expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Roomy. Quiet. Beachfront for West Maui Fun!

Lahaina, HI, USA
  • Condo777 sqft
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay5 nights

Beachfront Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)

Enjoy one of Maui's most beautiful ocean views enhanced by spectacular sunsets, rainbows, amazing whale watching, and some of Maui's best coral reef snorkeling. Beachside Maui Condo is an extra-roomy 1-bd., 1-bath beautifully located condo at Kahana Beach, north of Lahaina in the cooler part of West Maui. We've been hosting happy guests since 2013.

PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW. And it's beautiful! Best from private lanai where there's an unobstructed view of the ocean and island of Molokai. A private terrace overlooks a quiet garden area and leads to the resort grounds and pool.

RARE TO FIND, EASY TO ACCESS, GROUND FLOOR. No elevators to wait on or stairs to climb. Priced below ocean-view condos at the resort. The ground-floor condo offers all of the homey appeal of well-appointed upper floor condos, plus it's budget-friendly, perfect for families with young children, and exceptionally convenient. There are loads of ocean-view condos to choose rare enough to be one of the most requested condos in the complex.

EXTRA ROOMY. There's nothing pinched or 'hotel' feeling about a 777-square foot condo with a fully-equipped kitchen, in-unit washer/dryer, 2 flat screen TVs, spa-inspired travertine tiled/glass enclosed shower, dining room, a private master bedroom, private lanai, and spacious living room.

SEASONAL BEACH: Kahana Bay and beaches up and down the West Maui coast are impacted by winter swells that at times wash away the sand. Conditions since 2015 have been especially severe. The beach returns once the storms have passed.

COMPARE US WITH OTHERS. FREE Parking. FREE Beachtowels. FREE WiFi. NO ADDED Per Guest charges (maximum occupancy is 4.). NO EXTRA CHARGE for use of the resorts amenities including heated pool, fitness center, barbecue and picnic areas, and concierge. We don't load up our guests up with unexpected and extra charges, instead we prefer to provide lots of extras for our guests.

A RELAXING LOCATION FOR YOUR MAUI HOLIDAY. Kahana is known for its casual comfort and beautiful views. It's a central location for enjoying West Maui's most popular attractions. The resort is situated in a well-established resort/residential community with a relaxed, village-like feel, a beachside setting, and the convenience of nearby shopping, cafes and dining, public transportation and a wide variety of recreational and cultural attractions. Humpback whales migrate to the area between Nov. and April and sea turtles live in the reef offshore.

The Royal Kahana has long been considered one of the most established, premier beachfront resorts on Maui. This great West Maui location is just 6 miles north of Lahaina, the #1 tourist destination in Maui. A temperate climate, scenic ocean views and a location that's central to the island's preferred activities are what make this a perfect spot to enjoy your Maui vacation.

The Royal Kahana is a TAG approved (Travel Alternatives Group) accommodation.

PERFECT FOR YOUNG FAMILIES. No high balconies to navigate. Your little one(s) can nap undisturbed in the master bedroom, with doors closed, so you can enjoy all the rest of the space. Since we have a tiled shower (no bathtub), a bathtub large enough for toddlers is provided and conveniently stored in the condo's entry closet.

CHECK-IN - 3 PM (Hawaii Standard Time)

CHECK-OUT - 11 AM (Hawaii Standard Time)

(We can be flexible on these times, depending on our booking calendar, and given prior 10-day notice that you would like them adjusted.)

HAWAII TAX ID: TA-142-069-7600-01 GE-142-069-7600-01

For more photos and information about Beachside Maui Condo, find us on Facebook @ rent a beachside condo in Maui

Keywords: Condominium, Condo, affordable, Beachfront, Oceanfront, Ocean, Beach, West Maui, Kahana

Owner

Darlene Norwood

Member Since 2013
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within one hour
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Mar 28, 2018
About Darlene Norwood

We enjoy helping guests find their perfect vacation spot. We embrace and understand that your vacation experience needs to be unique and we are willing to cater to it. We are semi-retired, living in California's Bay area. Rick is an archaeologist. Darlene is a writer. We loved our condo in Maui from the minute we opened the door and felt the breeze off the ocean caress us. That was in 2005 and we continue updating and adding features to enhance your stay. Our wish is that you feel happy, comfy, relaxed and restored every day of your stay in our beachside Maui condo home.

Darlene Norwood purchased this Condo in 2005

Why Darlene Norwood chose Honokowai

It's beautiful! With one of the world's best views. The condo is roomier than we ever expected a condo to be, so it feels like home. You just walk out the door and you're on the beach. It's location makes it feel private, even though you're in a high-rise. The sound of the ocean and the breeze rustling through the palms, the thrill of seeing whales or turtles just offshore, rainbows in the morning, gorgeous sunsets at true paradise!

What makes this Condo unique

We love living local vs. hotels. Kahana is unique among all the options on Maui. A gem among them for those who enjoy causual comfort and who are drawn to something a bit more discreet than the wildly popular spots. It's convenient, affordable, relaxed and it's hard to beat the climate and scenic beauty here.

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 1 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
      • Bedroom 1
        1 king, 1 queen, Living room sofa makes into a queen-sized bed.
      • There is a king-sized bed in the private master bedroom. A large sofa in the living room makes into a queen-bed for guests up to 4 total.

      Bathrooms

      • 1 Bathroom
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, shower, outdoor shower, Separate bath vanity area
      • Private and separate vanity area adjoins a travertine-tiled, glass enclosed shower (no tub). A large toddler-sized portable tub is provided for small children and stored in the entry closet.

      Location Type

        • Beach View
        • Beachfront
          True breachfront (in season, winters being "iffy") with no roads to cross to get to the beach. A mile-long, white sand beach and corral reef for snokeling/swimming is just 77 steps from the room.
        • Mountain View
          Beautiful view of the cloud-rimmed island of Moloaki (oceanside).
        • Near The Ocean
          Right on the beach at Kahana Bay.
        • Ocean View
          Partial ocean view, best from lanai where there is an unobstructed view of the ocean.
        • Oceanfront
          Ocean is less than 77 steps from the room.
        • Resort
          One of Kahana's best-established resorts in a premier setting with beautiful grounds and a white sand beach.
        • Village
          Laidback Kahana Village is a palce to 'live local' offering a lively mix of beachfront homes, resort hotels, and commercial businesses.
        • Water View
          Water view of Kahana Bay from private lanai, living room and bedroom.

          Theme

            • Adventure
            • Away From It All
            • Budget
            • Family
            • Historic
            • Romantic
            • Sports & Activities
            • Tourist Attractions

              Meals

                • Guests provide their own meals

                  General

                    • Iron & Board
                    • Air Conditioning
                      New whole-house a/c unit installed May 2016.
                    • Elevator
                      12-story complex
                    • Fitness Room / Equipment
                      No extra charge to use resort's fitness center, equipped with standard strength and aerobic devices.
                    • Garage
                      Below ground parking available at no extra cost. Get pass at Front Desk.
                    • Hair Dryer
                    • Internet
                      Free WiFi in-unit connectivity.
                    • Clothes Dryer
                      In-unit dryer.
                    • Linens Provided
                      All bedding linens provided, including extra blankets on request.
                    • Living Room
                      Spacious living room with flat screen TV, DVD player and sectional sofa with fold-out queen sleeper.
                    • Parking
                      Free. Get pass at Front Desk.
                    • Telephone
                      Land-line phone in unit, no charge for local calls.
                    • Towels Provided
                      FREE beachtowels provided.
                    • Washing Machine
                      In-unit washer and laundry supplies.
                    • Free Wifi

                      Kitchen

                        • Coffee Maker
                          Yes. Standard Mr. Coffee type, new in 2013.
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                          Dishes, silverware, glassware, cutlery, pots and pans and all basic equipment to prepare meals.
                        • Dishwasher
                          New in 2011.
                        • Kitchen
                          Fully-equipped kitchen with all utensils and cooking appliances included.
                        • Microwave
                          Countertop microwave.
                        • Oven
                          Electric.
                        • Pantry Items
                          None
                        • Refrigerator
                          Full-sized.
                        • Stove
                          Full-sized electric with range hood and oven.
                        • Toaster
                          4-slice

                          Dining

                            • Dining
                              Full dining area and table with overhead lighting and seating for 4.
                            • Dining Area
                            • comfy seating for 4 people

                              Entertainment

                                • Books
                                  An assorted selection of bestsellers and classics.
                                • DVD Player
                                  Living room only.
                                • Ping Pong Table
                                • Satellite / Cable
                                  Yes.
                                • Television
                                  2 flat-screen TVs. One in living room. The 2nd in the master bedroom.
                                • Video Library
                                  Owner-provided selection of popular movies for general viewing with some children's favorites.

                                  Outside

                                    • Golf
                                      The Plantation at Kapalua is world-renown, just 15-minutes from the condo.
                                    • Lanai / Gazebo
                                      Private lanai off the condo's living room.
                                    • Lawn / Garden
                                      Large, quiet garden area just outside the back door.
                                    • Outdoor Grill
                                      Gas-fired BBQ grills available to all guests at no extra charge.
                                    • Tennis
                                      Onsite, lighted tennis court was recently upgraded by the resort and includes other hard-surface game areas.
                                    • Water Sports Gear
                                      Boogie boards, snorkel gear, beach chairs, beach mats, umbrella and coolers are stored in the entry closet for guest use.

                                      Suitability

                                        • Long-term Renters Welcome

                                          Pool / Spa

                                            • Communal Pool
                                              Heated pool with nearby cabana for refreshments and a rinse-off shower by the beach. NOTE: The pool will be closed May 6 - 31, 2016 for repairs. See our special offer pricing for these dates.

                                              Onsite Services

                                                • Concierge

                                                  Attractions

                                                    • botanical garden
                                                    • churches
                                                    • health/beauty spa
                                                    • library
                                                    • live theater
                                                    • marina
                                                    • museums
                                                    • playground
                                                    • restaurants
                                                    • ruins

                                                      Leisure Activities

                                                        • paddle boating
                                                        • antiquing
                                                        • bird watching
                                                        • boating
                                                        • eco tourism
                                                        • horseback riding
                                                        • luaus
                                                        • outlet shopping
                                                        • beachcombing
                                                        • scenic drives
                                                        • shopping
                                                        • shuffleboard
                                                        • sight seeing
                                                        • walking
                                                        • whale watching
                                                        • wildlife viewing

                                                          Local Services & Businesses

                                                            • ATM/bank
                                                            • fitness center
                                                            • groceries
                                                            • laundromat
                                                            • massage therapist
                                                            • medical services

                                                              Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                                • rock climbing
                                                                • cycling
                                                                • fishing
                                                                • golf
                                                                • hiking
                                                                • jet skiing
                                                                • kayaking
                                                                • mountain biking
                                                                • mountain climbing
                                                                • paragliding
                                                                • parasailing
                                                                • deepsea fishing
                                                                • sailing
                                                                • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                                • snorkeling
                                                                • snorkeling/diving
                                                                • surf fishing
                                                                • surfing
                                                                • swimming
                                                                • tennis
                                                                • water skiing
                                                                • wind-surfing

                                                                  Notes

                                                                    • No extra charge for all resort amenities including heated pool, lighted on-site tennis courts, fitness center and Expedia tour desk/concierge. RENEWING VOWS OR PLANING A BEACHSIDE WEDDING OR...???? A wedding arbor facing the ocean and a pool-side cabana for receptions/private events is available at extra-cost and by pre-arrangement. The resort is a TAG approved (Travel Alternatives Group) accommodation.

                                                                      House Rules

                                                                      Check-in: 3:00 PM

                                                                      Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                                                      Cancellation Policy

                                                                      100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                                      31 Reviews

                                                                      Excellent4.5/5

                                                                      Latest reviews

                                                                      Beautiful and relaxing.

                                                                      Jennifer H.

                                                                      Wonderful view of the sunset. We could watch the whales from the lanai! We ate all our meals outside, listening to the birds and ocean. It is a quiet location (but with coffee, groceries, sundries, snorkel rental, gas station and bus stop very close by) which was nice after a day in the busier centers. The condo itself is clean and well maintained. The amenities, such as in suite laundry and the cooler, ice packs and beach gear were very much appreciated. Darlene is quick to respond and very helpful. We had everything we needed for a relaxing, stress free stay with gorgeous surroundings. We would definitely stay here again.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      The condo has one of the world's most beautiful and relaxing settings. We are always gratified by guests finding their own sense of peace, happiness and contentment there.

                                                                      Maui visit exceptional

                                                                      William H.3017 Jonathon Court, Billings, Montana 59102

                                                                      The property was spotless! It is in a very convenient location - easy to find. The bed and pillows were wonderful! The size of this condo is larger than many we have had which is a real plus! You can dine inside or out.

                                                                      The owners were friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect.

                                                                      sheila g.

                                                                      However it is in need of a makeover. The owner was kind to warn us in advance of some things. The washer and dryer really do need replacing as does the fridge. The safe doesn't work and electrical outlet in the bathroom is broken. The doors to all the rooms won't close or they are hard to close. The owners may consider a small trip to oversea any updates to the unit. Again the owners were great but they might want to give some life back to their special place.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      As off-island hosts we depend on our guests for their feedback and appreciate it when provided. Most condition issues mentioned have been addressed at this time. Unfortunately we were unable to schedule all the repairs and replacements ahead of this guests' stay, just as they were advised ahead of arrival. The room safe is a built-in unit, not listed as an amenity, and non-functional since we purchased the condo in 2005. Instead we put our money into a travertine tiled shower and other upgrades including a new air conditioner for our guest's comfort. We always regret less than the best and feel it is important to notify our guests of any condition issues before their arrival. Our photos are current and others have enjoyed our "no fancy pants," laid-back style which includes "spotless" cleaning. We anticipate no major makeovers. We will be visiting the condo in May. Bottom line, we're back in good shape now!

                                                                      ONE STAR - Only because I couldn't choose no stars

                                                                      CYNTHIA D.Gardendale, AL, USA

                                                                      SUN Find liv rm carpet soggy wet-drain clogged 1st shower-hair n shower & all in bed-slidin glass door not working-slept on top of bed

                                                                      Got email frm owner/Darlene 1st day-Oh by the way carpet might still b wet when u arrive due 2 some rain It should b fine

                                                                      Called housekeeping 4 clog, sheets & non-workin door. They came MON morn chgd sheets tried 2 fix door & drain, clog repeats next shower Gen mgr came 2 see if shower was taken. Found out it’s shower backin up, flooding livin room, sidewalk outside & into parking basement

                                                                      Wasted morn waitin w repair attempts

                                                                      Notified owner w plumbing issue & door. Said she knew of door issue & had 1 on order-said we could just use door in BR instead. THIS WAS REASON WE GOT GROUND FLOOR!

                                                                      TUES Plumber no show. MOLD GROWING ON CARPET!

                                                                      WED Plumber found leak going to carpet from bad shower pan. Let owners know

                                                                      Wasted morn again

                                                                      THUR Back frm beach-Flood company in condo accessing damage taping off wet areas wearing blue booties on feet 4 concern mold that was growing & spreading-Said carpet & molding need 2 b removed-big drier/blowers brought n 2 dry out & would be loud

                                                                      Wasted afternoon & ANTI-MOLD SPRAY SMELL N CONDO

                                                                      Spoke w gen mgr earlier & got names/#s of condo associations n bdlg 4 condos that were comparable price & found avails

                                                                      Called Darlene 2 update on flood cleaner’s findings & tried 2 find out if we were goin 2 b moved-I gave her info I found on other condos-She got upset-All she had 2 do was get us moved once I gave her info-She said it’s weekend on Maui & u can’t get ahold of folks-STILL THUR! She said they were on vacation 2 & she hasn’t had a vac n long time & were n their 70’s & THAT’S JUST LIFE & she was tired of talking 2 a brick wall-I tried get her back on track w issue of getting us out of condo-She told me not 2 beat her over head & that I’ve not THANKED HER 4 anything she has done 4 us so far that this must say something bout my character & that I just want 2 hurt her-Kept telling me she loved me-seriously? Hour+ later finally said she would call 2 get us other condo

                                                                      SAT 2 days later we were in diff condo

                                                                      Said she’d refund us FULL 4 time n her condo-She changd mind later & finally gave part refund – justifin wot she wantd

                                                                      Time wasted on dream vacation w owner & how probs were handled-Saddening-depressing-upsetting. Although condo was not great-whole experience would have been ok if it weren’t 4 how Darlene handled situation 2 make it sound like it was our fault or how we were putting them out.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      This was that unfortunate set of circumstances that just kept seeming to get worse. We responded to the guest immediately and kept on responding to try to arrive at a satisfactory solution. We got help to them as fast as possible. We moved them to another room at no additional charge. In addition, we gladly offered a refund that was more than what our guest asked for or said was expected. The problem that started this was a clogged shower drain. Per our insuranance investigator, our floors would not have been flooded if guests had not let water flow over the shower pan wall.

                                                                      Had a wonderful time but the condo was dated and needs work

                                                                      Bill and Mary Ann H.Satellite Beach

                                                                      We found the location very nice and Darlene was quite responsive.

                                                                      When we travel using VRBO, we rely heavily on the reviews to know about the property, so feel it is important to be honest.

                                                                      On one hand, what could be bad about being in Maui? On the other hand, the condo was not very clean, there were several things that did not work, and although we received a small refund because the AC was broken, the unit was a 2 and 1/2 star (maybe a 3 star) and we were hoping for a nicer place.

                                                                      The ocean view is to the side of the unit, not direct and since it is on the ground floor, it is a little hard to see from the condo.

                                                                      We did like that there is a washer/dryer in the unit and coolers to use and the complex was well run and only 10 minutes from Front St.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      We regret not pleasing any and every guest, it's part of the pleasure of providing our condo to travelers. We have a responsive hosting and housekeeping service as attested to by our reviews. We communicate with our guests about the comfort of their stay right after arrival and provide contact information if anything needs attention. Our condo is laid-back and relaxing...a beach place to hang out after enjoying the fun of Maui. Most find this delightful.

                                                                      Royal Kahana - Lived up to expectations

                                                                      Chris E.

                                                                      The condo at Royal Kahana (#462419) met our expectations for a clean, comfortable and well equipped place to spend our first of many Maui vacations.

                                                                      Darlene did an outstanding job of making sure our stay was comfortable and made sure we were satisfied with our accommodations. The first floor view was fabulous and we took advantage of it during many morning coffee and breakfasts. While the air conditioner was not in operation, Darlene put our minds at ease that it would not prove to be an inconvenience, which it wasn't. The cool, gentle ocean breezes provided more than adequate comfort and enabled us to awake to the sounds of ocean waves.

                                                                      The only reason why I did not give a 5 star rating was due to the fact that the beach was inaccessible due to the ocean swells eroding the beach to the point that access was prevented by the resort management. We were told that the beach would return when the direction of the swells changed to a southerly direction. But this was only a minor inconvenience as we were able to access the beach from other public access points, of which there are many.

                                                                      We enjoyed several of the local eating establishments that were within walking distance. I would recommend Dollie's (make sure you get there for happy hour) and the Maui Brewing Company.

                                                                      The location of the Royal Kahana made it convenient to drive to Kaanapali and Kapalua, where we enjoyed sightseeing and golf. The view of Molokai from the condo was amazing as were the views of the kite boarders, sailboarders and the humpback whales breaching.

                                                                      I would recommend staying at Darlene and Rick's condo in Maui. We were very satisfied with their responsiveness and with the condition of the condo. Thanks for sharing your place with us. Our first Maui vacation was memorable and you were a big part of it.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      We are always pleased when our guests our pleased, but especially so when we host first-time visitors to Maui. Being right on the ocean, we are exposed to the whims of nature. At this time of year, temporary winter swells sometimes swallow up a good portion of the beach. Swells can last for days or weeks, depending...there's still access to the beach, just not nearly so convenient as the 77-steps from our door that is usual for us. Our new whole-house air conditioner is being installed March 16 and, as our guest said, it is seldom needed. Most prefer to open the windows and let the ocean breeze cool them.

                                                                      Location

                                                                      Lahaina, HI, USA

                                                                      Kahana is the place to 'live local' vs. staying in a hotel. Scenic and relaxed it invites you to make yourself at home. It is one of West Maui's true beachfront locations, 6 miles north of Lahaina, close to Kapalua Bay, Napili, and many other scenic, shopping, dining and sporting attractions. Free parking. Bus route runs along Lower Honoapiilani with a stop just outside the front door. Has a village feel with walkers and runners along L. Honoapiilani where the beach is in view. Local farmers market 2 miles away, across from the Honokowai Beach Park. Boss Frog's Dive and Surf Shop, to gear up for any kind of water sport, is in a shopping center down the block. Mile-long white sand beach for swimming with a coral reef offshore for snorkeling. Just steps from the back door. Kahana Grill and Maui Brewing Co. are across the street, for great food and, of course, locally brewed, award-winning ales and lagers. Sunsets are spectacular and part of the resort's tradition when torches are lighted and guests gather on the lawn facing the ocean...every night. Spotting whales, in season, is a popular past time and gentle sea turtles can usually be encountered while taking a swim. PERFECT FOR INTER-ISLAND TRAVELERS! Kapalua West Maui commuter airport is less than 4 minutes away. Our owner rates are 30-60% better than the island-hopper airlines' package deals at the Royal Kahana.

                                                                      Rates & Availability

                                                                      Additional information about rental rates

                                                                      Cleaning Fee
                                                                      $160
                                                                      Damage Deposit
                                                                      $350
                                                                      Tax Rate
                                                                      14.42%
                                                                      $187avg/night
                                                                      31 Reviews
                                                                      Excellent 4.5/5
                                                                      Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                      Instant Confirmation
                                                                      For booking assistance, call 888-829-7076

                                                                      Property # 462419vb

                                                                      x