Quiet location and lake home less than a hour and a half from the Twin Cities
- english, german
About John Welsh
John and Cici's lake home is located in St. Joseph, Minnesota, United States. They know the area very well as Cici went to St. Ben's and John is a Johnnie. And their daughter is a Bennie and two sons were Johnnies. John and Cici both grew up in the Twin Cities of Minneapolis/St. Paul and have lived in Minnesota there entire lives. They have a warm and welcoming atmosphere here on this quiet and peaceful lake for you to enjoy! The owners frequently resident on the lower level that is secured off from our guests upper level to insure your privacy, but close enough to assist with any issues that may come up. Welcome!
John Welsh purchased this House in 2012
Why John Welsh chose Saint Joseph
This lake home is about 3 miles off Interstate 94 in St. Joseph, MN. At the St. Joseph exit, turn right and proceed 2.5 miles to Hwy 75. Turn right. After 0.5 miles, turn left on Hwy 2 (at Holiday Station). Proceed approximately 2 miles, then turn right on Crestview Dr. (Pleasant Acres wooden sign). Go approximately 1 mile to 9275 (green home on the right). Please park on right side of driveway. There is no public transportation.
What makes this House unique
Full newly remodeled kitchen, living room, with state of the art home theatre system with cable and internet access, three bedrooms with one queen bed, extra long bunk beds and a full king size trundle bed that converts into a king bed. Beautifully decorated with deck and lawn furniture and BBQ grill for your use. New, quality appliances and remodeled bath will impress. Hundred feet of shoreline with dock and firepit for a quiet bonfire. A public boat launch access is available. Minutes away from St. John's University, the College of St. Benedict and St. Cloud State University. Enjoy the Lake Wobegon Trail, 63 mile great hike and bike pathway, or wonderful fishing with bass, walleye, northern and sunfish. Great golf courses available nearby in St. Cloud, Sartell, Cold Spring, Richmond and Albany.
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
No smoking on property
Children defined as 16 and under
Minimum age of primary renter:24
Max guests:6 (sleeps up to 4 adults)
FIREARMS: While we are not against them at all, our insurance does not allow them. So, absolutely NONE are allowed on the premised.
DRUGS: What you do in your personal time is entirely up to you, but when staying at our place we have a strict NO drug use policy.
QUIET HOURS: We are FIRM about this and keep it to a dull roar after 10:00 PM and before 8:00 AM. This includes outside. One has to sleep.
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Nice Weekend Getaway
Booked this place back in March. We are from the St. Cloud area, which is only about 20 minutes from this property. I was due with our second child in June, and wanted to be close to home in case we forgot anything or decided to leave early. Took a long weekend at the cabin. It was very nice, clean and cozy. The owners were home during our stay, but it did not interfere with our activities. They were very friendly and welcoming. The slope down to the lake was more steep than we were expecting - it was difficult for our 2 year old and my parents to get up and down it. There wasn't an easy way to access the lake from the shore (only the dock) for our son to play in the water, but there was a park on the lake very close by that we used a few times - it had a nice beach and was very quiet.
St. Joe rental home
The property is the top part of a family home. There is a private entrance, full kitchen, great room, bedrooms and bath. The owners were in the private lower part of the home for part of our stay and we were notified of when they would be there. This was not a problem for us since we left by mid morning and didn’t return until later in the evening. The neighborhood is very quiet and this property is quite lovely with a large yard, fire pit and dock.
There are no laundry appliances available, since we were there for a week, we did not have fresh towels for the whole of our stay. There is a large tv in the great room but no instructions on how to connect to their service. I received a quick response when I sent a request for assistance. Unfortunately, it wasn’t specific enough and we never were able to get it to work. Didn’t really matter to us, but I suggested a written, detailed instruction sheet be left with the remotes.
If you haven’t experienced well water in the past, the slight odor of the water maybe offensive.
Overall, we were satisfied and would consider staying there again.
