Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury seafront holiday house, with stunning sea views and verandah.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths2
Space 2,690 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Now back for 2017 season! 5 bedroom house to sleep 10 in Ventnor, Isle of Wight

The Ventnor House, a luxury five bedroom self-catering holiday home, is set on the cliff top overlooking Ventnor Haven, with spectacular, uninterrupted sea views. The house sits in a grand Victorian terrace of eight houses, originally built to house naval officers. It has five bedrooms, three of which have en-suite facilities. Sleeping up to ten people, plus two babies, it provides the perfect holiday home for a large family or two (or more) families to share the spacious living accommodation.

You will have the benefit of a games room, dining room and an elegant drawing room, which has a balcony where you can enjoy the 180 degree sea views. In addition, there is a small courtyard garden, with barbecue and seating for 10 people, parking for two cars and a larger communal garden area.

The house enjoys broadband WiFi, Sky with a wide choice of channels and Sky Movies, a wide choice of books, games and DVDs and a WiFi with choice of games.

The drawing room: The drawing room is an elegant and spacious room situated on the first floor of the house. It has a large balcony with rocking chairs, overlooking the gardens and sea beyond - perfect for keeping an eye out for passing ships and yachts. The room has a large leather corner sofa, occasional chairs, large coffee table, flat screen TV with DVD player, iPod dock and Sky HD reception (with a wide choice of channels and Sky Movies).

The kitchen and separate dining room: The kitchen contains a breakfast table and a large old fashioned pantry, perfect for storing all your holiday goodies. The kitchen is extremely well equipped, with all the things you need when looking for a home from home, including sharp knives, plenty of good quality crockery and glass ware and a good selection of utensils. There is an American style fridge freezer, which has an ice and cold water dispenser and a combination microwave oven. There is a five burner range cooker, with gas hob and very large electric oven. Finally, a filter coffee maker as well as a cafetiere give you a choice as to how you brew your morning coffee!

The dining room is at the front of the house with patio doors which open onto the terrace and court-yard garden, with sea views beyond. The large solid oak table seats twelve people comfortably, on cream leather chairs.

The games room: Perfect for those rainy days or when the sun is just too hot outside. The games room has a large TV with sky reception and a DVD player. It also has a Wii with a small collection of games suitable for most ages. There are two gaming chairs, for those who like to sit comfortably when chasing Mario, and a large leather sofa. There is also a pool table and a library of ‘U’ and ‘PG’ certificate films along with a selection of games, jigsaws and books to suit most ages.

More Details

Owner
David Grant
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

About David Grant

We are a family of four who love going on holiday to Ventnor. We discovered the resort when our children were little and we have made very many happy memories there.

David Grant purchased this house in 2009

Why David Grant chose Isle of Wight

The house is simply stunning, huge and with plenty of space for multi-generational use.

The sea views are astoundingly good - nothing beats sitting on the drawing room balcony with a glass of wine and the perfect sea view.

Some of our happiest times at the house have been in winter time, watching the raging stormy sea whilst tucked up and cosy inside. The first night after we had bought the house we had no furniture so all four of us were sleeping in the living room on blow up mattresses and it was a howler of a storm (100 mph winds at the needles). It was such an exciting night and set us up for those winter weekends for many years to come!

What makes this house unique

The house is close to both the beach and to the town centre - approximately 5 minutes walk to either. This puts the restaurants, shops and beach at very close distance to the house.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We've only just arrived and already we are amazed and satisfied by the widely spaced, yet cosy house we've been provided with. We cannot wait to spend the upcoming week in this beautiful house.



The view is absolutely astounding ad we love the modern style to the house. By all the little extra details, such as dvds and games consults etc, we can tell that a lot of thought has gone into it and we greatly appreciate that. Thank you very much, we are a very happy family to be here (written by Jxxx 15 years old)!
Oct 2010
  • 1 of 10

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Kilometres
Southampton Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Kilometres
Wide variety of bars/pubs in Ventnor
Nearest Ferry
35 Kilometres
Portsmouth
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
Ventnor Golf Club
Nearest Train
5 Kilometres
Shanklin
Nearest Motorway
35 Kilometres
Portsmouth
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Kilometres
Wide variety of restaurants in Ventnor
Nearest Beach
0.3 Kilometres
Ventnor
Car: not necessary

A Victorian town with a Mediterranean feel, Ventnor is one of the sunniest spots on the Island. It enjoys a surprisingly mild climate due to sheltering cliffs and southerly aspect. Ventnor is one of the UK’s most fashionable seaside resorts, offering old-fashioned beach fun with an attractive esplanade, arcade, cafes and ice cream shops. The Esplanade has a part sand, part fine shingle beach, ideal for sandcastles, sunbathing and swimming.

The upper part of the town is devoted to the main shopping area where time seems to have stood still, with independent stores dominating your shopping experience.

There are plenty of places for a wonderful day out on the Isle of Wight. For young adventurers amongst you, Blackgang Chine and Robin Hill, provide some old fashioned adventure park fun. Perhaps a trip to one of the many working farms or a boat trip might be more for you. For the more mature tastes, there are wonderful coastal walks, pretty gardens and historic buildings to visit.

Amenities

Ventnor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (terraced)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2690 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Resort
  • Town
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Family bathroom - toilet , tub
    Ice bedroom en-suite - toilet , combination tub/shower , Hand held shower
    Beach bedroom ensuite - toilet , shower
    Hot-stripes ensuite - toilet , shower
    Ground floor WC - toilet
    First floor WC - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Beach bedroom - 1 queen
    Hot-stripes bedroom - 1 queen
    Ice bedroom - 1 king
    Ship-shape bedroom - 2 twin/ single , Bunk beds
    Dotty bedroom - 2 twin/ single
  • The beach bedroom benefits from an en-suite shower room and is a king bedded room decorated in soft sand and sea blue colours. There is a seating area positioned to enjoy the wonderful sea views from this top floor room. The hot-stripes bedroom has an en-suite shower room and has a king bed, decorated in bright colours. This suite is on the first floor and has views out over Ventnor and up to St Boniface Down. Both the beach and hot-stripes bedrooms have TV with integral DVD player and clock radio with iPod dock. The ice bedroom is tucked away up a separate stairway above the games room. It has a choice of being used as either a superking room or as a a twin bedded room. It is decorated in a palette of whites and silvers with mirrored furniture and fur throws. The ship-shape bedroom is a nautically themed bunk bedded room. The dotty bedroom is a twin bedded room, decorated with lots of dotty things. Travel cots for up to two babies can be provided on request.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury seafront holiday house, with stunning sea views and verandah.
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 22 reviews
5

Just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic house with LOTS of space for everyone to enjoy themselves but great rooms to get together and chat, have a glass of wine, or just snuggle. It was SO clean and it was very tastefully decorated. It truly was the best introduction to the Isle of Wight. We had never been and now want to return. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your fab review. We might be biased but we think the house is a bit of a tardis in that you would never guess from the outside just how spacious it is inside. Just perfect for those multi-generational or just multi-family visits! The location is a bit hard to beat too! I am so glad you had a great time and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic location and view of the seaside. The property is very spacious and perfect for families

  • 5 of 5

The property is clean well maintained and modern. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need. There is a great play area for children that has plenty of toys books and DVD. The location of the property is down a private road and is very quiet. We have a lovely time, the local pubs and restaurants are very friendly and food was a high standard.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Blown away with what a gorgeous, well decorated 3 storey house!!!

  • 4 of 5

I stayed with my husband, 2 young kids and my parents and my sister and brother in law. It really felt home from home as all the basics (plus a lovely welcome pack!!) were there which made it even more lovely. We all loved it and were very impressed! I don't always leave reviews but had to leave one for this - thanks for giving us a fab 4 day break

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning

  • 5 of 5

Amazing location, amazing house, and all fitted out to a very high standard (in my book anyway!). Would recommend to anyone.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely house and nice stay, but some things need fixing

  • 3 of 5

On the whole we agree with the other reviewers with regard to the size of the house and decor - lovely seaside touches and welcome basket. However, there is currently scaffolding erected on the house next door, and as the houses are terraced, it partially obscures the view from the balcony. Not much work was taking place fortunately, but we did open the bedroom curtains a couple of times, to be met with the sight of a workman. There doesn't seem to be much chance of it being removed any time soon (21st July 2017). We were not advised of it prior to our visit. Only the main bedroom looks out to sea, the other bedrooms have a street/hillside view at the back of the house. Kids were disappointed to find that the pool table was broken. Also the Sky reception in the main living room wasn't working properly which is not a problem if you don't want to watch TV, but we were keen to watch the Wimbledon final. Reported issues to the Property Manager but not fixed during our stay. There are lots of steep hills and steps - great for views but not so good for anyone with mobility issues. Nice little town to walk into with a selection of restaurants - can recommend the pub quiz at the Crab and Lobster

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and noting the things you enjoyed about the house. As we explained at the time, having a sea front house with a fabulous view brings with it a heavy toll in terms of wear and tear from the winds and sea spray and the lovely man, who we are fortunate to have as our neighbour, needed to address some of these things over the summer. We go to a lot of effort to try and make things lovely for our guests but some things are simply out of our control. We can't change the view from the back facing rooms or the steep walk down to the beach, although if people are infirm there is always the option of driving down and parking on the sea level. We also cannot insist that our neighbour removes his scaffolding. Whilst it is a bit unsightly looking upwards at the house, once you are on the balcony the only view it obscures is that of the neighbour's garden. The beautiful sea view out towards Steephill Cove is still very much there. The pool table was damaged by some previous guests and the repair we had done to tide over until a new one arrived did mean it was not playing perfectly. It has now been replaced. The common issue with the sky box is that sometimes the balcony chairs get put in front of the receiver and it does not receive all of th channels. If moving the chairs doesn't work then rebooting the box usually does. However, if all else fails there are three other TVs in the house. Thank you also for promoting some of the local Ventnor businesses. The number of small independent shops and restaurants in the town is one of the things we love most about being there. No mega chains in sight!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Best place to live in ventnor

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful House , on arrival we was blown by the size of the place , Perfect house for big family , very well maintained and clean house with the best sea view in Island ,can't ask for anything better ,, highly Recommend

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the house. We agree, it is a hard spot to beat, which always makes it hard to leave. In our family, we all have our favourite times of year to be there. Mine is in the Autumn, when you are tucked up warm inside with a nice glass of red wine, looking out to the sea as the storms rage. We also always do a watch check as the 4pm Brittany Ferry goes by!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $263.78

Rentals run on a Friday to Friday basis
Friday - Monday or Monday - Friday short breaks are available where indicated, priced at 70 % of the weekly rate.
A deposit of 25% of the booking value is required to secure your booking. The balance must be paid eight weeks before your holiday commences. A refundable security deposit of £200 will be required when you make your final payment.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.