Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Remodeled Surfscape Cottage With Private Stairs To Secluded Beach

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Beach House With Private Stairs To Secluded Beach.

Welcome you to our beach house (remodeled in 2013) for the 'Ultimate Pacific Coast Surf Experience'. The photo's will depict views from the property and display the beautiful new interior.

PLEASE NOTE: This home is not a wedding destination or a venue for gatherings. We cannot accept pre or post wedding gatherings.

6 guests maximum at all times. Thank you!

(Check-in: 4PM Check-out 11AM)

The beach house is built on the bluff over looking a spectacular show of nature at her best. You will have your own private stairs down to a sheltered, secluded beach. You can have beach fun and family time exploring tide pools or a romantic, quiet picnic...Just the two of you and the ocean.

The design and construction team have kept the integrity of the seaside property with it's planked walls and raked ceiling, enhancing the beach house ambiance. Comforting neutrals, warm whites and current pops of fun color punctuate the decor. Driftwood effect ceramic floors, quartz counters and nautical theme accessories carry the beach house flavor throughout.

The Pacific, west facing beach house allows you to view the surf at all times and enjoy the most breath taking sunsets, crashing surf, sea mist and bold rugged rock formations.

The great room with it's 35 foot wide wall of pacific facing windows is comfortably furnished with a fireplace and a wall mounted flat screen t.V. With DVD player. Internet, free us and Canada long distance phone and an i home are supplied for your convenience.

Dining for four at the antique table with it's captain's chairs, or at the large quartz peninsula.

All electric kitchen appliances: fast glass top range, and small appliances. Generous quartz counter work space in neutral tones and plenty of cabinet space with ambiance lighting for enhanced cooking and entertaining experience. The kitchen is well appointed for enjoying home cooked faire. Why go out when you can have the best ocean view in town with the surf as your back ground music! Enjoy your cracked crab and chardonnay at sunset with your family or special other.

Two king bedrooms and two bathrooms: the countryside facing room has views of peaceful bucolic rolling hills and a red farmhouse with it's barn. To add to your comfort we have installed a wall mounted fireplace to keep the chill off and a T.V.. It has a large en suite with a tub and shower combo. The second king has a Pacific Ocean and farm view, a wall mounted fireplace and T.V.. A quaint shower bathroom with a quartz vanity services this king room.

Attention to detail for your comfort continues throughout. Plenty of brand new towels, linens, comforters (with duvet covers) and quilts. Memory foam toppers on both beds. All the mattresses and pillows have protectors and high quality pads. Two folding futon pads for extra two guest(ideal for kids and teens)

If you need more room for extended family or friends we can offer the 'Little Sister Cottage' next door: Seamist Cottage. She is our newly remodeled one bedroom/bath with a sleeping loft/two twins. Seamist is a smaller version of Surfscape with all the great attention to detail and comfort.

We have designed and furnished the Surfscape Beach House to create a memorable and wonderful experience that will leave you rested, renewed and ready to return again and again!

We look forward to your visit.

More Details

Gay Jardine
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

About Gay Jardine

We are a design and construction team with a lot of energy! We love taking something and turning it around. Our vacation rentals and guests are important to us and we enjoy our work. We also have other properties that have been a success and enjoyed by many.

Gay Jardine purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Gay Jardine chose Bodega Bay

This property is a find in a million! You just don't come by a gem like Surfscape every day. The impact of walking into the cottage and being blown away by the pounding surf right there in your living room was well beyond words!

What makes this cottage unique

Private beach stairs down to a semi secluded beach! Not only do you have an amazing up close ocean view, but, you have access to the beach below. The beach is close to being private with only one other neighbor's staircase.

(PLEASE NOTE: Sorry, but our home is not a wedding destination location. We cannot hold ceremonies, host pre or post wedding get- togethers or social gatherings)

The tide cuts the beach off from either end, but you can still use the beach. The cottage is so close to everything and yet you can feel completely isolated.


Nearest Airport
80 Miles
San Francisco International
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Bodega Bay
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Bodega Bay
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Sonoma / Napa Wine Train
Nearest Motorway
Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Bodega Bay
Nearest Ski
200 Miles
Nearest Beach
Car: necessary

SURFSCAPE, a recently remodeled beach house is situated on the bluff near Gleasons Beach on the Pacific Ocean, a short 5 mile drive north of Bodega Bay and 7 miles south of Jenner between Salmon Creek and the Russian River in Sonoma County.

(Check-in 4PM- Check-out 11AM)

This Pacific get-away Beach House is unique and one of only a few actually situated on the ocean with it's own private stairs to the beach.

Upon entering Surfscape Beach House you will be astounded at the visual before you...The Pacific Ocean in all her glory. You are so close you can feel her power and will be awestruck. Gulls fly past your 35 feet of wall-to wall, ceiling height windows. Pelicans land on Elephant rock, which punctuates your spectacular view. Enjoy watching migrating whales 'blow' in the distance. You will experience being alone and away from it all with the pounding surf surely as if it was your own!

This area is revered for it's dramatic coastline, famed wineries and lush farmland. For outdoor enthusiasts, hiking trails along Bodega Head, kayaking, local guided tours on Bodega Bay or waiting for the perfect wave at Salmon Creek, Gleasons (walking distance), Portuguese and Wright Beach, all within very close proximity are great ways to get out and enjoy this amazing location. For equestrians: Chancellor Ranch, a short drive away where you can take trails up into the hills or down to the ocean.

The coastal community offers seafood and family style restaurants, beach shops, galleries, saltwater taffy and kite shops, a marina, golfing and a spa.

The Pacific Coast, Sonoma County with it's many attributes is a wonderful location. Just 70 miles from San Francisco and 7 miles south of Jenner and close to the charming little towns: Bodega, Sonoma, Guernville and Duncan Mills.

Surfscape Beach House is an amazing location where you can restore and redefine relaxation.


Sereno del Mar Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Owner's Cancellation Terms: If you cancel, you will receive 75% of ONLY the RE RENTED nightly fees and 100% of all: taxes, cleaning and deposit.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • The bathrooms have new ocean, beach house inspired touches. Sopft neutral tile, pebble mosaic, quartz and some of it's original planking. New light fixtures, plumbing fixtures and cabinets. Plenty of bath towels and separate beach towels are supplied for outside.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
  • Both bedrooms are about 200 sf with wall mounted electric flame fireplaces and TV . There are fantastic views from both bedrooms with top down / bottom up blinds to give you the view while maintaining privacy. Mattress and pillow protectors, comforters, and extra blankets.
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis
  • 1 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(104 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Remodeled Surfscape Cottage With Private Stairs To Secluded Beach
average rating of 4.9038463 based on 104 reviews

Gorgeous! Great place and wanted for nothing. Very clean and fabulous view.

  • 5 of 5

Would definitely come back to this cozy beach house. The weather was perfect and the sky was so clear. At night we sat out on the back deck star gazing! The house was well stocked and super clean.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay, we'll be back.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this 2 bedroom. Plenty of space great kitchen and location which could not be beat. Would go back in a minute!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for visiting us, Karen and for your time in writing. We work constantly to stay on top of things and visit the beach house and it's little sister next door(Seamist) every couple of months to replenish, check on things and continue to make improvements. In October we are installing new blinds and working on the decking. We will look forward to your next visit and let us know ahead of time so we can give you the return guest discount. Best wishes!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Big disappointment.

  • 1 of 5

Very disappointing. There were multiple failures that lead to a very unpleasant stay.

We were confronted with an infestation of house flies, no bug spray or even a fly swatter. On the first night we killed 73 flies. Yes, I counted them. The electric fireplace, heating source for living room/kitchen area would not turn on. Thermostat was stuck on 55 degrees. Internet connection is shared between 3 houses virtually useless. Housekeeping is poor. Beds are extremely lumpy.

Day 2 contacted the property manager inform him of our fly infestation, heating and housekeeping problems. He came out gave us a flyswatter and we showed him how the thermostat did not work. He said he would contact the owners. He knew an electrician to fix it but needed approval. He also said he could fix the housekeeping issue but offered no remedy. That must be for future guests.

Day 3 no word from manager about the electrician. We discovered a portable heater which became only heat source for the Livingroom/Kitchen. Manager went to other building and as he was leaving I stopped him for an update.

He said that he had not been able to talk to the owners as they were “traveling” and he could not reach them. This comment was very disappointing. It is hard for me to believe someone is not reachable by cellphone. We understood what that he really meant “they aren’t going to pay for an electrician.” We would have been less offended if they had just been honest about this. We considered leaving between the flies, the heating, the beds and general cleanliness we were extremely disappointed. We knew we would not get a refund so we stayed and enjoyed our time away from the house-

We spent 2 more days there and the manager never followed-up nor did we hear from the owners. I am not sure which was worse, the flies and no heat or the lack of concern from the manager and owners. The ad for this property talks about the fireplace, too bad it is just a decoration and not a true heating source. The portable heater was totally inadequate. I would also recommend that they find new house keepers. If you dare to lift the cushions on any of the furniture you will find crumbs and other disgusting things. The same could be said for under the bed or any furniture. The refrigerator was not wiped down so we wiped it down removed all the any items that expired in 2016. Last year I wrote a good report, not this time.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing your review. So sorry, this is the FIRST time we have heard about your disappointing visit(except for the thermostat, and we arranged for an electrician at first chance) We have 89/5 stars, 3/4 stars, in the last 2 yrs we received 67 "excellent" ratings and are #1 out 860 as per listing data. We will respond point-by-point. Except for one, every compliant, was not brought to our attention, had it been, we would have dealt with it professionally and proficiently. We are very sorry that we let you down and that we were not informed or given the chance to correct this during your visit. We didn't get a call or email from you via this booking site or our email, which we check several times a day, even when on the road and can always be reached. Flies:Cannot understand and have never experienced this before. We have screens and are high on a cliff, never an issue and haven't had any complaints before or after your visit. Electrician:Your assumption is incorrect about not wanting to pay for a repair. We did bring an electrician out asap who is familiar with the Dimplex brand fireplace.The thermostat only needed re setting, due to someone perhaps previously pushing all the buttons.The fireplace is large, functional and has more than adequate BTU's per sq ft. All bedrooms have wall mounted fireplaces, the tower heater is there for back-up. Beds:Are NOT lumpy, both are high quality and have memory foam toppers that we have been complimented on many times. WI-FI: Shared between our 2 cottages, not always perfect due to rural conditions. Condiments:Some are re-filled from large, bulk size. Herbs, spices, teas,, sugar, sweeteners (to suite tastes) are all replenished regularly. I buy them every visit. I've personally vacuumed and cleaned every inch of the house and witnessed the cleaners pulling up the cushions to vacuum too. Being upset and wanting to vent is most understandable, but can also be unfair when we were not told until a review and have no proof to the contrary. We have been let-down by the maid service & have dealt with it. What may be perceived as "our lack of concern" was not so, we were not given the chance to correct. The 89/5 stars speak to the standard we strive for. You returned because of this standard and we regret not knowing of your poor experience until your review was posted. We would have most definitely been open to talking about compensation if we had been given a chance to discuss it.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
San Antonio, Texas


  • 5 of 5

Very happy with the property. One of the very few places on the coast where you are on the ocean. The sound of the pounding surf was better then any sleeping pill. House well maintained and provided everything you could want or need. Return trip booked!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Marylyn, we appreciate your time in writing and your business. We are thrilled that you are coming back to us next year from across the country! The ocean crashing below is an amazing way to relax and soothe ones self! We will look forward to your visit, please stay in touch and if there is anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate. Until next time..... Many thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well appointed, unmatched views, and comfortable living space.

  • 5 of 5

Magnificent ocean and farmland views. Well appointed kitchen. Comfortable bedrooms and nice enough bathrooms. The only negatives were the WIFI was often not working and the motion detection lights over the garage are garish white LEDs that shine into the bedroom window. The blinds did not fully keep the light out.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Doug, thanks for your time writing your review, much appreciated. We were just there and adjusted the lights down, so we are wondering if the wind has moved the lights, thanks for alerting us. We must have some motion detector exterior lights as it is rural and can be very dark for late arrivals pulling in (critters can also activate the lights too!) We will address the lighting and appreciate you letting us know. We hope you will return again, many thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $135 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties