Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Clean, Pretty, Oceanfront Pool, Cal-King Bed, A/C

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 481 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning

Overview

About the property

Quality, Beautiful, Clean Condo, Easy Online Booking

"Our mission is to provide honest and quick communications to our guests who enjoy vacationing in a beautiful and clean place they can call home."

Aloha! Welcome to Khammoui's Shangri La by the sea. Very comfortable second floor unit with cool cross breeze with the best partial ocean views in Kona Shores! NO SMOKING AND NO PETS ALLOWED. This condo have strict rules with high fines. Please follow the rules and keep to yourself is best. If you are evicted during your stay, no refund on the remainder of your stay will be given back.

Stylishly refinished with teak dresser, teak night stands, stainless steel appliances-gas stove, refrigerator, dishes, pans, coffee maker, Torrington cabinets, Golden Bourdeau granite, tile tub/shower, custom vanity, soft sheets from Macy's, soft towels, beach towels, beach chairs, beach cooler, ceiling fans , window unit A/C.

Luxury furnishings include 55' Samsung TV, cable, DVD/CD player, two couches, iron, ironing board, refrigerator with ice maker, free WiFi, free assigned parking just below the unit and remote control air conditioning on the window. Excellent oceanfront pool! Close to town-15 minutes walk to Royal Kona Resort and all the activities. We provide you with toilet paper, paper towel, dish soap, trash bags and laundry detergent to last you during your entire stay with us. We are waiving cleaning fee, Damage Insurance and Damage Deposit at this time.

You will love the sound of the ocean and watching the crystal clear blue ocean all day long while sipping Kona coffee off the porch.

Only 15 minutes walk to famous Alii Drive where all the actions happen. If you love to walk, you can save money on car rental by exploring Kailua-Kona on foot where all shopping and restaurants are less than 30 minutes walk away. You will enjoy the stroll to Wal-Mart, Target, Ross's, Safeway, KTA, Longs, beaches, para-sailing, jet skiing, snorkeling, sunset cruise, submarine ride, snorkel rental, bicycle rental etc.

Any problems with unit during your stay, we will have it taken care of right away because we live just 2 minutes away.

Second floor unit-No Elevator

Free WIFI

Free assigned parking just below the unit

The calendar is up to date if you want to book online

Check in is 3:00pm

Checkout is 10:00am

Please book and make payment online through Book Now button. If your dates are not available on this property, check out VRBO#566521.

More Details

Owner
Khammoui Louangrath
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2017

About Khammoui Louangrath

I came to Hawaii from Rapid City, SD in 1994 to teach. I have families in Kansas, South Dakota, Oregon, Washington State, New Mexico, Virginia, North Carolina and Arizona. My husband and I bought this unit because of the closeness to everything and of course, the best oceanfront pool on Alii Drive. We furnished the unit with high end solid wood furnishings for your comfort.

Khammoui Louangrath purchased this condo in 2013

Why Khammoui Louangrath chose Kona Coast

We bought this property because of the pretty partial ocean view from lanai/porch of the unit, Oceanfront Pool and it is right on Alii Drive where You can easily walk to beaches, shopping, all tourist attractions are within 30 minutes away-less if you are a fast walker. The nice partial ocean view from the unit and oceanfront pool makes this the perfect place to spend your time in Hawaii. This complex has a combination of owners living in their units to long term monthly renters to short term vacation rental. You will meet many nice people with many Aloha during your stay. We have guests that keep coming back every year because they have made good friends here. The only thing we would change with this condo is the exterior brown trim on the building because it makes the building looks dated. The paint are less than ten years old and will not change for awhile. I have made recommendation to the board to change the color of the trim the next time the building gets painted.

What makes this condo unique

Very clean compare to staying at a hotel. Carpet and sofas are cleaned annually with spot cleaning as needed throughout the year to keep it clean and fresh for our guests. High end quality furnishings with 55' Samsung T.V. You will not be disappointed with the quality we put into this unit. Book today and see for yourself why we own the best unit in the complex. No cleaning fee because I do the cleaning myself and No Damage Insurance or Deposit.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Enjoy this unit very much. Great location and this unit had everything we needed. Truly 5 stars. We would stay here again in a heart beat.
May 2014
  • 1 of 25

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 481 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 2
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Remodeled with tile shower,cabinets, sinks, faucet.
  • Golden Bourdeau granite, tile tub/shower, Torrington cabinets, stylish sink, stylish faucet , bath/hand towels, beach towels, beach chairs
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Was a one bedroom which is now a spacious studio for comfort
  • King size bed.We furnished the unit with high end furnishing because we believe in quality and comfort. We would want to stay at a place like this when we travel.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
We provide laundry detergent for coin operated shared washer/dryer located at the ground floor on the North end of the building. If you need something during your stay we didn't provide in the unit, let us know and we will try to accommodate if we can. We shampoo the carpet and the sofas April and October to keep the place looking and smelling clean.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(135 traveler reviews)

Clean, Pretty, Oceanfront Pool, Cal-King Bed, A/C
average rating of 4.8014708 based on 161 reviews
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5

Third time staying here. Clean. Set up nicely. Close to everything. Will stay again.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Book our clean condos when visiting Kona! We love hosting great guests who leave our places clean and tidy at check out. This helps keep the price affordable for everyone. Mahalo to all out previous guest and future guests for being respectful of our condos. Our condos have AC, WIFI, assigned parking just below the unit, solar water heater, early check in if we get done with cleaning before 3:00pm. We live close by if you have questions during your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A perfect place to relax after a busy day exploring all that Kona has to offer

  • 5 of 5

While the exterior is a little outdated, in interior is perfect. You honestly had everything you could need for any amount of stay. The unit was very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the view provided a perfect slice of paradise. The location is pretty good relative to beaches and or food/drinks. Our stay here was wonderful, we'd definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome Kona Condo

  • 5 of 5

The condo was fantastic. We were a bit concerned since the nightly rate was quite a bit less than some of the other VRBO's we investigated/stayed at during our trip to the big island. But overall the condo was fantastic. Very clean and sufficiently spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the frozen beer mugs in the freezer after our long trip back from the east side of the island. And the beach chairs provided were perfect for a relaxing day at the beach.

One downside we felt was the location of the property with respect to the downtown/shopping district in Kona. There were a number of people walking the street from the property to downtown, but the walkways are narrow and the traffic is moderately heavy. Recommend using the condo as your home base and driving to the areas of interest. Keep that in mind if you're accustomed to stepping outside your door and walking to the sites.

If you're looking for things to do from Kona, check out Waipio Valley. Hike down from the lookout to the bottom...you'll need to be in decent shape to do the hike (or rent a 4WD vehicle) but it's well worth it. Was probably the highlight of our trip to the Big Island. And the beaches up by Waikoloa were spectacular. We ended up going back twice since the beach and surf there were so cool. Not great snorkeling, but lots of turtles around the beach.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We keep our rates affordable because we manage and clean the two units ourselves. Because it's an island, homes and condos on Alii Drive are built so close together that there's limited sidewalks for pedestrians. With the winter snow on Mauna Kea, active volcano, beautiful beaches, Volcano National Park, this is the island to explore in Hawaii. Come fall in love with the Big Island!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Let me know when you're selling! haha.

  • 5 of 5

We loved it! The location was nice and close to the airport and nearby restaurants as well as groceries when needed. The amenities within the complex like the pool and barbecue was also nice to have available. The ocean view was great! The actual space itself was the best part though. It was nice to have little things we might need that were available, simple things like cooking oil for example. I have had experience with a kitchen and nothing to provide. The patio, air conditioning and the ceiling fans really helped during the peak hot times of the day. The bed was comfortable, bathroom again provided the little things like lotion and body wash. Upon arrival the suite was nice and clean. Literally no complaints! Khammoui was also nice and flexible enough to allow early check in with prompt responses. Highly highly recommend staying here! I definitely will try to when we come back! - Carlo & Florina, Vancouver Canada

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great guests! When you book at our clean and beautiful unit, you are allowed early check in if the previous guests left it tidy, checked out before 10am, and we finish cleaning it before 3:00pm. We cannot promise early check in ahead of time. Just text, call or email as you are getting your rental car the same day and we will let you know if early check in is possible. If we don't get back to you right away, we are busy cleaning it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a lovely place!

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend and me stayed in this beautiful place for 2 nights. The apartment was very clean and nice and had everything we needed. A nice extra were the beach chairs that were provided. Khammoui was very helpful and always responded very quickly. Thanks again for letting us stay in your home! We will be back!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Clean place with responsive owner is what you are looking for, then book with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Peters, MO
5

Fantastic condo!

  • 5 of 5

We always try to stay in VRBO's when we travel and we must say this was the best place that we have ever stayed. Location was wonderful - we could sit on the deck and see the ocean and from the pool deck we had a wonderful view of the ocean and could even see the whales!!

The kitchen was well equipped, we only used the coffee pot, but there was everything needed if we were cooking. To make matters even better there were coffee filters and extra trash bags! Bed was very comfortable and plenty of towels, even for the pool and beach. There were beach chairs there also! Great large TV if we would have had time to watch it.

Location was great as there was only a short drive into the main area of town with the bars and restaurants. By the pool there was an area for cooking out with a grill etc.

I would highly recommend staying there if staying on the Big Island. If we ever make it back I know we will book it again. Fantastic home away from home!

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The condo complex is very green. We are on Photovoltaic.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Kona Town Tavern
"Great place for fresh beer and pizza."
Kona Farmers' Market
"Go shopping for local fruits and vegetables."
Kua Bay Beach Park
"I go here every Sunday morning when it opens to enjoy the clear blue ocean, play in the wave..."
Captain Cook Monument
Huggo's Restaurant
Laaloa Beach Park
Kona Country Club
"Just South of the condo and they do have specials sometimes-give them a call. Very pretty w..."
Island Lava Java
Kailua Pier
Bongo Ben's Island Cafe
"Great place for breakfast. Only 15 minutes walk from the condo."
Splasher's Grill
Kona Town Tavern
"Great place for fresh beer and pizza."
Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
"Wonderful fresh food. 3pm to 5pm appetizers are 1/2 off. Friendly servers."
Walmart
"Affortable souveniers."
Original Thai Cuisine
"Best Thai food in town. They have won Best of Hawaii every year since opening in 2007."
Onizuka Space Center
"Check it out at the airport while waiting for your flight."
Re/Max Brokers: Mc Cabe Kevin
"Thinking of buyer land, condo or home? Call the agents for information. 808-989-2239"
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Keahole International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Huggo's on the Rock, Royal Kona Resort,
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Makalei Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Mamalahoa Hwy.
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Huggo's, Jackie Rey's, Bongo Ben's, Lava Java
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Kailua Pier, White Sands, Kailua Pier,
Car: recommended

If you enjoy walking, you can stroll to Alii Drive Farmer's Market for fresh local fruits, vegetables, sourvenier, restaurants, beaches, tourist activities, snorkeling, cloud forest to see parrots is only 10 minutes drive away.

We do our best to keep pests like ants and cockroaches out of the condo. With inspection and pest control twice a year as well as when it is needed, they do come in with fruits and vegetables you purchase and when you come back from beaches. They are great hitchhikers.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$105
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. We are waiving cleaning fee, damage insurance and damage deposit. There is 13.42% tax added to the nightly rate. $100 plus VRBO Service Fee to reserve your dates with final payment due 30 days prior to your arrival. 100% refund if cancel before the 30 days of arrival date. One week prior to your arrival, I will email you access code along with directions to the unit. Hawaii Tax ID#TA-167-114-1376-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties