check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Jeremy Burges

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Fantastic Hillside Villa in Half Moon Bay St Kitts

18 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

St Kitts & Nevis Villa Rental Photos and Description

Spacious Indoor/Outdoor living. Private pool. Amazing Atlantic/golf course views

With sensational 270 degree views over the Atlantic Ocean, the Royal St Kitts Golf Course and the South East Peninsula from a choice of outdoor terraces, this spacious property offers two large bedrooms with large ensuite shower rooms, a large and fully equipped chef's kitchen, 3000 sq feet of entertainment/family space and a large infinity edge pool. Consisting of the main floor of a substantial property it is ideal for a large family, a couple or perhaps two couples sharing.

Designed by local RIBA architect Joseph Lancaster, the property has been designed so that almost everywhere you look from almost anywhere in the house you get an amazing ocean view. The plethora of indoor/outdoor living spaces make for a true experience of contemporary Caribbean living whilst the breezes off the Atlantic mean you will rarely need the air conditioning at night.

The villa was commissioned by the owners as a substantial family residence consisting of a large main floor (the subject of this listing) a penthouse suite above (which the owners occupy with their dogs) and two one bedroom apartments (with their own separate entrance) below. These apartments are mostly rented out to long term tenants but are also sometimes available for a vacation rental. Construction was completed in 2010. Decoration and furnishings are in a contemporary style with high quality finishing materials, travertine and marble floors in the main living area with hardwood floors in the bedrooms.

The villa is equipped with state of the art multi-room audio and home theater equipment with a large selection of movies and music. We will be happy to set up movie nights for you on the 106' projection screen .

You will enjoy the convenience of the fact that the owners live year round on the property and will be happy to organise airport pickups, give advice on excursions and perhaps show you a couple of the local evening spots. We can also get you special rates at the wonderful Royal St Kitts Golf Club.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Jeremy Burges (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About Jeremy Burges

An Anglo Finnish family in exile, we have lived in St Kitts since 2005 when we arrived on a work contract and fell in love with the country. We eventually built our dream home, the main floor of which we are now making available for select rentals. We live on the property all year round, occupying the large upstairs apartment, along with our dogs.

Jeremy Burges purchased this villa in 2010

Why Jeremy Burges chose St Kitts & Nevis

As soon as we saw the half acre corner lot back in '06 we knew we would be able to build our dream home here. The constant breezes and view over the Ocean and the back nine sold it to us straight away!

Reviews

4.4
based on 18 traveler reviews

Fantastic Hillside Villa in Half Moon Bay St Kitts
average rating of 4.388889 based on 18 reviews
3

Good location - needs updating

  • 3 of 5

This villa is ideally located near the town, food store, beaches, restaurants and the Marriott. The house looked as pictured but there are a few things to consider. The coverings on chairs/couches appear well warn and dingy/dirty. Cushions on pool furniture badly ripped and furniture in need of repair/replacement. Multiple dogs are on and around the property and can be very loud starting early in the morning. The kitchen was nicely equipped.

The house could be great with updating but there is no getting away from the barking.

Had a great time in St Kitts - easy island to get around on.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Larry I am glad you enjoyed St Kitts and thank you for your feedback. It's true our pool furniture has taken a bit of a battering from the sun and sea breeze this year. We will be replacing it shortly. All of our cushion covers are washed regularly because the natural calico color shows the slightest trace of dust. This of course accelerates the rate of wear. We plan to swap those out next year too and will possibly go for a patterned fabric instead next time. We would love to have high end furnishings in the villa but would then obviously have to increase our rental rates accordingly. In the meantime I hope potential guests will agree that our villa represents excellent value for money given the location, the ample space available and the private pool. Thanks again Jeremy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointing: dirty facilities, leaking AC; owners not on top of things

  • 2 of 5

Our family stayed in this rental the week after Christmas. We have rented all over the Caribbean. This was our first bad experience, due to the owner's lack of diligence and accountability.

What we liked:

- the pool,

- the unit is spacious.

What we did not like:

- dirty bathrooms & kitchen: pink mold stains in toilets, soap scum residue on glass door in shower, thick layer of old grease on the stove; unclean kitchen sink and counter area, sticky finger prints all over the appliances. This was only the tip of the iceberg.

- leaking AC unit,

- the owner's lack of diligence, his dismissive reaction to our concerns,

- the owner writing to us "We will supply beach towels. We also have a couple of portable chairs you are welcome to take with you to beaches"; then lending us those items with obvious reluctance; and later contradicting himself in an email saying that he "made it clear in previous correspondence that these items were not included".

Jeremy, the owner, admitted much later that "the cleaning in some areas was not to the standard". But he did not want to take care of the issues when we asked him. He said “We are on an island” (standards are different) and that the residue traces are from the ocean air. There was clearly more than salt air residue in that place. We had to call him that evening and ask him again to handle the problem. The following morning, he was in a hurry (golf tee time maybe?) so he woke us up early to send a cleaning lady. We had to rush to get ready and free the apartment. Not our idea of a relaxing island vacation. Jeremy even told us, about his cleaning lady: "You have to tell her what to do because she does not listen to me". Knowing that, any conscientious property owner would have done a final check in the unit before the arrival of new guests, which this owner did not bother to do.

For the leaking AC, Jeremy's comment was: "My mother used that room and had no complaints". His suggestion: put a towel under the AC unit to catch the dripping water. Not a caring nor helpful response. We had to ask him, again, to take care of this issue. The AC did not even need any repair, just a cleaning.

Other things to keep in mind:

- The property is on the rainier side of the island. The balcony with the

view/chairs/table was useless (windy, wet after rain showers).

- Barking at any time of day and night (property & neighborhood full of dogs)

- AC, in the bedrooms only, cannot be set below 24C/75 F.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I think it's fair to say that Isabelle and her party weren't 100% happy with their experience with us! It is unfortunate that their flight was delayed, that their luggage failed to turn up and that we were having our first wet and windy weather of the year on the day they arrived (most unusual). Plus our cleaners HAD missed a couple of small areas on this occasion (which we tried to rectify as soon as we could but apparently that was the wrong thing to do). Murphy’s law also required that one of our A/C’s would start to drip the very day after these Boxing day guests moved in, with all of the island’s air conditioning engineers away for Christmas. (And yes we had checked it and it was working the week before) Fortunately I was able to repair the a/c myself but the damage had been done I suppose. Nevertheless, although we feel that we bent over backwards to try to make these guests feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible, it would seem as though our efforts were to no avail on this occasion. After grumbling all week (including complaining about and switching off our Wifi routers, plunging the downstairs tenants who rely on them into internet darkness) these guests then subsequently demanded a substantial refund on their rental. We offered what we thought was a fair compensation for the less than perfect cleaning job but it seems that they preferred to write a bad review instead. This is of course their prerogative. We do hope potential visitors won’t be put off too much. We have learnt lessons from this experience, in that we must never become complacent about ensuring that the villa is as spotless as possible (we thought it was, but we now double and triple check it before each guest) We offer what we think is a great package, in that you get an extremely spacious property with genuinely spectacular views and a warm welcome from real people who are glad to share their St Kitts experience with all-comers. It would seem that the overwhelming majority of our guests agree, given our other reviews and the number of repeat guests that we have welcomed back. Having said all of that, if your expectation is for a 24/7 five star service then you may be happier somewhere like the Marriott or the Four Seasons.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Very Pleasant Surprise!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter booked this Villa as she does each January for a winter vacation and I was very pleasantly surprised by her choice. This Villa was the largest we have stayed in. I thought it a great value. Three dinning areas. Two living areas that were spacious. An ocean view from any of those areas including the bedrooms. The place was easy to find. Jeremy and Annu were wonderful hosts. Eggs, bread, butter were waiting in the fridge for us for the following days breakfast. And beer! the two bedrooms were both very large with bathrooms and walk in closets. A barbecue was available and an outdoor bar. I have been all over the Caribbean and this was great!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Charles. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Bermuda
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

The villa was suited are needs, very well. Clean, beautiful views. It was close to grocery and restaurants. The kitchen was very useful with small kids. Our host were very accommodating. i would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
florida
5

Wonderful Villa Rental! As Nice as the Photo's !!

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed at the Villa for a week at the end of February 2015.

Villa was spacious with beautiful indoor and outdoor areas. Outdoor space was particularly appreciated with our own pool, outdoor patio, and outdoor eating areas.

We had breakfast everyday outdoors, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, beach and golf course and enjoying the wonderful trade winds!

Jeremy was an excellent host, and made himself available to help with any issues...keeping the internet running, restaurant recommendations, etc.

Villa was clean, very well stocked with all of the appliances that you would need.

We would definitely stay at this villa again!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Montreal, QC Canada
5

Great winter Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We were thrilled to discover our rental to be all that it was advertised to be. Both the indoor and outdoor spaces are furnished very comfortably and the kitchen is well equipped. All the appliances are of good quality as well and everything was lovely and clean.

The view of the golf course and sea are wonderful. Having the charming owners living upstairs was a definite bonus when we needed information or help operating the TV. This rental is ideal for a family of 4 or 2 couples.

Location is great but like most rentals in St. Kitts a rental car is advisable.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Snowbird for the kind words. We loved having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you if you are ever down this way again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Robert Bradshaw International Airport 5 min away
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Buddy's, Vibes, The Dock, Mr X's and the 'Strip'
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Nevis Ferry
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Royal St Kitts Golf Club is a 10 minute walk.
Nearest Train
2 Miles
St Kitts Scenic Railway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
There's a great French place close by
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
All the amenities of Frigate Bay
Car: recommended

Half Moon Bay is on the breezy Atlantic side of the island, adjacent to and overlooking the Frigate Bay area with all of the the beaches, bars and tourist amenities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Frigate Bay Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Spring 2016
Apr 3 2016 - Jul 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,950
 
 
Autumn
Aug 1 2016 - Oct 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,750
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 17 2016 - Dec 31 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

St Kitts & Nevis Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Bathrooms are fully tiled in tumbled stone and feature large showers with high end plumbing fixture and luxury vanities with marble counters
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double , 1 baby crib
  • Bedrooms are large with hardwood floors, ensuite shower rooms and view directly over the Ocean and golf course
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties