check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Tom and Lucinda

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german

AugustSALE! Beach Front, Hot Tub, Pool Table, Foosball Table, Bikes, WiFi!

48 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Florida House Rental Photos and Description

Beach Front House with 3 BRs, 2 Bath, game room, hot tub.

The Blue Marlin is charming beach front home with many amenities. It has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a large living room area, bright spacious dining area and well equipped kitchen with all new appliances. The living area has a large flat screen TV with cable channels, blu ray DVD, free movies. The house also features a stereo/CD player, 3 additional flat screens TVs in the bedrooms, PlayStation 2, free wireless internet, hot and cold outdoor shower, fish cleaning sink, adult and children bicycles, games, beach chairs and beach gear.

We also added a private game room with a full size slate pool table, foos ball table and hot tub!

We have plenty outdoor seating on our upper and lower decks to enjoy the view of the Gulf. Walk off the deck and you are on one of the world's most beautiful beaches. The house is on 100' of beachfront offering you fabulous views of sunrises and sunsets!

The Blue Marlin is a amazing vacation location for you and your family. Swim with the dolphins, fish, or just recline on the white, sugary sand. When you're done with the beach, enjoy the outdoor hot/cold shower and prepare the day's catch on the park-style charcoal grill. Then enjoy a game of pool and a soak in the large hot tub.

At night, enjoy a show from the deck as you watch the stars as they light up the sky!

Make some wonderful memories at The Blue Marlin!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Tom and Lucinda (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german

About Tom and Lucinda

Hello and thank you for looking at our beach house! We live in Miami, Fl but enjoy spending time on the quaint island of St. George. We also enjoy time in Tennessee at our cabins. Tom grew up in Switzerland and Lucinda grew up in New York state. We are active people that like to travel to unique places - together we have traveled to 5 continents (hoping to hit all 7!) We were exploring the Florida Panhandle when we happened upon St. George Island and fell in love with the tranquil beaches. We enjoy all the beach activities, great weather and friendly people. We hope you enjoy The Blue Marlin and the island as much as we do.

Tom and Lucinda purchased this house in 2013

Why Tom and Lucinda chose Florida

After we bought our first house, Serendipity, on St. George Island, we knew this was a place that we needed to have more connections. The Blue Marlin has wonderful views and a great beach front location. We are just a few steps to the beach which is the perfect location for us! St. George Island has many conveniences we want including great recreational activities year round, delicious restaurants, nice people and small town feel.

What makes this house unique

The outdoor space, large beach front lot and plenty of space to share with your family and friends.

The game room is a wonderful place to spend evenings,rainy days or anytime you want to have fun!

Reviews

4.8
based on 48 traveler reviews

AugustSALE! Beach Front, Hot Tub, Pool Table, Foosball Table, Bikes, WiFi!
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 48 reviews
5

Fourth of July at the Blue Marlin

  • 5 of 5

For the past fifteen years we have taken a family vacation to St. George which started with our son and daughter in law. Now the week includes our two beautiful grandchildren that we have been blessed with, and sometimes we have "Maw-Maw", my 81 year old mother, and a grand-dog. The fourth of July week at the Blue Marlin was near perfect. The home was cozy and so close to the beautiful beaches and ocean that we could enjoy the view from the deck. This location is perfect for families and I loved seeing and hearing other families enjoying the beach. Maw-Maw has difficulty getting around but for the first time in many years, she was able to make the trek to the beautiful beach. This is mostly because the house was in such a great location and the beach access was close to the best we've ever had. The Blue Marlin was perfect for our family this year. Our grandchildren and grand-dog were as happy as could be. The game room and hot tub were a huge hit with everyone as well. The home was exactly as described. It was very clean and there were beach towels, and plenty of linens. There were all sorts of beach toys and chairs and bikes. Tom and Lucinda, the owners, were wonderful to check in on us to make sure everything was as it should be. They really made our week as enjoyable as possible. My mom told me as we were leaving, "It has been a great week. I got to do things that I thought I would never be able to do again, walking down to the beach and spending time as a family on the beach." That moved this family vacation to the top of my list as the best ever.

Rhonda Massengill

Calhoun, Georgia

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One week isn't enough

  • 5 of 5

No complaints from our group of 6 (ages from 59 to 12). The house is as described and pictured. The beds were very comfortable. The A/C uit worked great. The bikes could use a tune up, but what do can you expect when they are outdoors at the ocean. Very convenient location and very quiet beach. Dogs loved the place too. Would totally go back tomorrow!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Linda We are glad you had a great time at The Blue Marlin/ It is true - the bicycles do take a beating with the moist and salty ocean air. We replace them every year or so and do our best to "de rust" them throughout the year. The bicycle rental places face the same problem - but at least our guests do not have to pay $ 5- $10 a day per bike that the rental places charge and can use our 6 free bikes for free. Our dogs love to hang out on the deck and watch the beach and the world go by - that is why installed a gate be the deck stairs so we don't have to worry that they run off. We hope to see you back at one of our houses on St. George Island in the future Thank you for choosing The Blue Marlin Tom + Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Vence & Melinda

  • 5 of 5

First, I would like to apologize for the tardiness of this review. Now that I have that out of the way, let's assess the rental house.

Too bad we couldn't rate this as a six star destination. We picked through many locations before settling on the Blue Marlin. We needed the perfect place to get married and we found it in the Blue Marlin!!! The kitchen is fully furnished and immaculate. The view is phenomenal. We enjoyed the bikes immensely. The hot tub was so very relaxing. The entire place was perfect. I would gladly recommend the Blue Marlin to anyone that wants to get away from the daily grind or for people that want to tie the knot. ;-)

We ran into two plumbing problems. Normally that would be an issue but with this rental it truly turned into a plus! We had a pipe to burst in the gaming area and a shower head came off. We called Lucinda and she had someone there within the hour repairing it. We were VERY impressed with how quickly she remedied the situations.

I noticed that other people complained about the shower in master bedroom. We had no problem with the size of shower at all. It's listed as a shower and not a gymnasium. I wholeheartedly agree with the listing.

Also, for anyone going to the lighthouse, see if you can spot the brick named for Tom and Lucinda.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

First time islanders

  • 5 of 5

Can't wait to come back again. We would get this same house, every thing was excellent. Beds were comfy. We had teenage kids and they loved the game room. Everything was clean and anything we needed was there. Loved sitting in hot tub with the ocean in the background. Loved watching dolphins swimming from the deck.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jackie We are so glad that you enjoyed The Blue Marlin and your first visit to St. George Island! The game room and hot tub are a perfect way to relax and enjoy the views and island life. We hope you will return! Enjoy the summer, Tom and Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful location and a great vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time and everything was great. /The game room and bikes were a big hit. We looked at other houses along the beach but yours was the only one that looked and felt like a HOME. I am terminal with cancer and heart failure so don;t know if I will make it next year but God willing we will probably want to rent your home again. Sea gulls, blue herron, and porposes were entertaining...Have a blessed day and thanks again. Ruth and Conrad

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Ruth and Conrad We are so happy that you enjoyed The Blue Marlin. And that you felt at home. Thank you so much for selecting our home. We pray that you stay strong and live many more happy years. Warm regards, Tom and Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Location, Location!

  • 3 of 5

If you are looking for a relaxing beach retreat, SGI is a refreshing break from the hustle and bustle of overly crowded tourist towns like PCB. By far, the best thing about Blue Marlin is the location; it is just a few steps from the beach with a breath-taking ocean view from the back deck. Otherwise, it seems long overdue for some TLC and updating which would make the stay much more enjoyable. Upon arrival, it was "clean," but in desperate need of attention to detail. The kitchen cabinets and bathroom vanities needed to be wiped down to remove streaks and stains, and they could really use a fresh coat of paint if nothing else. The baseboards and legs of the chairs and stools also needed attention; they had accumulated quite a bit of pet-hair. The filter in the vacuum probably needs to be replaced because it emitted a "wet dog" smell when used. Most of the dishes in the cabinets were dirty and needed a good pre-wash before using, and the skillets were badly scratched and need to be replaced. There is definitely a bug issue: ants crawling along the kitchen window and counter-tops, bugs in the main bathroom (kept coming in through the bathroom window which had about a one inch gap in the window seal), and bugs in the bedrooms every night! The owner did send someone over to spray mid-week, but it may not do much good until the gap in the window is addressed. The shower heads in the bathroom showers need to be updated--the water pressure was intense and if someone showered in the master bathroom the same time someone showered in the main bathroom, then the hot water disappeared. The lock on the front door needs to be repaired; it does not line up properly. You have to be sure to pull the door handle forward slightly before punching in the code or the door will not open. The hot tub could use a good cleaning; it was full of sand and bugs upon our arrival. If you have your own bikes, bring them. The bikes provided are old and rusty--nothing you could use to ride along the bike paths at the state park down the street. And beware the sand burs along the path to the beach! They are painful to step on and we had to dig a couple out of our pup's paws. I would also note, this house would not work well for someone who has issues climbing and descending stairs. Again, you cannot beat the location--so once they do some updating (which seems to be in the process), replacing, and more thorough cleaning, it has potential.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Luke We apologize if you did not find The Blue Marlin to your liking. As you know, we have 3 other fully renovated homes on the island but you opted for the more affordable traditional beach house. Most guests enjoy the beachy feel of The Blue Marlin. Tom was on the island when you were there. You did not mention anything about cleanliness or point out anything to him when he escorted the exterminator through the house. Which, the exterminator found 5 dead ants on the window sill- dead being the key word. We get regular extermination, and if you are not aware, Florida is a haven for bugs. There wasn’t anything wrong with the door. Guests before you and after you had no problem with the door. You yourself didn’t have an issue after we explained to you how to use the automated lock. The windows do close but they are old. However, we are replacing the windows in the fall, and continuing the updates. The bikes are replaced at least twice a year. If you would have looked at the bike rental places, you would have seen rusty bikes there too. It takes about a week for a new bike to rust. The salt air and humidity are terrible for any type of metal. You didn’t mention the large amount of kitchen and serving ware in our home – much more than most. These items are also replaced on a regular basis and we apologize if one of the pans was scratched. Yes, the house is on stilts, like the majority of homes on the island. However it is 1 level once you get inside which is very convenient for most families. The hot tub, which is in the game room is maintained and cleaned at least twice a week. We do not lie about The Blue Marlin being a traditional beach home in our advertisement. Perhaps next time you should rent a renovated modern home that you may prefer better. Tom and Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Tallahassee Regional Airport (TLH)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Harry A's
Nearest Golf
30 Miles
St James Bay
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
US 98
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Blue Parrot Ocean Front Cafe
Nearest Beach
St. George
Car: recommended

St. George Island is a peaceful Island where you can enjoy nature and the wonderful beach. The St. George Lighthouse, local artist galleries and restaurants serving local seafood are part of the charm of the island.

Photos

Rates & Availability

St George Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
July 2016
Jul 13 2016 - Jul 29 2016
3 night minimum stay
$500
$2,620
 
 
Summer
Jul 30 2016 - Aug 12 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,620
 
 
Late summer 2016
Aug 13 2016 - Aug 19 2016
5 night minimum stay
$321
$1,750
 
 
SALE!
Aug 20 2016 - Aug 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Late summer 2016
Aug 24 2016 - Aug 29 2016
5 night minimum stay
$321
$1,750
 
 
SALE!!
Aug 30 2016 - Aug 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 5 2016
5 night minimum stay
$321
From
$420
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,750
 
 
Early Fall 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Sep 26 2016
5 night minimum stay
$321
$1,750
 
 
Fall
Sep 27 2016 - Oct 8 2016
3 night minimum stay
$321
 
 
Autumn
Oct 9 2016 - Oct 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$321
$1,750
 
 
Fall 2016
Nov 5 2016 - Nov 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$276
$1,425
$3,550
 
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 27 2016
5 night minimum stay
$363
$2,195
$3,550
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 16 2016
3 night minimum stay
$276
$1,425
$3,550
 
 
Holidays 2016
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 2 2017
5 night minimum stay
$363
$2,195
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 10 2017
4 night minimum stay
$350
$1,600
$2,995
 
 
Spring Break 2017
Mar 11 2017 - Apr 17 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,545
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 18 2017 - May 19 2017
5 night minimum stay
$365
$1,815
 
 
Summer 2017
May 20 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,765
 
 
July 4th week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,965
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,765
 
 
Late summer 2017
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$375
$1,825
 
 
Labor Day 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 7 2017
5 night minimum stay
$375
From
$420
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,925
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 8 2017 - Nov 3 2017
5 night minimum stay
$375
$1,825
 
 
January 2018
Jan 3 2018 - Jan 31 2018
4 night minimum stay
$310
$1,425
$3,095
 
 
February 2018
Feb 1 2018 - Feb 28 2018
4 night minimum stay
$350
From
$225
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,600
$3,255
 

Additional information about rental rates

Booking $45
Cleaning $145 + Tax
Pet Fee $65 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

25% deposit on 2 week or longer stays.
Holiday weeks may be priced higher.
Nov 2014 or Dec 2014 (28 nights): $3900 includes the holiday week.
Dec 13, 2014 to Jan 3, 2015 (28 nights) $4800 includes 2 holiday weeks.
On non holiday weeks, the longer you stay the less expensive per night!
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed
Must be 25 to rent this property

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Florida House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Attached to bedroom with king bed
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Ensuite bathroom
  • All bedrooms have flat screen TV with cable
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The game room at the The Blue Marlin will delight young and old alike. Beach chairs, games and umbrellas are onsite for your use. Quiet location less than a mile from the main town. See the stars light up the sky at night!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties