Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Minimum age of primary renter:25
Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Family, Fun, Happiness, and Joy at a Beautiful Lakehouse
We spent two weeks in this beautiful home for our annual family vacation. It was our family of 15 with grandkids ages 2 to 9. The lake and it’s sandy beach and shallow water was perfect. The pontoon boat was great for our family. Jason, the property manager, could not have been more accommodating, he was great. The home is impeccable. We will return next summer, 2019 for a longer stay. Thank you, Jason, for a perfect family vacation.
Frank & Jaye Wilson
August 5 to August 19, 2018
Lovely location, spacious and well laid out home, but many many issues...
Let me start by saying that we have spoken with lovely owner in advance of posting this review and he promised to address the issues noted below right away; really hope this happens...
The Good/Great: Positively lovely location. The home is spacious, well laid out for large families/friend groups, interestingly decorated, and with plenty of parking. Outdoor spaces are delightful.
Then there is the Not-So-Good/Rather Awful... First off, the photos on this site are old; I suspect they are from soon after the home build was completed. In truth, this once luxury home is no longer so luxe; it's a bit tired and a bit run down.
Maintenance: Maintenance has NOT been kept up with, and so many of the "special" things are either no longer working or damaged and therefore unusable. Showers that don't properly operate, the jaccuzzi tub is virtually unusable due to the sole still working manner with which to fill it (from the ceiling, not the wall), doors with notes on them stating they don't open (others very difficult to open/shut), a handle that comes off the fridge, kick plate below the dishwasher that comes out/off each time you open the dishwasher door, worn/damaged furniture; sadly the list goes on and on. And then there's the basement - such a feature of the home - it feels really damp and smells very musty; it's virtually impossible to be down there for more than a couple of minutes, rendering the very nice gym, games and movie area completely unsuable (we did try, but managed only 10 min before we just couldn't take it anymore)...
Further, there are some dangerous issues that were of concern - exposed wires, etc.
Worst of all (to us) some/much of the above was known and yet nothing done to correct; we were just asked to work around the problems :-(
Cleanliness is also a huge issue. Broom clean it was, but a good, solid deep cleaning is desperately required. The dishware/glassware/cutlery were mostly dirty & greasy, requring us to wash all before use. Fridge/freezer filthy, containing old food stuffs, smelly ooze and a dead fly (UGH)! Hood filters disgusting with grease and dust! One bed made with damp sheets (had to strip, wash & remake bed, air room for 2 days to get smell out), another short sheeted. Had to hunt for towels for 3 bedrooms. One room so dusty wrote my name in dust.
Overall, we all agreed we were disappointed with the home. At well over $500 per night this home is not worth the price until things are brought back up to std
We are disappointed to hear that you didnt enjoy your stay; we always appreciate feedback from our guests.
Check in: Our policy for check in is 4:00 PM with check out 11:00 AM in order to allow time for our cleaning service to do their job - You arrived at about 1:00 PM. I expressed my concern that our crew needed more time to finish. I personally showed you that the frig was not cleaned out and there was laundry still to be done. You told me you would take care of all of this and not to worry about it, you just wanted to check in early.
Hot Tub – Is perfectly functional, the water faucet coming out of the ceiling is part of the design.
Large Glass Door Living Area – You are correct, the sticky note was probably not the most pleasing however when we discovered the issue with the door the parts to fix it were not due in until after your departure and we didn’t want someone to try to open the door leaving you will no ability to shut it again
Loose Fittings – The shower head in one of the four bathrooms was loose, although perfectly functional. The cleaning crew must have overlooked this so it was never reported to our maintenance.
Exposed Wires – The wires you are referring to are one of many smoke alarms which are found throughout the house. This one had a low battery so the cleaning crew pull it to stop the beeping and during the rush to get their job done early for you they forgot to let us know. Those wires are enclosed by a fire code plug and were not one bit dangerous.
Water Feature – The water feature you are referring to, we assume is the giant brass frog that sits atop of the mushroom rock. The reason it doesn’t work is that it is not a water feature.
Basement – The basement with no outside access is equipped with a set of dehumidifiers which is typical of this style of basement in New England. We are sorry that you were unable to enjoy it’s amenities as many before you have. We have never had anyone complain about mustiness.
Lastly, I do agree with you about cleanliness as its of utmost importance and we're truly sorry you found the home not fully cleaned. I can only attribute to the fact that everybody rushed to get out of there to leave you with the house. *Please note the review from the guests following your stay indicating that the house was immaculate
Being our only poor review this is deeply concerning to us. We appreciate your feedback and apologize this didnt work out for you.
I wish there were more stars available because we could rate is a 10 !. As a child I cherished a couple of lakeside vacations. I'm a grandpa now and have two daughters and their husbands and two grandkids (3 & 5). I've been looking for a lakeside house for a couple of years and stumbled onto this one six months ago. We were looking for the right size house and 'a little beach' for the grandkids (perfect). What we found was an incredible journey through-out the week. We never left.... Canoe, Kayas, Rowboat, dock, warm water, great weather, fantastic fishing, ect! Why leave... When you look at the pictures take note of the Bronze Bull on the left (it's a charcoal grill)... Awesome...
The interior is absolutely amazing... there's a loft in one of the master bedrooms and a tree in the closet to climb to it. Thanks Fred Dodd... it was incredible...
Amazing House, Wonderful Getaway!
We rented this house for a get together of grandparents and cousins. As is spread out, this house was convenient to those both in NY and BOS. The long and the short of it is that the house was amazing. We had a kids (ages 3,4,6 and 9 - as well as a visit from kids up to 13) as well as parents and grandparents. And it was a HUGE HIT. We have rented houses for years to host this week long vacation and without any reservation, this was the best one. The kids loved the gentle sloping beach, and the warm, calm water. Getting down to the water was easy for grandparents and the dock was nice and stable for them to be down by the water.
Inside the house was amazing, the place felt like it was designed and built by someone who simply said yes when an option was offered.
Whether it was the huge (cool) basement with the pool table, ping-pong table, exercise area, and big TV.
The ground floor with the open floor plan great for a group to mingle while food is being made. While the dining area was beautiful we ate out on the deck each night. The dinners out on the deck were idyllic (almost no bugs). Many hours were spent enjoying each others company on the deck.
Then the bedrooms upstairs were amazing. Two basic bedrooms, then two of the most impressive masters suites that I have ever seen. Large TVs, incredible bathrooms, everyone was amazed.
Overall the place was a great place for a family to get together. Every year we take a couple day trips to a better beach, a zoo, or some other place. This year we never left. We could never convince ourselves to leave such an amazing place (there was one trip to waterslides that are less than a mile away). Also be sure to check out the rope swings across the lake (on the other side of the island), they are a great kayak or canoe destination.
I cannot recommend this place enough, I hope your family enjoys it as much as ours did.
Impressed with the condition, cleanliness, decor, quality craftsmanship, and the whole house in general. You overlook the lake from the huge quality kitchen.
We had two families a total of 10 adults and two grand children under 4 yrs old and there was enough room for all - the home is spacious. We also rented the pontoon boat for the week and used it once to twice a day. The lake temperature was warm and great to swim in or just hang out in. There was also a kayak and canoe which was nice to use.
We usually rent a summer home near the ocean. This was a nice change of pace, relaxing and I would recommend this home to anyone considering a waterfront home.
From - New Jersey