check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

1830's Luxury Brick Cottage, Cozy Fireplace, right off the Cobblestone Streets!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Saint Charles Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Open main floor bedroom, 2 twins upstairs, Missouri River view

'The Riverfront Guest House' located at #422 Rear S. Main Street centrally located in the historic district of St. Charles, Missouri is a charming, upscale brick guest cottage built in 1830's and 100% remodeled in 2013 for the vacation rental experience and sleeps 4 people. The Riverfront Guest House was originally a wheelwright shop that made and repaired wagon wheels for the thousands of new settlers and explorers coming through St. Charles and heading westward. Today it has been completely refinished with beautiful modern amenties while restoring much of the original, unique qualities such as exposed brick walls, and large exposed wood beams. This ambiance continues to the surrounding area of Main Street St. Charles and Riverfront. With over 10 blocks on the Historic District National Registry, its one of the largest districts in the country. Panoramic views of the Missouri river greet you right out the front door.

The main floor (ground level) of this quaint cottage sleeps 2 people and includes a lovely queen size bed with luxury bedding and mattress. There is a very large corner gas fireplace with elevated brick hearth, kitchen with refrigerator, freezer, and microwave, and an antique table and chairs where you can sit and gaze out at Frontier Park and watch the beautiful Missouri river go by. Enjoy cable TV on a large wall hanging flat screen from the bed or seating area. The full bathroom also on the main ground level includes a walk in shower with two shower valves, one rainshower shower head and another multiple mode shower head.

The 2nd floor of the cottage sleeps two more guests with two cozy built-in beds with comfortable twin mattresses and bedding and individual lighting. Warm walnut floors and low ceilings make this an inviting place for children or adults to sleep. A window in the exposed brick wall provides a great view of Frontier Park and the Missouri River. A separate flat screen TV is also included with a Wii gaming system for the children to enjoy on this floor.

The historic cottage has been completely remodeled and designed entirely with vacation renters in mind. The cottage is completely private and separate from 'The Main Street Guest House' located near the cottage, and can be rented separately or with The Main Street house for guests traveling with multiple parties or large groups. All modern amenities are included such as two 40 gallon hot water heaters so you never run out of hot water, cable TV, Wifi, Keurig coffee maker, and high efficiency heating and cooling, and much more. Take a short troll across Riverside Drive into Frontier Park along the Missouri River, ride a bike on The Katy Trail directly in front of the cottage, or walk the cobblestone sidewalk along the one of the largest historic districts on the national registry. Countless shopping and dining options await you, all within walking distance (less than a half mile in either direction). The best part, most are unique businesses that you won't find anywhere else, like Braddens restaurant, Lewis and Clark restaurant, Winery of the Little Hills (great outdoor seating with fire pits located right across the street), Mother-in-Law House restaurant 98ft away, The Hobbit Hole Antiques, Moss next door for some of the latest fashion, Trailhead Brewery, Grandmas Cookies a few doors down, Kat and Me, and countless others. A personal favorite with our family of four small of children is Riverside Sweets located only two doors down where visitors of all ages can enjoy some of the best ice cream, homemade candy and fudge, caramel apples, and walls and walls of candy and collectibles to choose from. A few blocks north, Picasso's offers a great cup of coffee and some live music at times. Grab breakfast at The Bikestop Cafe and rent a bike for a peaceful ride on The Katy Trail just a few hundred feet from the home. Ameristar Casino is also located within a mile of the home just outside the Historic area for those looking for a little nightlife. Two major malls, Mid-Rivers Mall, and St. Louis Premium Outlet Mall, are located 10 minutes in either direction. Located on the other side of highway 70, The St. Charles Convention Center and Family Arena are located about five minutes from the guest house. A short 25 minute drive will get you to most St. Louis Attractions such as The Arch, The St. Louis Zoo, The Magic House, The City Museum, The Art Museum, Grants Farm, Busch Stadium, The Fox Theatre, The Peabody, The Art Museum, and so many other fun things to do and see. Spend the day seeing the sights of St. Louis and then head back to family friendly St. Charles, walk to dinner, and kick back and relax and visit with your loved ones at night. The home is located approximately 10-15 minutes from St. Louis Lambert Airport, with plenty of public and private transportation available. St. Peters Catholic church is just a short 1/4 mile stroll away, as well as the Main Street Church on North Main. SSM St. Joseph Health Center is also located within 1/4 mile for those needing a place to stay while visiting loved ones, or if health issues should arise. With many fantastic festivities on Main Street and in Frontier Park for year round interest for all ages, there's always something new to experience when you stay at the Main Street Guest House! for lots of great information and a calendar of upcoming events. Please feel free to call us at anytime at 636-439-9394 or email at theguesthouse@centurytel.net We sure hope to hear from you, and thank you!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Audrey and Matt
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 3, 2016
Call Owner

About Audrey and Matt

Our family of six loves to travel, and when we discovered the vacation home option instead of hotels, we knew we wanted a rental property of our own to share with others. We hope our cottages enhance your vacation like so many homes have done for us. We love meeting and talking with people from all over, so please feel free to give us a call!- Audrey and Matt

Audrey and Matt purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Audrey and Matt chose Missouri

We've always loved Old Town St. Charles because of its charm, fun atmosphere, and historic architecture. When we saw this little historic house that had been forgotten and left to deteriorate, we both really wanted to save it and bring it back to life. We love to remodel and are happy to share it now with couples or small families to enjoy St. Charles like we do.

What makes this cottage unique

You can get a real feel for the heritage of this unique town when you stay at The Riverfront Guest House. The same walls and ceiling beams that that were there when Herman Kuhlmann was making wagon wheels for pioneers in 1830, surround you now for a very cozy and inviting atmosphere. This combined with the Missouri River out the front window and all the shopping and dining you could want out the back, make it a very special place to stay for your vacation.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Staying here was on our bucket list. Thank you for fulfilling that dream! We are so impressed with the transformation you have created. The before and after pictures are astounding! We frequent St. Charles often and are thrilled to have found this jewel! We look forward to returning and renting the Main Street Guest House as well. The only challenge is finding vacancy :) Once again, amazing work you and your family did on this old homestead!
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(56 traveler reviews)

1830's Luxury Brick Cottage, Cozy Fireplace, right off the Cobblestone Streets!
average rating of 4.892857 based on 60 reviews
Plainfield, IN
5

Terrific Place to Stay in St Charles

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I were in St Charles for 3 days and the Riverfront Guest House was the perfect place to stay. Its in the middle of everything and an easy walk to everything we wanted to do. Shopping was fun, we ate at Braddens which was good, and Hendricks BBQ which was FANTASTIC. We totally enjoyed the Riverfront Guest House--it was spotless, comfortable and the air conditioning felt great after walking around all day in mid 80's heat. The snacks and drinks in fridge were a nice touch and much appreciated. We even enjoyed watching a Lewis and Clark documentary on DVD in the evening which added even more historical background to our experience. Audrey was great and flexible with some scheduling snafus as well. Just a "heads up" that if you are tall, beware the front door--its only a 6 ft opening so if you're taller than that you could easily bang your head! Its my own fault--I wasn't paying attention when I did just that. Ouch! My wife says it STILL didn't knock any sense into me though.

We've stayed in many places through HomeAway and this ranks near the top--highly recommended! Thanks Audrey and Matt!

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hebron, CT
5

Amazing place!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the cottage...it was so beautifully restored and the setting was perfect with so much to do right out of your doorstep. We stayed with our teenage daughters who loved the upstairs and the beds in the alcoves--with lights and a place to charge their phones!

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Riverside Guest House. The location was great as we were able to walk just about everywhere that we went. The cottage was exactly what we were expecting! It was very charming. It felt has though we had stepped back in time, but with modern finishes. Matt and Audrey were very helpful and prompt when commincating with them. This made our trip very easy and relaxing. We will definitely plan another weekend getaway here!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Quaint property in great location but needs some changes

  • 3 of 5

Lovely little place to stay in quite a perfect location - I mean the location really can't get any better. You're situated perfectly just off of Main St with everything very easily accessible but far enough away from the noise and bustle. The owners were really nice about letting us check in a bit early to accommodate our daughters nap schedule. All the amenities were nice: kitchen area with treats, refrigerator, microwave, utensils, etc., DVDs to select from, nice shower with dual shower heads, great parking, and you didn't need a key that you could possibly lose because it was a code entry. That being said, there are several things that could be improved upon. It's not entirely clear what property is what upon arrival - there are two properties back to back without clear addresses. In fact, the renters of the other property tried to bust in on our location at night while we were already asleep in bed - totally terrifying! It was also an awful mattress - probably one of the worst I've ever slept on - and it creaked with every little move. The quality of the sheets also left a lot to be desired. The air conditioning was oddly timed - it would get extremely cold when it kicked on but when it tuned off, it got stuffy very quickly. The floor looked great but with it being stamped concrete, it's not exactly cozy - they could certainly do with some area rugs in the place. Plus, the password to the wifi didn't work and the owners did not respond to the notice I left for them regarding it. All in all, still a nice place to stay but there could be small improvements here and there to make it better, especially for the price.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sure sorry to see this 3 star review since it is our first one ever in more than 600 rentals. We take a lot of pride in receiving great reviews. This was unexpected and disappointing to see. The guest was very friendly and we were happy to accommodate her early check-in to make her stay easier. We did not receive any correspondence with her during the stay that I could find, but we are always happy and eager to help our guests with any issues that might come up. Both the Main Street Guest House and Riverfront Guest House have signs mounted on the front facade that say their name very clearly. Also, they are two completely different looking homes that are pictured on all our listings. Normally confusing the two is not an issue. The mattresses are very new as is every aspect of all our homes and we've never heard that it's uncomfortable before. Actually, we have many written comments from our guests stating how comfortable the bedding was for them. The sheets are also high end sheets and very soft. We will certainly check on the creaking and see if there is a bolt or something that needs to be tightened on the frame. Again, we were unaware of this during their stay- this is the first we have heard of this. Many of our guests have commented on how well the AC works, and we have had no complaints. This is also a brand new system sized for the space and does a great job. We will certainly take into account the suggestion of an area rug. We have actually discussed and considered this in the past but could not decide if it is really necessary and worried about it being a tripping hazard, but may add one if we decide it adds to the coziness. As far as the price, we believe it's a great value considering it is typically less money than area hotels and B&B's, and you get an entire house instead of just one room. Again, if there are ever any issues, we'd always like to know about them, so we can resolve the issue as soon as it's possible. We understand these reviews are helpful to future guests, but also want to have the chance to make your stay a five star one. Our top priority is our guests! We value your input, apologize your expectations were not met, and thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Tiny charming cottage, huge advantages, especially during busy festival

  • 4 of 5

Clean little cozy cottage afforded us the opportunity to be right in the heart of the "Festival of the Little Hills". We could walk to all the places we wanted to go; shops, venders, restaurants and entertainment, etc. When some of us got tired, we could head back, rest awhile, have a cold drink or a snack, and go back and meet up with the others in our group. Having the little kitchenette was nice for those of us on restricted diets with special food needs and we ate a lot of our meals "in". Our hosts thought of just about everything we could ask for and even had snacks and beverages ready upon our arrival. Having spent last year's festival time at another nice B & B, I'd have to say that the convenient location (with parking right there, too) was the biggest PLUS for our group. Would love to go back!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect place for our family of 4

  • 5 of 5

Great location for shopping and dining, recreation, and relaxing. The house was easy to find, nicely stocked with fresh flowers and yummy snacks. The kids loved having their own space upstairs. Very welcoming!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Lambert St. Louis
Nearest Train
18.4 Miles
Kirkwood Amtrak Station
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Mother-in-Law House or Winery of the Little Hills
Car: not necessary

Just west of St. Louis you'll find St. Charles, a river city with a unique historical perspective, beautiful sites, friendly people and a pace just a little slower than that of the big city. Founded as Les Petites Cotes (The Little Hills) by French Canadian fur trader Louis Blanchette, Saint Charles, MO grew into a thriving riverfront trading center for a young America.

Thousands passed through on their journeys westward, replenishing supplies before departing into new territory. Saint Charles is a source of historical encounter: the Lewis and Clark Rendezvous, Missouri's First State Capitol, origin of the Boone's Lick Trail and home to Daniel Boone.

The people of St. Charles have labored lovingly to preserve and share its treasured river heritage. As destination for almost one million visitors each year Saint Charles history comes alive to welcome you.

You'll find St. Charles offers a first rate vacation experience with over 150 restaurants to choose from, numerous unique shops, and so many things to do, you may have to come back to try everything.

Experience the charm and beauty of a city that has been welcoming visitors since 1769.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Saint Charles Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$175
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.45%

Cleaning fee of $50 and taxes of 12.45% not included in nightly rate
Holidays require a 3 night minimum stay
No Sunday check-ins, please (This ensures that our cleaners do not have to work that day)
Inquire about extended stay discounts!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Saint Charles Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Dual shower valves
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing

Partner Offers