Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Super Deluxe Kona Reef Oceanfront. Top Floor. See Video Tour.

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 9 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom Oceanfront - Direct Ocean Front Top Floor

In short, this is a premier unit with a premier view. This top floor, oceanfront 1 bedroom has been highly upgraded and is located in the desirable 'D' building. The only thing more stunning than the décor is the view.

This great unit has been fully remodeled and upgraded. A gorgeous bath with walk in shower and raised sink, high end cabinetry in the kitchen with granite counters, and a tiled lanai with a spectacular view of the ocean and year round sunsets are just some of the features.

To see exactly what we’re talking about, take a complete video tour of this unit by going to the Video Tour link near the bottom of this page, right under the link to our owners website below the map.

It is equipped with everything you will need for a comfortable stay: a full kitchen with range, oven, dishwasher, disposer, microwave, refrigerator and freezer, and all the small appliances you would expect. There is plenty of cookware, a more than adequate amount of dishes, bowls and silverware, and more. There is a washer and dryer inside the unit, along with a large flat screen TV, with cable service, and high speed Internet with Wi-Fi. Phone service includes all local calls, plus free long distance calling to the US Mainland and Canada.

After flying thousands of miles, don't you deserve a really nice condo? This is surely the one you will want to return to again and again.

The Kona Reef is on the edge of town, just a few minutes walk to restaurants, shops, the farmers market, and more. There is an oceanfront pool, spa, and barbeque area for your use. Of course the unit also has all the BBQ utensils you need to have an enjoyable oceanfront dinner while you watch the sunset.

For reservations or additional information call us. We keep our availability calendar up to date. Visit our owners website (the link is below the map and above the photos where 'link to our other rentals' appears. That will give you additional information and the availability of our other units. We also have other Kona Reef units available. Just click the 'see all our rental listings' link below the map in the 'Links to More Information' area to see our other units at the Kona Reef. We have several ocean view units, 3 desirable two bedroom ocean front units, and 6 gorgeous ocean front 1 bedroom units.

For reservations or additional information feel free to call us. We always keep our availability calendar up to date. We are just a call away, at 888-269-3229.

Haw Reg# TA-195-652-6080-01

(R) (B)

More Details

Property Manager
Ken or Dia Peters
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 26, 2017

Why Ken or Dia Peters chose Kona Coast

We loved staying at the Kona Reef and decided to buy a unit. We were lucky that one of the nicest units was available, and bought it immediately. It was totally upgraded, and we fell in love with it right away.

What makes this condo unique

The Kona Reef is right on the edge of Kona. You can walk to the shops and restaurants in a matter of minutes. There is no better location, and it is an oceanfront complex too.


Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 620 sq. ft.
  • 4 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Ultra modern bath with walk in shower and raised sink
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Comfortable queen bed in a tastefully decorated room
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

Super Deluxe Kona Reef Oceanfront. Top Floor. See Video Tour.
average rating of 4.586207 based on 29 reviews

Nice unit, good location in Kona, some things to be aware of...

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the Kona Reef with another couple who were located in a beach front condo in section A. We had a comparison and found their unit to be more desirable and would recommend their unit over ours. Our unit had a nicer refrigerator, however the door squeaked terribly whenever it was opened, a problem that really needs to be fixed. The stove was nice with a ceramic top. Our friend's unit came fully stocked with a variety of condiments for cooking, along with a supply of plastic bags, paper towels, toilet paper, etc. We had an extra roll of toilet paper and an extra roll of paper towels. That was fine, but there was zero supplies of anything else at all. So future renters should be prepared.

The bed was very comfortable and the Smart TV was nice addition (you can bring along your Netflix!). I think the biggest annoyance was the basin sink in the bathroom. It was huge and covered the entire cabinet so it was difficult to put even a small glass, toothbrush, and soap by the sink. It was so wide that it needed constant cleaning. There was little in the way of cleaning under and around the area by the sink and the lighting in the bathroom was not bright and so the mirror was pretty limiting (that can be a good or bad thing!). The large walk-in shower was very nice. Future renters should be aware there is no table or chairs inside the condo. Bar stools at kitchen counter only. There is a table and chairs on the lanai, but it is a rattan design and so is difficult to clean. You might want to bring a table cloth. Also there was very limited dusting of the entire complex, accept for the basics and I don't think I'm that picky. I don't mean to sound negative and if we had not had the comparison of our friends unit, this review might have been more positive. We would recommend our friend's unit over this one, but found this unit more than adequate and comfortable for a stay in Kona.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved the place

  • 4 of 5

One wish is for better air conditioning. But very clean, loved the pool. Easy walk to town. This is our second stay at the Kona Reef and we plan on coming back again some day. At the end of the trip the front desk even helped with taxi arrangements back to the airport.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous condo, fabulous location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay in Kona! This condo is beautiful and Ken and Dia are a pleasure to work with. The views are breathtaking--our favorite time of day was 5:00 PM on the lanai to catch the sunset. The condo was clean, very comfortable and the location is excellent--walking distance to good eats! I would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Temecula, Ca.

A little piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We had never been to Kona before and only knew about Kona Reef because my sister and brother-in-law own a condo there. It is now our favorite place and Kona Reef and this property (when my sister's place is full) will be our new vacation spot! From the moment we walked in, the view just takes your breath away. The condo itself is very nicely decorated, with new carpet, and set up to make you feel very at home. We had four people staying very comfortably with plenty of room in the kitchen and on the Lanai, which had plenty of chairs for everyone to sit at the table and enjoy the view. Watching the dolphins leap out of the water during our breakfast on the Lanai was amazing and falling asleep to the sound of the surf was even better. The one bedroom is in the back and you don't hear the waves as much so I do recommend sleeping out in the living room as much as you can. The pullout couch is not the most comfortable, it could use a thicker mattress pad, but well worth it to fall asleep to that sound!The second best thing about this condo is location, location,location!! A five minute walk in to town with great shopping and awesome restaurants. Make sure to have breakfast at Bongo Ben's, the cinnamon rolls are to die for!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Cruz, California


  • 5 of 5

This was our honey moon get away and it was the most relaxing, magical expierence we as a married couple have ever experienced. The kona reef location was out of this world... our Lanai was our favorite spot. I loved everything about the whole trip. Thanks to good friends we got to expierence paradise...Aloha!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for providing your comments. It is always a pleasure when a guest appreciates the time and expense that was devoted into making this one of the nicest units at the Kona Reef. We certainly will look forward to your return in the near future. Every attempt is made to provide an above average unit, fully equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay when in Kona. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Unprofessional and Uncaring

  • 1 of 5

Upon arrival we realized the property was under construction. We were not warned prior to arrival as other properties have done. After contacting owner by phone , Dia, was rather rude in questioning why we were even in the condo and not out doing something during the day. After explaining we had planned to relax on the deck and read she seemed to care less. Immediately stating she could not give a refund. We stated that we did not expect a full refund but possibly a discount as other properties have done. Seeming annoyed she said she would have to talk to her husband and the onsite manager and then get back to us. After waiting most of the day and not receiving her call we went to the management office to have them contact Dia's husband whom was supposed to be on the island. They were to contact him so he could call us. They said they did but the call never came. We called and left a number on his cell phone as well but still received no contact. Basically we were very disappointed in the way the issue was handled and definitely would not recommend this property to anyone else. We have stayed in several other properties and in a case of construction they always have warned us or even called to offer a discount with the warning. Also in the case of complaints we have always been treated in a professional manner, not at all this time.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for posting your comment. It is sad that your review does not reflect an opinion on the condo, or location or the upgrades, but rather is focused on you not "receiving a discount". Unfortunately another unit, owned by a different owner was doing a bathroom remodel two floors below. That is something we can't control. The timing was not great, since it was a full house at the time. This unit and nothing in its proximity was under construction. Other guests honestly review the unit, and give 4 or 5 stars since it is one of the nicest units at the Kona Reef. Your calls were returned, however it was difficult to have a conversation when your focus was entirely on a refund or discount for work being done in a different unit, two floors away. The demo work in that unit took two days and was done entirely during daytime work hours, and did not create a disturbance that affected other guests. Stating that you would give a bad review unless you were given a refund for three days was in reality a form of extortion. Hopefully other guests will see all the good reviews, and understand that your review is just retaliatory. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
9 3


Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Kona International (KOA)
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
In town - 1/10 of a mile
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
In Town - 1/10 of a mile
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Adjacent to property
Car: not necessary

Kona Reef is on the edge of town, a few minutes walk to shopping, farmers market, and restaurants.


Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
2016/17 Peak Season
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
Summer Special
Jun 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
End of Summer
Aug 21 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
Oct 4 2017 - Oct 18 2017
9 night minimum stay
2017/18 Peak Season
Nov 1 2017 - Apr 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning/Prep $95 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Reserved dates are held for you while others are turned away. There is no refund for unused days unless unit is re-booked, then any amount recovered would be eligible for refund. Cleaning/Prep charge of 79.00 plus Hawaii Taxes of 13.42% is added to all rentals.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties