check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bill & Dennise North

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Walk to Kona's favorite beaches

24 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Kailua-Kona House Rental Photos and Description

Two bedroom home with ocean view

Come to Kona to enjoy this darling 'home-away-from-home' surrounded by the beauty of the Kona Coast. Kona Breeze was completely renovated from floor to celing in 2013. It is downstairs from a private residence. You have complete privacy with your own entrance and parking. The home is located on a semi-private driveway elevated above the street. Alii Dr. is the main street that runs through the town of Kailua-Kona. We are approximately 4 miles south of town.

The location is just perfect being across the street from the ocean-front lots. The well-known Kahalu'u Snorkel Beach is a short distance to the south. A short walk north takes you to White Sands Beach, famous for its 'disappearing sand'. It is perfect for boogie boarding or just watching the clear blue waves rolling in. Also located close by are several surfing spots. The lanai in front has a comfortable sitting area where you can see the ocean and all the activity passing by on Alii Dr. The back yard features a large lawn area with beautiful plants of all kinds. There is a large covered patio with a BBQ and next to that there is an additional sitting area with a swing for relaxing after a busy Kona day.

The interior features a nice comfortable living room with large screen TV and views of the ocean. There is a full kitchen with dining area and door to the patios and yard. The master bedroom features a queen size bed. The second bedroom has two twin size beds. There is a large walk-in shower in the bathroom.

In the laundry room you will find beach chairs, boogie boards, a cooler and beach umbrellas. WiFi coverage is present for laptops and ipads.

Come and enjoy the Kona Coast and the Big Island of Hawaii and all they have to offer.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Bill & Dennise North (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Bill & Dennise North

Dennise's parents fell in love with Hawaii in the late 1950's. They visited Kona and decided it was their place to lay down roots. In 1979 they built what is now our part time home. Three generations of our family have been able to enjoy wonderful, lasting memories of good times and the beauty of Hawaii.

Bill & Dennise North purchased this house in 1979

Why Bill & Dennise North chose Kona Coast

Bill & Dennise completely remodeled the downstairs Ohana and converted it to a vacation rental

What makes this house unique

The location on Alii Drive is within walking distance or a short drive to Kahaluu or 'Snorkle Beach' and Magic or White Sands Beach. The ocean is just across the street so you can hear the waves at night. You can sit on the front lanai and watch the ocean and the action going by on Alii Drive or sit in the back patio and relax and enjoy the beauty of the large back yard. We are less than three miles in either direction for shopping and restaurants. We have filled Kona Breeze with pretty local art, comfy furniture and everything you might need to enjoy your stay on the Big Island of Hawaii

Reviews

4.9
based on 24 traveler reviews

Walk to Kona's favorite beaches
average rating of 4.875 based on 24 reviews
Sicamous, British Columbia
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time at Kona Breeze. Just as lovely and beautiful as the first time. Everything we wrote in our 1st review on April 9, 2014 still holds true. We'd recommend this to anyone wanting something other than the usual big commercial resort type vacation. Again thank you Bill and Dennise for a lovely home away from home.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

.Lovely base to visit the Big Island

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Kona Breeze for 4 weeks - basically the month of April 2016. What a gem of a place! Everything we needed including boogie bords, beach chairs, snorkel gear, laundry facilities, a well equipped kitchen, and a gorgeous private back yard. The bed was very comfortable at the end of the day, which is big plus. Close to the "Magic Sands" beach, and also Kahaluu beach (which offers some of the best snorkelling on the island.) If it's available - book it!

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ramsgate, Kent, England
5

Kona Breeze

  • 5 of 5

I recently stayed with friends at this delightful Apartment "Kona Breeze," which sits opposite the sea on Alii Drive and has beautiful views. It is approximately 5-10 minutes walk to two of the popular Beaches in both directions. There are two buses that stop at various intervals into Kailua Kona for 2 Dollars if you don't want to take the car to town and if you time it right, you can get the bus back, with a short distance walk to "Kona Breeze." There is a lovely rear garden where you can enjoy eating if you prefer to cook and eat at home.

This delightful place is very tastefully furnished and has everything you could possibly wish for. Including kitchen equipment and in general every need you could hope for.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Barcelona, Spain
5

Came from Barcelona for the KONA BREEZE experience!

  • 5 of 5

This was my first visit to Hawaii and I booked the Kona Breeze for two weeks on the recommendation of a friend! What paradise. It felt like being in the home of a dear friend. Everything was so well thought out and comfortable. Beautifully decorated and well stocked amenities. The laundry room was so appreciated, and the beach gear was everything I needed. I loved the close proximity of being able to walk to the snorkel beach to the south and the boogie-board beach to the north. Every day I ventured further and further along Alli Drive on my early morning walks, discovering so many beautiful places along the ocean. I also spent a lot of time in the lovely backyard and and used the BBQ that is provided. The front porch was my haven for the not-to-be-missed Kona sunsets along with my glass of wine and Hawaiian pu-pus. I've already got my dates picked for my return next year to the Kona Breeze. Nothing could top this wonderful home-away-from home Hawaii experience and I can't wait to return.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Louisville, Colorado
4

Kona Breeze welcome

  • 4 of 5

This was our first trip to Hawaii, and Kona Breeze provided a homey welcome. We especially appreciated the very well stocked kitchen (especially ziplocs!) and the welcome book of local information, we made good use of both. Wifi worked fine.

We especially enjoyed breakfast in the backyard, admiring the flowers and listening to the birds. The front seating area was also good for quiet time.

We also used the drying rack, very helpful.

Noise from the street on Thanksgiving night was a tad noisy in the master BR, but the back BR is very quiet. The house was temperature perfect at night, so closing the windows to muffle noise presented no problem.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Couple from Colorado

  • 5 of 5

Our month at Kona Breeze was wonderful. We have marvelous memories of the Big Island, and will miss the idyllic life on Alii Drive. This VRBO is located on the nicest part of Alii Drive, away from the busy big resorts. Close to shopping, movie theaters and about a 10 minute drive to downtown. The backyard is a piece of heaven. Superb hospitality; above and beyond with a stocked pantry, laundry facilities and other extras for the beach. A great base to explore the big island, but we drove to beaches close and far. We are an older couple not interested in walking too far with beach gear on a fairly busy street. Few more positives; great shower, lighting, cooling fans, and beds make this place very comfortable, nice outdoor furniture, parking at the front door, great value for the price, and finally great management!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

All ocean and beach activities close by

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
low season
May 1 - Sep 30
3 night minimum stay
$100
From
$100
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$630
$2,250
 
 
high season
Nov 1 - Apr 30
3 night minimum stay
$110
From
$110
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$700
$2,700
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$110
From
$110
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$740
$3,020
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 13.42%

Ironman and Christmas/New years call for rates. Call for cancellation policy.

50% required for reservation. Balance due 30 days prior to arrival. Call for payment method

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Large walk-in shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Master bedroom has a queen size bed, closet, mirror and dresser. Second bedroom has two twin size beds and a closet
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
A great base for trips to the many wonderful sights on the Big Island: Volcano, waterfalls, Waipio Valley, Hilo, Waimea, Mauna Kea telescopes, numerous beaches, Parker Ranch, quaint old Hawaiian towns and other points of interest.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties