Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Swim On Inn To Our Beachfront Home

Bedrooms 4
Space 3,480 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom, 4 Bathroom Home (Sleeps 10) On One Acre Of Oceanfront Property.

Beautiful beach house in a breath-taking gated community.

Feel like you've stepped back in time as you drive through Apalachicola with its quaint shops, restaurants, and shrimp/oyster boats. There's lots to see and do (and eat!) in this historic fishing town. Next, head across two loooong bridges, over some of the best oyster beds in the world, taking you further out into the gulf. As you approach St. George Island, the historic lighthouse and museum grow on the horizon to greet you. The island offers a pristine state park on the east end, a nice town center with a few restaurants, and the plantation gated-community on the west end. You'll immediately see the striking white sand beaches on the gulf and remarkable marsh-scapes on the bay side. Your home-away-from-home is west. After stopping to check-in at the gate, drive in and welcome the quiet serenity and peace as you drive through the beautiful landscape of The Plantation - winding around tennis courts, swimming pools, bike paths, and a private airport runway. Your destination is amidst beautiful homes on acre lots, at the end of a quiet street, surrounded by sand dunes. You're excitement grows as you realize you are not staying next to the beach, but on the beach! A tropically land-scaped acre of heavenly beachfront property plus a beautiful luxury 4-bedroom home to spoil you and your family.

You never know who you may see...Like country music? Well, you might just see Jason Aldean and his new wife strolling down our boardwalk to enjoy the sand and sea as he recently bought the home directly behind ours. Like Rock-n-Roll?? How would you feel if you ran into Kid Rock as you were walking into the local grocery store?....or how about an actress such as Suzanne Somers whose home is also just down the beach a just never know who you might encounter on our beautiful island.

Swim on Inn has 2 King beds, 1 Queen, 2 Twin bunk beds and a twin day bed in 4 spacious bedrooms.

Cooks will be delighted with the wonderfully outfitted kitchen. And with 2 separate living areas, everyone will have plenty of room to spread out and enjoy their beach vacation.

Decks on every level of the house, each with an inspiring view of the white sand and clear water, and a ground floor deck with gazebo. Start watching for the dolphins, sea turtles, and your other marine neighbors.

By the time you arrive, you will feel the stress melt away. So much to do and see... or so little... your choice. Swim on Inn - and enjoy your vacation!


1) You will ONLY receive a quote from me through VRBO. If you receive a quote through an e-mail address other than VRBO asking you to send a Bank Draft this is a SCAM!

2). My VRBO quote will include my phone number for you to call me. I DO NOT book my home until AFTER I have spoken with my renters via the phone number I provide.

3). I only accept payments via check and credit card payments through VRBO. I will NEVER ask you to wire money/bank draft nor will I ask for your credit card information. If you have ANY questions prior to payment, please call me directly.

More Details

Manager, Swim On Inn
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2017

About Manager, Swim On Inn

My husband has lived in several places throughout the U.S. He attended college at both Georgia Tech and the University of Texas in Austin (Go Yellow Jackets and Longhorns!!) I have lived throughout the U.S., England and Indonesia. I am extremely proud to have served in the U.S. Marine Corps! We have three children between us and 2 grandchildren. Our oldest daughter lives just down the street from us with her husband and daughter, our second son is serving our country in the U.S. Air Force and lives with his family in Louisiana and our youngest son is in high school.

Manager, Swim On Inn purchased this house in 2013

Why Manager, Swim On Inn chose Florida

Our family has always loved the beach. We love those little unique spots...the quiet and the laid back. St. George is just that type of island. With its miles of walking and bicycle paths, beautiful sand beaches and lack of high rises and bumper-to-bumper traffic...we knew this was The place for us! We have found the island is truly a place to slow down from our very hectic lives and spend quality time with our family and friends. We feel truly blessed to have found our home on the island and we hope you find the peace and serenity we do when you visit our home away from home.


Plantation House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3480 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 10
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Second Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Jack and Jill Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Main Floor Guest Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • The home is on an aerobic septic system. These systems are VERY sensitive, so please don't flush anything other than toilet paper down the toilets.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Second Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk beds, sleeping a total of 4
    Master Bedroom Suite - A king and twin size daybed.
  • The Master Bedroom encompasses the entire 3rd floor of the home. It has its own private balcony, bath with jetted tub and sitting/office area. The first floor of the home has the other 3 bedrooms, 2 baths and a living area. One of the bedrooms is a second Master with a king size bed, its own private bath and access to a deck with views of the gulf. The other two bedrooms include a bedroom with a queen bed with access to the deck facing the gulf and a bedroom with a pair of bunk beds at the front of the home.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Rentals are Saturday-Saturday


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Swim On Inn To Our Beachfront Home
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews

Perfect !!

  • 5 of 5

Our first extended family vacation was made perfect in this home! There were 10 of us, and we never felt crowded on top of each other at all!

The kitchen was wonderful for cooking meals, the pergola area was great for grilling out, and the balconies on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th floors made for some wonderful private times listening to the ocean waves come ashore!

Beach access was easily accessible, and the beach area was never crowded at all!!

At times, we felt like we were all alone. I enjoyed the quietness in the evenings, and mornings.

We all certainly enjoyed our vacation, and the elevator was a life saver for me!

The weather was wonderful for us, and we could have stayed there forever!

We would recommend the Swim-On-Inn for any family looking to spend some relaxing days together soaking up the sun in a wonderful home environment!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are really pleased that you and your extended family had such a nice time during your vacation to our wonderful island! We too love sitting on the balconies...enjoying the quiet, watching the sun come up, watching the dolphins play and especially star gazing at night!! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our home! It sounds like you all were able to make some precious memories that you will cherish in the years to come! We hope that we will get to share our home again with you and your family in the not-too-distant future!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

A great time for 2 families

  • 5 of 5

First of all, the owner was pleasant to work with. She stayed in contact before during and after our stay to make sure everything was ok. The highlight of the house was the screened in porch, perhaps the largest such porch of any houses around us. The screen let us watch the sun go down with a bug-free with a breeze! When we arrived on Saturday, one of the first things we saw were dolphins just off shore....and we saw them about that time every day of our stay. We would definitely recommend this house for anyone's vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Pam! We are so glad you and your family had such a wonderful time during your vacation!! It was our pleasure to have you all stay in our home and we hope that you will be back to stay again in the not-too-distant future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

From TN

  • 5 of 5

Swim on in is a great place to stay for you beach vacation. The house is seconds from the water it come with all the accommodations you could want for a relaxing beach front vacation. It's in a remote location making the beaches almost private. The tap water in the house is suppressingly good tasting for Florida coast water. And the showers all had great water pressure to include the outdoor shower that was most convenient! Over all I have nothing bad to say about this house. If you are looking for great beach front home to rent that will support multiple family's comfortably this is a good choice.

Also the owner is a very kind young woman that cares for her house!

Only thing I wish if offered were to allow pets but I understand why some owners wouldn't allow them.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are SO happy you all loved our home! We were thrilled when you checked in and you sent us the text regarding how close our home is to the beach and how inviting our home was for you! This is exactly the type of experience we hope each and every one of our guests have! We are glad you enjoyed the water pressure and the outdoor shower. That is something we really enjoy also. Our filter system and water softener really has helped with the taste of our water and we were happy to hear that you noticed this small feature of our home. Thank you for your understanding regarding our pet policy. We also have a dog whom we just adore, but we do not bring him to the house either. When we decided to rent our home, we really thought long and hard about whether or not to allow pets, and finally decided against it due to the fact that there are a lot of people that have terrible pet allergies. We look forward to having you all stay with us again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Swim on Inn was a BIG disappointment!!

  • 2 of 5

My family had a very frustrating experience in our stay at Swim on Inn. When I originally spoke to the owner, I was thoroughly impressed by how diligently she supposedly vetted her renters. I was confident her thoroughness was indicative of a well-maintained property. Unfortunately, that was not the case. She had a group of extremely destructive and rowdy renters the week before our arrival. The cleanliness of the house was completely unacceptable....dirty counters, dirty floors, dirty bathrooms, food left on the grill, a pair of underwear in the yard, etc. I had to go buy cleaning supplies and invest time to make the house habitable for the week. Also, upon our Saturday arrival, both outdoor garbage cans were packed to overflowing and there was no garbage pickup until Tuesday. The cable was out when we arrived and not repaired until Wednesday. It went out again on Thursday. No TV during NBA finals week! We reached out to the owners. They were unable to address the issues during our stay. It would have been helpful if they had a representative in the area who could have assisted us. Instead, my husband had to find a way to manage the garbage situation himself. The other issues were unresolved. At the end of the day, we paid a substantial amount of money to rent Swim on Inn during a peak summer week. We have been visiting St. George for ten years now. Swim on Inn was the worst value for the money we have experienced. The owners did return some extra money along with our damage deposit. The returned funds were less than 5% of the rental price. The amount of money was not sufficient for the problems we encountered and the impact on our vacation. I have never written a negative review before. I feel bad for the owners. However, potential renters should be aware of the possible pitfalls of this property. Vacations are too expensive and family time too precious for this outcome.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is very disappointing to receive our 1st negative review–and even more so given the circumstances and all the efforts we made to remedy the few issues you raised. We are also surprised to receive such a negative review given your your actions during the week. To address your issues: TV: at checkin you told us the “house is very beautiful” but the TV is out and it was important to watch the NBA finals. We immediately phoned DirecTV, and when they couldn’t fix the issue remotely, we offered to pay extra to get an appt ASAP. Next we called several area restaurants, found one playing the game, and offered to buy your party dinner there. You never once replied to us, even though we asked several times. It wasn't until check out that you said you had other problems with the TV, giving us no way to further address the issue. Trash pickup: we pay for 2 cans/twice-weekly pickup (the most allowed). We provided you an alternate plan for the next couple days, called to request a special pickup, they refused and you were notified of that fact. Lastly, at check-in you noted a dirty glass and spoon inside our home. But in that same communication, you also said our house was beautiful. So we had no idea until checkout, that you felt you needed additional cleaning. It is unfortunate that you didn’t let us know prior to checkout, so we could address your issue. As you are aware, we do talk to each and every renter prior to check-in. We do this because we love our house, and we really try to get a feel for our renters and how they will treat our home. We’ve learned, however, that we are not always right about the care and consideration people will show our home-or the reasonableness of their behavior and expectations. We refunded you an additional amount because we had offered dinner and to cover the full amount for the cleaning fee. We felt this was the right thing to do, even though nothing required it. We certainly did not expect even that act to be used against us. Ultimately, we want all our guests to enjoy our home and their vacation-and we go to great lengths to make sure that happens! Thankfully, our efforts have been quite successful to date. We're sorry that you chose to wait until checkout to tell us the extent of your issues, and that you apparently did not appreciate any of the efforts we made.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Comfortable house on a nice quiet location

  • 5 of 5

Nice and easy beach access. Comfortable beds. Roomy and tastefully decorated. Would recommend getting elevator especially for check in and out days.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Swim on Inn

  • 3 of 5

Great location, very nice home and owner, Trash pick up was a major issue.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Donna, I'm really glad you think our home and its location are nice. We love our home and try to make it as comfortable for our guests as we possibly can. The trash overflow issue was indeed unfortunate! As soon as I knew we had that issue I jumped on the phone to the local trash company...with not a lot of luck as you know. I know that was very frustrating and I want to apologize again that we had that issue during your visit. However, we now have two large trash cans and trash is ordered to be picked up not once, but twice a week. I am very hopeful that this will help head off any other overflow issue. Thank you again for staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Plantation House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Feb 2 2017 - May 19 2017
4 night minimum stay
May 20 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
Sep 3 2017 - Nov 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
Nov 19 2017 - Dec 31 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Plantation Gate Fee $75
Cleaning Fee $250
Elevator Fee (Optional) $150
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 9.0%

We do accept monthly rentals. Please contact us for a quote. Rental is based on Saturday-Saturday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message


Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Tallahassee or Panama City
Car: necessary

Things to do:

Beach it!

Look for shells.

Grab a fishing rod and reel in your dinner.

Visit the beautiful St. George Island Lighthouse.

Bicycling/Walking - The island has miles of paved bike paths.

Bird watching...all year long.

Launch a kayak or stand-up paddle board into either the Bay or Gulf.

Rent a wave runner and zip across the gulf.

Museums - Franklin County has museums spread out all across the county.

Photography - The island is a photographer's paradise with a stunning shot around every corner...not to mention lots of shots of your family having fun!

Look up at the stars - without all the bright lights at night, you might just spy a falling star.

State Park - Spend the day at Julian G. Bruce State Park on the east end of the island.

Apalachicola - View the historic homes, wander through the shops...and be sure to eat some of the best tasting oysters on the Gulf.


Partner Offers