Thank you for the review. Cici and I take great care in making sure everything is up to excellent standards for our guests. We made sure that you were aware that we may be present in the lower level when you arrived. We were not there at all that week. Additionally, it is quite clear that laundry facilities are not provided on the Homeaway website. While premier towels are provided for our guests (two of you), we never set the expectations that they would be cleaned for the week. It is interesting however that you bring this up because you used all six sets of towels in all three bedrooms over the week. Lastly, we have never had an issue with the 65 in. flat screen TV and home theatre system from previous guests. Maybe they were just tech savvy. We will address this with more clear, written instructions. Also, we never had someone suggest that was a slight odor from the well water. It is crystal clear and very drinkable. Again, thank you for your comments and review. We hope you do visit us again soon.
Good Place in a Quiet Setting
We enjoyed the fully stocked kitchen.
The dining table is not very practical at bar height, it's extremely small, and there are only four chairs in the whole house though the house rents for six people.
The mattresses are comfortable. Thanks!
The AC is not adequate to the house. Certain rooms are comfy while others get little air. Ceiling fans would help a lot too.
The bathtub is terribly slippery and grab bars are needed.
There are not enough towels supplied for a week's stay when one is not provided a washer/dryer.
Nice place overall; fit our needs quite well.
Way too many silly rules in a book that people don't read. Shorten the notes to the important things - bullet them - and move on.
Quiet neighborhood; good for walking.
Ask more questions before booking
Booked the house for a 2 week stay. We had no idea that we would be sharing the house with the owner. Upon arrival we noticed that the house was split in two. When we arrived at the house we could not get the T.V. to work for us. We contacted the owner and he was quick to reply. He had said that they would be by in a couple of days to fix it. After a few days he had said that he could not get the Apple TV to work but we were able to watch Local channels. So we decided to hook up our lap top to be able to at least watch Netflix. This worked fine until the owner showed up with the wife and kid to stay for the weekend and several other days periodically. All of their devices would connect to the WiFi and it would kick us off. I messaged the owner and he had said that he called the internet company and they were having the same problem downstairs. The owner was very friendly but dose not understand that his stay there greatly affects his tenants stay. The one other thing that made our stay less desirable was the Water that came out of the plumbing had a very bad smell to it. The smell is hard to describe as it smelled like rotting metal pipes or something along those lines. from what I could tell the house has very hard water. When we showered it would take forever to rinse the soap off. if I was asked if I would stay here again I would say NO. The house and surrounding area was Absolutely beautiful! I just think the add posted should give you more info so your not surprised like we were.
We are sorry you feel this way. It is the first review we have had like this ever. You did not share the house with us. You were on the second level with your own kitchen, three bedrooms and private bath. We have a separate entrance and were never in your space other than when we tried the fix the Apple TV, which was working before you showed up and disconnected it to play your computer games. The WiFi was down for an hour with the snow blizzards we had and were back up again within the hour as you stated to us. There is no smell from the water. We have great water softener. The water is soft and they may be unfamiliar with it as they were from California and probably aren't used to well water. Again the house is NOT shared and it is beautiful. Our guests were friendly also and we hope they do come back if they wish.
Nice quiet place, good location
I stayed in this home in February, which is probably not when most people are seeking the peace and quiet of Lake Watab. It's a nice home, with a surprisingly well-stocked kitchen. All the pots and pans you need to do all your home cooking with!
Peaceful place on Lake Watab
Really enjoyed having a bonfire out by Lake Watab before the snow fell. Charming neighborhood, close to St. Cloud and the freeway. Easy to find. Needed help with the 4 TV remotes and getting the house to the right temperature, but owners were easy to get ahold of to assist. Clean and kitchen was well stocked with appliances and kitchen utensils and dishes.
We enjoyed have you. Remote issue has now been solved with one universal remote. Also moving from a hot fall to winter was the issue with new heating system that works wonderfully. Thanks again and we hope you come back.