check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Gay Jardine

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Remodeled Surfscape Cottage With Private Stairs To Secluded Beach

65 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Sereno del Mar Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Beach House With Private Stairs To Secluded Beach.

Welcome you to our brand new remodel for the 'Ultimate Pacific Coast Surf Experience'. The photo's will depict views from the property and display the beautiful new interior.

The beach house is built on the bluff over looking a spectacular show of nature at her best. You will have your own private stairs down to a sheltered, secluded beach. You can have beach fun and family time exploring tide pools or a romantic, quiet picnic...Just the two of you and the ocean.

The design and construction team have kept the integrity of the seaside property with it's planked walls and raked ceiling, enhancing the beach house ambiance. Comforting neutrals, warm whites and current pops of fun color punctuate the decor. Driftwood effect ceramic floors, quartz counters and nautical theme accessories carry the beach house flavor throughout.

The Pacific, west facing beach house allows you to view the surf at all times and enjoy the most breath taking sunsets, crashing surf, sea mist and bold rugged rock formations.

The great room with it's 35 foot wide wall of pacific facing windows is comfortably furnished with a fireplace and a wall mounted flat screen t.V. With DVD player. Internet, free us and Canada long distance phone and an i home are supplied for your convenience.

Dining for four at the antique table with it's captain's chairs, or at the large quartz peninsula.

All electric kitchen appliances: fast glass top range, and small appliances. Generous quartz counter work space in neutral tones and plenty of cabinet space with ambiance lighting for enhanced cooking and entertaining experience. The kitchen is well appointed for enjoying home cooked faire. Why go out when you can have the best ocean view in town with the surf as your back ground music! Enjoy your cracked crab and chardonnay at sunset with your family or special other.

Two king bedrooms and two bathrooms: the countryside facing room has views of peaceful bucolic rolling hills and a red farmhouse with it's barn. To add to your comfort we have installed a wall mounted fireplace to keep the chill off and a T.V./DVD. It has a large en suite with a tub and shower combo. The second king has a Pacific Ocean and farm view, a wall mounted fireplace and T.V./DVD. A quaint shower bathroom with a quartz vanity services this king room.

Attention to detail for your comfort continues throughout. Plenty of brand new towels, linens, comforters (with duvet covers) and quilts. All the mattresses and pillows have protectors and high quality pads.

If you need more room for extended family or friends we can offer the 'Little Sister Cottage' next door: Seamist Cottage. She is our newly remodeled one bedroom/bath with a sleeping loft/two twins. Seamist is a smaller version of Surfscape with all the great attention to detail and comfort.

We have designed and furnished the Surfscape Beach House to create a memorable and wonderful experience that will leave you rested, renewed and ready to return again and again!

We look forward to your visit.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Gay Jardine (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Gay Jardine

We are a design and construction team with a lot of energy! We love taking something and turning it around. Our vacation rentals and guests are important to us and we enjoy our work. We also have other properties that have been a success and enjoyed by many.

Gay Jardine purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Gay Jardine chose Sonoma County

This property is a find in a million! You just don't come by a gem like Surfscape every day. The impact of walking into the cottage and being blown away by the pounding surf right there in your living room was well beyond words!

What makes this cottage unique

Private beach stairs down to a semi secluded beach! Not only do you have an amazing up close ocean view, but, you have access to the beach below. The beach is close to being private with only one other neighbor's staircase.

(PLEASE NOTE: Sorry, but our home is not a wedding destination location. We cannot hold ceremonies, host pre or post wedding get- togethers or social gatherings)

The tide cuts the beach off from either end, but you can still use the beach. The cottage is so close to everything and yet you can feel completely isolated.


based on 65 traveler reviews

Remodeled Surfscape Cottage With Private Stairs To Secluded Beach
average rating of 4.9384613 based on 65 reviews
El Doarado Hills, CA


  • 5 of 5

This house is beautiful, well stocked with everything you need, and the view is unsurpassed. When you step through the front door, the first words out of your mouth will be WOW! We have stayed here several times before and each time we see something different and amazing out the wall of windows. This time we witnessed a bird migration that covered the horizon as far as you could see and lasted over two hours. You will not be disappointed with this house and location.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dream vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

The house is absolutely beautiful. It is so well decorated and the view is awesome. It is so quiet and you feel totally relaxed from the minute you step through the door! There is so much room that two couples each have their own private areas and don't feel cramped. The bedrooms are big with the most comfortable king sized beds. The bathrooms are beautiful and the kitchen has everything you need. We fixed all our meals at the house. No restaurant could offer a better view or be as comfortable. It was a dream vacation for us. I love to be around the water and couldn't wait for the sun to come up so we could get down to the beach and see what we could find. When the time came to leave we were all sad. We are from the Midwest and to have the opportunity to stay at a house on the ocean and just run down the stairs to the beach is incredible. Thank you for sharing your home with us. I hope that we can come stay here again!!!!

The Dreyer's from Iowa

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Dreyer Family! That was a wonderful review and we really appreciate all your time spent with us and for your time in writing! The beach house is really in a special spot and it's wonderful to be able to share the ocean frontage and all its glory and drama in all weathers with guests who don't get the chance to see it too often. Thanks again and please come back(let us know first to receive a return guest discount)we would love to have you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ocean retreat in comfort

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house 3 times a few years ago and were very happy with the changes that were made by the new owners. We will not wait 5 years to return. We loved the modern touch they gave the place. We enjoy the beach which is accessed via private stairs. As previously mentioned we stayed there 3 previous times this being the 4th and for the first time we saw PORPOISE from the deck!!! I have the video to prove it!

I can sum up our experience in 3 words. We Loved It!!

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mickey, Thanks so very much for your review, the positive feedback on the cottage and for visiting us! It's always a wonderful bonus to see the marine life off the CA coastline and great that you captured it on video! We hope to see you back again and please remind us before you book to receive a return guest discount. Thanks for everything!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

House was nice, WiFi situation not so nice

  • 3 of 5

Make sure you understand the WiFi policy prior to renting. We didn't use it, but the owners called (twice) concerned that between our cottage and the cottage next door the limit was being used up.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us at Surfscape. This is the first 3 star rating in over three and half years: 62 reviews(of which there were 59/5 stars and 2/ 4 stars). THE EMAIL ONLY REQUEST ON OUR WIFI USAGE HAS BEEN LIFTED. Sadly, it was because Comcast dropped our bundled services and all the homes on the same coastal row due to road maintenance, and with a few days notice!! On an emergency basis we had to scramble to find new providers for ALL of our services, which we did!!! Hours of phone calls, plans to set up 3 services, scheduling installations(3x3.5 hour each way road trips later) it allowed us to keep our word to our guests and supply WIFI, though limited to emails only(because the plan that DISH SATELLITE would allow us to purchase was only 15 gigs, then $10 per gig after, and a Netflix movie used 3 gigs!) We also purchased premium channels to offset not being able to do Netflix. After leaving the properties, finishing up with the DISH Satellite installation, we checked on line for usage and with the guests to remind them about downloading movies and doing updates on devices, because within 4 hours, 40% of our monthly gigs were used up! We thought there may have been a technical problem. It's a shame that a beautiful home and amazing location was ranked poorly because of a couple of polite, friendly calls and limited WIFI! The home is well appointed and the views and location are just outstanding! FOR ALL FUTURE GUESTS: WE HAVE AGAIN CHANGED TO ANOTHER ALTERNATIVE SOURCE AND YOU CAN WATCH MOVIES ON NETFLIX ON THE NEW SMART TV'S AND DOWNLOAD UNLIMITED DATA TO YOUR HEARTS CONTENT, IF YOU CHOOSE. The rental agreement was adjusted for about a ten day period during this extremely trying time for us and stated the facts about limited WIFI for email use only and to not disregard this important request. That has since been changed back to our original agreement without the limited data request.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This is a remarkable property -- views, quality, pricing!

  • 5 of 5

You know how you see photos online and they don't always pan out in reality? Surfside is just the opposite. It is ever so much better in person than photos can show. The owners have not sacrificed quality on anything -- appliances, bedding and linens, decor, furnishings are all first rate. We are giving this a 5-star, even though our experience was somewhat disappointing due to road closure just outside the window. It created some problems that had nothing whatever to do with the property. We plan to rent again and can hardly wait to enjoy those views again! The owners were delightful -- turns out that Doug can work anywhere!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Carol, Thanks for your great review. We appreciate guest feed back and strive to make Surfscape the best it can be! We are always replenishing linens and supplies. The road repairs appear to be coming to an end(we were there late August) and things are getting back to normal on HWY 1 North. Prospective guests: there was some road work being done north of our immediate area and we had a temporary stop light just past out property. We hope to see you again and please remind us and receive a return guest discount! Thanks again....
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Property

  • 5 of 5

The Surfscape was breathtaking in the views! The home was appointed well znd was comfortable! No way to beat the view and Bodega Bay is a lovely little town

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much! Your five star rating for Surfscape is very much appreciated. We do our utmost to make our home feel like yours! We listen to requests and opinions and act upon those we feel are valid to help us continue to strive for the best guest experience we can offer! Many thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
80 Miles
San Francisco International
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Bodega Bay
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Bodega Bay
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Sonoma / Napa Wine Train
Nearest Motorway
Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Bodega Bay
Nearest Ski
200 Miles
Nearest Beach
Car: necessary

SURFSCAPE, a BRAND NEW remodeled beach house is situated on the bluff near Gleasons Beach on the Pacific Ocean, a short 5 mile drive north of Bodega Bay and 7 miles south of Jenner between Salmon Creek and the Russian River in Sonoma County. This Pacific get-away Beach House is unique and one of only a few actually situated on the ocean with it's own private stairs to the beach.

Upon entering Surfscape Beach House you will be astounded at the visual before you...The Pacific Ocean in all her glory. You are so close you can feel her power and will be awestruck. Gulls fly past your 35 feet of wall-to wall, ceiling height windows. Pelicans land on Elephant rock, which punctuates your spectacular view. Enjoy watching migrating whales 'blow' in the distance. You will experience being alone and away from it all with the pounding surf surely as if it was your own!

This area is revered for it's dramatic coastline, famed wineries and lush farmland. For outdoor enthusiasts, hiking trails along Bodega Head, kayaking, local guided tours on Bodega Bay or waiting for the perfect wave at Salmon Creek, Gleasons (walking distance), Portuguese and Wright Beach, all within very close proximity are great ways to get out and enjoy this amazing location. For equestrians: Chancellor Ranch, a short drive away where you can take trails up into the hills or down to the ocean.

The coastal community offers seafood and family style restaurants, beach shops, galleries, saltwater taffy and kite shops, a marina, golfing and a spa.

The Pacific Coast, Sonoma County with it's many attributes is a wonderful location. Just 70 miles from San Francisco and 7 miles south of Jenner and close to the charming little towns: Bodega, Sonoma, Guernville and Duncan Mills.

Surfscape Beach House is an amazing location where you can restore and redefine relaxation.


Rates & Availability

Sereno del Mar Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $135 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Sereno del Mar Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • The bathrooms have new ocean, beach house inspired touches. Sopft neutral tile, pebble mosaic, quartz and some of it's original planking. New light fixtures, plumbing fixtures and cabinets. Plenty of bath towels and separate beach towels are supplied for outside.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
  • Both bedrooms are about 200 sf with wall mounted electric flame fireplaces and TV . There are fantastic views from both bedrooms with top down / bottom up blinds to give you the view while maintaining privacy. Mattress and pillow protectors, comforters, and extra blankets.
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis
  • 1 bicycles
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers