Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

DIRECT OCEAN FRONT VILLA with ocean front pool...just steps to the sand and pool

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 1,250 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

2 bd 2 1/2 Bth sleeps 6*Direct OCEAN FRONT VILLA*OCEAN FRONT POOL*

Welcome to our Gulf front townhome at the Cape Villas. Located just steps from the gulf front pool and a very private wide beach. This area is a place where the beach and nature collide to make a magical vacation spot. Certainly one to experience.....and one you will never forget.

Floor Plan: Ground Level-kitchen with new cabinetry and laundry closet; dining area, ½ bath and gulf front living room. The living room includes a sleeper sofa, large flat screen TV and Blu-Ray player and opens onto the nicely furnished, gulf front screened porch. 2nd Level-Bedroom 1 – queen bed, flat screen TV, balcony and a full bath with tub/shower combo; and Bedroom 2 – gulf front master bedroom with king bed, flat screen TV, full bath with tub/shower combo and a gulf front screened porch. with nice, sturdy furniture and a ceiling fan.

Lasinda McDaniel
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2017

About Lasinda McDaniel

We are the McDaniel family from the suburbs of Washington, D.C. My husband grew up in Georgia and I grew up in Alabama. We vacationed with our families on the Gulf growing up. It has always been a dream of ours to own our own beach home on the panhandle of Florida. There quite simply is no other beach that compares. We visited the Cape San Blas area a few years ago and fell in love with the uncrowded beaches and abundant wildlife and natural beauty. We knew then that this is the place we would live someday. We are so thankful our three children will grow up making memories here at the beach. We are happy to share this place with you and your family.

Lasinda McDaniel purchased this townhome in 2013

Why Lasinda McDaniel chose Florida Panhandle

We chose this beach home because of the beautiful quite area. And, we loved the idea of having a home located between the beautiful towns of Port Saint Joe and Appalachacola.

What makes this townhome unique

Our beach home is located directly on the Gulf.....beautiful views and uncrowded beaches...and a Gulf front pool shared by only twelve homes. Our home and beach are dog friendly :)

Guestbook comments from the owner

Copied verbatim from our listing for this property at vrbo listing# 469308.

The townhouse development consisting of 12 units is well maintained although very informal. The unit was clean and comfortable with a well-equipped kitchen and a shared grassy area for grilling using the grill provided. The pool was uncrowded and the owners provide sun loungers, chairs and other pool / beach equipment. The owners and local property managers were helpful and very responsive. The best feature of this rental is the location - right on the gulf beach - perfect for evening walks, fishing and just relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would come back again!
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 4


Port St. Joe Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , First Floor
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Living Room - Sofa Bed - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Master bedroom with king bed and deck overlooking the beachfront and pool with full bathroom and flat screen tv. Second bedroom with queen bed, deck with back view, flat screen tv and full bathroom.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

DIRECT OCEAN FRONT VILLA with ocean front pool...just steps to the sand and pool
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 22 reviews

Beautiful & Quiet Beach!

  • 5 of 5

Loved, loved, loved the clean and empty beach! Our recent stay will truly be one we will remember with lots of fun, fishing, sun, surf, and crab chasing. Picking our own spot of heaven on the beach was an easy task every day as there was plenty of room for us and all of our stuff! We never had neighbors closer than 100 feet away! We fished the surf, watched dozens of dolphins not far from where we were standing, had small sting rays come into the shallow waters, and even a small black tip shark made a brief appearance. I've never been able to pick up so many live starfish on any beach I've ever been to and it was a real treat for our grandchildren to hold them. We walked the beach early morning and night by the full moon. The beach is so clean you don't have to worry where you're walking in bare feet! And the sand is not that deep, hard to walk through, make you tired kind of sand.

We bought a really cool toy that was lit with bright colors that we shot into the air on the beach one night - that was the most fun!

The view from the lush grass in the back yard is fabulous! It looks across the bayou but it's lower so not in view. The vast span of white sand beach between the ocean and the bayou was really impressive. We did have to cross the bayou to get onto the beach every day but the water depth only ranged from 2 inches to maybe 8 inches and was very easily traversed.

The condo was fully stocked with all possible chairs, crab nets, cast nets, sand toys, boogie boards, pool floats, and umbrellas you could possibly use! The interior of the condo was much nicer than average. It has extra high ceilings, textured walls, fully stocked kitchen, nice linens, and cold A/C thank goodness. The ceiling fan in the ocean side bedroom only has one speed but at least one was there and it works!

The drive into town only takes about 15 minutes but we were pleased to find Piggly Wiggly's prices were extremely reasonable. We went into Apalachicola for dinner 2 nights which is only 20 minutes east of the condo. We bought fresh shrimp at one of the local places on the bay and the ladies there really know their seafood!

We had a fabulous time and all decided we are never going back to Gulf Shores, Destin, Panama City, or any other beach with high rise condos with thousands of people - EVER again! We are already making plans to go back to this place next year or maybe the year after since we'll have a newborn this time next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for your kind words. I am beyond thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We think it is a very special place, too! We had always gone to Gulf Shores or Destin......until we found Cape San Blas. Hope to have you back soon :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
St. Peters, MO

Where's the Beach?

  • 3 of 5

I’ve lost count of how many beach chairs and umbrellas I’ve purchased over the years, so I really appreciated that the townhouse was well-stocked with beach equipment. Unfortunately, the house wasn’t stocked with beach access. If you want to pop out your door and take a short stroll to the surf, this is not the place for you. Money Bayou runs in front of Cape Villas. It’s about 30’ wide and 4’ deep. There is not, and never has been, a bridge. I saw one fisherman hold up his equipment and wade across. There are critters in there, so I chose the alternative and walked through the yards and driveways of four houses and used a developer-owned bridge with no trespassing signs posted to reach the beach. Then I walked through the sand and crossed a restorative area. The owner emailed me AFTER my credit card payment posted to tell me I would not have direct beach access, and I had permission to use the bridge that is NOT next door. I found the walk uncomfortable at best. If you are thinking of renting any unit in Cape Villas, you will not have easy or direct access to the beach, so ask lots of questions before you book.

I had to work during some on my visit, so I was delighted to find that the WiFi was fast and the signal strong. Finding a comfortable place to sit with my laptop was another issue. The furniture just wasn’t very comfortable. Sitting for more than twenty or thirty minutes just didn’t work well. I needed to be on line for hours at a time, so the situation wasn’t really very workable. WiFi does work on the picnic table by the pool, but again comfort is an issue.

The pool was very well-maintained. It was clean, and everything was in working order. Most evenings, I enjoyed having the pool to myself. Only twelve units share the pool, and schools were still in session, so it was adult friendly. I should mention that generally, Cape Villas has a very communal feel. Somebody is probably going to chat with you while you’re firing up the barbecue grill.

Most of the units were occupied during our two week stay, and I think every unit had at least one dog in it. There are two large fields across the parking lot with supplies of bags for picking up doggie poop. The area is shaded, safe, and comfortable. MOST people followed the rules and leashed their dog/s. I found the area very convenient, especially for walking the dog late at night.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. As always, we appreciate feedback. If any of our guests have questions, issues or concerns before or during their stay, we go above and beyond to resolve them quickly and to the very best of our ability. Our guest's satisfaction is incredibly important to us. After your stay, there really isn't anything we can do to make things "right" for you. We never want our guests to feel inconvenienced. If given the opportunity, we do what we can to make things "right" so that all of our guests are satifisfied. In this case, we were never informed of your concerns. The bayou is not a permanent feature in front of the Cape Villas beach. The area has had an extraordinary amount of rain in the past months. The extra water along with westward winds has pushed the end flow of the bayou in front of Cape Villas temporarily. Historically, this has happened a few other occasions. The HOA at Cape Villas is currently working to have the issue permanently corrected. We are in the end stages of the process of finalizing all the government permits (both state and federal) that are required to move the sand and correct the end flow path of the bayou away from Cape Villas as it would normally flow and to deter the wind pushing it out of bounds ever again. We expect the process to be complete in the coming weeks. As for the furniture, I can honestly say that over the years we have owned our villa, no one has ever complained about the comfort of the furniture. We have, however, had four guests ask where we bought the furniture because they liked it so much. It is typical beach condo furniture. I suppose wheter you find it comfortable or not, is simply a personal preference. Again, we have never had a complaint about comfort before from any of our hundreds of previous guests. Again, thank you for your feedback. Your opinion does matter a great deal to us.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cape Sea LaVie

  • 5 of 5

Spacious beachfront condo (after a brief walk around the interesting bayou). Well-furnished kitchen, comfortable beds with lots of pillows. Very dog friendly beach, right between Apalachicola and Port St. Joe.

Fresh seafood nearby, and we had beautiful weather. All in all a great week at the beach!

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Great fishing beach escape

  • 4 of 5

Nicely furnished and equipped, dog friendly, family atmosphere to get away from it all. Great owners, supportive and helpful!

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Jackson, MO

Beautiful place -- great accommodations!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week at Cape Sea LaVie. As the other reviewers have said, the owners have thought of everything – kitchen has every gadget you need, lots of beach chairs, nets, umbrellas, bucket, skim board, etc. The ground level screened-in porch is a great place to enjoy coffee or a meal and watch the dolphins play. And it's just steps away from the pool. The upstairs balcony has an even better view of the beach and gulf, and the sliding door with yet another screened in balcony off the second bedroom makes for a nice cross-breeze on a cool day. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were nice (I hate to stay somewhere with cheap, pilled sheets, but these were high-quality and comfy).

We considered staying further up on the peninsula, but after getting there I was glad we didn't. This location is so close to Indian Pass Raw Bar (fun place with live music and great food!) and it's very handy to zip on over to Apalachicola or Port St. Joe.

Lasinda recommended Killer Seafood at Mexico Beach and it WAS killer as was Hole in the Wall Seafood at Apalachicola! So many oysters ... so little time. The Little River Band had stopped in the day before.

We luckily had perfect weather all week and a great time. But if it had rained, there were tons of channels on the 3 large TVs, books to read, games, and the great beach views! We didn't spot the resident eagles, but saw a huge flock of white pelicans swim by feeding as a group.

The bayou that meandered by the property was actually prettier than I thought it would be -- lots of crabs, birds and other wildlife. And I understand they soon are making a direct access to the beach so you don't have to wade across or take the footbridge (which was a beautiful path anyway). We loved this first visit to the area -- so serene and quiet. I almost hate to go on about it too much -- don't want Cape San Blas to turn into another Destin or Panama City Beach. It's called the "forgotten coast" for a reason! So... shhhhhhhh! Let's keep it to ourselves!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay :)
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


  • 5 of 5

Wonderful condo! Owners are very thoughtful! Comfortable beds. We don't have a pet, but enjoyed the dogs on the pet friendly beach! Great way to meet folks and start up conversation.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Panama City Beach
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Indian Pass Raw Bar
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Indian Pass Raw Bar
Nearest Beach

Our townhome is located conveniently near the town of Port Saint Joe to the west and the historic town of Appalachacola to the east.


Rates & Availability

Port St. Joe Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Spring 2017
Mar 11 2017 - May 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
May 27 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
Late Summer 2017
Aug 12 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
Labor Day Week 2017
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
Fall 2017
Sep 9 2017 - Oct 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
Late Fall 2017
Oct 28 2017 - Nov 17 2017
4 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 18 2017 - Dec 1 2017
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $120 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Partial weeks and monthly rentals will be considered based on a case by case basis.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Ask a Question Ask a Question