Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Buena Vista: Large home with SW ocean views -includes sunset cruise on 35' sloop

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights


Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths View Home On Acreage

Enjoy Galiano's holiday season... Relax and enjoy spectacular views over Trincomali Channel, Walker's Hook and Vancouver Island mountains from our south-west facing custom cedar built cottage. The palliated woodpeckers, bald eagles and deer will charm you as you enjoy your morning java in the 'snug' ...the morning coffee klatch or lie in bed while watching the sailboats beating to windward from the master bedroom's picture window.

During July and August the tall ships out of Victoria cruise down the channel - you may even spot the mizzen-top-gallant-stay-sail being hoisted. The night sky, unencumbered by city lights, twinkles above the open deck and shooting stars fall gracefully. The privacy of the cottage allows you to fully enjoy the majestic 400 year old Douglas Fir trees in the back of the property.

The tastefully decorated and equipped 2-story home includes all the basics to make your stay comfortable and fun. The heritage (tuned) upright piano, guitar(s) and percussion instruments have resulted in many a musical evening. The indoor swing, magic kid's loft and outdoor trampoline and vaulting horse ensure the kids are having as much fun as you. The large gas barbecue on the deck can be put into service while you enjoy drinks and your meal while the sunset puts you in a perfect space.

The Master bedroom with a full en-suite bathroom has a very comfortable Queen size bed, and the second downstairs bedroom also comes with a queen. On the main floor are 2 more bedrooms (1 queen, 1 double), a full bathroom with tub, full laundry facilities, living room, snug, dining area and large equipped kitchen opening out onto the southwest facing deck.

The half mile lane-way ensures privacy, beauty and nature. Ganner Beach is a short hike or drive and the mid-island location means you are not too far from any of Galiano's stunning beaches and hikes, nor the stores, ferries or golf course. A nature lover's hike starts just out the back door and takes you high up on Galiano's famous ridge.

The property is just 10 minutes from the stores, restaurants and Hummingbird Inn and 15 from the ferries. The large lawn can be set up for games such as croquet and volleyball.

More Details

George or Karen Harris
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 25, 2016

About George or Karen Harris

We have been part of the Galiano community for 30 years. I was born back east but nothing could keep me from the Gulf Islands. My wife was born in BC and spent much of her childhood visiting her grandparents in the Gulf Islands. Our 5 kids had a ball growing up in this house. Besides sharing our home with visitors, we run the Gulf Islands Film & Television School, a digital media centre for juniors, teens & adults on the adjacent property.

George or Karen Harris purchased this cabin in 1987

Why George or Karen Harris chose British Columbia Gulf Islands

Our house offers a relaxing and private setting. The location is perfectly situated half way up the island so nothing is too far away. We have never locked our doors but you are more than welcome to. Crime is something is that is virtually unheard of on Galiano. We love taking a picnic to a nearby beach and watching the sunsets and marine life.

What makes this cabin unique

The morning coffee on the large deck or from the master bedroom's comfy bed looking out at the sailboats beating to windward is the best.

Our island is home to more artists, filmmakers, writers, sculptors, musicians and interesting characters than any place we have ever visited. The locals are particularly friendly allowing Galiano to have the reputation of being home to Canada's best hitch-hiking!


Galiano Island Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Away From It All
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs off Master Bedroom
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main Floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Downstairs
    Bedroom 3 (Master) - 1 queen , Downstairs with ensuite and attached sitting room
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


3.6/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Buena Vista: Large home with SW ocean views -includes sunset cruise on 35' sloop
average rating of 3.5714285 based on 7 reviews

Homey and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

The property is located in a scenic location surrounded by some lovely huge trees, with a bit of view overlooking the inlet. The house sits about mid-island and that makes areas of beach and the stores quite accessible. The house was very homey and was certainly roomy enough for 10, and the 7 of us certainly enjoyed the nice outside deck as well as relaxing inside. The kitchen was well appointed with pots and pans and dishes, and bedding and towels were clean. Appliances were clean and maintained. There a few areas in the home that are starting to, or are needing maintenance, particularly the benches on one of the patio tables which we never used because of the splitting wood surface. If all of us had been able to be there, this would have been uncomfortable to eat outside. Enough fans were an issue to try to keep the place cool, as there were no shades to draw to keep out the sun. We were blessed with incredibly hot and sunny weather. So, if there were screens on the windows, this would have alleviated the heat and moved some air through the house without any bugs, and allowed the house to cool off at night. The road access up the hill was very bumpy and narrow, so could be a problem with rain or poor weather.

Our hosts were wonderful and certainly made our stay comfortable and congenial. We had one small problem and they were very prompt to respond and fix it. We received very detailed information and directions and lots of bits of what to do and see along with a listing of emergency contacts and info. I would certainly recommend this location for a large party or family wanting a quality and comfortable home to rent for a week.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

We found that the property did not live up to our expectations. We left after one night instead of staying for a week. There are no screens on any of the windows so opening windows was an invitation for mosquitos and dragon flies, which was needed as it was extremely hot inside. The kitchen and bedrooms were old and worn. For the price, we expected better based on our experience with a rental at another property the previous week. The deck and view was the best part and is very nice. Overall, a disappointment.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is a relief to finally hear what precipitated this guest's rapid departure. Our home is a cabin in the woods with a spectacular view. We are saddened that this guest was expecting something different. We seldom get many mosquitoes, nor very hot days. Several fans are provided for the few nights that are hot. We too, are disappointed at the durability of our kitchen, replaced almost 10 years ago, and now showing some wear and tear; although, it is in part due to some guests who do not treat our home with the care and attention they would their own. When the number that the house can accommodate is taken into account, our price is on the low end in our market. I suppose that those who have claimed to enjoy their stay here in the past few years were too busy enjoying the natural island beauty to be concerned about the condition of the kitchen cabinets. We are sorry that this guest chose to leave, but grateful that the number of repeat customers will mean that we will have fewer encounters such as this. Our sincerest apologies for our part in this misunderstanding, and we hope that she and her family were able to find a place to finish their vacation that bettered suited them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not happy

  • 1 of 5

Arrived at the property. Sadly it was dirty and not fit to stay in. Cobwebs on walls, dirty windows, dirt on the floors.

The owner returned and we got a full refund. Pretty gross and very disappointing.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sad to see our first guests in 20 years leave before experiencing the beauty and tranquility of Galiano Island. They were to be the first guests of the 2016 season and understand their concern the house was not clean. We offered to treat the entire family to dinner at pilgrimme, rated one of Canada's top restaurants. The pro cleaning team was hired to help us do a complete re clean while our guests went out. Unfortunately this was not something that worked for our guests. They were given a full refund on the spot and after we apologized, wished them well. An extremely unfortunate experience for this family. And now our house is sparkly clean.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
B.C. and Ontario

Galiano Family Home

  • 4 of 5

This rental is a comfortable, unpretentious family home. The house is clean and well-equipped. However, the children's play equipment was not appropriate for young children. We enjoyed the plentiful hummingbirds, flowers, and view of Trincomali Channel from the deck, and deer and raccoons in the yard. There were numerous art galleries within easy driving distance, and friendly and informative artisans. We enjoyed excellent meals - wood-fired pizza and lovely view at the Galiano Inn, great lunch at the Hummingbird Inn, and wonderful wild salmon burgers at the Grand Central Emporium.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 4
Kelowna, BC, Canada

Quiet oasis

  • 5 of 5

Quiet, secluded and lots of room. A great option if you like hiking, beach combing and quiet reflection.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Victoria, BC

Perfect place for an island getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful reunion at this property, which was spacious enough for 7 adults. The kitchen was very well equipped and the patio with large BBQ and stunning views was a highlight of our stay. The property was clean, private, comfortable and very good value. I would recommend this vacation rental to families or groups of friends.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Vancouver and Victoria International Airports
Nearest Barpub
10 Kilometres
Hummingbird Inn
Nearest Ferry
12 Kilometres
Tsawwessen or Swartz Bay Terminal
Nearest Golf
11 Kilometres
Galiano Golf & Country Club
Nearest Train
25 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
25 Kilometres
Trans Canada
Nearest Restaurant
10 Kilometres
Wild1, Flying Black Dog, Hummingbird Inn or Marina
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
Ganner Beach
Car: recommended

Our home is located mid-island on a low ridge. A wonderful hike out the back door will lead you up to a famous Galiano ridge with more breathtaking vistas. The house is also in the neighbourhood of the award winning film camp, the Gulf Islands Film & Television School. A short hike will bring you to the public Saturday afternoon screenings.


Rates & Availability

Galiano Island Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $8

Summer and Christmas season rentals are weekly only from SATURDAY to SATURDAY.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)

Partner Offers