Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Ocean Front Double Decker That's Simply Elegant

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom With Lanai And Sun Deck, On A Barrier Island In The Gulf

Ocean Front Home Located on Bonita Beach on Little Hickory Island. Upper Level for Rent Only. If the calendar is full for the Sunset Home.


Tom Evans
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2017

About Tom Evans

My father was born and raised in Redgranite, Wisconsin. He served in Europe during WWII and in the end married the enemy, my mother. Together they began to raise a family in Madison, Wisconsin in 1947. My father received his doctorate from the Univ. of Wisconsin in 1956 and my mother received hers from Ohio State in 1967. Our family started out in Madison, but in 1957 moved to New Concord, Ohio where my father became Academic Dean of Muskingum College, and my mother taught German. In 1971 we moved to Mt. Pleasant, Michigan where they both taught at Central Michigan University and chaired their respective departments. It was at CMU in the early '70s when they learned about the Naples/Bonita Beach area and soon fell in love with it. They bought and sold numerous lots in Naples until they could afford to buy this little untouched piece of paradise, a sandbar in the gulf called Little Hickory Island. The island had very few residents and I remember when they built this house in 1980, I had to drive all the way to downtown Naples, to find a hardware store. In 1990 they retired from Central Michigan University and lived here full time. In 2010 my sister and I moved them, reluctantly, to assisted living in the towers at Arbor Trace, just a few miles south on Vanderbilt drive. In order to keep the love of their life in the family, my sister and I have decided to rent the upstairs of the house to help offset the cost of the brutal maintenance and ever-increasing taxes. Although the main floor of the house is now a rental, the oak and fruitwood furniture along with rich carpets and drapes, still hold the timeless warmth and charm they created.

Tom Evans purchased this house in 1980

Why Tom Evans chose Florida South Gulf Coast

The Sunset Home celebrates the spirit of a natural beach with beautifully furnished living space. Your family will truly enjoy the inspiring panoramic views of one of the best kept secrets on the gulf. The upper level of the home has three spacious bedrooms. One master bedroom, has double French doors that overlook magnificent views of the Gulf through the spectacular great room with wall to wall sliding glass doors. This home is perfect for entertaining, dining, and relaxing with family and friends. Our outdoor decks assure memorable shared moments under the sun or stars. The screened lanai and unscreened sun deck offer panoramic views of sunsets that no camera can capture. Come to the Sunset Home and re-discover who you are on a little known beach in paradise.

What makes this house unique

A real home, not a commercial property. Simple, but elegant.


Bonita Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Catering available
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for children
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master bath with walk in shower, two sinks, two entrances
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , single sink and cabinet storage
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Every bedroom has large walk in closets, multiple dressers, flat screen TVs, and DVD players.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Ocean Front Double Decker That's Simply Elegant
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews

A 5 star house with an airconditioning problem

  • 4 of 5

This is a top notch property. Wonderful location, right on the beach as pictured and close to many terrific restaurants and grocery shopping. The house is very well-maintained and immaculate, with spacious very well appointed rooms. The screened porch and deck with lounge chairs got a lot of use! The house is also extremely well-equipped with everything we needed to cook full meals, plenty of linens and beach towels (what a plus), beach chairs, a cabana for the beach (such a delightful surprise). Dan, the "man downstairs" was very nice and very unobtrusive.

Our only complaint was the air conditioning. Florida in summer needs air conditioning that works efficiently. The 2 back bedrooms were very stuffy and warm and we ended up needing to run extra fans to try to draw the cooler air from the front of the house. Early in the week, at Dan's request, we had to turn off the system for 5 hours to allow the compressor to thaw because the system was not cooling properly. Later in the week, the repairman came and recharged the system which helped somewhat. Dan was responsive throughout the week. We absolutely would return to this property in the future. It was a delight in many, many ways!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Marjorie, It is a homeowner's worst nightmare: to have guests in the middle of July with a failing AC system. I am so sorry. They tell me the air handler motor was intermittent and is now being replaced. Usually we replace the whole system before it's time, but the salt air is merciless and this one caught us unaware. I thought your comments were very gracious, considering. Again my sincere apologies.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Perfect house; perfect host

  • 5 of 5

Simply everything we had hoped for and wanted. We were two professional couples heading away on a week vacation, filled with beach walks, and a LOT of golf! The house was immaculate and all we'd ever need. The we loved both the screened-in porch and the sun porch. Right on the beach - perfect for long walks along Bonita Beach at any time of day; short drive to Fort Myers Beach on the island. Dolphins dance out in front of you on the deck, and swim beside you on your walks. Sunsets are awesome. Great local movie theatres which serve dinner ...and beer (!) to your table in the theatre! Tom was the perfect host; there for anything we needed - which was very little since he'd thought already of everything. We planned to do much more - bike on the regional trails, play tennis, but there simply was not enough time in each day! Golfed at many great local courses (Raptor Bay at the Hyatt was our fave; Stoneybrook is a great local public course - we got there 3 times, Jack Nicklaus' Old Corkscrew had lightning fast undulating greens..) Lots of shopping (Coconut Point) and eating options nearby. You can't go wrong here. I was tempted to write a subpar review so we could ensure it was always open for us when we returned (LOL, absolutely kidding of course - we could never do that to Tom!). Thanks for everything Tom! We had a blast. :)

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind thoughts! And for all the golf information! I must say I think you packed more into one week than anyone before. I sincerely hope we get to meet again. Best Wishes!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Saint Charles, Illinois

Perfect home in the perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

Loved the house, we didn't want for anything. Tom was very friendly and helpful. The sunsets were absolutely amazing. Weather was perfect all week. We couldn't have been happier. Thank you Tom for a vacation we will always remember.

Vic & Lisa Mueller

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Vic and Lisa. I know we're already booked, but I hope we'll still see you this season. The fishing's been great!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful welcome upon our arrival from Tom, the owner. Relaxing music, and opened sliders with the Gulf greeting us we knew we had chosen the right home. This is so clean, so fully equipped with everything you could possibly want. We felt so relaxed knowing our week would be fantastic. Tom, you are such a nice host, ready to help if we had any questions. The beach toys, chairs, umbrella and beach towels were a very nice surprise! So if you go to this beautiful home, once you walk in the'll never need another thing! This was the perfect vacation with our family, including our 2 yr old grandson. He was so excited to play with the sand toys and floats. So many different birds,. shells, and starfish to see and even a manatee! You will not be disappointed with this beachfront home.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Joyce. You have such a beautiful family, and it won't be long before Carson has a new playmate. I'm sure you're all very exited. Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts and hopefully someday I'll get to meet the new member of your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Camanche, Iowa


  • 5 of 5

The minute we opened the door to the house we knew we had found THE perfect vacation get away. The views were spectacular! The home itself was very clean and comfortable. It had everything and anything you would need. A fully stocked kitchen, spacious bedrooms, beautiful living room, and a huge screened deck, overlooking the ocean. Perfect for early morning coffee! The beach was literally steps away, so many hours were spent walking on the beach, playing in the water, and soaking in the sun. Every evening we walked out the back door down to the water, and watched the most breathtaking sunsets we had ever seen. We did do some sight-seeing, but with all of this right out your back door, we didn't want to leave! Many thanks to Tom. He was more than a gracious host, taking time to make sure we had everything we needed, and just chat with us. By weeks end he seemed more like a friend. Cannot wait to come back again!

  • Submitted: May 11, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always such a joy to hear the awe and wonder in the voices of guests who just realized they can see and hear the ocean on the other side of their living room window. It never gets old. Thank you Michelle for taking the time to write and sharing your kind thoughts.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Madison, WI

We didn't want to leave

  • 5 of 5

I always want to go home after a week away, but I wanted to stay here another week. It usually takes a few days to relax, Day 1 here. We stayed at this house for one week with our eight year old child and my parents. Tom is excellent at taking care of this place. It is clean. There are no mildew or musty smells. They really thought of everything. Any time I thought I needed something, I was able to find it. We hope to go back again. It was very relaxing. I have two minor complaints and I'm putting them in more to help the family know what guests might be wanting, not as something that would prevent us from coming back. The kitchen is stocked well. We are on a gluten free diet for my husband and I cook A LOT. I had everything I needed. I just wanted the utensils and Teflon bakeware/cookware to be in better shape. One of the bake pans is rusted on most of it. I think this must be tough as a proprietor. Having had roommates in college use and abuse my kitchen stuff, I know how frustrating trying to keep things nice. It is obvious someone has used metal in the past on these and scratched them and burned the plastic spatulas. Also, the bed in the master I found very comfortable (I slept in it after my folks left a day early). The king bed in the back of the house, too firm for my taste. If it is ever on the docket to be replaced, I'd go for more like the master mattress. Having different pillows to choose from was a wonderful touch. When we were cold the blankets were there to snuggle in. We had great family time doing puzzles, reading, watching movies. The great room is very comfortable and had a ton of space for everyone to relax. Perhaps it was the time of year we went, but the beach is quiet, you have a ton of space. No one was having loud parties or playing music and drinking beer on the beach. The beach is frequently patrolled and is very well maintained. Thanks to Tom and his folks for being so thoughtful and keeping the place up so well. By the way, the new shower is great.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wish I knew who to thank for this very kind and thoughtful review. Both the Thomas's and the Shearer's were wonderful guests: especially little Lilly. Her insatiable curiosity and boundless energy were poetry in motion. It's not fair that we lose a lot of that "good stuff" as we age. Regardless, both families were wonderful. Thank you for sharing your vacation at the Sunset Home. I look forward to the day when we meet again. Kind Regards, Tom
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


Nearest Airport
23 Miles
SouthWest Florida Intl Airport Ft. Myers Fl, RSW
Nearest Barpub
0.75 Miles
Docs on Bonita Beach
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Bonita Bay Club
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.75 Miles
Big Hickory Marina
Nearest Beach
Bonita Beach
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Bonita Springs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
1st Peak Season '17
Feb 4 2017 - Mar 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
2nd Mid Season '17
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
Off Season 2017
Apr 29 2017 - Dec 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
2nd Peak Season '17
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 1 2018
7 night minimum stay
1st Mid Season '18
Jan 2 2018 - Jan 26 2018
7 night minimum stay
1st Peak Season '18
Jan 27 2018 - Mar 30 2018
7 night minimum stay
2nd Mid Season '18
Mar 31 2018 - Apr 27 2018
7 night minimum stay
Off Season 2018
Apr 28 2018 - Dec 21 2018
7 night minimum stay
2nd Peak Season '18
Dec 22 2018 - Jan 1 2019
7 night minimum stay
1st Mid Season '19
Jan 2 2019 - Feb 1 2019
7 night minimum stay
1st Peak Season '19
Feb 2 2019 - Mar 29 2019
7 night minimum stay
2nd Mid Season '19
Mar 30 2019 - Apr 26 2019
7 night minimum stay
Off Season 2019
Apr 27 2019 - Dec 20 2019
7 night minimum stay
2nd Peak Season '19
Dec 21 2019 - Jan 1 2020
7 night minimum stay
1st Mid Season '20
Jan 2 2020 - Jan 31 2020
7 night minimum stay
1st Peak Season '20
Feb 1 2020 - Mar 27 2020
7 night minimum stay
2nd Mid Season '20
Mar 28 2020 - May 1 2020
7 night minimum stay
Off Season 2020
May 2 2020 - Dec 18 2020
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Partner Offers