check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Deborah Smith

Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english, german

2BR 'BLISS COTTAGE,' Melrose, Ocean/Marsh View, Pool, Pet Friendly,Golf Discount

33 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Melrose on the Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Melrose on the Beach cottage; ocean & marsh views; large backyard

PLEASE READ THESE IMPORTANT NOTES PRIOR TO PROCEEDING TO PROPERTY DESCRIPTION

- The pools are not open year-round, and the dates of the pool season are determined solely by the Melrose on the Beach Resort.

Summer rates apply to holiday weeks.

***

Special Cottage Features

- This cottage has just undergone a major update from the property owners, including new flooring in the bedrooms and bathrooms and new windows.

- Big group? You can also rent the next door 3-BR Daufuskie Cottage or another 2-BR cottage just steps away for a total of 4 or 5 bedrooms. (Contact us for details)

- Very competitive rates, and is one of the best deals on the Melrose Resort.

- Any well-behaved canine family member is welcome. ($125 pet fee applies; please inquire with manager about multiple pets and the total pet fee.) See pet policy at the end of this description.

- Free pool during resort pool season.

- Golf and restaurant discounts.

- Short walking distance to beach, pool, restaurant and playground.

***

THE COTTAGE

The Bliss Cottage, located on Daufuskie Island Melrose on the Beach resort, has beautiful views from all sides. From your front porch, you can catch a glimpse of the ocean. From your back porch, you share a lovely and huge backyard backing up to a marsh.

And the location really can't be beat! You are within a several minute walk to the beach and to the resort pool area. And for our youngest visitors, there is even a nearby playground!

This is one of the resort's renovated cottages, and it is tastefully decorated and furnished with everything you will need for an enjoyable vacation experience. When you first enter the cottage, you are greeted by an open floor plan with a comfortable living room, dining area, and adjoining kitchen.

The two spacious bedrooms are each comfortably furnished with two queen-sized beds in each bedroom, TVs, and private bathrooms.

And you will want to check out your furnished and screened-in back porch overlooking a backyard with occasional wildlife. There is not a better place to relax and enjoy the end of the day: Pina Coladas, anyone?

Please note that a well-behaved canine member of the family will be considered. Manager must review pet requests, and the guest will need to guarantee that the dog is housebroken, is not destructive, will not be getting on furniture, and that every effort will be made to leave the property upon checkout looking like no pet had been staying there. The fee for one pet is $100.

THE RESORT

Thanks to your vacation home property owners, you will have access to the Melrose pool area*, and discounted rates at the Melrose golf course and the Melrose Beach Club Restaurant.

(In addition to the Melrose course, avid golfers will also enjoy playing on the nearby Bloody Point championship golf course.)

Many visitors enjoy touring the resort and the island by golf cart and bikes, both of which are available for rental, as well as simply taking nice long walks.

THE ISLAND

Most visitors also take time to get to know the rest of this special island. Those who do quickly realize that they have discovered a hidden island gem just a short boat ride from the mainland. Quiet, laid-back, and unique, beautiful Daufuskie is described by old-timers as similar to Hilton Head before a bridge connected that island with the mainland.

When you choose this cottage for your vacation, you will have the opportunity to experience a lovely low country island with a centuries-old cultural history, beautiful beaches, spectacular wildlife, and friendly residents.

SO WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?

* The Melrose on the Beach pools are not open year-round, and the dates of the pool season are determined solely by the resort management.

***

PET POLICY:

We will accept r a well-behaved canine member of the family. However, the dog must be over one year old, not be aggressive towards people or other pets, be house trained, does not get up on the furniture, and is ok with being left alone when you are away from the cottage (no incessant barking or destructive behavior). We require that you will be a responsible pet owner when the dog is outside, that your dog is always kept on a leash, is up-to-date on flea and heart worm treatment and...most importantly...that there will be no signs that your pet was in the property when you depart. You must be responsible for any damage and/or extra cleaning caused by your dog.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Deborah Smith (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english, german

About Deborah Smith

The owners, who fell in love with Daufuskie Island almost 10 years ago, live in Grove City, Pennsylvania.

This vacation home is managed by Daufuskie Rental Group, all of whom enjoy sharing their island with visitors. Deborah Smith, DRG Owner and Licensed Property Manager in Charge, and Karen Opderbeck, Director of Property Maintenance and Licensed Property Manager, are both available for help with reservations, getting to the island, on-island logistics, cart rentals, and activities.

Deborah Smith purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Deborah Smith chose Daufuskie Island

Just as Daufuskie is a special place, so is the Melrose area of the island. One of the original eleven plantations on Daufuskie, Melrose was famous for its Sea Island cotton and thriving social life in the 1800’s. The former plantation bears the name of a Scottish rose brought to the island by Captain Mongin. The main house, known as the Melrose Mansion, was surrounded by lavish rose gardens and looked out at the Atlantic Ocean and beautiful white sand beaches.

Today, Melrose encompasses over 700 acres and you’ll share those same white sand beaches with nesting Bald Eagles, Loggerhead Turtles and dolphin. Melrose is also home to a resort with amenities that include the Jack Nicklaus Signature Melrose course, the Melrose on the Beach Restaurant, top level pool/hot tub facility, and the Island House conference center.

Reviews

4.8
based on 33 traveler reviews

2BR 'BLISS COTTAGE,' Melrose, Ocean/Marsh View, Pool, Pet Friendly,Golf Discount
average rating of 4.787879 based on 33 reviews
4

The cottage was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We liked taking our dogs.

  • 4 of 5

We liked the quiet surroundings with no commercialism. We had some trouble with the internet but it was eventually fixed.

I wish there was an outdoor hose in front of 135 so we didn't have to use our neighbors.

If you love being out in nature and a sense of adventure you'll enjoy this special island.

There is no bridge to the island so bring you're own groceries and pack light. Definitely bring bug spray and suntan lotion. It's the South!

The deviled crab at the crab house was delicious! The dinner we had at the Melrose Beach Club restaurant was also VERY good.

We did a kayak trip with "Tour Daufuskie" and enjoyed it alot. We did the Daufuskie Rum tour and visited the local artists which we recommend. We saw slit if wild life including Bald Eagles. We wished we had more time to do more tours.

We hope to return with our dogs and family and friends. Thanks for making us feel at home.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very clean, nicely decorated. All the conveniences of home. Felt cared for even if there'd be an em

  • 4 of 5

We loved the quiet, relaxed feel of the area. Not much to do but enjoy nature, beach, birds, Dolphins knowing we had a gorgeous place to come back to each night. Loved the large screened in porch with ceiling fans. The house felt solid and very cared for.

We only regret not being informed of some things available to do on the island. The info given to us was not complete. We learned to ask others for info.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karen - Thanks for giving me the opportunity to talk with you about your review earlier today. As I told you on the phone, however, we were surprised at two of your comments. First, we think there's LOTS to do here, and especially for those people who take the time to get off the resort and get to know the island. We also were surprised that you said we hadn't told you about activities, but the only example you could give me was about kayaking. In fact, kayaking resources are addressed both in your pre-trip document and your cottage's welcome notebook. We also provide a brochure from Tour Daufuskie, among our other materials, Our reputation is for superior service to our rental guests, including information about the island, so we were very disappointed that you did not find that to be the case. I'll only add that in the three years we've been in business on Daufuskie, yours is the first comment that indicated otherwise. Please accept my apologies if we did not live up to our own standards in this regard. At any rate, we are glad you enjoyed your Daufuskie experience, and especially the lovely Bliss Cottage. Deborah Smith Daufuskie Rental Group
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What an amazing property manager!

  • 5 of 5

We are more than pleased with this vacation. We were at the island during the tropical storm and Deborah went above and beyond! She checked on us during the storm and after power went out, she was in constant communication. We have 3 young kids and she made sure we were all taken care of. She even got groceries for us to make sure we had enough. This house is so quaint and perfect. Has all you need....laundry detergent, plenty of cooking items etc. thank you for a great trip and we WILL be back.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brittany - We appreciated your hanging in there with us during the terrible Labor Day tropical storm! It's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay notwithstanding, and especially the lovely Bliss Cottage. We hope to see you again! Deborah Smith Daufuskie Rental Group
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love this cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Great visit and perfect cottage. Can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

No Dafuskie for us

  • 3 of 5

The house was in good condition however this is not a fully equipped kitchen. We were disappointed in the lack of real cooking utensils pots pans etc. this island requires you to cook a lot and this house was not set up for any real cooking There is Internet but it's not secure and really does not work. The house is clean and nice but very basic. No real chairs for sitting on the front porch where you want to be for the ocean sound. The back porch has 2 plastic chairs and a tiny 4 person table. Would be nice to have decent furniture. No outdoor shower for rinsing off from the beach. But it was clean and nicely decorated. There were a lot of Board games and it's very dog friendly on the island.

The beach at Melrose was beyond disappointing. The decent beach is a good 15 min golf cart ride away.

Melrose beach club pool could be nice but no one cares. They ran out of towels one day. Out of rum another day. The service is terrible at the restaurant super slow and really could care less.

The logistics to get to the island is a nightmare. After paying for the boat to take us there and drop

Us off at wrong dock DO NOT USE MAY RIVER ($180)then we had to pay $80 to have someone pick us up to get the luggage. Have to tip extra to pay for a golf cart that's a 15 min ride away from where we are staying. After a long trip

Getting there this is the last thing you want to do. Then on the day you leave you have to take it there and again pay someone to pick you up then get your luggage them go on the ferry. Why they can't deliver your cart to your rental is beyond me. We spent $700 in just transportation. Nothing is open Sunday thru Wednesday so don't even waste your gas. No one cares so don't even bother asking. Not kid friendly at all. They would not rent paddle boards to us no activities what so ever. They have a fire pit at Melrose perfect for roasting marshmallows but nope not one activity. you can at Haig point but only if your a member. This was a very expensive learning lesson for us. We will not be back and I am sure no one really cares either.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that you had a disappointing stay. (Readers should note that this is EXTREMELY untypical of our other 29 reviews, & ask that you take time to read those reviews.) Daufuskie is not for everyone. There's probably not any thing we can say that would make this the right vacation spot for you. We're very sorry about that, because we really enjoy sharing our wonderful island with others. The vast majority of visitors end up loving the island as much as we do. SPECIFIC ISSUES: COST: We are up-front with potential visitors about the extra expenses of coming to Daufuskie and suggest that visitors plan on an extra $65 per person for boat and ground transportation costs. As all residents know very well, there is a cost to coming to an island without a bridge. On the upside, Daufuskie vacation homes are competitively priced compared to comparable properties "on the other side." What you spend on transportation services is off-set by the price of the vacation homes. The great majority of visitors agree that they have truly gotten their money's worth. The good news: We are very, very close to having a new & more economical ferry service for the island, COTTAGE: All other visitors have loved this cottage. However, we will be evaluating & addressing your specific concerns. For example, you mentioned the dearth of front porch chairs. The previous ones had been broken by recent visitors,, & new chairs are on the way. ACTIVITIES: The island is chock full of great activities, & most people find much to do. We provide lots of info upon check-in, & are glad to provide assistance in identifying things to do that are right for each family. We note you said nothing about exploring the island, & we think you really missed discovering the unique and fascinating nature of Daufuskie. And most families says this is an EXTREMELY kid-friendly place. FRIENDLINESS - The most common comment we get here is about the friendly people, & are baffled that you did not have the same experience. BEACH: The Melrose beach is great at high & medium tides, and at low tide we suggest going to the resort pool. Finally, you didn't mention that we spent a great deal of time retrieving your groceries because you had them sent to the wrong dock...in fact, we made 3 separate trips at no charge. We were glad to help, but it was disappointing to read your comment about folks here not caring and not being helpful. Deborah Smith Daufuskie Rental Group
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Away From the Maddening Crowds

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I and two of our dearest friends were looking for a quiet getaway ... a place where the only demands are deciding pool or beach. Bliss Cottage proved to be the perfect choice. Deborah was extremely helpful and accommodating and just an all-around nice person. The cottage was plenty large enough for us even though we did bring the dogs along. The balance of two identical bedrooms resolved the issue of who gets the best room. The living area is roomy and comfortable and the kitchen outstanding. We cooked most of our meals, well, except that no one can resist the gumbo at Marshside Mama's and Ernestine's low-country dinner, delivered to your cottage, is wonderful. We hear that her fried chicken is just as good and we'll have that next time. Oh, yeah, there will be a next time. Transportation overall was excellent. Capn's Steven and Chris out of May River could not have been more helpful. Daufuskie Transit was on time but a little bit pushy. We were on Island time - five minutes late is okay - and they were on Orlando time. The golf course at Melrose is well above average.

Now, the very few downsides. With pets we wished that we had been on the ocean front rather than having the marsh to the back yard. After hearing so much about the critters and having seen a fair number of gators around, having our little Cavalier King Charles and our friends' goldens running around the marsh sort of worried us. So, next time if the dogs go we'll stay on the beach. We rented a four-seater golf cart from Bloody Point. I walk faster than it would run plus the back, rear facing seat just didn't feel safe. If you can rent a six-seater or a cottage that comes with a six-seater. Take time to learn the Island. The maps are so-so and many of the roads are not marked with street signs. Drink the water, it is fine but don't drink the native wine. If you are looking for something different, a true change of pace, visit Daufuskie. If you are looking for Hilton Head, well, it's just across the water.

To answer the formal questions: yes, the cottage was as described. It was clean and well-maintained. The customer serve was excellent. We would and will recommend the property to others.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the comprehensive review! We are so glad you enjoyed the Bliss Cottage and your Daufuskie experience. We especially appreciate your compliments about the quality of the cottage, its decor, and spaciousness. A few responses to your comments: You mentioned the gators on the marsh side. Actually, gators are found in the ponds elsewhere on the resort, and not in the marsh at the back of the Melrose cottages. The marsh water rises and recedes with the ocean tides, is salt water and not attractive to gators. Having said that, we ask owners to keep dogs on their leashes as a general rule, and discourage our visits from letting their dogs "run around" the marsh area or any other area. (For pet-friendly properties, we do issue guidelines to visitors that asks them to keep dogs leashed as a courtesy to other guests.) We are not quite sure what you mean by "native wines," as there are currently no wines produced on the island. In fact, the new Wine and Woodworks has some lovely organic wines that have been receiving great reviews by our visitors, and the recently-opened Silver Dew Winery and Light Keepers House offers some nice wine in its gift shop. Finally, we are sorry to hear that you found one of our local island partners to be a little "pushy" but are somewhat confused about your reference to "island time" and "Orlando time." If you would be kind enough to contact me directly with more specifics we would like to share your observations with the owner of that particular service. We work closely with our partner groups to help make the complete Daufuskie experience a good one for our visitors, so would like to address your exact concerns. Again, we're so glad you could join us here on Daufuskie, and are glad you enjoyed our special island and the beautiful Bliss Cottage. Deborah Smith Daufuskie Rental Group
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Hilton Head Island,SC and Savannah, GA
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Melrose Beach Club
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Calibogue Cruises and May River Excursions
Nearest Golf
100 Metres
On site at Melrose Golf Course and Bloody Point
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Highway 278 in Hilton Head
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Melrose Beach Club Restaurant
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Melrose on the Beach
Car: not necessary

This lovely, second row, beach cottage, is located in Melrose on the Beach, just steps away from 2 miles of pristine, quiet beaches where all you can hear is the sound of gentle waves and beautiful shore birds. Watch the shrimp boats, bike along the beach, take a Historic tour and discover the Gulah History of Daufuskie or take in a round of golf. Don't forget to try our island delicacy, deviled crabs! Better still, we'll help arrange a full low-country dinner prepared by a local resident to be delivered directly to your cottage.

In addition to the Melrose resort, Daufuskie has several unique and colorful restaurants (Marshside Mama's and the Daufuskie Crab Company) where you'll swear you're in the middle of the Caribbean, as well as the casual but upscale Eagle's Nest at Bloody Point. History buffs will enjoy exploring the island and visiting various sites providing a glimpse into the past, including the recently-restored Oyster House used as a 19th century Gullah meeting place, the Billie Burns Museum, ancient cemeteries, and the two-room school house where renowned author Pat Conroy taught and which was the subject of his first book, The Water is Wide. Those interested in unique shopping opportunities will want to visit the Iron Fish Art Gallery, the Glass House, and the weekly farmer's market held at the public dock during the warmer months. And you certainly don't want to miss the Daufuskie Island Community Farm, where old and young visitors alike are encouraged to help feed the chickens and even to try milking a goat!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Melrose on the Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Nov 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Christmas-New Year's
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Winter
Jan 2 2017 - Feb 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
 
 
Early Spring
Feb 26 2017 - Apr 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Easter
Apr 9 2017 - Apr 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Late Spring
Apr 18 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Summer
May 27 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Christmas-NYE
Dec 19 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$185
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $125
Property Damage Protection $59
Departure cleaning fee $150
Tax Rate 10.0%

From the Owner: "Golf Carts are easily available direct from a golf cart rental company located on the island, creating less hassle with golf cart issues than when supplied by a homeowner. Rates reflect this rental, & property manager will put you in direct contact with a cart rental agency. There are no guarantees to availability especially with last minute reservations)"

Quotes for the total rental rates includes a service fee imposed by VRBO. This fee does not go to either the property owner nor to Daufuskie Rental Group.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Melrose on the Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
  • Each bedroom has a private bath and TV
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
There is a departure cleaning fee of $142.00. Check in is 4 pm. Check out is 10 am.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties