Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gorgeous Spanish Style home with Pool and adjoining cottage!!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Two bedroom home and a one room cottage centered by a pool (rented separately)

We call this fabulous NEW spot here in El Castillo “Pie in the Sky”! A gorgeous location that lives up to it name in every way! This 2 bedroom home (Pie 2) and one room cottage (Pie 1), are two separate rentals, and are nestled above 7 private rooms of the Majestic Lodge B&B, on a secluded mountaintop. With 360 degree views of the primary rainforest, 26 mile Lake Arenal and the Majestic Arenal Volcano, you can see for miles in the privacy of this secluded setting. This large home is a single level, 2 bedroom home and fully equipped to make you feel right at home! The bedrooms are luxurious and inviting with custom made bedding and draperies, air conditioning, and private access to the outdoor porch for your convenience. All linens are provided. The kitchen, with granite counter tops and Guanacaste wood cabinets, is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need, including a center breakfast bar that seats 6 people.

The one room cottage, with the same amazing views, sleeps two with a Queen size orthopedic bed, small kitchenette, private bath and airconditioning. Take just a few steps off of the porch and enjoy the pool! These two homes are separated and private and centered by the pool, but close enough for a family or group to enjoy together.

We pay special attention to every detail to assure the best vacation for you and your family. We can accommodate large groups and welcome Private or group parties. Catering can be arranged. Complete tour and trip planning services available including travel from within Costa Rica. We offer a beautiful pavilion for wedding parties, family reunions, yoga retreats, etc. We offer private yoga and massage on premises and have a bar and grill for your convenience.

Outdoor area with pool and bar is on the property. Full housekeeping service is provided by request (with a fee)

We also arrange transportation for our guests from anywhere in Costa Rica.

Please note that you must have four wheel drive to access this home.

More Details

Property Manager
Nancy and Dan Zintsmaster /Contact us for availability
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2017

Amenities

El Castillo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Bathroom in bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Bathroom in bedroom
  • New bathrooms with hot water and all towels and soaps are provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Large bedroom with a private bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Large bedroom with a private bathroom
  • Both bedrooms have custom made bedding and draperies, a vanity with stool and mirror, an armoire for clothes, night stands and lamps and both have luxurious, private bathrooms.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Pie in the Sky will not disappoint. This home is located on the top of a mountain, away from it all, but close enough to all local activities. We do not provide transportation up and down the mountain, so you must have a four wheel drive car. Amenities at the Majestic Lodge are not for use of the private rental homes.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

Gorgeous Spanish Style home with Pool and adjoining cottage!!
average rating of 4.857143 based on 28 reviews
5

Truly amazing!

  • 5 of 5

The pictures do not do justice, this property is absolutely amazing. Just don't make the same mistake as us and only stay 2 nights!

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Brad, See you when you return and stay longer 😉😉😉
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ireland / Newyork
5

A beautiful place.

  • 5 of 5

What a great vacation from start to finish. From the minute we inquired about pie in the Sky, Nancy and Dan would reply within hours and maybe minutes with any questions we had they put us right. They booked all our activities from ziplining to water rafting and ,horseback riding. The car the restaurants I could go on for ever. The cottage was just amazing the views , pool and location was just stunning. We met lots of nice people around the town, Juan in Howlers bar was a lovely guy and very helpful. Overall a great place. You won't be disappointed. Thankyou Nancy and Dan. Your the best.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for this beautiful review on your experience staying with us! We really appreciate it! You were lovely guests and a joy to get to know. I hope you will return someday! Nancy and Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Corona, CA
5

Breathtaking views, beautiful home & best mgmt

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Pie in the Sky 2 (2 kids, my parents, my husband and me) and will never forget this phenomenal stay. The home, property and views are so beautiful - pictures just do not them do justice. There are so many chairs, rockers, loungers, a hammock, etc. all around the property to enjoy the different views. Dan/Z made us feel right at home and was very helpful with getting food, restaurant recommendations, you name it. Even though Nancy was gone, she still did a superb job booking our activities for us -- her recommendations were the best! We did Sky Trek zipline (my parents did their tram), Pure Trek waterfall rapelling and Aguas Bravas whitewater rafting. My parents relaxed at the house the 2 days we rapelled and rafted. We loved the food at La Ventanita, Howlers Bar and Grill and Pizza Johns. We also loved the La Fortuna Waterfall (admission and 500 steps were worth it). I'm SO glad I picked this place for our 3 days at Arenal! Thank you Nancy and Z for the experience of a lifetime!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Already homesick . . .

  • 5 of 5

We stayed three nights while Nancy was gone and joked that Z, who is just the warmest most beautiful soul, must have two to three doublegangers. He just magically popped up, had a pleasant chat with us, and suggested places to eat, things to do, and each one exceeded our expectations. We ate twice in La Ventanita in the three days there and still dream of Kelly's food. The views, the quality, maintenance, and beauty of - Pie in the Sky (in the tropics where we were born in raised) is just exquisite. Things grow and multiply in a blink of an eye. The sounds of rainforest and the wild all around was invigorating and so was the breathing volcano which I got to sit with one clear morning at 5 pm in the porch way on the left. Wilander's horseback riding journey to his family's finch and waterfall is a must (but quite a hike back up, must be in good shape). He and his horses are also such gentle souls. Our 4 teenage kids (two boys and two girls) loved it. Sky adventures (3 hour walk including hanging bridges, by two more beautiful waterfalls, and 7 ziplines over the jungle) was amazing. We saw monkeys, toucans, vipers (babies on leaves), and a momma sloth and baby. We will be back for sure. We've been in Tamarindo for a day, and I'm already homesick. It's at least 20 degrees hotter, more mosquitos (no bites in el Castillo surprisingly), here at least 10, and all the lush healing green is gone. The kids are enjoying the ocean and surfing. We moms are reminiscing over pictures and digesting our magical Pie in the Sky experience that felt like a dream and ended way too soon.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Montgomery County, PA
5

Amazing views and surroundings!

  • 5 of 5

We got bounced around a bit on the ride to Pie in the Sky, but it was well worth it. The property is amazing - it has beautiful views and incredible stone work and landscaping. I don't think there's a better view of the Volcano to be found. We stayed at Pie 2, which I believe is listed as sleeping 8. There were 2 queen beds and a futon, so if you need to sleep 8, you might have to snuggle up or ask for cots! We were fine because there were only 4 of us.

We had one full day in the area and spent it hiking at the Arenal Observatory Lodge (hours worth of great hiking trails) and then relaxing back at the pool. We were lucky with the weather - it was warm and clear and we almost got to see the very top of Arenal Volcano.

On our way back to airport we stopped at Sky Adventures and zip lined - this requires some bravery but was so much fun - we loved it! I recommend dinner at Fusion (in the El Castillo Hotel) and if you have time there is a great restaurant on the other side of Lake Arenal called the Bistro, which was such a pretty restaurant in a beautiful setting. (We stopped there on the way back to Liberia Airport.)

We didn't get to meet Nancy who was out of town, but we met Dan (Z) and Daniel, who were extremely friendly and welcoming. Nancy had warned us that we would want more time in the area and she was right. We highly recommend Pie in the Sky!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the beautiful description of our little piece of paradise. The dirt road is off the beaten path, but the reason for the charm! Just to be clear to those that are reading this review, the two bedroom home is not advertised as sleeping 8 on it's own, as it only sleeps 6 with 2 queen beds and a custom made, memory foam futon in the living area. It is advertised that if you rent the one room cottage and the two bedroom home , that sleeps two, that you can accommodate a group of 8. Warmly, Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This dream home is a must!

  • 5 of 5

Besides the fact that you have help and information at your fingertips, because the owners of the property are there to guide you at every bend, it was absolutely the most serene time for our family. From enjoying the volcano to the awesome horseback riding, this place is an absolute must! Thank you so much Z and Nancy...great times for the Quinn's <3

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others! You were stellar guests and we really enjoyed having you!! Nancy and Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Howlers Bar and Grille
Nearest Motorway
7 Kilometres
Rt 4
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Howlers

Almost all activities that one would come to this area for are located in our village...Horseback to the waterfall, Ziplining, hanging bridges, rapelling, kayaking, hiking the Volcano, Serpentarium, Butterfly Conservatory, Rancho Margot, white water rafting, etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

El Castillo House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
Dec 15 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$240
From
$265
Fri,Sat
$1,440
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Green Season
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Peak Season
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$240
From
$265
Fri,Sat
$1,440
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall Green Season
Sep 1 2017 - Nov 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$240
$1,440
 
 
Fall Green Season
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 19 2017 - Jan 5 2018
4 night minimum stay
$300
$2,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee $45 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

These homes are rented individually. The rate of the cottage(Pie 1) is 135.00 per night and a one time cleaning fee of 25.00
Rates are subject to change without notice.
The rates above, for the two bedroom home, are for up to 4 people and 25.00 for each additional person.
Holiday rates are 25% higher than seasonal dates and include Thanksgiving, Xmas, Easter, Fourth of July, Memorial day. No weekly discounts available during Holiday dates.

Four wheel drive a must
Taxes are not included

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties