check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Frank Diephuis

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, dutch

Centenary Villa on the edge of mountain village near Madrid

11 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms4
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 - 8 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Miraflores de la Sierra Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description

Historic Villa with 3 bedrooms sleeping 6, private garden and swimming pool

Villa Carmen del Rosal is a centenary Villa on the edge of one of the most beautiful mountain villages in the Madrid area, Miraflores de la Sierra. It has a private entrance, terrace with beautiful views, secluded garden with roses and lilas and a salt water swimming pool. Villa Carmen del Rosal is the choice for those that are looking for a romantic and characterful holiday home... The stone walls, wooden beams, high windows, fire place... its the perfect place to relax both in summer and winter. Also great location for visits to Madrid (40 minutes) and day trips to El Escorial, Segovia, Toledo, Salamanca, and Avila. Just a five minute walk from the shops, cafes and many excellent restaurants of Miraflores. Situated along one of the ancient 'via pecuarias', nowadays walking routes, its also an excellent place for horseback riding, hiking, mountain climbing, paragliding and biking.

Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Frank Diephuis (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, dutch

About Frank Diephuis

With a passion for nature, mountain sports and restoring historic buildings, the purchase of Villa Carmen in Miraflores de la Sierra was a logical decision. It took two years to restore and decorate the house and obtain the appropriate permissions for opening it as a Casa Rural (Bed & Breakfast).

Frank Diephuis purchased this chateau / country house in 2007

Reviews

4.8
based on 11 traveler reviews

Centenary Villa on the edge of mountain village near Madrid
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
5

Cosy New Year's Weekend With Friends

  • 5 of 5

After having spent two New Year's Eve in the Belgian Ardennes, I finally convinced my Dutch sister and her friends that Madrid's Sierra is at least as beautiful. So we booked Frank's casa rural with a typical Dutch touch of "gezelligheid"(=cosiness). We definitely had a blast, enjoying the chimney, the couch AND the wonderful surroundings, doing several hikes in all possible directions. Frank took care of the slightest detail! I can recommend this to EVERYONE that wants a weekend away from it all!

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Wish we had more time

  • 5 of 5

Great place to experience true Spanish living in luxury, and discover Madrid and surrounding area. Owner is an excellent host and best travel guide. I would follow his itinerary again. We were able to see Toledo Segovia El Escorial, Avilla and following owner's tips for the hidden gems in the region, the nature drive, medieval villages and monasteries. The best part was coming home to the Villa do some cooking along with wine. Our daughter adopted the neighborhood cat, and we all had had a great time.

The villa had all the comforts of home, walking distance to all amenities in town to do shopping or dinning out. We would definitely visit again.

More than enough for our family of four, easily suitable for 6 people.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Charming Villa

  • 5 of 5

My Family and I stayed at the villa for 2 weeks,The Villa has 3 good sized double bedrooms and has been tastefully decorated to a high standard.The pool is private and secure with a great terrace for BBQ and late night drinks.

The local town has plenty of restaurents and bars,There is a small super market near by and local shops with fresh produce.

There is a very good road network with Madrid and near by towns

Frank the owner was very welcoming and was happy to give advice about Madrid and the local area.

Overall it was a great holiday in a lovely location

  • Submitted: May 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Recommended - beautiful villa, great location

  • 5 of 5

Villa Carmen is an absolutely beautiful villa in a great location (quiet residential road with hardly any cars driving past). Has large outdoor area with enough room to sit on the top patio or by the large pool, which is not overlooked. The two are separated by 12 steep stone steps. Rooms are spacious with stone walls and high ceilings, keeping the villa cool. It was very clean and had essentials inc microwave, kettle, dishwasher & washing machine.

The owner of the villa, Frank, is extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't have any problems and he made sure we had everything we needed (even went out immediately when he realised we didn't have a hair drier and bought one, even though he was going away that day, and most shops were closed, being Sunday). Frank recommended some really nice restaurants as well as places to go if we wanted a day trip, worth asking him for tips!

The town is 10 mins walk away and has some lovely restaurants, most serving until around 10pm. One restaurant, Ilerja, at the end of the parade, serves amazing steaks, not too pricey! Staff are very helpful and friendly. A restaurant which served good Tapas and succulent steak was by a church on a cobbled street (can't remember the name, Frank will know).

One restaurant TO AVOID is Meson Maito - food was disgusting. Lamb soup had been bulked up with soggy bread and lumps of fat, the salads were un-appetising. Staff were unhelpful, bordering on rude. Cost of the meal for 6 people which included 2 soups, 4 salads and 6 Cokes was well over 100euros.

The supermarket is about 5 mins walk away (up steep hill, probably not suitable for those with walking difficulties) and is quite large - sells anything you’d need for the week. We got fresh bread from a little shop in town (check name with Frank) and opposite is a deli with a huge range of ham and cheese.

Madrid is an hour away, bus goes from the main road (5 mins walk away). When you get to the bus station I'd recommend finding another bus that goes straight to the town centre (Sol) as we tried to walk before realising it would take 2 hours. We had a car as it was cheaper than getting transfers from the airport as there were 6 of us. Handy for trips to supermarket but unless you’re planning day trips you wouldn't really need one.

I’d definitely recommend visiting Villa Carmen. We had a lovely, relaxing holiday, and ate delicious food - all in a stunning location.

If I get the chance to go back again then I will do!

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Emma for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family in Villa Carmen and I surely hope you will have the chance to come back some day in the future. Concerning your comments on the restaurants, this is very helpfull for our future clients.. I will prepare for our guests a "scorecard", keeping track of the quality of food & services provided by the local restaurants. Concerning transportation, and for those that would rather not rent a car, please let me know and I will be happy to organize the transfer to/from the airport for groups up to 6 persons. Kind regards, Frank
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

This Villa is extremely nice

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I found this the Perfect place to stay for a week and plan for our next stay for 10 days as there is so much to do, and at the same time it's a quiet place to relax.

Special note to the Owner: very Charming and pleasant, explaining what we wanted to learn about the activities around, a warm welcome: thanks!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
amersfoort, the netherlands
5

A week in Miraflores

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this beautiful house for a week, together with our one year old daughter. We had a very good stay, the owner is very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the weather wasn't too good so the water in the swimming pool wasn't warm enough to swim in. This place offers enough to enjoy your holiday though; it's close to Madrid and other places of interest and is surrounded by mountains.

Well worth a visit!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Kilometres
Madrid
Nearest Barpub
800 Metres
Bar España
Nearest Ferry
300 Kilometres
Santander
Nearest Golf
10 Kilometres
Club de Campo
Nearest Train
20 Kilometres
Colmenar
Nearest Motorway
15 Kilometres
A1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Maito
Nearest Ski
35 Kilometres
Valdesqui
Nearest Beach
300 Kilometres
Santander
Car: recommended

Villa Carmen del Rosal is a centenary Villa located on the edge of one of the most beautiful mountain villages in the area of Madrid. Surrounded by the mountains of a nature reserve, this is the ideal place for nature lovers. Hiking, mountaineering, cycling, skiing, horseback riding are some of the many sports that can be practiced in the direct surroundings of the house.

A short distance from Madrid, Segovia and other places of cultural and historical interest, Villa Carmen is also excellent starting point for excursions.

Golf: There are several golf courses in the vicinity of the village. There is a 9 hole golf course in Colmenar Viejo (15 minutes), a 18-holes course in Algete 'Race' (20 minutes) and another 18 holes course in Algete 'Retamares' (30 minutes).

There are possibilities for skiing at just a few kilometers from Miraflores. The Canencia and Morcuera mountain passes are excellent points departure for cross country skiing. The small ski resorts of Valdesqui and Navacerrada are located at only 40 km.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Miraflores de la Sierra Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Autumn
Sep 15 2016 - Dec 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
$146
From
$214
Fri,Sat
$1,012
$3,036
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 29 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,068
Flat fee
 
 
New Year
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 6 2017
8 night minimum stay
$1,181
Flat fee
 
 
invierno
Jan 8 2017 - Mar 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$124
From
$197
Fri,Sat
$956
$2,249
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest
 
primavera
Mar 18 2017 - May 26 2017
2 night minimum stay
$135
From
$219
Fri,Sat
$1,068
$3,036
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $17 per night, per additional guest
 
Easter
Apr 10 2017 - Apr 17 2017
8 night minimum stay
$1,293
Flat fee
 
 
early summer
May 27 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$146
From
$236
Fri,Sat
$1,181
$3,373
 
 
summer
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,293
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $17 per night, per additional guest
 
late summer
Sep 3 2017 - Oct 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$146
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,181
$3,373
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $17 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$135
$1,068
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Tarifas basadas en una ocupación de 6 personas. Por favor informase de las tarifas para grupos más pequeños / grandes. En verano se dará prioridad a las reservas de 1 o mas semanas.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Miraflores de la Sierra Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Floor Area:
  • 100 m²
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Village
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , En suite La Parra
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , En suite La Lilas
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , En suite El Rosal
    guest house - toilet , shower , casa independiente
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , La Parra
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , La Lilas
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , El Rosal
    guest house - 2 twin/ single , casa independiente
  • There are 3 lovely bedrooms all with en suite bathroom. Sleeping of 6 - 8 people. Both 'Las Lilas' and 'El Rosal' are on the back side of the house, in the shade of the old chestnut trees and with views, high up, of the Morcuera mountain pass. The 'La Parra' bedroom is on the front side of the house, looking out on the terrace and garden and with distant view of the San Pedro mountain peak. All beds are of very good quality and 2 metres long. The old 80 cm thick walls will keep the temperature of the house even in the warm summer days pleasant and cool. This in combination with the silence and peacefulness of the location, is guarantee enough for a good night of sleep. Optionally you can rent also the guesthouse 'Casita del Rosal', part of the Villa Carmen property. The guesthouse has a independent living room, meeting room and bed room with en-suite bathroom. En combination with Villa Carmen an excelent alternative for those that want to organize a small meeting or celebration.
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Villa Carmen del Rosal is a centenary Villa on the edge of a beautiful mountain villages in the Madrid province. Private entrance, terrace with beautiful views, secluded garden with roses and lilas and a salt water swimming pool. Its the choice for those that are looking for a romantic and characterful holiday home. Stone walls, wooden beams, high windows, fire place.. perfect to relax both in summer & winter. Great location for visits to Madrid (35 minutes) & day trips to El Escorial, Segovia, Toledo, Salamanca & Avila. Five minutes walk from shops, cafes & many excellent restaurants of Miraflores. Situated along one of the ancient 'via pecuarias', nowadays walking routes, its also an excellent place for horseback riding, hiking, mountain climbing and biking. For groups up to 7 persons, we offer transport & airport transfer services. Within regular hours (8 am - 8 pm) Madrid 50€, Airport 65€, Segovia 85€. Also pack prices available.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties