Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Walls Of Glass Overlook Tranquil Cove Minutes To Bridgewater By Boat Or Car

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bdr 2 Ba With Huge Master, 3 Fireplaces, Screen Porch, Very Close To Bridge

Location, Location, Location..... super convenient central lake location ~10 minutes to Halsford Bridge by either boat or car.

The traditional brick front entrace hides the true character of this 3 bedroom 2 bathroom California Contempory with soaring ceilings and walls of glass overlooking beautiful Smith Mountain Lake.

This house is perfect for the family vacation where mom and dad want to spoil themselves by enjoying the ~400 sq ft master suite featuring a lakeviews, king bed, wood buring fireplace and direct access to the screened in porch so you can truly bring the outside in.

Continuing to bring nature in, the living room features rustic Adirondack style furnishings complemented by walls of glass running the full length from floor to the raised ceilings on two walls with a wood fireplace occupying the interior wall

Additionally upstairs there is a galley kitchen opening to the dining room with seating for 8 and additional large windows.

Downstairs includes two additional bedrooms, one with a queen bed, the other with a full over double bunk bed.

The lower level family room features expansive lake views, a bar area, wood stove and exit to the lower porch w/swing and the large 8 person hot tub.

Huge Master Bedroom: King Bed, Fireplace, Lakeview, Porch, Single(pullout), Large Screen

Bedroom Two: Queen

Bedroom Three: Full/Double Bunkbed

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 18, 2017

Amenities

High Point House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master - toilet , tub , shower
    Lower Level - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
  • Extremely large master bedroom on main level with two additional bedrooms on the walkout lower level
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
29% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Walls Of Glass Overlook Tranquil Cove Minutes To Bridgewater By Boat Or Car
average rating of 4.516129 based on 31 reviews
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Overall it was outstanding. Prompt response from the owner for answering questions. Clean and comfortable inside. Enjoyed the horseshoe pits. The dock made it easy to launch the canoe and also for docking the rented pontoon boat.

The downstair ground floor bedrooms were a little musty at first, otherwise all was fine.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

The property needs a thorough cleaning inside and out. The owner needs to invest back into property.

  • 2 of 5

Reviews and pictures can be deceiving. This is a honest review, i doubt that it will be published. When you open the front door, you are greeted with a foul musty odor which is 2x has bad downstairs. When you have been on the road for along time, you look for a bathroom. No toilet paper in either one, how rude. Thank goodness there are napkins in the truck. You start exploring the house and find the best part, the screened in patio. It is a struggle to open and close the sliding door. As it starts to get dark you wished you had a road map to find the light switches. Morning comes and you go down to the dock. The canoe is full of water. The paddle boat is full of water and beer bottles. It is nasty dirty and the bimini top is rotten and shredded. We were really looking forward to using it, one of our highlights.The jacuzzi reeked of strong chlorine, i would not put my body in it. The wall of windows cannot be seen through when it rains. They sweat between the double pains and the condensation makes it nearly impossible to see out. The downstairs bathroom window is coated with green mold. The refrigerator is old and the door seal leaks, make sure to shut the door firmly. We give it two stars because of the nice views from the patio and SML is wonderful.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ron, Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. VRBO and HomeAway publish every review of the property so despite your misleading assertions to the contrary, all of the other reviews are accurate and with 5 star reviews both right before and after your stay, yours should be the one viewed as perhaps being a misleading aberation. Your rental agreement clearly states that you need to bring your own consumables which includes toilet paper. 99.99% of the time that supply just rolls over between renters, sorry you managed to apparently follow the .01% that took the remainder of the roll with with. Sounds like you are complaining that the hot tub was cleaned and serviced before your arrival, I think we will go ahead and keep chlorine in it since most of the guests prefer to have the water sanitary. Unless I am reading your review wrong, sounds like any issues with the fridge were resolved by your actually closing the door The rest of your issues appear to be the result of it raining while you are there. While I would prefer people turn the boats over after use, that's not always done and so it possible you might need to tip them and get the water out. You are the first to not be able to manage that but I would have been happy to send someone over to do it for you. Similarly, I should be expected that if its 100 degrees and raining outside and 65 with the AC blowing inside that there may be some condensation outside on any window from the temperature variant, again, you are the first to ever complain about the view which is EXACTLY as pictured as is everything else related to the house. As a multitude of other reviews indicate I try to be extremely responsive to my guests needs, had you contacted me at all during your stay I am certain any your minor concerns could have been easily addressed.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome Lake House

  • 5 of 5

House was MUCH bigger than expected, very clean, very well stocked with kitchen supplies, games for kids, etc. etc. etc. Had a question for owner regarding hot tub during stay and he responded very promptly. Would highly recommend this lake house for a wonderful stay on Smith Mountain Lake. Location was perfect.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Very nice house

  • 4 of 5

We rented this house for the week and had a wonderful time. The house has lots of space and accommodations for our whole family, 7 of us including 3 kids were very comfortable. There are 2 family room spaces and the kitchen was very well stocked- it had everything we needed to make dinner every night. The hot tub was awesome and fit 5 of us. The dock was big and has a great slide for the kids. The location of this house was in a nice cove but also close to shopping and restaurants. The only watch out is the path down to the dock is a little rough, we were all fine but if you have someone with mobility issues they would not be able to make it down the path. We would definitely rent again.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful secluded setting

  • 5 of 5

Excellent location, high in trees with easily accessible Dock.House was well-maintained, clean and exactly as advertised. We enjoyed using the canoe and the hot tub. 5-10 minutes got us to most restaurants and a grocery store.Communication and service from the owner was very good.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice property.

  • 5 of 5

House and property perfect for a lake vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.