's the little things that make a big impression. Besides those little this I would recommend this house to my friends and hopefully we can do it again next year!! Minus the 2 broken arms from snow boarding:)

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review, we are in the process of doing just what you are asking from this home, sorry. Please come back!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Hunkerdown Hideaway

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Hunkerdown Hideaway. It is a beautiful home and plenty of space for all of us. Unfortunately the hot tub was not working when we checked in on 12/24. We notified the after hours phone # the next day about the problem but no one came to fix it until the last day of our stay (the 28th). We were very disappointed about that because we had specifically rented this house because it had a hot tub. Other than the hot tub issue, we had a wonderful stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful House in Great Location to Town as Well as Wolf Creek

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Hunkerdown Hideaway the week after Christmas 2015 (and over New Years) and it was delightful! The photos do not do this beautiful property justice. The views out of the windows are amazing...with the ultimate one being from the hot tub where you can see the stars (although you are sheltered from the snow and wind) and hear and see the river. There were eight of us--so nice to have three levels. Well-equipped kitchen and beds were wonderful (top bunk mattresses a little hard). Loved the nice bathrooms (needed 1-2 more towels per bathroom--however, the laundry room was the largest and most amazing I have ever seen in a VRBO home). The TV's were excellent (60" in the living room). No hill to climb to get to the house and the snowplow kept the road to the house clear. Hunkerdown is right off Highway 160 but far enough away that there was very little road noise. We fit four cars easily in the long driveway. Six miles to town and 17 to Wolf Creek was perfect. Randy at Pagosa Central Reservations even had the hot tub repaired for us on New Years Day--talk about above and beyond. Highly recommend! We paid the top rental for the holidays but it was still an excellent price for this property.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for Couple time or family time

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here with another couple in the past, the house is beautiful, It's clean and comfortable, with plenty of pots/pans and dishes to make a huge meal if you have a large group.

We slept in the down stairs bedroom and enjoyed sneaking out in the middle of the night for a soak in the amazing hot tub.

The house is located in such a nature surrounded area that you can sit out on the back patio to watch the river or the deer playing on the island. It's great to be out of town, yet close enough to run in for dinner or walk thru the little novelty shops.

We are looking forward to another visit this May. I think this would be a perfect place for grandparents to take their kids and grandkids...or for a couples romantic get away!

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Casino located in ignacio 30 minutes west from pagosa springs, chimney rock ruins 30 minutes west of town. Durnago 60 miles west of town with shopping, dining, skiing, and the durango silverton train.

Photos

Rates & Availability

San Juan River Village House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer rates
Jun 17 2016 - Sep 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$400
$2,400
 
 
Off season winter rates
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,950
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$425
$1,950
 
 
Off winter rates
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,950
 
 
Christmas
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 1 2017
6 night minimum stay
$475
$3,325
 
 
Winter rates
Jan 2 2017 - Mar 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$400
$2,400
 
 
Spring Break
Mar 3 2017 - Mar 26 2017
6 night minimum stay
$475
$3,325
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee $200
Tax Rate 8.8%

At time of booking we’ll need at least $500.00 deposit to hold this reservation, balance needs to be paid on or before 60 days prior to arrival. If you need to cancel outside 60 days full refund minus $75.00, inside 60 days balance needs to be paid and if you need to cancel everything we get re-rented you’ll get back.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

San Juan River Village House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 (basement level bathroom) - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main level master bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , main level guest bathroom
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , loft master suite bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 (basement level bunkroom) - 4 twin/ single , 2 sets of bunk beds
    Bedroom 2 (Main level master bedroom) - 1 king , full bathroom attached to bedroom
    Bedroom 3 (main level guest bedroom) - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 (upstairs king suite) - 1 king , full bathroom attached to bedroom
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , Basement level bedroom
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Loft area has one set of twin bunk beds
  • There are two areas that are open to traffic with no doors, bunk room downstairs that has two twin sets of bunk beds, than in the loft there is one more set of twin bunk beds, this home will sleep 14 in beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers