Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Cozy Mountain Cabin, New River Nearby, Mountain Views - $100 a Night

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 2 Bath With Wooded Privacy And Views Of New River.

One bedroom/bath on each level, hardwood floors, cathedral great room with wood-burning fireplace, wooded privacy yet open views of the bend of South Fork of New River in historic Ashe County. 30 Minutes to Boone, home of Appalachian State University. 15 minutes to the arts district of downtown West Jefferson where you can stroll the downtown streets, enjoy an old fashioned hotdog or ice cream cone at Good Ol' Days, visit the Saturday morning Farmers Market for fresh home-grown produce and home made crafts.

Enjoy the wrap around porch for a quiet afternoon of reading, while the kids play in the yard and woods. At dinnertime, travel three minutes to downtown a one redlight town blink or you will miss the whole will find Pie on the Mountain pizza is better than any chain. Need linens, curtains, or a new throw rug or bedspread? You can't beat the selection and prices at Main Street Discount.. It may look like disorder-- but tell 'em what you want and they will find it and all the matching accessories... and at a price that will have you redecorating every room.

Take in a move at the twin theaters of downtown West Jefferson's Parkway Theatre.. Still just $5 admission, or a real bargain for a Sunday afternoon matinee at $3.

More Details

Property Manager
Sherry Goodman, Broker
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 27, 2017


Lansing Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2nd floor
  • Main Floor bedroom, loft bedroom and 2 twin sleeper sofas in the living room
  • churches
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Pet-friendly with pet deposit.


3.2/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Cozy Mountain Cabin, New River Nearby, Mountain Views - $100 a Night
average rating of 3.1666667 based on 6 reviews

Unable to get there!

  • 1 of 5

This home has a very steep gravel driveway. Unfortunately the day we went was during leaf season and it had rained. There was six inches of wet leaves that made it impossible for us to get up the driveway. Our car (large, Ford 500) got stuck half-way up and we had to let the air out of our back tires for some traction to be able to back down. If travelling when it's wet or when leaves are on the driveway, one could only get up with a 4 wheel drive vehicle.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We recommend a 4 wheel drive for this property. Due to the leaves and the rain which is out of our control the drive does become slippery. We are very sorry for the inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy house, convenient location

  • 5 of 5

We rented over a quick weekend trip while my husband and a friend rode the Blue Ridge Brutal (100+ miles of cycling from West Jefferson). It was very convenient for them to downtown West Jefferson & I needed to run some trail miles (training miles for a 50K). It was a very easy trip for me to drive up to VA to find the Elk Garden Trailhead to get on the Appalachian Trail. I was able to run north on the AT and get to the Grayson Highlands State Park very easily. What a beautiful area and so easily accessible from the cabin. We didn't spend too much time at the cabin but had a lovely Sunday breakfast & coffee sitting on the back deck. Everything we needed was there, including a TV to watch the Olympics. Thanks for an effortless stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
mooresville, NC

A Quaint Cabin in the Clouds

  • 3 of 5

Perfect for a small family. One queen and one full size bed with two love seat pull outs. Cozy fireplace and nice view of the river. Convenient drive to West Jefferson and Shatley Springs. 4WD is almost required to get up the gravel driveway. Unfortunately you will have to drive to do any sight seeing because walking from the cabin is not an option. It is a sheer drop in all directions. A nice place for the budget minded vacationer.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

My husband and I and 2 children spent 3 nights here. We loved the "treehouse" feel of the home, as stated by another reviewer. You can see and hear the New River not too far away. What a relaxing and peaceful setting! This was our first experience booking through VRBO, and I must say I found the agency very friendly and accommodating. A short drive into West Jefferson, about 15 to the Parkway, about 30 to Boone. Very clean...and the foosball table in the basement provided some entertainment for the kids. 2 beds and 2 twin pull-outs in the living area. Although it sleeps 6, it might be a little tight quarters if you plan to spend a lot of time indoors. Note--the driveway is very steep, but our minivan was able to make it up in low gear.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mays Landing, NJ USA

Jersey Girl

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I and our dog spent five days in this beautiful section of North Carolina and we were quite pleased with our accommodations. We all spent time on the back deck every morning and evening, reveling in the peace and tranquility. The New River was visible from the deck and we felt as if we were in our own private treehouse! While everyone back in the Northeast was sweltering in 95 degree temps we were enjoying delightful weather in the low 80s. The cabin was clean, comfortable, well stocked with basics, had everything we needed and close to all of the other areas we wanted to explore. Fantastic things to do, including tubing, kayaking and fishing on the many stretches of the New River, hiking, sightseeing and exploring the towns in the mountains. Many of the businesses in West Jefferson are pet friendly, so folks visiting with their pets should ensure their dogs are well behaved so that this practice can continue! My only recommendation to anyone considering this rental who enjoys cooking is to bring your own food products, seasonings and spices. Maybe stop in West Jefferson to stock up - they have a good selection of anything you may need. We will definitely return!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Christiansburg, VA

Experience turning lemons into lemonade required

  • 1 of 5

Unfortunately, there were a few frustrations with the rental company and with the house. The view was beautiful, but overall, the house was just OK. The furniture is old and so are all of the kitchen appliances and items like pots, pans, etc.

When we first arrived, the house was absolutely freezing and we had to sit in our jackets for a few hours until the house heated up (with baseboard heat - there is a heater to turn on in every room). I wish the rental company had turned on the heat for us. The weekend we stayed was extremely cold and those first few hours of discomfort could have been avoided.

For those of you with pets, you should know that the stairs are extremely slippery. After seeing our dog fall a few times, we basically had to carry her down the turn in the stairs (she's about 40 pounds) and we also had to be very cautious ourselves. I can't imagine larger dogs getting down those stairs without hurting themselves. There are lots of scratches in the winding steps that must be from dogs struggling to keep their balance.

Lastly, the refundable deposit WILL be charged and you won't get a refund for over a month. The refund comes in the form a mailed check (which of course you then have to deposit and wait even longer for the money to go through.)

With some improvements, stays by future renters will hopefully be better than ours.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have read and wanted to respond promptly to your review of our rental home. It is regretful that you weren't able to voice these issues with our company prior to posting your review, as we consistently strive to ensure that our guests have a good experience at each of our rental homes. If we had known your complaints, perhaps we could have had the opportunity to make things right for you. As for the home itself, we represented the home in the advertisement as accurately as possible. It is an older cabin, therefore some appliances are older and it is difficult to keep heat in the home in the dead of winter as this is the mountains and it does get cold. We do leave minimal heating on for guest arrival, but it may not be warm enough for everyone's preferences. As for the stairs being too slick for your dog, I'm not sure what we could do to alleviate the problem. Hardwood flooring is slippery in any home, especially when it is newer as this home's is. I hate that your dog had trouble navigating, but I don't really know what could be done to fix this without ruining the nice hardwood that was installed to improve the home. Our company does charge a refundable damage deposit which is standard for most rental companies. As a company we must provide some form of protection for our homeowners, otherwise no one would feel comfortable having strangers staying in their home. We have investigated several options for this protection, one being a damage insurance that is non-refundable. While this option would protect against greater damage costs, most guests don't like not being refunded this money at all, especially when they take care of the home while they are there. According to our rental policies, provided to you on VRBO and again via email, we abide by the NC law regarding rental properties and return deposits within 45 days. Most often, this occurs within 2 weeks, but sometimes can take a little longer. Our "return by check" policy is because this method is easier and more efficient than returning through VRBO directly, which can sometimes take weeks once we have initiated the process. Again, it's not an easy or immediate either way. Again, I apologize that you were dissatisfied with your stay. Our company takes pride in each of our rental homes and we routinely go the extra mile when we are alerted of problems in our vacation homes. I regret that we were unable to do this for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Boondocks, Hotel Tavern
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Jefferson Landing
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 194
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Country House, Lansing NC
Car: necessary

Stroll thru downtown West Jeffersons' arts district, enjoy the Ashe Arts Council Gallery Crawl, visit Black Jacks' Bar & Grill, sample local brews at Boondock's Brewery, take a ride on the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway, cruise your motorcycle along the Parkway and stop for a bite to eat and listen to live music at Freeborne's. There is much to see and do..

Enjoy local scenery such as the historic New River recently designated as an American Heritage river, take a hike on a scenic mountain trail on Mt. Jefferson State Park, take a long leisurely bike ride on the flat and winding Railroad Grade Road which winds along the South Fork of New River, or rent a canoe to traverse the river on your own.

Enjoy dinner and a show at the outstanding venue of Glendale Springs, NC- Blue Ridge Dinner Theatre

4WD Recommended for this home.




Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $45
Refundable damage deposit $200
Reservation fee $45
Cleaning fee $70
Tax Rate 10.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund