Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Vacation Home Overlooking Heart's Desire Beach at Tomales Bay

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

Located on five acres of magnificent bishop pines and oaks, Helen's House has panoramic views of Tomales Bay's Hearts Desire Beach and Tomales Bay State Park, and is completely surrounded by the State Park and Point Reyes National Seashore.

Helen's House is a cabin style home which has a large living room with a stone fireplace, dining area and king bedroom, all with picture windows which have scenic vistas of Tomales Bay. The property also has an outdoor campfire area as well as a picnic area with wood slab tables and gas barbecue which also overlooks Tomales Bay and the State Park lands.

Located on Pierce Point peninsula at the entrance to Tomales Bay State Park, The Trees By Tomales Bay consists of two private vacation homes situated on 5 acres. The property features spectacular views of Tomales Bay and Abbotts Lagoon, and is surrounded on all sides by State Park and National Seashore.

Enjoy the solitude and peacefullness of our unique setting amidst bishop pines, oaks and beautiful vistas, or venture to the beaches and trails of Tomales Bay State Park (5 minutes) or the many vistas, trails, historic sites and beaches of the Point Reyes National Seashore (5-15 minutes).

POINT REYES NATIONAL SEASHORE comprises over 100 square miles, including 32,000 acres of coastal wilderness area. Estuaries, windswept beaches, coastal scrub grasslands, salt and freshwater marshes, and coniferous forests create a haven of 80 miles of unspoiled and undeveloped coastline. Abundant recreational opportunities include 147 miles of hiking trails, backcountry campgrounds, and numerous beaches, including over 10 continuous miles of unspoiled beach. Kayaking, biking, hiking, beachcombing, surf fishing, seasonal whale and elephant seal watching, bird watching and wildlife viewing are just a few of the activities awaiting your visit. Additionally, you can explore geology, Coast Miwok Indian culture or Lighthouse history by visiting the many historic sites within the park. Located just an hour’s drive from the San Francisco Bay Area, the Seashore is a great escape from a busy city life.

TOMALES BAY STATE PARK is comprised of a 2,000-acre day-use park which features four gently sloping, surf-free beaches, protected from winds by Inverness Ridge, the backbone of the Point Reyes Peninsula, as well as forests, fields, hills, meadows and marshes - each with its own plant life, including varieties of trees, shrubs and wildflowers. One of the finest remaining virgin groves of Bishop pine in California is in the park's Jepson Memorial Grove. Wildlife in the area includes foxes, raccoons, badgers, weasels, chipmunks, squirrels, rabbits, deer, bobcats, skunks, wood rats, field mice, moles and other animals. There are also land and sea birds, including the spotted owl, quail, goldfinches, puffins, great blue heron, pelicans, ruddy ducks, woodpeckers, meadowlarks - and more. The park has hiking trails connecting all its bay beaches, and is a popular place for picnicking, swimming, kayaking, canoeing, bird watching, clamming and boating.

Keywords: Vacation Home

More Details

Barbie & Jeff Fairchild
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 27, 2017

About Barbie & Jeff Fairchild

Barbie & Jeff Fairchild

Barbie & Jeff Fairchild purchased this house in 1954

Why Barbie & Jeff Fairchild chose The Bay Area

This property was purchased by my grandparents and is now owned by our family. We grew up here enjoying the beaches, trails, nature and beauty, and hope to share it with our guests.

What makes this house unique

Helen's House is a beautiful rustic retreat that offers a getaway from the hectic daily grind and allows one to get back in sync with the peacefulness of nature. We are away from it all, and in the middle of it all being surrounded by the Point Reyes National Seashore and Tomales Bay State Park.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Helen's House. It is so peaceful and beautiful here. We wish we could take it with us. Thank you for providing us some time away to celebrate our 5th year anniversary and renew our vows and commitment to each other. We will always remember our special time here and hope to come back again soon.
Sep 2005
  • 1 of 7


Inverness House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full Bath has a Jacuzzi tub.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Boat ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Picnic Area, Outdoor Fire Pit, Non Smoking, and as we are located in the heart of the National Seashore and State Park with it's abundance of wildlife, we do not allow any pets


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

Vacation Home Overlooking Heart's Desire Beach at Tomales Bay
average rating of 4.71875 based on 39 reviews

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at Helen's House and can't wait to return. The house is charming and the setting overlooking Tomales Bay is beautiful. Close to Heart's Desire Beach and one of my favorite hikes, Abbott's Lagoon trail. Very spacious home beautifully furnished and comfortable. Enjoyed the outside patio, tree swing, and hummingbirds.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2007
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Moldy Environment -- BEWARE

  • 1 of 5

We picked Helen’s House for a reunion between old friends traveling from Ohio & Mendocino. We made the reservation on 11/9/16. One month before our stay (2/14/17) we saw a review on 12/22/16 by Debbie C. regarding a “slight, but still unpleasant, odor of mold”. We contacted the hosts via VRBO & they replied “We have no idea what odor the guest was talking about. We haven't noticed any smell or seen any mold.” This was dishonest. At that point we could have canceled & found another place but based on the hosts’ reply we kept our reservation. On 3/17/17 we entered the home & found a pervasive & strong smell of mold throughout. We opened windows to air it out. This made the home cold so we turned on the furnace. The moldy smell grew worse. We went out & left a few windows open (furnace off). We were in a quandary. Do we try to move & use precious time that would otherwise be devoted to our reunion? We decided to spend the night & left the hosts a message on VRBO. We spent a cold night with windows cracked. We could not sit & enjoy the view in the living area. As we sat on the couches mold smell wafted up from the fabric. In the AM we ran the heater with all windows & doors open. Jeff the host finally stopped by. He admitted the home has always had a ‘smell’. He pointed to a cabinet with a particularly strong odor. He put in window screens & stated he would refund 1/2 our fee if we changed locations. He did not offer alternate lodging help except to suggest we check with a local hotel-but it was doubtful they could host 3 of us with our food. We took more time to consider. This was Saturday, the only full day of our reunion. We decided it would further wreck our time & eat up a 1/2 day to find lodging, call for last minute availability, pack all our belongings/food & get resettled. We decided to spend a 2nd uncomfortable night. We wrote the hosts to inform them of our decision & asked for a partial refund due to their dishonest initial reply & the time/stress inflicted by false reporting. We have heard nothing back yet. In addition to sleeping extremely poorly due to the smell, the stay was very tiring & stressful for us because despite the cold temps, we had to stay away from the home due to the smell. On Sun 3/19/17 we left the home clean & followed all checkout rules. Even if previous reviews about this home are positive, this does not invalidate our experience. This home currently has a bad mold problem. Future renters BEWARE.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are obviously disappointed with this review. We live here on the property and were here when our guests arrived, and went up first thing the following morning when we received their email. Even though I found nothing amiss and assured them of such, I offered to refund the remainder of their stay if they wished to depart. I identified nearby resorts where they might find accommodations and did put in the screens for the windows they had already opened. They seemed comforted and said they would think about it and let me know. This is the email we received that evening: “Hi Jeff, we had a beautiful day at Drake's Beach. When we came back we could still smell the odor, but putting in the window screens has made a difference. We have decided to stay but we wondered if you'd consider a partial refund. Thank you for coming over this morning and responding to our needs. Kendra, Melissa and Nancy “. As we found nothing wrong with the home we made the decision not to give a partial refund. We take great pride in sharing our family vacation home, offering a secluded location & reasonable rates. We feel the many other wonderful reviews we have received over the past 13 years speak to the truth.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

An absolutely lovely get-a-way

  • 5 of 5

The house is in a beautiful setting and close to the sights, and hikes, of Point Reyes National Seashore. Although the house was very cold when we arrived, the directions were correct in that it heats up quickly once you turn on the heat. The fireplace was a joy and easy to use and set up. The kitchen is well-stocked with dishes and cooking utensils. Best to bring any spices you want with your food, as there is just basic salt and pepper. Yes, there is a coffee grinder and easy-to-use coffee pot. Looked like there also was an espresso maker, but didn't try it. Cell phone coverage was non-existent for us (Sprint) which was great! Forced us to just sit back and enjoy the scenery, our books, and each other. We highly recommend it, and will probably be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic getaway

  • 5 of 5

Great jumping off point for some of the best trails and bike rides in Point Reyes and the perfect quiet house to spend time chilling. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location! Views! Comfort!

  • 4 of 5

We loved the location -- great views, lovely grounds -- sunrise from our bed, an easy walk to the road for the sunset. Very very quiet and private. Comfortable bed, powerful furnace that kept the house toasty and warm. Well-equipped kitchen (but be sure to bring all the spices and oils and other food you need -- practically nothing except a few teabags and Equal packets of sugar were there). The reason I'm giving it only 4 stars is because the bedrooms had a somewhat slight, but still unpleasant, odor of mold. Perhaps it's because we were there after a week of rain storms, and in dryer weather it goes away? Otherwise, a lovely place to stay. Appreciated the holiday decorations! Great hikes nearby -- we highly recommend the Johnson/Jepson Trail loop to Heart's Desire Beach. The trailhead is just a 2 minute drive away. A great base for exploring Pt. Reyes.

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house in a great location

  • 5 of 5

Helen's House is very special. It's an older, period house, but that's one of its main attractions because it's very well maintained, and therefore has great character. We were going to spend two nights there, but managed to find time to add a third, which Barbie and Jeff were very nice about facilitating. They always responded quickly and helpfully to our messages. The grounds and views are fantastic. We used the proximity to Point Reyes and the coast for two good hiking days (we lucked out on the weather). We bought delicious food and wine at Point Reyes Station. The house was immaculately clean. Each night we had wood fires in the large fireplace; very pleasant and romantic. Our only, very minor issue was that our cell phone didn't work, but we got only limited service in the whole area, so that was an AT&T problem, not a Helen's House problem. We highly recommend Helen's House, and plan to return there in the future.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Point Reyes National Seashore / Tomales Bay state Park

Point Reyes Historic Lighthouse / Kayaking on Tomales Bay

Several wonderful restaurants within 15 minutes in Inverness, Point Reyes Station and Olema.


Rates & Availability

Inverness House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Processing $20
Tax Rate 10.0%

Check-in time: 3:00 PM Check-out time: 11:00 AM

Holidays $225/night / 3 night min / Plus 10% tax

Rates are for two / Additional guests are $20/person/night (5 people max)

Cancellations must be 14 days in advance of stay for full refund,less processing fees.
For any cancellation within 14 days of stay we will refund any portion we are able to re-book, less processing fees.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties