check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Downie Manor

Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english

NEW SCENIC VACATION BUNGALOW VIEW OF THE RIVER

10 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Downieville Bungalow Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath House, Comfortable accommodations for 2 to 4.

Full stainless steel kitchen, dining area, granite tile bathroom and living area. Wireless high speed internet, TV, local channels. Private redwood deck with view of river. Walk to town,

steps to the river.

Located on “Walking Tour Map of Downieville”.

Available year-round in historic Downieville

Call or E-mail to book your stay in this magical, historical place.

downiemanor@att.net Sorry no Pets!

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Downie Manor (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Downie Manor

'Major' William H. Downie, a renowned gold prospector, recognized as the founder of Downieville, California.As the first house built in the area, this was a rustic log cabin situated high above the river. It is by virtue of this structure that Downie claimed to be the founder of Downieville. He was said to have offered a coffee can full of gold if they would name the town after him.

Downie Manor purchased this bungalow in 2010

Why Downie Manor chose Gold Country / High Sierra

A destructive fire in the early 2000, claimed Downie's original cabin site. Happily, a new bungalow has recently been completed on the site and is available for short term rental. You can experience the beauty and serenity which William Downie recounted in his memoirs. 'The scene that burst upon us was one of marvelous beauty and after these many years, it still lays before me like a lovely panorama in my recollection of the moment I first saw it.'

What makes this bungalow unique

Walk to town, steps to the river. Available All Year.

River view bedroom, pillow top queen bed. Granite and marble tile full bath. Spacious kitchen, breakfast bar, dining and living area. Full, pull-out sofa bed. Relaxing river view on private redwood deck. Large patio space

available for special events.

Reviews

4.3
based on 10 traveler reviews

NEW SCENIC VACATION BUNGALOW VIEW OF THE RIVER
average rating of 4.3 based on 10 reviews
4

Clean and Convenient

  • 4 of 5

This property is in a perfect location. Not right in the middle of town, but a perfect walk's length outside of downtown. This town is really cute, it surprised me, and my dad and I had some really magical moments.

The apartment was clean and updated.

The cons are: The foldout couch is not comfortable for anyone who sleeps on a decent mattress, contrary to what I was told. The apartment is a bit dark and stuffy as there are only windows on one side of every room. There was a little bit of confusion about check-in, but was cleared up with a phone call. It was confusing about where to put our car, the garage instructions are not up to date. We ended up opening the garage manually. I gave four stars but was somewhere between 3 and 4 as I think it's a bit overpriced for one bed. I really felt bad that my dad had to sleep on the foldout, he did not get good rest. I have had some back problems recently so it wasn't even an option for me. It does not hold it's form, and you can feel the springs, not up to snuff for the price, sorry.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pleasant Hill, CA
4

Little Gem

  • 4 of 5

It is a small bungalow a short walk from downtown. Very clean, with all the amenities. My wife and I were in town to mountain bike, so it was very convenient for the Yuba shuttles. We will be back for sure!

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect spot for a family of 4

  • 4 of 5

Overall a perfect place for a midweek escape to the mountains. Fit our family of 4 well, and is perfectly close to town for evening walks down to get ice cream and jump in the river.

"Master" bedroom bed is fine, roll away and sofa bed mattresses are not great. Thankfully, our kids didn't mind:)

The cabin itself is all new construction with new appliances, a nice small deck with outdoor dining table, and charcoal BBQ,

Since Downieville is a sleepy town even on a busy day, we planned to prepare most of our own meals. Local grocery stores aren't well stocked, so I'd suggest bringing most of what you'll want to use to cook. The kitchen works well. The pots, pans, and utensils are not high quality, but are adequate for most things. Many other VRBO places we've stayed have more "leftover" stuff that's useful (salt, pepper, spices, oil, etc.). However, since this place is very clean of such items (for better or worse!). So, bring everything your expecting to need.

We stayed 3 nights, took advantage of both Yuba Expeditions' and Downieville Outfitters' frequent mountain bike shuttles up to Packer Saddle.

Everyone in town is friendly, and seems genuinely interested in making sure you find what you are looking for, including the property owner, who quickly addressed the only issue we had.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
3

Wanted to love it

  • 3 of 5

We were very excited about this cute getaway cottage in Downieville, and while the property itself was nice, there were hiccups along the way that detracted from our stay. When we arrived, the key was not where we were told it would be, so we had to go into town and use a phone at the bar to call the owner to let us in (if you have ATT, your cell phone will not work in Downieville). Luckily they were quick to arrive and let us in, so not too bad, just an inconvenience. Then, the wifi did not work during our stay. We informed the manager, by using a phone in the grocery store this time, but the issue was not resolved during our stay. Sure, part of getting away is also "unplugging" from life, but since our cell phones also didn't work, this was quite inconvenient, especially when the property advertises having internet. The cottage itself is nice with an updated bathroom and kitchen. The rugs could use a good cleaning, but it was overall nice. A great location, with a short walk to restaurants, grocery store, the river, and trails.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Francisco
3

One night stay

  • 3 of 5

My family of 5 stayed here for one night on our way to Tahoe ( the scenic route). It was clean and cozy. A small issue with the linens but the owner responded. Great little town and fantastic view from the bridge across the street.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Middletown, CA
5

Tea N Tee

  • 5 of 5

This is a cute and very clean little house, with all the amenities. There's satellite TV, which was great. We were able to watch the Giants play. My husband and I were there for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. There's not a lot to do in Downieville, so we went to Truckee for a day. That took us about an hour to get to. However, Downieville has its own beauty and we did alot of walking. People were very friendly there as well. We'd love to go back and stay again.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back! Lisa @Downie Manor
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
St Charles Place
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Historic Hwy 49
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Grubstake Steak House
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Downieville Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$145
From
$160
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,060
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $45
Tax Rate 10.0%

A cleaning deposit may be higher for long term stays.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Downieville Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Master - 1 queen , Single rollaway bed and a full inflatible bed are available
    Bedroom/ Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , New Double size, memory foam sofa-pullout bed.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • library
  • museums
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
ATTEND! Gold Rush Days, a step back in time, Fourth of July 'Fireless Fireworks' and Parade, Yuba Theater movie nights, Downieville Classic Bike Race, and the Antique Bottle Show, to name just a few. EXPERIENCE! Within walking distance, The Sierra favorite “Grubstake Saloon n Restaurant', La Cocina Mexican takeout w/ river deck seating, Two River’s Café International Cuisine and ”, & the Mountian Bakery. 7 restaurants/café’s, St Charles Saloon and 49er Wine Bar. EXPLORE! Re-live the gold rush days as you drive along Hwy 49 to Downieville or view memorable Fall colors in October. Visit our museums/mines. FISH! and Swim! In the clear waters of the Yuba River and its tributaries and in mountain lakes. SHOP! 9 shops along 3 blocks! RIDE&HIKE! To hidden lakes or lofty mountain peaks on the well-marked trails maintained by the USFS. WALK! Grab the “Walking Tour Map” from any merchant. 23 fascinating historical sites from the gold rush era. This is “The Playground of the Sierras!'

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties