check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kate Carrick-Buchanan

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english, french

Ground Floor, Central Edinburgh Two Bedroom Apartment

10 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bonnington Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Spacious, 2 bedroom apartment, sleeps 4, in historic central Edinburgh

No 1 Bellevue Terrace is a charming city-centre main door, two-bedroom apartment situated on the ground floor of an impressive Georgian building in the east of Edinburgh's historic 18th Century New Town. The large apartment has recently been tastefully restored with a chic new kitchen, carpets and fresh colour schemes throughout.

Original details such as original flagstones in the entrance hall have been exposed, which set a stylish tone on entering.

The apartment has two spacious bedrooms and can sleep four comfortably. The double has two huge windows offering peaceful garden views to the rear. At the front, the bright and airy twin room has charming views over public gardens and a colonnaded neo classical church. Both rooms offer generous storage space. There is also a cot bed available.

Located close to vibrant Broughton Street with its restaurants, bars and shops, it is only ten minutes walk from the city centre, Harvey Nichols, visitor attractions and the serene & historic Royal Botanical Gardens.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Kate Carrick-Buchanan (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english, french

About Kate Carrick-Buchanan

My husband, Angus and I have lived and had property in this area of Edinburgh for over 18 years. We moved out of Edinburgh 10 years ago and have gradually built up a holiday cottage business on our country estate in Galloway, south west Scotland. In addition to our Edinburgh apartment, we have three holiday houses on the estate and a further one in the pretty harbour village of Portpatrick.

Kate Carrick-Buchanan purchased this apartment in 2006

Why Kate Carrick-Buchanan chose Edinburgh

When we moved out of Edinburgh to south west Scotland, where we run a holiday cottage and farming business on the coast of Galloway, we wanted a base in town. Angus looked at lots of flats, but they were either up many flights of stairs, with shared stairwells, or dark basements. And then we found this one, which was under our very noses – right across the road from our house. Being on the ground floor with its own main front door, 1 Bellevue Terrace was just right. We love it as it’s a great base to explore the city, shop – you can walk everywhere. Although the decor was not at all to our taste, Angus immediately saw the potential , we bought it and then set to work transforming it. We’ve now been welcoming guests to our apartment for nearly nine years.

What makes this apartment unique

1 Bellevue Terrace is on the ground floor - so no flights of stairs to struggle up.

It's in Edinburgh's glorious New Town, so you can explore the city on foot from this address.

It's close to Broughton Street - which has lots of shops, restaurants, bars and delis.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a great time. The apartment was really well furnished/ equipped. The location was fantastic and all in all we would definitely recommend it - especially good for little ones.
Jan 2010
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

4.9
based on 10 traveler reviews

Ground Floor, Central Edinburgh Two Bedroom Apartment
average rating of 4.9 based on 16 reviews
5

Look No Further

  • 5 of 5

Our family completely enjoyed this beautiful apartment. We wanted enough space to spread out, host dinners and enjoy a little down time from our two week UK vacation. This home fit the bill perfectly.

The kitchen was fully equipped with all amenities including a dishwasher and washing machine and table for six. We dried our laundry each night on the wonderful towel warmers in the bathroom. The apartment is on the first floor so no pesky steps.

Parking was a bit of a challenge each night but we managed. Thinking about the rest of Edinburgh, we seemed quite lucky to have a place to park!

We felt perfectly at home, warm and cozy in the flat with a very nice mix of the Georgian style architecture, cottage furnishings and gorgeous window treatments.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your very kind words - I'm so pleased you all enjoyed relaxing at the apartment during your trip to the UK and I do hope we can welcome you back to 1 Bellevue Terrace one day in the not too distant future. Just to avoid any confusion for anyone reading the review that the reviewer is American - so when she mentions the apartment is on the 'first floor', for British people this is in fact the 'ground floor'!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Excellent accommodation

  • 5 of 5

Stayed in this apartment over the Christmas period. Could not fault this property at all. Everything you could want for a week's stay is available. The apartment is spotless.

There is a local Tesco's just round the corner, about a five minute walk. Also just up the road there is a cinema complex, theatre, bars , shopping complex about a ten minute walk.

Must mention the double bed so comfortable and cosy. You will have no trouble getting to sleep. Loved the bed.

I would certainly recommend this apartment to anyone wishing to visit Edinburgh.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Perfect for our New Year Break

  • 5 of 5

We booked this apartment a year in advance and we were not disappointed. The apartment is beautifully appointed and very spacious with wonderful decor and stylish furnishings. We had everything we needed for the perfect self-catering holiday. The owner was very helpful and we would certainly visit again and recommend to friends.

The location was perfect for our New Year Holiday with friends and we had a fantastic New Years Eve meal at The Grainstore Restaurant then watched the fireworks at midnight. A really nice way to bring in a New year. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much again for choosing our apartment - we're so pleased you liked it and had a great time over New Year in Edinburgh.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Enjoyable stay

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here for a week in May there was four of us, 2 adults, 2 children. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay the apartment was lovely very spacious and clean. It is in the ideal place for exploring Edinburgh as you are able to walk to most places within the city. We hope to return one day.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you so much for your review - I'm so pleased you had a great time in Edinburgh and enjoyed staying at 1 Bellevue Terrace. I do hope we'll welcome you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Superbe appartement !

  • 5 of 5

Nous avons découvert à Edimbourg un immense appartement super équipé, fonctionnel, très propre, très bien entretenu, confortable et magnifique. Il ne manquait rien; nous nous sommes sentis comme à la maison. De plus, il est très bien situé : les magasins (même un bio), le supermarché et des restaurants sont à deux pas. L'arrêt du bus est situé de l'autre côté de la rue et le terminus du tram à environ 10 minutes à pied (York Place); à partir de là, on peut aller n'importe où dans la ville et en dehors (la voiture n'est pas du tout nécessaire). La propriétaire (Kate) est très discrète, aimable et "aux petits soins", de plus, elle parle français ! Les enfants et moi avons vraiment beaucoup aimé cet appartement qui est décoré avec goût (style Géorgien), avec ses magnifiques tableaux; il est beaucoup plus beau et plus grand que sur les photos ! Nous avons eu le souffle coupé en y entrant ! De toute façon, à chaque fois que nous irons à Edimbourg (qui est une ville magnifique et surprenante), nous logerons à Bellevue Terrace !

Je recommande sans hésitation !

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review and all your kind words - it was such a pleasure corresponding with you and I really enjoyed having the opportunity to practise my rusty French in our emails! I do hope we can welcome you back to Scotland and the apartment soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Una maravilla hecha casa en Edimburgo

  • 5 of 5

No podíamos creernos donde estábamos entrando cuando abrimos la puerta. Nos miramos perplejos entre nosotros creyendo que era una casa compartida.

Es una maravilla estilo victoriano decorado con un gusto inmejorable y con ganas de quedarte a vivir todo el año.

A 7 minutos andando del mismísimo centro, convinando cercanía y tranquilidad.

Sin dudar a duda, un sitio a recomendar y que esperamos volver cuando podamos volver a Escocia.

Kate, la propietaria, ha sido todo amabilidad y ha estado pendiente en todo momento de nosotros (vía email para no molestar, un detalle).

Si necesitáis cualquier detalle o alguna pregunta mas, podéis preguntarme sin problemas. (Jp.asensio111@gmail.com)

Jonh

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your very kind comments. I'm so pleased you liked our apartment and had a wonderful stay in Edinburgh. I do hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7.1 Miles
Edinburgh Airport - 25 mins
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Barony Bar
Nearest Golf
4.5 Miles
Braid Hills - 20 mins
Nearest Train
1.5 Miles
Waverley Central Station - 10 mins
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Earthy
Nearest Beach
23 Miles
Yellowcraig Beach East Lothian - 40 mins
Car: not necessary

Bellevue Apartment is spacious and well located on the east of Edinburgh's historic New Town - a World Heritage Site which is renown for its impressive neo-classical buildings and architecture. It is a stone's throw from Broughton Street, a buzzing neighbourhood with masses of restaurants, bars, delis and specialist boutiques and gift shops. It is a 15 minute walk to the exclusive Edinburgh central shopping district centred on George Street.

For an uplifting stroll at any time of the year, the Botanical Gardens are a short walk to the north of the apartment. From a cultural perspective, the Playhouse Theatre is also close by - approximately ten minutes on foot - which sees many West End productions visiting from Mama Mia to Miss Saigon and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang; as are art galleries including the Scottish National Portrait Gallery.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • What's included:
    All bed, bathroom and kitchen linen are provided. Central heating, hot water and electricity are all included in the rental price.

    Cost and availability.
    The apartment is rented out year round.
    Rental periods are generally arrival 2pm and departure at 10.00am - every effort will be made to accommodate other times. Weekly bookings are generally Sat to Sat but short breaks are welcome (min 3 night stay).

    Prices are offered per night and for weekly rental and include linen, towels, gas and electricity.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bonnington Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Hand held shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
  • The large apartment has recently been tastefully restored with a chic new kitchen, carpets and fresh colour schemes throughout. Original details such as original flagstones in the entrance hall have been exposed, which set a stylish tone on entering. No 1 Bellevue Terrace has two spacious bedrooms and can sleep four comfortably. The double has two huge windows offering peaceful garden views to the rear. At the front, the bright and airy twin room has charming views over public gardens and a colonnaded neo-classical church. Both rooms offer generous storage space. There is also a cot bed available.
Entertainment:
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The apartment has an enormous drawing room with double windows, which retains classical Georgian features and elegant 18th century proportions, a classic marble fireplace, which forms the centrepiece of the room and three comfortable sofas. The newly fitted breakfasting kitchen, with leafy views to the rear, seats six and is well equipped with an integrated fridge and freezer, dishwasher, stainless steel oven and hob, in addition to a washing machine. Leading off the hall is the bathroom with WC and bath. Benefiting from a main door on the ground floor, No 1 Bellevue Terrace is particularly suitable for families with young children.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties