Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Indoor/Outdoor living. Private pool. Amazing ocean/golf course views

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning
  • Private Pool
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

Very Large 2 bed villa on hillside. Comprehensively equipped. Close to amenities

With sensational 270 degree views over the Atlantic Ocean, the Royal St Kitts Golf Course and the South East Peninsula from a choice of outdoor terraces, Bentley villa offers two large bedrooms with large ensuite shower rooms, a large and fully equipped chef's kitchen, 3000 sq feet of entertainment/family space and a large infinity edge pool. Consisting of the main floor of a substantial property it is ideal for a large family, a couple or perhaps two couples sharing.

Decoration and furnishings are in a contemporary style with high quality finishing materials, travertine and marble floors in the main living area with hardwood floors in the bedrooms.

The villa is equipped with state of the art multi-room audio and home theater equipment with a large selection of movies and music. We will be happy to set up movie nights for you.

You will enjoy the convenience of the fact that the owners live year round on the property and will be happy to organise airport pickups, give advice on excursions and perhaps show you a couple of the local evening spots. We can also get you special rates at the nearby Royal St Kitts Golf Club.

More Details

Owner
Jeremy Burges
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 26, 2017

About Jeremy Burges

An Anglo Finnish family in exile, we have lived in St Kitts since 2005 when we arrived on a work contract and fell in love with the country. We eventually built our dream home, the main floor of which we are now making available for select rentals. We live on the property all year round, occupying the large upstairs apartment, along with our dogs.

Jeremy Burges purchased this villa in 2010

Why Jeremy Burges chose St Kitts & Nevis

As soon as we saw the half acre corner lot back in '06 we knew we would be able to build our dream home here. The constant breezes and view over the Ocean and the back nine sold it to us straight away!

We commissioned the villa as a substantial family residence consisting of a large main floor (the subject of this listing) a penthouse suite above (where we live) and two one bedroom apartments (with their own separate entrance) below. These apartments are mostly rented out to long term tenants but are also sometimes available for a vacation rental. Construction was completed in 2010.

The name 'Bentley Villa' is an homage to our beloved and sadly now departed chocolate labrador of the same name, who was largely if unwittingly responsible for us deciding to stay in St Kitts after a work contract in South America rather than going back to England. In the UK a six month quarantine is mandatory for immigrating dogs from the Americas and we simply couldn't bring ourselves to subject him to that ordeal. Instead we decided to stay here and build this place.

What makes this villa unique

Designed by local RIBA architect Joseph Lancaster, this unique property has been designed so that almost everywhere you look from almost anywhere in the house you get a view of the ocean. The plethora of indoor/outdoor living spaces make for a true experience of contemporary Caribbean living whilst the breezes off the Atlantic mean you will rarely need the air conditioning at night.

Amenities

Lucas Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • smoking allowed ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Bathrooms are fully tiled in tumbled stone and feature large showers with high end plumbing fixture and luxury vanities with marble counters
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double
  • Bedrooms are large with hardwood floors, ensuite shower rooms and view directly over the Ocean and golf course
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Spacious Indoor/Outdoor living. Private pool. Amazing ocean/golf course views
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 22 reviews
4

Very nice with gorgeos views.

  • 4 of 5

Very nice villa. Absolutely gorgeous views. Jeremy and his wife were great to do business with and very helpful about places to go on the island. The pool was very clean and a nice place to cool off. Air conditioned bedrooms. Beds were comfortable. Entertainment system provided nice picture, sound and plenty of options. I recommend this villa. For me personally some air conditioning or perhaps a large overhead fan would have been great in the general living area(kitchen, dining, living room).

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wallace, NC
5

Great Week at Half Moon Bay in St. Kitts

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a very nice stay at this villa in Half Moon Bay in St. Kitts. The owner, Jeremy, met us at the villa and showed us around. He also was gracious enough to lend us clubs and to make tee time reservations for us at the golf course enabling us to save some money on our golfing. The villa could use some maintenance but none of the apparent defects detracted from our complete use of the facility and our enjoyment of the location. The views are spectacular from the bedrooms and the swimming pool areas. There is more than ample room - we were 4 adults and never got in each other's way. There are 3 very friendly dogs on the property but even though my wife is allergic to dogs and the other lady with us was afraid of dogs, they did not present any issues for us. The WIFI was convenient and served us well during the week.

There are some great restaurants in the vicinity that we enjoyed. Our favorite was Poinciana which is nearby although The Pavillion could not be beat for ambiance and elegance (although a good deal pricier!) Stop into Ciao's new location and enjoy their homestyle authentic Italian food.

We will definitely be keeping Half Moon Bay in our travel plans for the years to come.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful Property - Amazing Views

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent a week at this Villa. It was wonderful! Our favorite things were the beautiful pool and the amazing views of Half Moon Bay. Jeremy and Annu were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. The bedrooms were comfortable and quit and the villa was very nice. We would certainly stay there again if our travel plans take us back to St. Kitts.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property, easy access to everything, and super friendly owners!

  • 5 of 5

We booked this property for our honeymoon, and the both of us had a great time. The property is wonderful, and the space had everything we could have needed for lazy afternoons and evening dinners after exploring the island during the day.

The one negative review we saw was ludicrous; the dogs the owners and neighbors have were not a bother, the furniture did not have issues aside from the normal wear they would have in the Caribbean climate, the pool was gorgeous and very refreshing after spending the days out in the sun, and the owners were extremely accommodating.

We were referred to great places to visit and the best beaches to check out, and they also referred a reliable taxi driver to us that we used a few nights that we wanted to not worry about driving.

Overall, it was a great vacation, and we will certainly be back to the property the next time we plan to visit if it's available!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good location - needs updating

  • 3 of 5

This villa is ideally located near the town, food store, beaches, restaurants and the Marriott. The house looked as pictured but there are a few things to consider. The coverings on chairs/couches appear well warn and dingy/dirty. Cushions on pool furniture badly ripped and furniture in need of repair/replacement. Multiple dogs are on and around the property and can be very loud starting early in the morning. The kitchen was nicely equipped.

The house could be great with updating but there is no getting away from the barking.

Had a great time in St Kitts - easy island to get around on.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Larry I am glad you enjoyed St Kitts and thank you for your feedback. It's true our pool furniture has taken a bit of a battering from the sun and sea breeze this year. We will be replacing it shortly. All of our cushion covers are washed regularly because the natural calico color shows the slightest trace of dust. This of course accelerates the rate of wear. We plan to swap those out next year too and will possibly go for a patterned fabric instead next time. We would love to have high end furnishings in the villa but would then obviously have to increase our rental rates accordingly. In the meantime I hope potential guests will agree that our villa represents excellent value for money given the location, the ample space available and the private pool. Thanks again Jeremy.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Disappointing: dirty facilities, leaking AC; owners not on top of things

  • 2 of 5

Our family stayed in this rental the week after Christmas. We have rented all over the Caribbean. This was our first bad experience, due to the owner's lack of diligence and accountability.

What we liked:

- the pool,

- the unit is spacious.

What we did not like:

- dirty bathrooms & kitchen: pink mold stains in toilets, soap scum residue on glass door in shower, thick layer of old grease on the stove; unclean kitchen sink and counter area, sticky finger prints all over the appliances. This was only the tip of the iceberg.

- leaking AC unit,

- the owner's lack of diligence, his dismissive reaction to our concerns,

- the owner writing to us "We will supply beach towels. We also have a couple of portable chairs you are welcome to take with you to beaches"; then lending us those items with obvious reluctance; and later contradicting himself in an email saying that he "made it clear in previous correspondence that these items were not included".

Jeremy, the owner, admitted much later that "the cleaning in some areas was not to the standard". But he did not want to take care of the issues when we asked him. He said “We are on an island” (standards are different) and that the residue traces are from the ocean air. There was clearly more than salt air residue in that place. We had to call him that evening and ask him again to handle the problem. The following morning, he was in a hurry (golf tee time maybe?) so he woke us up early to send a cleaning lady. We had to rush to get ready and free the apartment. Not our idea of a relaxing island vacation. Jeremy even told us, about his cleaning lady: "You have to tell her what to do because she does not listen to me". Knowing that, any conscientious property owner would have done a final check in the unit before the arrival of new guests, which this owner did not bother to do.

For the leaking AC, Jeremy's comment was: "My mother used that room and had no complaints". His suggestion: put a towel under the AC unit to catch the dripping water. Not a caring nor helpful response. We had to ask him, again, to take care of this issue. The AC did not even need any repair, just a cleaning.

Other things to keep in mind:

- The property is on the rainier side of the island. The balcony with the

view/chairs/table was useless (windy, wet after rain showers).

- Barking at any time of day and night (property & neighborhood full of dogs)

- AC, in the bedrooms only, cannot be set below 24C/75 F.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I think it's fair to say that Isabelle and her party weren't 100% happy with their experience with us! It is unfortunate that their flight was delayed, that their luggage failed to turn up and that we were having our first wet and windy weather of the year on the day they arrived (most unusual). Plus our cleaners HAD missed a couple of small areas on this occasion (which we tried to rectify as soon as we could but apparently that was the wrong thing to do). Murphy’s law also required that one of our A/C’s would start to drip the very day after these Boxing day guests moved in, with all of the island’s air conditioning engineers away for Christmas. (And yes we had checked it and it was working the week before) Fortunately I was able to repair the a/c myself but the damage had been done I suppose. Nevertheless, although we feel that we bent over backwards to try to make these guests feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible, it would seem as though our efforts were to no avail on this occasion. After grumbling all week (including complaining about and switching off our Wifi routers, plunging the downstairs tenants who rely on them into internet darkness) these guests then subsequently demanded a substantial refund on their rental. We offered what we thought was a fair compensation for the less than perfect cleaning job but it seems that they preferred to write a bad review instead. This is of course their prerogative. We do hope potential visitors won’t be put off too much. We have learnt lessons from this experience, in that we must never become complacent about ensuring that the villa is as spotless as possible (we thought it was, but we now double and triple check it before each guest) We offer what we think is a great package, in that you get an extremely spacious property with genuinely spectacular views and a warm welcome from real people who are glad to share their St Kitts experience with all-comers. It would seem that the overwhelming majority of our guests agree, given our other reviews and the number of repeat guests that we have welcomed back. Having said all of that, if your expectation is for a 24/7 five star service then you may be happier somewhere like the Marriott or the Four Seasons.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Brimstone Hill Fortress
Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Robert Bradshaw International Airport 5 min away
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Buddy's, Vibes, The Dock, Mr X's and the 'Strip'
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Nevis Ferry
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Royal St Kitts Golf Club is a 10 minute walk.
Nearest Train
2 Miles
St Kitts Scenic Railway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
There's a great French place close by
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
All the amenities of Frigate Bay
Car: recommended

Half Moon Bay is on the breezy Atlantic side of the island, adjacent to and overlooking the Frigate Bay area with all of the the beaches, bars and tourist amenities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lucas Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season 2017
Jan 7 2017 - Apr 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$275
$1,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Autumn 2017
Jul 29 2017 - Oct 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 6 2018
5 night minimum stay
$350
$2,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties