Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A Sophisticated and Charming French Farmhouse

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom + loft/ 3 1/2 bath, includes 2 master suites mountain views

Pristine, Cozy and Charming! This Carmel Valley location is a cross between the Napa valley and a summer Tahoe experience! This is a three level home, newly renovated and professionally decorated. It features travertine tile and wood floors throughout two levels, with a carpeted loft. There are two travertine faced fireplaces. One is wood burning with gas, and one is purely gas with a blower. Additional features include French Doors, built-in bookcases and TV cabinetry, a wine bar, recessed lighting, PlayStation, 3 t.v.'s with dvd players and stereo surround sound, and recessed lighting. There are three bedrooms, two of which are master suites. Both masters have access to a 50 ft deck, complete with views of the mountains. Stairs give both bedrooms direct access to the hot tub, a fire table and outdoor seating for evening enjoyment.. Three bathrooms feature travertine showers, and one bathroom is complete with a tub. A half-bath services the downstairs. The loft has sleeping for one, and a sky light. The third bedroom sleeps 3-4 guests, and is great for kids. The kitchen features a range and gas oven, Bosch dishwasher, microwave, and everything a master chef would desire to have for cooking. The custom reclaimed wood dining table seats nine, and is fabulous for family dining, or entertaining friends. A down sofa and Pierre Deux french fabrics adorn the great room with the lively colors of France. Custom fabrics and touches of Restoration Hardware complete the home. Your stay includes 2 unlimited passes to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The stars at night are abundant here. The scent of fresh rosemary, lavender, and roses fill the air. Cricktets and tree frogs serenade you at night. It is by far the best place to relax and enjoy!


Owner
rob and susan farrens
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 25, 2017

About rob and susan farrens

We have lived in the central valley all of our lives. We love family, fitness and creating memories in beautiful places. We have been in the interior design and Health club industry for 33 years. We enjoy life and feel very blessed to have found carmel Valley.

rob and susan farrens purchased this chateau / country house in 2012

Why rob and susan farrens chose Central Coast California

I have spent the past 45 years vacationing in Carmel and Carmel Valley. As a designer, I have worked on many homes in Carmel and Pebble Beach; the beauty is simply unsurpassed! Our company recently opened six new health clubs within 20 miles or so of carmel valley. Our son attends Stevenson School, and we felt compelled to find a place of our own. Robbie is a national champion road cyclist, who found that the best roads to train on were clearly in Carmel Valley, so we named our home, 'Chateau Bicyclette'.

We fell in love with Carmel Valley because of the mild climate, relaxed atmosphere , the many wineries and exceptional restaurants, and the relaxed, friendly sense of community it offers.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

At first glance, we fell in love with the live oaks at our farmhouse. We loved the beautiful travertine and cherry wood finishes. However, the mountain view backdrop was what we truly fell in love with! As a family, we were charmed and mesmerized by the majestic landscape. We never tire of the views, and our outdoor hikes through the mountains. My 9-year old daughter spends hours playing with her golden retriever puppy in the bent grass lawn, and happily swinging on the rope swing under the mighty oak tree.

Amenities

Carmel Valley Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , travertine and granite shower and vanity.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , granite and travertine; very private
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , furniture vanity and travertine shower. great for kids!
    Bathroom 4 - off of living area.
  • Bathrooms are equipped with lush towels and bath soap.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , second master Pillow top mattress with down comforter
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , comfy beds with lots of pillows and fresh new blankets
    loft - 1 twin/ single , a great secret space retreat.
  • Bedrooms have brand new pillow top mattresses in the master and upgraded bedding and sateen sheets throughout. Lots of bedpillows and blankets.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
bring your potty trained, well behaved dog and enjoy the dog run available on the little league site behind our home, then hit the trails and river. absolutely exceptional..

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

A Sophisticated and Charming French Farmhouse
average rating of 4.6571426 based on 35 reviews
4

Family vacation in Carmel Valley

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this property- backyard is large and fun to hang out with thr kids including hiking trails right out the backyard/ pool/ hot tub. Downstairs is new/ renovated and nice. Unusual in its cleaning set up ( a bit more self service than I am used to- would prefer to just pay a cleaning fee vs washing sheets / towels all morning the day of departure). In the house manual there is the option to leave a check for the cleaning lady to do that but we do not travel with a checkbook and were not told ahead of time. The other nice perk are the Monterey aquarium passes- its quite expensive to visit otherwise. This requires coordination with the owner so set it up ahead of time. A short drive (< 5 min) longish walk into Carmel Valley downtown with wine tasting and fun restaurants with a more laid back vibe than Carmel by the sea. Also- we enjoyed the sunshine here at the house when Carmel Village/ Monterey were fogged in for the day.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

Perfect place for adult entertainment as well as a fun place for active children. Much to do innoroperty and trails out back gate alongside creek.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you Barb, for the awesome review!! it was so fun having you and the family out to Cali!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA
3

Not the getaway I hoped for

  • 3 of 5

My family was disappointed in this home. Although it is a lovely house and tastefully decorated, we had multiple issues during our stay related to water leaks, gate entry, hot tub timer, etc. that would have required a call to the owners to resolve. As we were staying over a holiday, we didn’t want to bother them or spend our vacation troubleshooting, so we made do. I found out after that some of the issues were known and had easy fixes, but were not described in the binder or written documentation in the house. I have never had a Homeaway experience before where I would have needed to contact the owners so frequently to get the stay I expected, and I expected more from such a highly rated property, and to feel like I was able to really get away -- not to need continuous help with various issues. The home is well-stocked but not professionally so — it seems that items left over from previous guests are available to use, resulting in drawers and cabinets packed with random items that could be useful but are of unknown provenance. It is also clearly in use periodically as a second house for family, rather than strictly being a vacation rental, which I would have thought I was more likely to get on AirBnB. That's specifically not an experience I enjoy, so that was a shame. I recognize that with a home rental, I am not getting a hotel and should not expect hotel amenities; that said, in other highly-rated rentals I have stayed in, I have received that level of care and attention to detail, and I don’t think it’s unreasonable to expect. I think the owners are well intentioned and am certain this property will improve, but it was not what I was looking for and I would not stay again.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: we welcome honest responses. We feel that this review is unfair on a number of accounts. this stay was last December. This is a home and as such, can have unexpected moments that need immediate attention. We provide a binder with the phone numbers of 3 people in the capacity of property managers. We were all in town; the house had been inspected before the stay and we were not made aware of the challenges at the end of the stay. We could have and would have been on the property promptly to address any concerns and were extremely disappointed to learn that this guest did not contact us, as is outlined in their contract. We decorated our home for the holidays, left them wine and chocolate and made sure the house was spotless. We leave condiments, spice and food items that may be useful to our guests. more times than not, guests are grateful for a home that is not stripped; again it is a (our) home. The water leak that was described was not an accurate account. With one phone call, we would have had it fixed immediately. Its true that we had issue in the past, but that did not mean it was a perpetual scenario; it just had come unsecured unexpectedly. We typically have had wonderful experiences with our guests and pride ourselves on our attention to detail. Its disheartening when a guest refuses to contact us to make us aware of issues that we would have been more than happy to fix immediately. We cannot possibly fix something we know nothing about if it is not communicated.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Amazing property!

  • 5 of 5

Five girlfriends and I enjoyed a perfect Labor Day Weekend getaway at Chateau Bicyclette. The property is absolutely perfect -- we didn't leave the entire weekend. We had everything we needed right there. The pool, the hot tub, the firepit, the hammock, the swing, the outdoor dining area -- it was all terrific!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Lovely house, but No security deposit refund.

  • 3 of 5

This house was beautiful, but not very clean when we arrived because the night before there had been a huge party which resulted in some damage to the house itself (kitchen cabinet door ripped off). We had a nice stay, but despite the fact we left 10 days ago and I have called the property manager and emailed the owners, I can't get my security deposit back.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: we take pride in having a very clean environment and had no knowledge of any issues until the posting of this review. we live in carmel and we are very responsive I Have refunded this guest and have follow up to make sure it is post refunds may take up to 2 weeks which is standard We appreciate feedback and want to know when anything is not up to our high standards. We hope that guests know they can contact us anytime before, during or post stay to communicate. We would have appreciated that consideration here but we understand that it's easy to feel frustrated when expectations are not fully met
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful oasis!

  • 4 of 5

It took us a long time to find a house that would accommodate 7 adults, a 2 yr old and dog. Everyone had their wish list and this house had it all. The inside of the house was roomy enough for everyone to have their space. We especially liked having 3 1/2 bathrooms! What really made this place exceptional was the yard! It was beautiful and had something for everyone. My mom loved the pool and the hammock. My nephew made me swing with him on the swing over and over again! The dog LOVED exploring every nook and cranny and kept herself occupied chasing lizards and gophers :-) I absolutely loved the easy access to the big baseball field and to all the hiking trails just right though the back gate. Every morning, I would take a hike and enjoy the breathtaking scenery. There is a big table outside and we dined out there several nights. We polished off the delicious wine that Susan left for us in the welcome basket. We even made s'mores by the fire pit. The location was perfect. We could easily pop into town if we needed supplies. We took a drive to Carmel one day but we really just wanted to get back to the house and relax!

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because our internet didn't work for the whole stay. We couldn't get it resolved until it just started working the day we were leaving! Personally, I didn't care but there were other people in my group that were disappointed they couldn't stream Netflix, etc. Also, on the check list for departure it said to wash all the sheets and leave them in the dryer. We wound up spending several hours doing laundry. After talking with Susan after, she said that it wasn't necessary to wash the sheets and that the paperwork needs to be updated. Wish we had known that earlier so we could have enjoyed our last morning!

Overall, the house is a perfect vacation getaway. We were all sad to leave!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
monterey
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
the running iron
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
carmel valley ranch
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
highway 68
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
toast, rustica, corkscrew
Nearest Beach
13 Miles
carmel
Car: necessary

You don't need to travel Europe to find this charming country french farm house nestled in a prominent wine region. 'Chateau Bicyclette' is settled in a quiet neighborhood with a backyard designed for family entertaining, with a picturesque view of the Santa Lucia Mountain range. Just newly renovated, the outdoors has a new hot tub, upper and lower decking, a sparkling pool, and a large grassy area surrounded by fruit trees and lavender. A lovely live oak is the pivoting element , with a classic wooden rope swing. There is a cedar play house, organic vegetable and herb gardens, and a holding paddock to rest horses between trail rides.

Dampierre little league park can be accessed from the back gate. The Carmel river is just 50 yards away. Seasonal bridges allow access to Garland Regional Park, where magical trails await to awaken your senses. Even in the middle of summer, when the coastal fog drops temperatures to 50 degrees, this corner of heaven averages 80 degrees and has lovely sunsets.

After dark, sit around the fire bowl, bbq, and enjoy the complimentary basket of s'mores that come with your stay.

Our home is within 15 minutes of Laguna Seca Raceway, 5 minutes from Bernardus lodge, and 15 minutes from The Refuge Spa. It is also within walking distance to shopping, great wine tasting, and restaurants.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Carmel Valley Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$575
$3,700
$14,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 10.5%

we encourage payments and deposits to be made by way of credit card so that the tenant may receive the credit back in a secured manner. Note: all security deposits are heald for cleaning and in the case of repairs needed due to a tenants stay. a walkthrough will note any existing conditions.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties