Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Location Location Location - Our Home Is Your Home

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 5,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 4 1/2 Baths, Spectacular Lake View, Outdoor Deck - Patio & Boat Dock

NO PARTIES - EVENTS - OR RECEPTIONS - NO EXCEPTIONS

Unfortunately, we have had several guests recently that violated the contract by having "parties" at our home. They have parked cars on the grass and over worked the septic system by having too many people here at one time. Please DO NOT book this home if that is your intentions. We have neighbors watching the house and we will know. And we will ask you to leave with NO Refund.

You have found the perfect house in a great location. This spacious 5 bedroom lake house has all the modern conveniences and enjoyment you could ask for.

This house is tastefully decorated with high end furnishings (pottery barn) linens, towels and much more. A fully equipped kitchen will make any chef happy.

This casually elegant lake home boasts breathtaking views. Relaxation sets in as soon as you hit the front steps. Walk through the house to the back deck where you can enjoy grilling, relaxing on a chaise lounge, reading or sunbathing. The back deck with the amazing lake view is the ideal place for morning coffee or cool afternoon drinks.

There are two large family rooms each with their own large flat screen TV's. Upstairs the kitchen and dining room are large and open to the family room - great atmosphere for enjoying each others company.

This house sleeps 10 in beds and has a maximum occupancy of 8-10.

1st Level

Family Room w/flat screen tv - Dining Room - Large Kitchen - Laundry Room - Powder Room. There are two bedrooms (the King Master and a Queen Guest) 2 1/2 baths and a 3 car garage. Beautiful deck with seating for six and a natural gas grill.

Terrace Level

Large Family Room w/multiple TV's - Game Room w/Poker Table - 2 Queen Bedrooms with a shared bathroom and a third bedroom that has bunkbeds, full size day bed and a full hall bath. There is also a beautiful covered patio with seating off the family room.

Property is located directly on the lake, private boat dock and year round lake views. It is great for swimming, boating and fishing. Boat rentals are available from Holiday Marina and various boat vendors on the lake. The property sits in a private cove in deep water. Relax on a raft the whole day long. Enjoy the 'True Lake Experience' at this home.

WE also just purchased a new KEURIG coffee maker so be sure to bring some of your favorite coffee flavors with you to enjoy as you sit out on the porch and enjoy the lake.

The ABC’s of our Policies

AMENITIES: Please enjoy the books, magazines, games and cards while you are here, just put them back in the same condition as you found them when you are done.

CANCELLATION and CHANGES:

In the event you cancel or change your reservation 30 or more days in advance of the date you are scheduled to arrive, you will receive a 100% refund of the all monies received.

CANDLES: While renting the Lake House: No open flames (candles). Do not light any of the candles on display.

CAPACITY: Please abide by the stated maximum capacity of 10 persons, unless prior arrangements have been made with us. Violating this policy will result in you being asked to leave.

CHECK IN TIME IS AFTER 4pm.

CHECK OUT TIME IS 11:00 am.

Please leave enough time to run through our departure checklist.

CLEANING: Please treat our home with respect and care. Please leave the house in the same relative condition as you found it, with items stored and in the same condition as they were when you arrived. While the final cleaning is provided, you are asked to leave the house as you would want your guests to leave your home.

CONTACT INFO: You can reach us pretty much anytime at (404) 849-9904 (Donna’s cell); (404) 849-9997 (Jeff’s cell); Donna’s cell number is the best and fastest way to reach us so try that first. Also, feel free to email Donna at: dstromatt@yahoo

DAMAGE: If any damage occurs, please notify us immediately, so we can get in and correct problems before our next guests arrive. While you are renting the house, you are responsible for damage to the home and for any lost or misplaced items. We do keep a detailed count of all towels, linens, utensils, furniture, equipment, etc. We inventory these items after each visit.

DECK FURNITURE: Please stack the chaise cushions in the garage in the event of a storm and/or before you leave.

DOCK FURNITURE: Please store the dock furniture before you leave in the same way you found it. The container of tie downs can be stored inside the round table.

DEPARTURE: Please turn off all lights. Please leave your trash in the garage. Please make sure that all exterior doors are locked, as well as any windows that you may have opened.

DISTURBANCES: Enjoy yourself; however please respect the right of the neighbors not to be disturbed. Quite time after 10pm.

DOCK: Please do not move the dock in or out without first contacting us. It is imperative that this is done correctly or it can cause severe damage to the dock and can result in injury. Movement of the dock without express permission will result in additional cost to you to reposition the dock.

DOCK SAFETY. We have a policy that we hope you adopt with your children while you are renting the house – we require that children (anyone under age 14) wear life vests when they are on the dock, swimming off the dock or near the water. The water is deep off the end of the dock when the lake is full. We also strongly encourage all adults to do the same. No children at any time should be allowed on the dock without an adult present. We think any child who goes in the water should have a coast guard approved PFD (personal flotation device) that fits them. Also, please do not dive from the dock. Although the water depth is fine, the lake is a natural body of water and the lake bottom can change – logs or limbs of trees can be carried into our cove by currents under water. Swim at your own risk.

FIRE EXTINGUISHER: There is a fire extinguisher in the house – under the kitchen sink

FIRST AID: There is a first aid kit in the storage closet.

FOOD: If you eat on the dock or deck and spill food, etc. please clean these areas before you checkout, as outside areas are not typically included in our cleaning. Don’t forget to remove all food items from the refrigerator, freezer and cabinets.

FORCE MAJEURE: We shall not be liable for any failure to perform our obligations where such failure is as a result of Acts of Nature (including fire, flood, storm or other natural disaster), lockout or interruption or failure of electricity [or telephone service].

GRILL: You’re welcome to use the grill - please remember to turn off the grill after each use and close the grill once it cools back down. Please check the disposable drip pan under grill to avoid spillage.

HAZARDS: Fireworks may not be discharged near the house, dock, lawns or streets.

HOUSE BINDER: Please make sure our House Information binder is back on the kitchen counter or on the desk in the kitchen.

INTERNET: Internet access is provided for your convenience, please do not utilize it for any peer to peer downloading of copyrighted materials.

KEYS: The key is in the lock box at the front entrance. The key is to the front door and to the rear deck door and the terrace door. The code to the lock box will be provided after booking. You will have to enter this code both when you take out the key and when you put the key back in the lock box upon your departure. VERY IMPORTANT: Please place it back in the lockbox when you checkout. If you do not do this, our next renter will not be able to get in!!!

LINENS: Linens are provided with the rental. Please plan to bring your own beach towels for use outside at the dock and in your boat. Please do not take any towels, blankets, pillows, etc. outside of the home.

NO SMOKING. We really do mean “no smoking.” There is no smoking inside the house, on the dock or on the decks. If you choose to smoke outside on the property, please put your butts in a container and dispose of them in the trash.

NO WAKE: Please be respectful of our neighbor’s docks and don’t create a wake if you are within 250 feet or so of their docks.

OWNER ACCESS: There may be times when we (or service people we contract with) will need access to the property (like the lawn guy, bug guy, etc.). We will try to give you advance notice.

PARKING: Please DO NOT park or drive on the grass. There is plenty of parking in the driveway.

PEST CONTROL: We have a pest control service that does a pretty good job with pest control. However, you may see some live bugs while you are here (we don’t think you will, but you are in the woods out here and on a lake).

PETS: No Pets are allowed.

PHONE SERVICE: There is a land-line (phone) at the house it can be used for local calls and long distance calls.

SEPTIC: Our house is on a septic system. Do not flush feminine hygiene products down the toilet. Do not flush wet wipes.

SUPPLIES: We supply you with soap, dish wash detergent, laundry detergent, toilet paper, and tissues. Also, there are plenty of towels in all bathrooms.

SWIM LADDER: At the end of your stay, please raise the swim ladder at the dock so it is resting on the dock and not in the water (it gets algae build up on it if you leave it in the water).

THERMOSTATS: Feel free to set the thermostat to a temperature you find comfortable.

TRASH REMOVAL: Please place the small white trash bags INTO a large black trash bag before you leave. Please empty liquids such as half empty bottles of soda, etc. down the drain before throwing them in the trash. DO NOT pour oil or grease down the drain.

WE Require Renters purchase property Damage Protection By CSA Travel Protection for $99.00 and a $500 fully refundable damage deposit providing there is no damage and ALL check out instructions have been followed.

Sincerely,

The Stromatt’s

*Drew Barrymore was a guest in this home for 5 weeks while filming the movie 'Blended', with Adam Sandler*

More Details

Owner
Donna Stromatt
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2017

About Donna Stromatt

My husband, daughter and myself live less than an hour away from our lake home...but we feel like we have been transported to another time when we visit. It is so peaceful and relaxing here.

Donna Stromatt purchased this house in 2013

Why Donna Stromatt chose Lake Lanier

After spending 8 plus summers enjoying this lake home we jumped at the chance to purchase it. And we are excited about sharing it with you. We want you to be able to relax and love spending time here as much as we do.

What makes this house unique

This home is in a perfect location. Less than 50 feet away is deep water and a private dock in a quiet cove.

Both Holiday Marina and Lake Lanier Islands are only minutes away by lake or land. If you have spent all day on the lake and are just too tired to cook,the Mall of Georgia and the dozens of restaurants that surround it are only 10 minutes away.

Also dozens of exciting places to visit while you are here:

Chateau Elan

Georgia Aquarium

Dahlongea

Helen

Fernbank Museum

High Museum of Art

Fox Theatre

Buckhead Atlanta

Top Gulf Alpharetta

Atlanta Botanical Gardens

World of Coke

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank You!

We loved this home so very much! We were so happy here. Cheers to you and your family. All my love D.



**Drew Barrymore stayed as our guest for 5 weeks while filming "Blended" with Adam Sandler.**
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Buford House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 5 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Queen Bedroom with private bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Queen with Jack & Jill Bath
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Large Master with Lake View and huge Master Bath
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Bunk beds and a Day Bed with a Full Bath in the hallway
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Queen Bedroom with lake view and Jack & Jill bath
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

Location Location Location - Our Home Is Your Home
average rating of 4.897959 based on 51 reviews
5

Great Home - Great Holiday

  • 5 of 5

Our family (ages 9 to 94) stayed in this home over Thanksgiving. Beautiful home, very clean, and well maintained. There was enough of space for 'whole-family' togetherness or individual privacy over the long Holiday. Large well furnished kitchen was perfect for our Thanksgiving meals. Owner was great to work with, responsive, patient, and flexible. We hope to be able to stay again. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house is beautifully furnished & roomy for large families.

  • 5 of 5

The home had everything we needed for 6 adults & 4 small children. Plenty of room for the kids to play. 2 lovely decks with a view of the lake & located really close to marinas & the Lanier Isksnd resort. Owner was very attentive & kept in touch to check on things.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home In Great Location

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful home is located in a great location of Buford, Georgia. It is stunning with an open floor plan and large kitchen. Just minutes from shopping, restaurants, and sports events. The home is extremely clean and provides large bedrooms ,closets , and bathrooms. Perfect vacation home for a "girl's weekend" or a family to enjoy. Very nice dock and deck that overlooks Lake Lanier. Great for entertaining and relaxing. This home is AMAZING!!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Nice place!

  • 1 of 5

Very decent place to rent and stay, but being an adult and having to be micro managed makes you feel like an irresponsible preteen. Maybe it's just my experience but it didn't feel relaxed one bit of being home away from home. No contact of explanation as to why the refundable deposit was never returned also made you felt like you were robbed. Thanks for the opportunity but would never do business again.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mr. Xiong, You know perfectly well why your deposit was not refunded. I told you the day that you violated the contract that we would have to have the septic system pumped. So to state that you have no idea why it wasn't returned is a flat out LIE. You had a PARTY at my house after me explicitly telling you it was NOT allowed. IT is CLEARLY stated on the VRBO website and in the CONTRACT. When my neighbors told me what was going on I allowed you to stay when I should have asked you to leave immediately. I now wish I had. We discussed my no parties policy prior to your renting and prior to your arrival you assured me that the event would be held elsewhere. BUT then afterwards EVERYONE came back to my house to socialize (that sir is still a party) You had almost 3 times the amount allowed in the home. I told you that day that I would have to have the septic system pumped due to there being issues with it being replaced from a prior "party". Which is also clearly stated in my AD on VRBO and as I had explained to you prior to your arrival. YOU tried to put one over on someone and got caught. When I talked to you on the phone that day asking why there were so many cars and people at my house, you said you "were pressured" to have everyone come back to the house. Well Sir, if you can NOT follow the rules when renting someones property maybe you do INDEED need to be micro managed and treated like an irresponsible teenager. Just because you rent someones home does not give you the right to do whatever you want there. My ad on VRBO clearly states in BOLD capital letters that NO PARTIES-EVENTS or OCCASSIONS of and kind can be held in this home. AND that there is a maximum of 10 people allowed in the household. YOU had almost 30. People like you is what gives "renters" a bad name. In my four years of renting, I have had only 3 incidents where the renters EXPLICITLY LIED and broke the rules of the home and the contract they signed. YOU were the THIRD. I don't think your rating will effect me one bit as I have hundreds of 5 star ratings. You are the only person to ever rate me poorly. Your comments are laughable, as you state no where the TRUE events that evolved. YOU need not worry about doing business with me as you have clearly been identified by me through VRBO as an individual that LIES and breaks the rules in the contract. RENTERS BEWARE of THIS INDIVIDUAL
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Outstanding Home

  • 5 of 5

Having stayed at many rentals, I can say that this home is truly outstanding in every way. There are many upgrade such as heavy shades on the windows (for sleeping in!), quality, comfortable leather seating, high end appliances, well maintained furniture, and many extras such as spices, numerous kitchen tools, multiple pots, pans, etc. Everything is very clean, the view is lovely, and the cove is very quiet. Donna was very easy to work with, responding very quickly to requests. This home feels more like a spa resort than a rental. We left here rested and relaxed and would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I also appreciate the care that you and your guests took with my home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5

Awesome lake front house!

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Mall Of Georgia
Kroger
LongHorn Steakhouse
Lake Lanier Islands' Beach & Waterpark
O'Charley's
Red Lobster
Waffle House
TGI Friday's
Chick-fil-A
P.F. Chang's
Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
On the Border
Starbucks
Starbucks
Car: recommended

Less than 2 miles to local groceries, gas stations and restaurants. Only 10 miles to the Mall of Georgia and dozens of dining options, shopping and movie theaters.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Buford House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Season 2017
Apr 18 2017 - May 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Memorial Day 2017
May 25 2017 - May 28 2017
4 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Peak Season 2017
May 29 2017 - Jun 28 2017
4 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
Peak Season
Jul 31 2017 - Aug 27 2017
4 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
Labor Day 2017
Aug 28 2017 - Sep 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Late Season
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 18 2017 - Dec 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Refundable damage deposit $500
Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 7.0%

Cleaning Fee: $250
WE Require Renters to purchase property Damage Protection By CSA Travel Protection for $89.00
Fully Refundable Damage Deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties