check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Diane Moreno, Manager

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Lake Michigan Vacation Cottage

9 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Beaver Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3-bedroom; 2-bath; sleeps up to 8

This is a beautiful, 1900 square foot vacation home with beds for 6 adults and a pull out queen sofa in the lower level. Most people coming to Beaver Island look forward to its abundant nature and solitude. We love to wake up early, watch the sun rise and listen to the peace and quiet. On a clear day, you can even see the Mackinac Bridge from the cottage. We also love to just sit out at the beach house in the evening to watch the wildlife. It can be a very tranquil and quiet place.

The property sits on 10 grassy and wooded acres on Lake Michigan. We are secluded, you won't see another house from the cottage, but we're located just 5-6 miles from town. Not too close, yet not too far away.

Summers are pretty lazy and carefree. This is a great place for a family (or a few families) to reconnect. Sit around by the water, play games, read a good book (or 2), or enjoy 'smores over an evening campfire. Although located on 10 acres of Lake Michigan waterfront, this is not a great swimming beach. There are some nice sandy beaches on the Island for swimming.

St. James beach is a short trip from the cottage. You can buzz into town for a coffee. ice cream cone or a drink without draining your wallet. You can also go for a swim or spend the afternoon at the beach. There is always something going on. Take a trip to the bottom of the island and set out on a beach hike or just enjoy the beach. If you are looking for relaxation or a little adventure, this Island has it all.

Most people don't know this but September is a wonderful time to come to Beaver Island. The weather is perfect and the colors are spectacular!

The cottage features 3 bedrooms plus a hide-a-bed. One of the bedrooms is on the first floor. The cottage has 2 full bathrooms, there is a nice family area and kitchen with stainless steel appliances. We have a fire pit and a beach house. There is a nice deck with a picnic table that seats about 10. The cottage comes with plenty of fans if you need them but if you open the windows you will be treated to a very nice breeze that keeps the house very comfortable in the summer.

Beaver Island is the most remote inhabited island in the Great Lakes, located in Lake Michigan about 30 miles north of Charlevoix.

There are fine museums, gift shops, art galleries, a golf course and tennis courts, Island tours, house parties, classes at CMU, and dances and plays at the Hall. Much of what the island offers is free: beachcombing, bird watching, biking, camping, hunting, fishing, x-c skiing, or exploring the other islands. There are over 100 miles of scenic roads, and too many old trails to count.

You may come to the island by ferry service from Charlevoix, charter boat, or airplane.

Getting to the Island:

Two businesses provide regular air transportation between Charlevoix and the island. The trip takes about 15 minutes each way, and both carriers make several trips daily, based on passenger reservations.

Fresh Air Aviation - (231)237-9482 or (888)359-7448. Island Airways (231)547-2141 (Charlevoix).

Beaver Island Boat Company, Charlevoix - (231)547-2311 or (888)446-4095. A 2-hour ferry ride to the island from Charlevoix. Call them for prices. Bicycles cost extra. Ferries run daily from June to Mid-September (usually one crossing per day, but up to four times on peak travel days), with a reduced schedule (at least M/W/F) beginning in April and ending in mid-December. The vessel, Emerald Isle, is used for most journeys and is wheelchair accessible.

Car ferry service from Charlevoix is available from Beaver Island Boat Company (see above). Prices vary. You must make reservations to ensure a spot on the boat for your vehicle. Number to call is (231)547-2311.

You can also rent a car while on the Island:

Beaver Island Car Rentals (231)448-2300

Gordon's Auto Rentals (231)448-2438

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Diane Moreno, Manager (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 9 traveler reviews

Lake Michigan Vacation Cottage
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
5

beautiful, peaceful

  • 5 of 5

first time to beaver island, went to music festival. Had a great time. House is really nice. Beautiful, peaceful setting. Secluded, yet close to town. Basement did have a damp smell, but we didn't really need/use that space.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beaver Island

  • 5 of 5

The home was clean, spacious and very comfortable.

We found plenty to do, swim, hike, drive the trials, tour the light houses, rescue turtles from the road. The yard is Hugh, plenty of room for bonfires, exploring. Our family enjoyed our stay. The washer and dryer was a nice convince. The kitchen was well stocked, we bbq'd on the deck and truly enjoyed our getaway.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Dakota
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

Pure relaxation. Easy to town. Easy to south end of island. Beautiful mornings. Great Stars at night. Close to everything on the island, but also far removed. Perfect in every way.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beaver Island

  • 5 of 5

The home was clean, spacious and very comfortable.

We found plenty to do, swim, hike, drive the trials, tour the light houses, rescue turtles from the road. The yard is Hugh, plenty of room for bonfires, exploring. Our family enjoyed our stay. The washer and dryer was a nice convince. The kitchen was well stocked, we bbq'd on the deck and truly enjoyed our getaway.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Wonderful Location, Great House

  • 4 of 5

The Mermaid House is perfect for a quiet getaway in a fairly secluded spot. The house is well-maintained with good beds, modern bathrooms and kitchen, and decent furniture. The view on the deck and beach house is wonderful by day, and the stars are fabulous in the dark nights. We enjoyed the grill, but were disappointed that it was caked with grease and char from previous users (and we were told it would be charcoal when in fact it uses little Coleman propane tanks). I agree with other reviewers about the basement; it has a mildew issue, so do not plan on using it as functional living space. I give the property 4.5 stars, only because of the dirty grill, missing "official" garbage bag needed to turn in trash at the transfer station, and mildew in the basement. I would totally go back, though, because these are small problems. Tips: take propane (not charcoal) for the grill, take DEET, ask about firewood in advance (it's nearly impossible to find on this island!).

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Paul, thank you for your comments. It helps us make our property better. I'm glad you had a great time there. I will note that the "official" bags are a requirement of the Island. They have very strict trash removal and recycling regulations that we are required to follow. Also, there are actually several places on the Island that sell firewood. Due to the Emerald Ash Borer outbreak in Michigan, bringing firewood to the Island is prohibited. . The DNR is trying to protect the Island from infestation. Regards, Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The Mermaid

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was very enjoyable. The house was peaceful, well taken care of, and had an excellent view. Beaver Island is now a family favorite and we would definitely love to stay at The Mermaid again.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Beaver Island Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$180
From
$195
Fri,Sat
$1,260
$5,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $115 + Tax
Admin fee $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 6.0%

Car ferry service to the Island - www.bibco.com. Make your reservations early!! Max of 8 guests.
Guest to provide their own sheets/towels/linens
Minimum stay may be required for peak seasons. Prices for Holiday Weekends may be higher.
Check in is 3pm, Check out is 10am

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Beaver Island Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located on 2nd floor
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located on first floor
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Hide-a-bed located in lower level
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Located on first floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Located on 2nd floor
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Located on 2nd floor
  • Plenty of room for guest-provided air mattresses, cots or sleeping bags!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties