check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Todd Keller

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Charming BALBOA ISLAND COTTAGE - 2BD/1BA - 4 PADDLE BOARDS

24 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Newport Beach House Rental Photos and Description

2bd/1ba Sleeps 4-5

Welcome to one of the best vacation spots in California. This 1940‘s charmer in located right in the heart of balboa island! Just one block from the water and even closer to the historic Marine Avenue shopping and next to the legendary Village Inn Restaurant, the hot spot of the island. Spend the entire week and never use your car. Walking distance to the ferry.

THIS UPPER UNIT has a queen size bed in the master and twin bunk beds in the second room with a trundle bed underneath. Sleeps 5

We have 2 beautifully furnished 2 bedroom 1 bathroom units that are complete with every amenity, including internet (WiFi), a flat screen TV and fully stocked kitchens to ensure a premier vacation experience. Comfortable soft seating and a great table in the living area to create an environment perfect for relaxing, reading, playing games, working on craft or watching a movie.

The lower unit (LISTING #468085) has a queen size bed in the master and a double in the second room along with a double Murphy bed in the living area. Sleeps 6

RENT BOTH UNITS FOR LARGE FAMILIES OR MULTIPLE FAMILIES - SLEEPS 10+

For your convenience there is a SHARED laundry room available onsite. It is shared by both the upper and lower units. The upstairs unit can access the laundry room through a keyed door in the alley. Please be considerate of the downstairs tenants and do not open either of the interior doors in the laundry room. Thank you!

All new linens, kitchen ware, towels, are provided. Overall this home is bright, cheery, and comfortable. Bring or rent bikes, kayak, fishing pole, and walking shoes to enjoy all that the beach island and bay have to offer.

Balboa island is only 15 minutes from orange county / John Wayne airport, 50 minutes from Los Angeles international airport, and 75 minutes to San Diego Lindbergh field airport.

It is a short drive to many southern California shopping and attractions including fashion island, Disneyland, knott's berry farm, universal studios, Anaheim stadium, Honda center, Laguna beach, Hollywood, Los Angeles, sea world, legoland, San Diego zoo and wild animal park.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Todd Keller (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About Todd Keller

We have been married for 28 years and have 4 wonderful children. Our son is 24 and our 3 girls are 21, 15 and 10.

Todd Keller purchased this house in 2012

Why Todd Keller chose Newport Beach

We have been going to Balboa Island for most of our adult life and fell in love with the uniqueness and magic of the Island. 1305 is right at the heart of all the shopping and restaurants that the Island has to offer. The Island truly gives you a small town feel and allows you to get away from all the business of everyday life. Yet, it is just 30 minutes away from just about everything you could do in Southern California. From Disneyland to Fashion Island, etc.

What makes this house unique

4 PADDLE BOARDS ARE AVAILABLE for use during your stay and are located behind the house. please be considerate of the lower unit when getting them as they are right outside their door behind the white fence in the alley. Also, there are 4 Paddle Boards and they are meant for both units so please be considerate of how long you are using them.

Reviews

4.8
based on 24 traveler reviews

Charming BALBOA ISLAND COTTAGE - 2BD/1BA - 4 PADDLE BOARDS
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 24 reviews
Washington, DC
5

Cozy and spacious!

  • 5 of 5

I was pleasantly surprised that for a two bedroom above the garage apartment cottage that it was so open and spacious. The furnishings and decor created a cozy, beach-type, and very relaxing atmosphere. I look forward to staying again when I travel back to Balboa Island!

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Orange County CA
5

Happy Spot on Balboa Island!

  • 5 of 5

We love this little getaway because it has the old charm that you want when you are visiting the Island. Also it is so close to all the action! Location is key. Shopping and all the fun restaurants are just steps away. It is such a great value too. Todd was very helpful and always responded to our text right away. Balboa Island is definitely a bubble of happy! And this unit provides all the fun without breaking the bank. I would recommend to all.

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Central Valley
5

Can't wait to come back! GREAT rental!

  • 5 of 5

This is my first time staying in the upper unit and it was GREAT experience! Everything was clean and easy to find during our stay. The paddle boards were a HUGE bonus on these warm California days. Working with the owners was so easy and they were more than accommodating with our requests. It is cute, quaint and has a real charm. The girls who live downstairs are just wonderful! They were kind enough to give us recommendations on restaurants and places to visit. I will DEFINITELY be returning.

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not as Advertised--Frustrating from Start to Finish

  • 1 of 5

We recently stayed here. It was a frustrating experience.

1) It's not what they advertised. Paddle boards were nowhere to be found (they are not “behind the house" as claimed). We had to call to find out where the washer and dryer was. We had no wifi until after calling the owner again. We tried to do some wash but found that there was no light switch in the room. We used the flashlight from our cell phones and found thongs hanging everywhere. Obviously, the tenant in the lower unit doesn't care having her clean/dirty underwear strewn everywhere-every door handle had thongs hanging from it and several more that had fallen to the floor. (We have pictures since the numberless thongs around the room was pretty unbelievable!) There were exercise clothes and more thongs in the washer and dryer. The little empty space on the shelf was also covered in thongs . We transferred her wet items to the dryer so that we could do our wash. The next day we went to do another load and saw that she had taken her items from the dryer but left everything else with all the thongs everywhere. It was just gross.

2) If it was "newly remodeled," you couldn't tell. The pillows were very stained and dirty, the blue chairs had spills on them, only half of the outlets worked, only one lamp in each bedroom would actually turn on, the shower dripped continually, the stopper for the bath/shower was missing so we were unable to bathe our kids, we had to rewash many of the dishes and silverware since food from the previous guests had dried and stuck to them.

In short, the owners have made the entire experience awkward. It was advertised as: “Charming BALBOA ISLAND Home - $50 Gift Card to the Village Inn - Newly Remodeled.” We chose this rental over another one that was oceanfront and on the peninsula simply because they promised a free gift card to a restaurant. There was no card when we arrived. We called and they said that was a promotional thing that they did a "couple of years ago" but that they don’t do any more. And they said that even if they did, the restaurant wasn’t suitable for children and it was too expensive for us. Only after we persisted did they begrudgingly honor their advertisement and bring the card.

We wrote them privately to make them aware of our many frustrations rather than post an online review. They seemed appreciative of our feedback and promised to a partial refund for our troubles. That was one month ago. No refund to date.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: 1)The Paddle Boards are located in the back of the house as stated in our listing. I wish you would have let me know you were having a hard time finding them. They could have been being used by the downstairs tenants when you were looking for them because it is impossible to walk around the house and not see four 8 foot paddle boards. 2) The washer and dryer for the upstairs unit is located through the keyed door in the alley as mentioned in our listing. And there is a light switch that is located right next to the washer and dryer. 3) Im sorry about the downstairs tenants and their laundry hanging in the laundry room. If you would have contacted me I could have asked them to remove their belongings. 4) We are addressing the issues of the leaking shower, pillows and lamps and will speak to our cleaning service about the silverwear. Thank you for your input as we are always open to criticism and advice on how to improve our home for future guests. 5) The $50 gift card is offered to summer stays of 7 nights or more as was stated in our listing at the time of booking. We did provide the gift card because of the misunderstanding. We have since removed that offer of our listing entirely. 6) I sorry, I was waiting for your response to my offer about the partial refund. I will post it back to your account now. I wish you would have let us know about the issues you were having at the time of your stay so we could have corrected them. Our goal is for all of our guests is to have an amazing and relaxing time at our home on Balboa Island. We will do whatever it takes to make sure your stay is exceptional.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Boulder, Colorado
5

Can't Wait to Return! Wonderful Place

  • 5 of 5

I've stayed in this place twice now. Once in the lower unit and once in the upper. I absolutely loved both experiences. It could not be more conveniently located on the island, and it is a great deal. The upstairs unit has a bit more charm, but both are lovely. The owners were great to work with and accommodated our requests. Bed were quite comfortable. The experience was lovely and I would return to this home a third and forth time for sure. Even though it is not right on the bay front, it is close enough that you can easily walk to the bay with no problem. I paid more in the past to stay on the bay front, but didn't find it an inconvenience in the least. I was happy to be so close to Starbucks. :)

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fun Time On Balboa Island.

  • 5 of 5

We were in the upstairs unit for a few days. Everything was clean and ready for our stay. When I did have a question about something the owner always got back to me quickly..As other people have said, the location was great. We could walk everywhere and having the shops and restaurants so close was a big plus. We did have a car and never had trouble finding a spot on the street either in front or on a close-by side street. If you do bring a car, be sure to read the street cleaning signs so you don't get a ticket. We were surprised that we could never hear the live music from the restaurant next door and we never had a problem with smokers on the sidewalk. It was unseasonably hot when we were there so we had brought a fan with us. There was also a fan in the unit..It was great to be able to keep all the windows open all the time..The queen bed was very comfortable , the bathroom was big, and the kitchen was well stocked with dishes, glasses, etc.. We were happy we could bring our toy poodle with us. There are very few grassy areas on the island to walk pets but there are a few restaurants with outdoor seating that let you bring your dog. There are also artificial turf patches around the trees on Marine Ave where the shops are. Lots of dogs on the island and a walkway that goes all around the island for walkers and runners.. It was a fun vacation. We would definitely stay in this unit again

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
John Wayne Airport (Orange County)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Village Inn Restaurant
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Balboa Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Back Bay Golf Course - Newport Beach Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Pacific Coast Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Village Inn Restaurant
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Newport Beach
Car: not necessary

Back Bay Loop and Conservation Reserve

Photos

Rates & Availability

Balboa Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2016
Jun 11 2016 - Sep 10 2016
2 night minimum stay
$239
From
$289
Fri,Sat
$1,700
$5,500
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2016 - Nov 27 2016
5 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,800
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
5 night minimum stay
$300
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$2,000
 
 
Summer
Jun 9 2017 - Sep 10 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,800
$6,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$140
From
$190
Fri,Sat
$1,000
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Newport Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Linens Included
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Spacious Closet and Dresser
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , 3rd Twin bed is under bunk beds
  • Hardwood Floors throughout the house
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
PADDLE BOARDS AVAILABLE for use during your stay are located behind the house. please be considerate of the lower unit when getting them as they are right outside their door. Also, there are 4 Paddle Boards and they are meant for both units so please be considerate of how many, how much and how long you are using them.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties