Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Great Location! Family Friendly! AC in Rooms!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
1 - 7 nights

About the property

Clean and Comfortable 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath Cottage in the Heart of Hilo.

Highlights:

*Air conditioning in bedrooms

*2 Full beds, 1 Full air mattress

*TV's, ceiling and standing fans in rooms

* WIFI and local cable tv stations

*Beach towel, cooler, chairs, snorkels

*Washer/Dryer unit

*Parking for 1-2 cars

*Check in 3pm/out 11am (early & late arrangements possible)

*Close to airport, downtown, beaches, restaurants and shopping

*Minimal coqui and plane noise

*Infant playpen/crib available

*50% deposit holds dates with remainder due 30 days from arrival

*30 day cancellation notice for full refund of deposit

*Taxes included in nightly rate

Relax and make our house your home base on your next visit Hilo. Situated in a quiet residential neighborhood our two bedroom-one bath cottage features a spacious living room and lanai area to enjoy family time. A full kitchen is equip with everything you need to prepare your favorite meal or snacks for a day on the go. The bedrooms have AC, and LCD TV's for a little down time and privacy at the end of the day.

WiFi runs throughout the house. Ceiling fans and standing fans are located in each room. Parking is located behind the house and where you will also find an outdoor enclosure with a washer/dryer for your convenience. This is a home and NOT a party house. Please no smoking, pets, and loud noise.

The Hilo cottage is located in a community across of the airport, in the heart of an established community. It is perfect for couples, friends or families traveling with children. Our affordable nightly rate includes all taxes and a modest cleaning fee to encourage guests to spend their resources on experiences instead of accommodations. The house is supplied by county water that is clean and drinkable (no catchment systems) and located in an area with minimal Cocqui frog noise, within walking distance of restaurants, parks, and shopping.

We are within close proximity to the hotels on Banyan Drive, restaurants, the Airport, the University of Hawaii, the Prince Kuhio Shopping Plaza and an array of grocery stores. Other points of interest include:

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park 28 mile drive south (approximately 40 minutes)

Swimming beaches/Ponds 2-5 miles

Downtown Hilo, Lyman Museum, Hilo Farmers Market 2.5 miles

Imiloa Astronomy Center 2.6 miles

Pacific Tsunami Museum 2 miles

Big Island Candies 5 minute walk

Hawaiian Style Cafe/Miyo's-5 minute walk

Hilo Civic Center/Edith Kanakaole Stadium 10- minute walk

Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory 7.8 miles

Liliuokalani Gardens 1.2 miles

Wailuku River State Park 2.2 miles

King Kamehameha Statue/Wailoa River State Park 1.2 miles/ 15 minute walk

Kailua Village (Kailua-Kona) Roughly 2 hours and 30 minutes on the opposite side of the island.

Thanks to our guests reviews and feedback we have installed new carpet, flooring, and base boards throughout the house, fresh paint, and new base cabinets and counters in the kitchen May 2015.

For more information or to receive a quote please email or call Val (808)781-3827.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2017

About The Owner

I work for the University of Hawaii and my husband oversees the local newspaper production. We both commute frequently between Hilo and Honolulu and when we aren't working we enjoy body surfing, hula, hiking, roller derby, and getting together with family and friends. Our family consists of four grown children, a friendly rottie, a poi dog, a hungry goat, a lazy tortoise, and a talkative cockatiel.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2006

Why The Owner chose Hilo District

We love our Leilani street plantation houses for their charm and proximity to all that Hilo has to offer.

Amenities

Hilo Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Full size bed, ceiling fans, closet space
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

Great Location! Family Friendly! AC in Rooms!
average rating of 3.862069 based on 29 reviews
5

Central location! Cozy space!!

  • 5 of 5

Checking in and out was a breeze! Val was very accommodating to our needs 😊 Very affordable and better than a hotel room! Cozy space for a small family or couple. Close to shopping, dining & entertainment. Would definitely stay here again 😊

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Ants in kitchen, poor electricity

  • 2 of 5

Appearance clean, but noted ants on kitchen table and on kitchen counter. Many ants. Old home but with only 1 electrical outlet in each room with many extension cords.

It does have good air conditioners in each bedroom and the beds were comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kathleen, I'm so sorry about the ants and the electrical outlets. We have a pest control contract and they visit once every other month and we will can ask for monthly spraying. As for the outlets, it is an old, original plantation home that we love. We are limited to one electrical outlet in each of bedrooms that right now powers the AC and TV. However, there are other outlets in the kitchen and bathroom for electrical gadgets. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We hope you had an excellent Hawaiian vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very quiet

  • 3 of 5

Older plantation home located in a very quiet neighborhood. A couple of nights, early in the morning, could hear noise from a jet over the home. Not constantly, but did hear it a couple of nights. We were gone the whole day, so I couldn't say if it happened at other times. Easy to find, and the whole transaction went very smoothly. The tips given to us regarding our stay in the home were very detailed. The bathroom was small, and the handheld shower head didn't want to cooperate while in the holder-it kept aiming toward the sides. Bedrooms were roomy, with full sized beds. Couldn't find extra blankets-it was a little cold in the home. The eat-in kitchen was medium-small with a full sized refrigerator, and the living room was a nice size. Also had a stacking washer/dryer outside. It was a nice alternative to a hotel room.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Longview, WA
4

Clean, spacious unit with all the amenities in a nice neighborhood close to shops

  • 4 of 5

My husband, two sons, and I enjoyed our stay in Hilo in this 2 bedroom condo/guest house. Each bedroom had a wall air-conditioning unit that was perfect for cooling down the room (my husband and I just used the fans) and there were plenty of overhead & free-standing fans in each room. Older unit, but clean and great to have a kitchen for breakfast and snacks. I was able to walk to the stores to get needed items, and it was close to exploring Hilo. Thanks so much for allowing us to stay here!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very helpful host and great location

  • 5 of 5

The host was extremely helpful with my last minute booking. the house is situated within a few minutes from downtown Hilo, the airport, and great restaurants. Everything you need is provided for you at the home.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Don't go in summer!!!!

  • 1 of 5

No air conditioner was a really bad thing. No air at all in the house. The worst was the kitchen, no over range fan, no celling fan, it became really hot when cook. And there is no facilities outside, no bbq, no table so no choice to cook inside. Everything is old and barely work. We found the bed sheet for the ai mattress after 2 days, they were under a bed when they were supposed to be in the basket with the air mattress. Really disappointing.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize that you were so unsatisfied and we wish you had called or written so we could have easily remedied some of the challenges you were experiencing. While it is unfortunate to hear of your displeasure, in all fairness we do not advertise having AC in the house, or an outside space, and there is a propane BBQ in the washroom that is available for guest to take out to the numerous beaches and parks in area to enjoy an outdoor cooking experience. You are correct that we don't have top of the line appliances, however everything in the house is in good working condition. Again, this is an almost 100 year old plantation cottage that we absolutely adore and it may not be suitable for everyone.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Hilo International Airport
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Naniloa Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Kanoelehua Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Hawaiian Style Cafe, Don's Grill, Miyo's
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Coconut Island Beach Park
Car: not necessary

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park 28 mile drive south (approximately 40 minutes)

Swimming beaches/Ponds 2-5 miles

Downtown Hilo, Lyman Museum, Hilo Farmers Market 2.5 miles

Imiloa Astronomy Center 2.6 miles

Pacific Tsunami Museum 2 miles

Big Island Candies/Hawaiian Style Cafe/Miyo's 5 minute walk

Hilo Civic Center/Edith Kanakaole Stadium 10 minute walk

Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory 7.8 miles

Liliuokalani Gardens 1.2 miles

Wailuku River State Park 2.2 miles

King Kamehameha Statue/Wailoa River State Park 1.2 miles/ 15 minute walk

Kailua Village (Kailua-Kona) Roughly 2 hours and 30 minutes on the opposite side of the island.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hilo Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Merrie Monarch
Apr 16 2017 - Apr 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$110
$770
$2,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties