Full stainless steel kitchen, dining area, granite tile bathroom and living area. Wireless high speed internet, TV, local channels. Private redwood deck with view of river. Walk to town,
steps to the river.
Located on “Walking Tour Map of Downieville”.
Available year-round in historic Downieville
Call or E-mail to book your stay in this magical, historical place.
firstname.lastname@example.org Sorry no Pets!
'Major' William H. Downie, a renowned gold prospector, recognized as the founder of Downieville, California.As the first house built in the area, this was a rustic log cabin situated high above the river. It is by virtue of this structure that Downie claimed to be the founder of Downieville. He was said to have offered a coffee can full of gold if they would name the town after him.
Downie Manor purchased this bungalow in 2010
A destructive fire in the early 2000, claimed Downie's original cabin site. Happily, a new bungalow has recently been completed on the site and is available for short term rental. You can experience the beauty and serenity which William Downie recounted in his memoirs. 'The scene that burst upon us was one of marvelous beauty and after these many years, it still lays before me like a lovely panorama in my recollection of the moment I first saw it.'
Walk to town, steps to the river. Available All Year.
River view bedroom, pillow top queen bed. Granite and marble tile full bath. Spacious kitchen, breakfast bar, dining and living area. Full, pull-out sofa bed. Relaxing river view on private redwood deck. Large patio space
available for special events.
This property is in a perfect location. Not right in the middle of town, but a perfect walk's length outside of downtown. This town is really cute, it surprised me, and my dad and I had some really magical moments.
The apartment was clean and updated.
The cons are: The foldout couch is not comfortable for anyone who sleeps on a decent mattress, contrary to what I was told. The apartment is a bit dark and stuffy as there are only windows on one side of every room. There was a little bit of confusion about check-in, but was cleared up with a phone call. It was confusing about where to put our car, the garage instructions are not up to date. We ended up opening the garage manually. I gave four stars but was somewhere between 3 and 4 as I think it's a bit overpriced for one bed. I really felt bad that my dad had to sleep on the foldout, he did not get good rest. I have had some back problems recently so it wasn't even an option for me. It does not hold it's form, and you can feel the springs, not up to snuff for the price, sorry.
It is a small bungalow a short walk from downtown. Very clean, with all the amenities. My wife and I were in town to mountain bike, so it was very convenient for the Yuba shuttles. We will be back for sure!
Overall a perfect place for a midweek escape to the mountains. Fit our family of 4 well, and is perfectly close to town for evening walks down to get ice cream and jump in the river.
"Master" bedroom bed is fine, roll away and sofa bed mattresses are not great. Thankfully, our kids didn't mind:)
The cabin itself is all new construction with new appliances, a nice small deck with outdoor dining table, and charcoal BBQ,
Since Downieville is a sleepy town even on a busy day, we planned to prepare most of our own meals. Local grocery stores aren't well stocked, so I'd suggest bringing most of what you'll want to use to cook. The kitchen works well. The pots, pans, and utensils are not high quality, but are adequate for most things. Many other VRBO places we've stayed have more "leftover" stuff that's useful (salt, pepper, spices, oil, etc.). However, since this place is very clean of such items (for better or worse!). So, bring everything your expecting to need.
We stayed 3 nights, took advantage of both Yuba Expeditions' and Downieville Outfitters' frequent mountain bike shuttles up to Packer Saddle.
Everyone in town is friendly, and seems genuinely interested in making sure you find what you are looking for, including the property owner, who quickly addressed the only issue we had.
We were very excited about this cute getaway cottage in Downieville, and while the property itself was nice, there were hiccups along the way that detracted from our stay. When we arrived, the key was not where we were told it would be, so we had to go into town and use a phone at the bar to call the owner to let us in (if you have ATT, your cell phone will not work in Downieville). Luckily they were quick to arrive and let us in, so not too bad, just an inconvenience. Then, the wifi did not work during our stay. We informed the manager, by using a phone in the grocery store this time, but the issue was not resolved during our stay. Sure, part of getting away is also "unplugging" from life, but since our cell phones also didn't work, this was quite inconvenient, especially when the property advertises having internet. The cottage itself is nice with an updated bathroom and kitchen. The rugs could use a good cleaning, but it was overall nice. A great location, with a short walk to restaurants, grocery store, the river, and trails.
My family of 5 stayed here for one night on our way to Tahoe ( the scenic route). It was clean and cozy. A small issue with the linens but the owner responded. Great little town and fantastic view from the bridge across the street.
This is a cute and very clean little house, with all the amenities. There's satellite TV, which was great. We were able to watch the Giants play. My husband and I were there for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. There's not a lot to do in Downieville, so we went to Truckee for a day. That took us about an hour to get to. However, Downieville has its own beauty and we did alot of walking. People were very friendly there as well. We'd love to go back and stay again.
|Rate Period||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly||Event|
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
A cleaning deposit may be higher for long term stays.