Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

The Retreat Is A Family Friendly Home In A Gated Community.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
estate
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights

About the property

4 Bedroom , 3 Bath 8-12 Open floor plan, Sleeps Home in Nearly one Acre of Land

The Retreat is a beautiful luxury home located in a secluded and peaceful gated community on the north west side of San Antonio. The house is nestled among 300 year old oaks trees on nearly an acre of land. The single family home its a one story level and has 4 bedrooms, ans 3 full baths. It includes a quiet reading/music area, two eating areas as well as a large bar counter in a large gourmet kitchen. The living room is an open floor plan where large family and friends can gather. The newly remodled large outdoor deck, overlooks an outdoor kitchen with BBQ grill and Fireplace. The house has a large back yard, with a koi fountain and pergola to sit and enjoy the outdoors. The retreat is tastefully decorated and fully stocked with linens, towels cleaning supplies, and laundry facilities that you may need during your stay. The house includes one King, three Queen, and one Full bed / futon in its bedrooms. There are two additional inflatable queen beds for your use if needed. The three bathrooms are complete with shower and tub and fully stocked with all the essentials. There are additional pillows and blankets to keep your and your family at a comfortable level.

Wi-Fi internet is available in the house, and two I-pads are supplied for your use while staying at The Retreat. Many shopping conveniences and restaurans are near by and easy freeway acces is near the house for your convenience.

More Details

Owner
Roberto Gonzalez
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 21, 2017

About Roberto Gonzalez

I purchased this property in 2005 with the intentions on making it my retiring home. I designed and installed all the outdoor features of this home during the 8 years I lived in it. I spend the last 8 years making the Retreat a paradise to enjoy with family and friends. I come from a large family (11 siblings) and have many family members that visited me during that time. The retreat offered us the perfect gathering pace for family groups. Now I want to share my house with visitors to enjoy what The Retreat has to offer.

Roberto Gonzalez purchased this estate in 2005

Why Roberto Gonzalez chose San Antonio

I bough this property because it was in a secluded gated community where the hustle and bustle of the city can be forgotten, but still be near a large cosmopolitan city like San Antonio.

What makes this estate unique

Quiet, safe, and peaceful. Perfect for family gatherings.

Amenities

Far West Side Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Master Bathroom has double sinks.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Bathroom locater between two Bedrooms
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Full Bathrooms, 2 Additional Queen size Inflatable beds available.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Has own Full Bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • 4 Bedrooms, sleeps 12 Beds for 8-12 Bedroom 1, Master Bed, King Size Bed Bedroom 2, Queen Size (1) Bedroom 3, Queen Size (1) Bedroom 4, Queen Size (1) Convertible Inflatable Bed(s) 2 Queen+ 1 Queen Futton in Living Room
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hunting
Notes:
Quiet gated community neighborhood, Walking Trails and nearby shopping areas near by. Sea World near By, Fiesta Texas Adventure Park 15 min drive. Restaurants all within a 5 minute drive. Movie theaters now open

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

The Retreat Is A Family Friendly Home In A Gated Community.
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 24 reviews
O'Fallon, MO
2

Nice bones, but needs TLC.

  • 2 of 5

Pro's - Nice area, gated & quiet subdivision, easy to get to various highways, and shopping. The house layout and yard is great for large groups. The air conditioner wasn't working properly but Roberto was extremely quick to respond.

Con's - I read previous reviews, as recent as a month before our trip, that the place was clean and well maintained. We did not feel that was the case at all. The decking had numerous holes (some large enough to sprain an ankle), the swing by the fish pond was totally ripped, the cushion on the lawn furniture were dirty (as well as the furniture itself) and the stuffing was coming out so much I thought it was an animal sitting on the chair. The inside of the house was dusty & dirty, refrigerator, microwave, and stove light/fan cover was VERY dirty.... to the point of I wasn't sure if the sheets had been changed. Needless to say I loaded the dishwasher & did laundry before I came in contact with anything. The dining room chairs had the plastic shipping covers draped over the sides - instead of just taking the extra time to remove. I rented numerous houses through VRBO and this was the most disappointed I've been. Just needs some serious deep cleaning & maint!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest, I recieved your review, and I must say i was completelly surprised on your report. I stive in providing my guest with all the necesities needed during their stay. I know the house had an issue with the air conditionoing that I took care of immediallty after you mentioned it to me. FYI, the power company had an outage and the thermostat was re-set to the original settings. I believed I took care of this immediately after we spoke on the phone. Thank you for noticing it too. I, however, am surplised that there was no mention on the condition of the house on your arrival, or when we spoke over the phone. But anyway, I will continue to address any issues that any of my guest bring up, and will accomodate their every need, I wish you would have given me the choice to correct the wrongs. FYI, I gather my cleanning crew, as well as the gardner in charge of outside areas to make sure this does not happen again. I did find out that a couple of racoons have been in several backyards in the neighbourhood and that may have been the reason the cusshions on the furniture were torn. I have since replace them. Again my sincere appologies on your situation, and hope to provide a better service to a future guest, and yes, It also includes you and your family. Thank you for letting me know and accepting my failure on stay. I promissed to do a better job to my future guests. Roberto
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Loved this house.

  • 4 of 5

My family had a great time. This house was beautiful and very spacious. Kids could play in the backyard. Only had 2 TV so that made it a little rough for everyone to watch their shows but is the only issue we had. House was very well stocked & only 15 minutes away from seaworld.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You Brandi for your kind review. I am glad your family was able to enjoy The Retreat during your stay. On your reccomendation regarding TV's. I have already plans to add two more TV's to the house to have one in every room and in the near future a possible fifth one outside in the newly contructed Kiosk to enjoy too. Thank you again and hope to see you in the near future. Roberto (Owner)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

beautiful and cozy home

  • 5 of 5

the listing description of this house regarding the location, layout and etc. was accurate. The property was very clean and well-maintained. The owner was very nice, provided good service and overall it was a beautiful home.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Tayabeh for you kind review. I strive in providing my guest with the essentials as well as the added accomodations for familieas to have a good time during their stay. Hope to see you again in the future. Best Reagards, Roberto G.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dallas, TX
5

Great Family Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

Property was great and met the needs for all of our families that stayed. Plenty of space inside and outside for all to enjoy. We were very pleased with the home. Also, it was indeed very close to Sea World, and the drive to other parts of San Antonio (ie-Riverwalk, missions, Doseum, etc.) were not bad at all. Thanks for a great few days!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Vinson, Thank you for your kind review. Glad to hear the house was to your liking and that you were satisfied with the accomodations. The convenient location of the house makes for a good vacation spot. Everything needed is within reach and yet far away to have a relaxing time too. I hope to see you again in the near furure. Best Regards, Roberto G.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic!!!!

  • 5 of 5

My Family and I enjoyed our Easter Holiday Weekend @ this wonderful Cozy Property. They had everything we needed from dishes, to towels, & extra blankets, & pillows. The front and backyard are beautiful.. very nice and neat gated community. My husband one night cooked out some steaks while enjoying the backyard. They also had a little pond w/fish which my 2 little ones enjoyed feeding. Also the property is very convenient if ur planning a trip to Seaworld it is like 5 minutes away. All in all I recommend Mr. Gonzalez property to everyone that wants to spend a nice get away from home.

Thank you again for have giving my family and I the opportunity to stay in this wonderful home.

Patty Meza

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Patty, Thank you again for your kind review. I am glad that you were able to spend quality time with your Family at my house. The house is convenientrly located near Sea World for families looking for a get away adventure as well as a relaxing time. I stive in providing all the necesities and commodities that a traveler may need during their vacation to make their stay a memorable one.. Hope to see you again in the furure. Best Regards, Roberto G.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berryton, KS USA
5

Beautiful, spacious property!

  • 5 of 5

We had an excellent experience with our stay at the Retreat! It was a beautiful, clean and spacious home that accommodated our party of 8 adults very well. Roberto was great to work with and promptly addressed any questions or concerns we had. I would highly recommend this home to any large group who is looking for a place to stay in SA!

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You for your kind review. I am glad your group enjpoyed the house and its ammenities. The open concept plan helps a large group like yours, spend quality time together. I hope to see you again in the near futture. Roberto G. (0wner)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
30 minute drive to San Antonio Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Sports Bars within 15 minutes drive
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Near Texas Golf Course, and La Cantera Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Easy access to HW 151, Loop 1604 and Loop 410
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Many Restaurants within a 15 minute drive.
Nearest Beach
17 Miles
20 minute drive to Lackland AFB
Car: necessary

Conveniently located near Sea World, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Lackland AFB, The Riverwalk and Shopping Centers.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Far West Side Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Jan 2 - May 25
Jan 9 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,275
$4,500
 
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,500
 
 
May 29 - Jun 29
May 29 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,275
 
 
Jun 30 - July 3
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,275
 
 
Jul 4 - Aug 31
Jul 4 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,275
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,200
Flat fee
 
 
Sep 3 - Nov 21
Sep 4 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,275
 
 
Thanksgiving Holiday
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,600
Flat fee
 
 
Nov 26 - Dec 21
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,275
 
 
Christmas Holiday
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,600
Flat fee
 
 
Dec 26 - Dec 28
Dec 26 2017 - Dec 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,500
 
 
New Years Holiday
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 1 2018
4 night minimum stay
$1,600
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,275
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Deposit $110
Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $75
Tax Rate 7.75%

Rates are subject to change without notice, until reservation is made. Call to confirm reservation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Partner Offers